Singing Gymnasts

Geralen Stack-Eaton singing the National Anthem.


Beth, Beth and Beth. I think I read she is into the finals but I cannot find a video.

63 Responses to “Singing Gymnasts”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    Not bad for geralyn. Shes rockin the auburn hair from the blonde last year. She handles the seat upgrades and a lot of the contests during meets this year, sponsored by tuscaloosa toyota.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They put her to work during a meet or if she injured/ I am so out of the loop on College gym.

      • Catherine Says:

        I think she graduated last year. Pretty sure, she’s never mentioned. Florida and Oklahoma are the teams to beat now and I could guess at who the AA finals qualifiers will be but that’s about all I’ve gleaned. Zamarippa will qualify for EVERYTHING.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        She finished last year and won beam in EF at NCAA Natls. I think as a Jr she won floor. VZam will only get one, the NCAA judges like to divide it up. She wont get bars and there are better beam workers this year. Macko has a good shot at bars, there are like 10 that could get AA, a bunch with a shot at beam. And a handful for floor and vault. It really depends on what everyone throws in EF. Geralyn Stack Eaton threw a ton of difficulty for NCAA in beam last yr and hit

      • Catherine Says:

        She was filtering into all of the top 10 rankings last time I saw, was just going by back but I’m a little lost as to how some things in NCAA work. I’d prefer to see Zam’s bars of all her events, love the way she pauses in handstand. I’d like Lloimincia Hall to win floor, Bridget Sloan or Danusia Francis beam, Zam or Macko bars and Brie Olson or Ivana Hong for the AA. In an ideal world. Danusia totally has more tricks up her sleeve for beam, it’s a little empty yet. Maybe next year- really want to see her sideways aerial.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Kytra Hunter is putting up some big scores in Florida also. I think she’ll make some dents in the rankings as well. I’m glad to see Brandie Jay having a good year too. It seems like college gymnastics is really going to be her niche and a place for her to shine.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      She was really good! I’m pleasantly surprised.

  2. Case Says:

    Sing it Geralyn! Eat your heart out Carly Splatterson.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Oh yeah and Beth is definitely in the final, I follow her twitter.

  4. Biyatch Says:


    • Case Says:

      Very cute. What do you think Aly’s chances are of truly returning to gymnastics training full time. I’m saying 50/50. She’s pretty marketable and I think she’ll have tons of opportunities.

      • GymMom Says:

        It probably depends on how far Aly makes it on DWTS. I predict she will go far.

  5. GymMom Says:

    I love this photo! Definitely will drive Shawn crazy.

  6. JAS4 Says:

    I might be wrong but I think Aly would be the type to make a legitimate comeback attempt or not at all.

    • Biyatch Says:

      I agree and I said it on another post but I think Aly is most in her element at the gym, not in the spotlight. While I think she’s liking the glitz that came with Olympic success she doesnt seem to have the fame whoring tendencies that McKayla possesses. The girl went on a week long family vacation and literally just checked out of the internet for a week. I cant see Mac doing that.

  7. Gymnerd Says:

    Aly looks really pretty, and much older (in a good way) all of a sudden.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      That dress is something my grandma would wear. Im sorry i think her hair looks pretty and while the dress is flattering its very 1950s flight attendent

      • GymMom Says:

        Your Gramma would wear a sparkly mini dress? Usually they start out more covered up and then the costumes get skimpier as time goes on. I think it looks like Aly feels comfortable & confident.

      • GymMom Says:

        This was the horrible outfit Shawn wore for promotional photos before she was on DWTS the first time. Aly’s is so much classier and Aly looks amazing in it.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I like the color of the dress on Aly. Her hair is gorgeous. I think she’ll do well on the show; hoping her voice has more inflection though. Maybe we’ll see more of her personality come out!

  8. H Says:

    When does the show start?

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Hey I just dont like the dress. And yes, its very 1920s / 1960s retro and with the long sleeves not anything that I would equate to young hip and modern. It is very much like something my grandmoher would have worn to a party, the covering of the arms reminds me of something Marie Osmond wore on that show. She always covers her arms. She is a grandma. Its very 1960s airline stewardess costume, and it looks like tweed as much as it looks sparkly. I just dont like it. Its my personal opinion. I said I liked her hair. I dont even care what Shawn wore, Im not even looking at the picture. I just dont like it. That is all.

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    Oh and I dont like Jordyns tattoo either. I dont like tatoos in general but that one while no as bad as gedderts full back number is not in a place where its easily hideable, and if it is real ( and not just drawn on for the photo shoot ) could be something she could come to regret later in life. More than any ugly dress that you wear on television.

    • tortuga Says:

      I don’t really care for the dress either. It looks itchy actually. She could go sleeveless or short sleeves and probably look a bit better. Show off those muscles.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        It looks itchy because instead of sparkly sequence in pictures it comes across as grandmas tweed business suit cut a little too short. And tweed is itchy and uncomfortable. Maybe its wool and she was cold. Maybe my grandma would have worn it at the knee but still it looks like something that they cut down from Marie Osmonds run on the show.

      • Case Says:

        ROFL. You really passionately hate that dress, don’t you?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        esgymgurl is to Aly’s dress as GymMom is to Shawn Johnson.🙂

      • tortuga Says:

        Aly on DWTS is giving GymMom ammunition for Shawn for atleast another year!

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Yes. It looks like carpet padding from home depot glued onto tweed and a bunch of sequence. The only thing that could be worse is if it was backless. Save me if it is.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I don’t like the location of the tattoo either. I hope it’s not real but I think it is. I really liked the photo of Jordyn though she literally looked “fierce.”

      On Aly’s dress, maybe she didn’t get to choose it? Maybe the show dressed her? I like the color but I agree the top of the dress is “blah” and she should show her arms! At least she’s showing her legs I guess.

      • Biyatch Says:

        Better pic of the dress. They have successful made a girl who is 5’1″ look like she has legs for days.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t like the dress but Aly looks great. She has lost some weight since the tour. So has Jordyn from her recent pictures.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Tattoo is real. Saw pics of it from back in december too…..

      • GymAnon Says:

        I’m not a huge fan of the dress—Aly tends to favor styles that are a little too old for her and/or not quiiiite right for her body type. But she looks great, and at least this dress shows that she has a waist.

      • gingercrush Says:

        Aly looks like Aly. Nice sweet boring jewish girl.

      • Case Says:

        Isn’t that Maggie Nichols?

        Anyways, Finnegan >>> Vega all day long. I’d agree with GTT that Vega should not have been on that worlds team. The fact she was is the only reason most people recognize her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Great point. Vega would be Shavahn Church before great Britain took her or Shantessa Pama. Lots of skills but not consistency to be a success in the real world of gymnastics.

      • GymMom Says:

        Maybe Aly doesn’t like her arms?

      • Gymbee Says:

        That might be. Some female friends of mine who are professional athletes don’t like their arms either – they don’t think they are ‘feminine’ enough with the muscle tone. It’s a shame, I think muscular arms are so nice on women and men.

  11. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Holy cow! Fabians pass is CrAzY!! Is that a 3.5 twist into a punch double front?? It looked like he stepped out of bounds…but who the hell cares? That is some crazy stuff! Hopefully he can work on the low landing of the double front. I don’t follow MAG much, but that pass is awesome. Thanks for sharing GTT.

  12. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Here’s a list of people competing at Jesolo. Are Elizabeth Price and Sarah Finnegan still injured?

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      Okay, here is the list:

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Who is Margaret Nichols?

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        And I’m just going to say it, I kind of feel sorry for Sabrina Vega. One minute she’s competing in the World Championships, the next minute she’s being completely overlooked. I know, I know, I’m too nice. I still think she was pretty to watch.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know what you mean. I feel like Marta has written her off. What she really needed was more difficulty. Maybe she’s taking a year to learn new skills?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta named her to the World team in 2011 because of who her coach was. Sabrina did a great job but there is no way she should have been on that team. She brought nothing to it. She ended up competing more than she should have and she did a really great job but Marta lucked out. Just like Marta lucked out when she named Chelsea Davis for the team and she got hurt and Bridget hit her bars when she had not hit them once in podium training.
        Davis would have been eaten alive by the judges. That girl is a second rate College gymnast. The real judges would have killed her crappy routines that had no business being at a World Championships.

        I am sure Sabrina is a great kid, blah,blah,blah but as a gymnast she never had the difficulty to compete with the world.

        I know I sound mean and cruel but her making that team never made much sense to me even if she did a very good job.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I really wanted to see Sarah Finnegan again. It’s weird – even the ones that were “on the cusp” from last quad seem to have vanished.

        I have no clue who Margaret Nichols is but then again I haven’t paid much attention to the juniors-almost-seniors from last year. Should be cool to see some new faces. Thanks for the list!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I’m thinking that’s Maggie Nichols from twin city twisters.

        Sabrina needs to focus on getting an ncaa scholarship. Shes like ivana hong. Moving to a new gym after not making an Olympic team and finally going to college.

      • mimi Says:

        margaret nichols = maggie nichols. she was just named to the national team at the last camp i believe.

        the jesolo list make me giggle a little – “alexie preissman”

        but where is sarah finnegan? im so worried she’s just going to fade into obscurity/slip into the cracks with the new seniors coming through. such a shame😦

    • gingercrush Says:

      Sabrina Vega is like Kyla Ross with even less difficulty. If you already have one you don’t need the other. The US girls are interesting. For all the talk about Ohashi and Biles and everyone else. None of them scream AAers to me. Though I guess we need to wait for the injured ones to come back.

      • mimi Says:

        i think bailey key will be the one to emerge as a strong AA girl by rio. sarah could be a decent AAer if she fixed her bars.

  13. exgymgurl Says:

    Sabrina has nice lines and is judged well internationally. Marta owed Teodora one, and why Sabrina thought leaving Teodora’s gym was a good move for her elite career I have no idea. She is a beautiful gymnast without difficulty. She would be a good gymnast for Romania or Italy. Here there are just too many girls better than her. Who was age eligible and should have been on the 2011 world team? People forget for 6 gymnasts in 2011 we were kind of spread thin…. I dont know that there wasnt anyone else that Marta hadnt pushed out. Marta got rid of Macko, Kytra, Sloan was injured, she didnt name Shawn Johnson or Chellsie Memmel. Are we sending Brandie Jay? Are we sending Jessie DeZiel? Are we sending Bridgey or Jetter? No Marta was pleased to let all of them go to the Pan Am Games and then rot with no shot at the olympics. Sabrina hit puberty and had skill loss at exactly the wrong time. She should go to college but like Ivana and like Sloan she wont because she is still hopeful. If this quad is anything like the last one, Marta burnt out Bross like she will Ohashi and no one at the 2013 championships at the senior level will make the 2016 olympics. No one that competed at the 2009 senior championships made the squad in 2012. The only one from 2010 is Aly Raisman. I dont think Marta cares much about the first half of the quad.

    • mimi Says:

      yeah, im sure rio will have girls that aren’t even on the elite radar yet! it’s still fun to speculate though🙂

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      You make a good point. Even elfi said it that a year or so before the Olympics the team will usually consist of someone coming in from the junior ranks. Unless a senior can stay healthy consistent, and upgrade like aly did all the way to olympic year and Olympic trials, then yes Marta will be weeding out the weak and relying on the juniors turning senior in 2015/2016.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah well as we know SO MUCH happens in 3-4 years in this sport. I think another major factor is growth spurts/hitting puberty. A lot of the current “newbie” seniors will likely be having those issues and as we’ve seen many of the Fierce Five are currently having them. Should be interesting how they all bounce back from that.

        However, let me play devil’s advocate. If we look at the 2004-2008 quad, at least three of the “newbie” seniors made the 2008 team: ASac, Chellsie, and Liukin. Chellsie was not even a “newbie” but she was able to stick it through her injuries, only to get injured again.

        You just never know with these things…which makes it exciting, at least.

  14. tortuga Says:

    So we should basically be looking at juniors that are around 13 right now. Some one mentioned in an earlier post on another topic that it might be beneficial to not go elite for a bit to keep from wearing as much on your body. Talking about Brandy Johnson’s daughter. Maybe play it safe around level 10 till about 14 then just one year of junior and senior elite before the games. Keeping your body fresh for as long as possible. Sadly most of the new seniors will probably be broken by 2016 competition season. I mean look at Jordan. She went elite at age 12 or 13? She was on top for so long and elite probably just took a wear on her after that amount of time and those stupid beam connections she was going for:/ ugh. Maybe if she would have sand bagged a little longer she could have made a better case.

    • tortuga Says:

      I’d like to see Finnegan and Price make Chelsie Memmel style comebacks like 2004-2008.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Sadly Jordyn really suffered at the expense of her coach. She played it safe for far too long in the two years leading up to the Olympics and allowed her teammates to surpass her; instead of going for upgrades and new skills, she went for shoddy beam connections the YEAR of the Olympics. I mean, how stupid. He should have tested that routine a year before – but then again, he “was” testing it over and over and her beam scores were continually lower. Why he didn’t just go back to the 2011 beam routine (where she was a BRONZE MEDALIST on the apparatus) is beyond me. She went from being one of the best in the World to not even making event finals within a year – and she had less of a mistake on her beam quals at the Olympics than Ponor. Her D score really killed her.

      I just still can’t get over when one of the announcers was saying how Geddert was telling everyone in early 2011 that “Jordyn is ready NOW to go to the Olympics” – basically insinuating they were not changing anything up. This is a sport that is literally a race against time and where everyone is your competitor. You’re going to just brashly say that and basically let everyone else know that what Jordyn is performing now is the status quo? This is where I think Brestyan (and maybe even Chow with Gabby) saw the opportunity with Aly, went for it, and the gamble totally paid off.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t really agree with throwing the skills without perfecting them way of doing things but huge D scores even with a fall are what runs this sport now., Its sad and pathetic that quality doesn’t matter at all.

        Geddert KNEW, he KNEW she was not getting credit for those beam connections and he refused to do anything about it. He is 100 % to blame for what happened. Jordyn trusted her coach.

        I really wish Jordyn would go train at a gym that would work on her artistry and UB potential and sadly as much as it kills me to say it that place might be Woga.

        Jordyn has to get away from Geddert. IMO but she will stay.

  15. JAS4 Says:

    I agree I think a change of gyms might benefit Jordyn even if it were WOGA although I think Kyla’s gym could be a good fit for her as well but I don’t see her changing gyms anytime soon I just hope Geddert doesn’t make the same mistakes this quad

Leave a Reply

