Kohei is just better than you

Triple twisting Yurchenko anyone? How about a Dragulescu?  This guy is amazing. I have faith he will fix the form when it really matters and while this does prove that Kohei is human but he is still better than you. Its time we all just learn to live with his greatness.:)



Max Aaron is inspired by Aly Raisman. The US is in huge trouble in Figure Skating with who they are sending to worlds. This could be one spot for the Olympics bad.

93 Responses to “Kohei is just better than you”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Cool! He also has a Kolman-Kovacs-Kovacs combo in training and he’s on the roster for Tokyo cup, along with his fellow aa medallists from London. I thought he’d be quiet this year since he’s engaged or maybe married by now with a baby on the way.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      I really liked Kohei. Seriously. Even if I can’t claim I understand MAG events at all (like rings… seriously, if somebody can explain that event..!). And it’s awesome he swept the AA titles last quad because he does deserve it.

      But after the handstand fiasco (and I know it wasn’t his fault for petitioning for a re-score AND getting it approved)… I don’t know, just left some bad taste in my mouth. I’m pretty sure the news of Ukraine disbanding permanently affixed that bad taste. ):

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Wow he’s got amazing power. Just low landings but who cares – his form in the air is actually really impressive.

    Didn’t they do a side-by-side with him and McKayla, and they both get off of the horse with similar height? Makes me wonder then if McKayla can do such a trick. Although this guy seems to do just about ANYTHING.

    Who is the US sending to Worlds for figure skating? I hide from US figure skating now since it’s basically dead. I’m guessing that chick that won and has a snotty attitude and then the chick with the last name Gold. I wish Nagasu was going.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nagasu is a mess and she cheats every jump. The bad attitude that won is going to worlds too. I think Gold was second. I just remember how she has no presentation but can jump. Terror times two.

      The US is in big trouble and there is a chance they will have only one or two for the Olympics. The men could bomb and Ashley is the only one that might save the US but she is so inconsistent who knows what to expect.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I guess my only hope with that is that there will be a flame under someone’s butt to produce the next Michelle Kwan. US figure skating is totally in the hole since she retired. I have no idea why; maybe just lack of talent or lack of interest for kids to do figure skating? US used to be the powerhouse and now it’s just…kaput.

        Ashley – Wagner? Yeah I was not impressed. I dunno. I watch her and it’s like watching an eggplant rot.

        i remember being kind of impressed by Nagasu years ago – so not sure what she does now. I was hoping she had reached her potential or something.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People were impressed by Nagasu because she was young and had potential but she has always had the cheated jumps and inconsistency.

        USFSA did nothing but try and screw Michelle Kwan over for the next baby ballerina for years and it never worked. That is why they are in the situation they are in now. I have no sympathy for them. In fact I kind of enjoy it. This is pay back. Karma’s a bitch.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I feel like this could be another “mean blogger” entry – kind of like what you did for Dawes and ASac, only now the joke is on USFSA. Haha. Their best representation is a bunch of no-namer flutzies.

        I’m only bummed for my own personal sake. I used to really love watching figure skating but couldn’t watch it after Kwan retired. I remember the “big deal” that was Sasha Cohen but never took that seriously since she consistently failed at being consistent.

      • gingercrush Says:

        I think gymnastics and figure skating peaked in the 90s and no matter whether or not the US produce champions I just don’t think they’re going to become that huge. Known, well yes but not huge. Sport has changed too much for that to happen.

        Anyway Ashley Wagner is grossly overrated and Gracie Gold is ewwww. Negasu rocks but she has too many jump problems. Though i do think you’re a bit unfair attacking her underrotations. Under the 6.0 code it didn’t matter much at all which explains why Sarah Hughes won olympic Gold. Under IJS scoring that program would have been ripped apart.

        ISU are wankers though and are constantly changing the code every year and the rules surrounding worlds etc. Really frustrating as skaters shouldn’t have to change how they approach things every year. I’m glad FIG have a code that lasts a quad with only minor changes after the first year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The judges agreed with me. She was downgraded a lot at Nationals. Others had their underrotations ignored but I felt Nagasu was scored fairly.

      • gingercrush Says:

        Yes she was judged fairly but too bad so many others weren’t. I’m not sure what the US future is. They have good but not spectacular skaters and the juniors don’t seem to adjust to being senior. Christine Gao had a good 4CC and I’m rather wanting her to make the Olympics.

        But meh there are some fantastic non-American skaters. The Japanese, Yu-na Kim of course (though I love mao Asada way better). Caroline Kostner and the Russians are getting better as they adjust to being seniors. Also Katelyn Osmond from Canada has real potential if she can just get use to pressure. Zijun Li from China has some solid jumps.

        Also the Americans have Davis & White but they get nowhere near the accolades they deserve (even though I prefer Virtue & Moir). They’re favourites for Olympic Gold so get behind them rather than some Lipinkski/Hughes wannabe with the gross factor

      • Kazic Says:

        All I have to say about US figure skating is someone hold me while I weep😉 Ginger you like Mao better than Kim? Get your pistol sir/madam, we duel at dawn ; p

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What does that mean Kaz? (the smiley) Are you like me who takes pleasure in them getting their karma by having no success (only in the ladies?) or do you root for Zimbabwe or something???????

      • Kazic Says:

        It wasn’t supposed to be a smiley. It was supposed to be ;_; gtt. No I don’t enjoy it because I grieve to see the house that Kwan built brought to ruin lol. A Kwan, a Kwan, my kingdom for a Kwan!😉 (intentional smiley this time).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The house that Kwan built deserves to be remembered for her performances like 98 Nationals or 2000 Worlds. It deserves to be in ruins for at least the rest of my life time because the USFSA tried to take her down for years and they failed but they still tried to take her down.

        So I say fuck USFSA and their attempts to dethrone the Kween because they pissed me off and I am still bitter and I’ll be as bitter as long as Michelle Kwan does not have her own Olympic Gold medal. Which is forever going to be the case.

        So I am sorry Kaz, USFSA must stay sucking in the ladies event because they could have chosen to fight for the Kween but instead stayed promoting the Terrors and cows on ice of the worlds and that will never be good enough for me.

        Karma is a bitch. I hope they get one ladies skater for next years Olympics. Its what they deserve.

        Come to think of it, USFSA should never have another medalist at worlds or the Olympics until Michelle has her Olympic Gold medals. Tit for tat and eye for an eye

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        GTT- remind me what USFSA do, exactly? Are you referring to 2006? I thought they approved her petition to skate in Torino and then she withdrew on her own volition due to injuries. I honestly thought that she had great longevity in the sport but just wanted to do other things (like college) and had some injuries.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am talking about in general. Every year they tried to dethrone Michelle with some baby ballerina like Sasha and every year Michelle would kick ass and the baby ballerina would fall a part. They never stood behind Michelle and even if she made one mistake they would pick on her for stupid things they would ignore with whom ever the latest baby ballerina was.

        I forget which competiton it was but Michelle was brilliant til her last jump where she fell and the announcer said all this nasty stuff about her being done and having no chance.

        You don’t do that to your star.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Who was the announcer? Hopefully not Dick Button. I remember him at least being favorable to her; and Scott Hamilton is her friend so I can’t imagine it being him either.

        I don’t remember that competition specifically but I do remember being shocked whenever I heard anything negative said about Kwan. I mean, who does that? She was the best thing USAF ever had.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I will have to look at some competitions and find which one it was.

        Dick Button and Peggy were the announcers. Peggy was always nit picking Michelle’s mistakes but they would both ignore Sasha’s.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Peggy always made me gag, and sometimes Dick Button went overboard on his assessments – especially when some of the skaters did a back-bend spin type of thing – but I would have hoped he wouldn’t ever have made a negative statement like “she’s done” of Kwan. He should have known better and shame on him.

        Peggy – go get another facelift.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Peggy made the comment about Michelle being done. Dick just criticized her going overboard. Peggy said something like maybe it was now time for Michelle to go because someone was ready to take over.

      • Kazic Says:

        Gtt do you know why our skating federation was so against Michelle? I have always wondered.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think they figured she would retire eventually and they would be left with no one to promote so they did everything they could to create another star.

        I don’t think they hated her I just think they never appreciated her and what she did for them. They never had less than 3 spots when she was the one counted on for three spots and even when she had to skate as a child to get them 2 spots she did it.

      • Kazic Says:

        But there’s a difference between promoting new talent and attempting to deliberately bury the most luminous talent your program has ever had. Doesn’t make sense to me. (I think I posted this in the wrong place before)

    • Gymbee Says:

      Yep here it is!


      McKayla has better height the whole way through. Do the triple already McKayla!🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Every time I see that video I just can’t fathom how she didn’t get a friggin 10.0. If she didn’t get a 10, NOBODY can get a 10 doing that vault.

      • nero Says:

        Seriously, the judges really dropped the ball. And I hate going on youtube and seeing the “It wasn’t perfect, her legs come slightly apart at the beginning and her knees bend just a little” blah blah

        I’m sitting here like Bitch Please! You only saw those tiny flaws after watching the vault in slow motion from 27 different angles 15 times. Nobody could have pointed those out watching it once in real time like the judges have to.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I actually saw the bent knees and pike the first time I watched it. Sorry:)

      • Case Says:

        That’s the most perfect vault we will ever see in women’s Olympic gymnastics in our lifetime. F those judges.

      • gingercrush Says:

        I’m always bothered by her feet as they lift up when she lands. Also I just don’t see her doing a Triple Yurchenko. She has the height to rotate it etc but she is landing backwards and that is what will be too difficult. And of the fierce five she is the first in mind who I think will decline this quad. I don’t know why I feel that way but I do.

      • gingercrush Says:

        Oh and Maroney’s Amanar is not the most perfect vault we will ever see in our lifetime. I think some people are simply blinded by the difficulty of the vault.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree. I think the difficulty is why people are awed. It is a fantastic vault but nothing is perfect anymore.

      • katecoursey Says:

        @gingercrush why would landing be a problem? A 2.5 is a blind landing, much more difficult than being able to spot your landing like a triple. If anything, the landing would be the only part that’s easier than the 2.5. If she has the height, I see no reason why she can’t do it (if she gets back to full form, which is the real questions).

        And hers is probably the most perfect vault we will ever see with more difficulty than a full or 1.5.

        Again, I think her real problem will be getting back in shape. Who knows how the multiple surgeries will affect her?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I felt like the judge’s hanging open mouth at the end of Maroney’s vault said it all. She kind of got robbed with that score. If Mary Lou got that 10 back in the 80s for her bent knees on the landing then Maroney’s slightly bent knees should have been forgiven, just sayin.’

        We won’t know if she’s capable of a triple twist until she starts competing again. It’s not going to be easy no matter what but if I were her that’s what I’d be shooting for.

      • Case Says:

        Did I really have to specify that Maroney’s vault is the best based on difficulty? Comparing it to an FTY is outrageous.

        Picky people.

      • mimi Says:

        i loved mckayla’s TF vault. it was beautiful. im no expert, but it’s going to take someone out-of-this-world special to beat that.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah, I too was under the impression that blind landings are harder? I hope she’ll be able to do it. Just whip it around. Without

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hit enter too fast. Without tearing your ACL McKayla.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      Does Wagner really have a bad attitude or does her face just make it seem like she does (a la Nastia)? I haven’t kept up with figure skating at all after Torino, but I watched US Nationals for women’s singles this year. Wagner didn’t seem like a bitch to me– lol she just seemed worried since she finished relatively early. Also, I saw pictures of her from last year and she had darker hair– the blonde works for her!

      I can’t recall much, but I thought Gracie Gold’s last name was hilarious. Oh and that I liked Gao’s routine the most. (:

      Very rarely do I bother to watch men’s figure skating but I saw this routine of some Patrick guy (Canadian I think?) a while back, thought it was whatever, and the commentators were just gushing about him so I checked him up and was blown away by his medals. lol can somebody tell me if he’s overrated or am I just crazy/a terrible judge of figure skating routines…?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        No one has really kept up with the sport. Even nationals are streamed on ice network because they have no ratings on real television. When Michelle left the sport died in the US

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yeah, Patrick Chan is over-rated. He’s well known for Chan-flation (inflated scores for mistake-ridden programs). Most of his medals last year were controversial because he would fall several times at competitions and get insanely high presentation scores and full credit for the jumps he fell on. Daisuke Takahashi skated the two best programs I’ve seen under IJS – his “Blues for Klook” LP is one for the ages. However, Channy Mc-Channer pants beat Daisuke with flawed programs when Daisuke skated clean or had one fall.

        This year, Patrick has been struggling with jumps and hasn’t been winning. It makes me happy🙂 He’s insanely arrogant and says things you wouldn’t believe in interviews.


        I live in Michigan and get one of the Canadian channels (CBC) so I can watch figure skating without paying for Ice Network. It is ridiculous the way that the Canadian commentators fawn over him…they are actually worse than the terrible Trio with their blatant favoritism. Which sucks because Kurt Browning is one of the commentators and I had always liked him.

        Btw, Mirai Nagasu has worked extremely hard this season in fully rotating her jumps and had looked great in her second Grand Prix event. She’s been doing a lot of off-ice training to improve her conditioning. Unfortunately, she had the flu during National’s and it definitely affected her performance. She was so sick that at the press conference after the SP, they had her talk first because she was coughing so much it was disruptive. She left as soon as she finished talking instead of staying through the press conference as is normal. How heart breaking to work so hard only to get the flu at the worst possible time. I hope she continues to improve and kicks butt next year.

        There are still figure skating fans out there, but definitely not as many as before. Sigh.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I’m quite sure that I watched the 2013 U.S. Figure Skating Nationals on a tv channel– I can’t remember which one (maybe nbc or abc?) but definitely not the Ice network because I don’t get that. But you’re still right in that its fan base is dying. 10 years ago, most Americans knew who Michelle Kwan, Sarah Hughes, Tara etc were. But these days, nobody can name any current U.S. figure skater.

        Still, I get the feeling that the figure skating fan base is still much larger than the gymnastics one.:/

        TrishaG- thanks for the synopsis!! I had a feeling he wasn’t worth his weight in that many medals. Nothing I hate more than competitions marred by favoritism– especially when the sport is subjective enough already. ):

      • TrishaG Says:

        You’re welcome, icemeltsfast! I’m totally with you on the suckiness of blatant favoritism marring competitions. Hopefully, the ISU took note of the crowds at last year’s World Championships booing 2 of the 4 winners – Patrick Chan and fellow Canadians Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir (I thought Davis & White should have won last year, and I wasn’t the only one!). However, Worlds are in Canada this year so should be interesting.

        And yes, you are correct – NBC did broadcast the 2013 nationals. But not the Grand Prix season or Four Continents Championships. IMO, the lack of televised skating competitions (not stupid hokey skating exhibitions) is a big part of the dying fan base. Which is sooooo stupid of NBC with the Olympics next year! How are you supposed to grow fans if you don’t broadcast competitions during the quadrennial???

        Speaking of which, I’m pretty sure there’s no U.S. television coverage of Worlds this year. Brilliant move, NBC.

    • Kazic Says:

      But there’s a difference between promoting new talent and attempting to deliberately bury the most luminous talent your program has ever had. Doesn’t make sense to me.

  3. Gymnerd Says:

    “Next month, Aaron will represent the United States at the World Figure Skating Championships in Canada. Finishing 13th or better puts him on the U.S. Olympic team for the 2014 Games in Sochi, Russia.”

    Um, really? When did that rule happen?

  4. JAS4 Says:

    I would love to see McKayla do the TTY or even the Yurchenko double back that she mentioned training! She definitely gets the height for it (if she gets back in competition shape and all). She would just need to rotate slightly faster to get the extra half twist in before landing. I think Kohei just needs to clean up the landings his form is pretty good in the air but I’m sure he will fix it before major competitions.

  5. Gymbee Says:

    Just came across this on Vice. I thought it was kinda funny :-p


  6. Biyatch Says:

    Aly & DTWS rumors… http://hollywoodlife.com/2013/02/21/dancing-with-the-stars-cast-2013-sean-lowe/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I would love that. It would kill Sacramone and I am just mean:)

      • JAS4 Says:

        Maybe it’d make her mad enough to write that tell all we’ve all been waiting for lol

      • Gymbee Says:

        Oh haha poor ASac. That would really hit close to home. I see some sort of dog product sponsorship in the future for ASac. Maybe she can host smth on the Animal Planet. Seriously all her tweets are either about her dogs or about the Bible.

    • Short1 Says:

      @JAS4 That’s exactly what I was thinking.

    • Short1 Says:

      This is probably going to sound kinda mean, but I’ll try to word it as nicely as I can. If this is indeed true, I’m not all that surprised, as it doesn’t seem like dancing would come as naturally to Aly as some of the other Fierce Five (i.e. someone like McKayla). And, I would image that would make for better T.V.

      • Biyatch Says:

        I dont think anyone would disagree with you that Aly isnt the most natural dancer (we all remember her trying to do ASac choreo in ’10), but I think a lot of us have learned not to underestimate Aly.

        I think the bigger reason she would get cast over any of the other girls is that she’s 18, and especially in California that makes producers’ lives much easier regarding labor laws.

        However, if this is indeed true, I feel like in typical Aly fashion, she will finish 4th.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Biyatch I certainly agree, in terms of not underestimating Aly (I’m sure she’ll end up going farther than many would expect), and her age was probably a major factor as well (again, if all this is true).

      • mimi Says:

        i saw a clip of aly as a level 9(? maybe 8?) doing floor and she had RHYTHM. i was shocked. girl could dance! not sure what happened as she got older. i have faith she could find her inner dance on DWTS.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        The whole 18+ thing makes a lot of sense to me. Its a total pain to have under 18s on a show like DWTS with the hours and what not under california law…

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    I totally agree with you. I still don’t understand why USFGA would even try to take the Kween down. They are blatantly stupid. She actually really “was” America’s Sweetheart. Nobody could hold a candle to her.

    • Kazic Says:

      Is this post out of place Sanity?

      Anyway I agree it makes no sense. Why try to tear down someone so respected and beloved?

  8. exgymgurl Says:


    Looks like Aly is going to DWTS… rumor at this point😉

  9. exgymgurl Says:


    Oh look theyre giving away tickets to the Nasty Pukin cup

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      My fave memory of Nastia is when she messed up big time and didn’t make the Olympic team they were ready to hand her a spot on.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        My favorite memories of Nastia are her daddy catching her and doing her transitions for her on bars…. and her falling flat at nationals and still advancing to trials….And the look on her face when she realized Evan was living with Vera Wang in Los Angeles…. and her falling flat on her non existent chest on bars and not making the olympic team… and her choreography on floor by some Travis guy that we never saw because Marta forbid it…. like she forbid Alicia from doing floor…and her thinking that when the crowd was cheering for the fierce 5 being named that they were cheering her and giving her a swan song…… and her interviewing people for 30 seconds in stripper heels at 2013 scam cup and calling herself a commentator.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I tweeted my fave Nastia memories which were pretty much like yours. I wonder if I’ll win free tickets to the Nasty cup??????:)

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    And even more amazing 2009 senior nationals, for the women no one that competed made the team in 2012……..

  11. exgymgurl Says:

    And Nasty is commentating at Scam…. awesome…. Nastia why do Macko Caquattos handstands look better than yours?

    • Tortuga Says:

      I just read that on Twitter. I was looking forward to watching but now it will have to be in mute.

      • Tortoga Says:

        It just rubs me the wrong way that Nastia thinks she’s important enough to have a competition named after her. I could understand if she was the 1st American All-Around Champion but she was the 3rd. And not even Mary Lou or Carly had a big enough head to do that. Which given that the 84′ games were boycotted and on American soil I don’t credit Mary Lou as much. I saw that Nadia also has a meet named after her, but she freakin scored the first 10! I think that is historically sound material to be a little vain.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I wonder the same thing. Why is there a “Nastia” cup? Who made that? I thought it was a WOGA-sponsored event and that’s why – but I don’t even know if that’s the case.

        I totally agree out of all USA gymnasts in history, Nastia and Mary Lou are the most over-rated ones. By far.

      • Catherine Says:

        They seem to be popular in the former Soviet Union..Stella Zakharova, Mikhail Voronin and Larisa Latynina all have meets named after them and there’s definitely more than that.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I don’t think the Nastia Liukin Cup that is just before the American Cup has anything to do with WOGA. I’m guessing it has something to do with AT&T being the sponsor of the American Cup since Nastia has some sort of endorsement deal with them.

  12. exgymgurl Says:

    I think its just because shes in New York, shes probably not commentating, just interviewing gymnasts like she did before her fauxcomeback. She has some kind of promotional contract with USA gymnastics to have a competition named after her….She probably doesnt cost them any $$ either they dont even need a hotel and shes already there for her Nasty Pukin cup of Bulimia

  13. nero Says:



    Jo says she’s ‘planning’ on 2016 but is just testing the water right now. She says she’s got most of her skills back pretty quickly and she could be ready to compete this year!

    Do I think she’ll make the 2013 World team? No. Do I think she’ll make the 2016 Olympic team? No. But seeing her compete again, possibly at Nationals would be great! I can only imagine what would happen if she somehow managed to win the AA this year!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      If she’s “planning” then she’s seriously considering it. Good for her. I hope she’s the next Chellsie without the injuries and pisses Marta off to no end. That would be great.

      It would be great to see her compete in 2014.

      This guy sounds like the boss guy in the movie Office Space.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I just love Jordyn. She is such a down-to-earth, nice, normal girl. I’m so impressed with the fact she has continued going to regular school all this time and will graduate on time with her high school class. I wonder if she intends to go to college while continuing to compete as an elite gymnast.

  14. Biyatch Says:

    USAG pimping out Gabby and Aly at the Nastia Cup/American Cup. I think its interesting Gabby gets the Nastia Cup for interviews while Aly gets SCAM.


  15. exgymgurl Says:

    Gabby was in the pukin cup for bulimia the year lexie won… gabbriellle was 4th…..

  16. exgymgurl Says:


    Hisorical article because its the last time Gabrielles name was in an article for USAgym and she wasnt talked about and there is no picture of her.

  17. exgymgurl Says:


    The only inteview Ive ever seen with gabrielle where she almost sounds normal.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s crazy to me that she was 4th in a Nastia cup tournament, and then within two years she was able to win the Olympics. It just shows that it does nobody any good to be complacent (Geddert, that last one’s for you)…

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Or how a champion is picked and their scores are fixed nationally and internationally.

      • Kazic Says:

        Gumgurl how would it be possible to fix all the scores though?

  18. sainabou nyang Says:

    Just finished watching off the mat part 3 w/nia dennis. I am rooting for this kid and hopes she earns a spot on the national team this year.There was a comment on gymnastike about how she needs to move to CGA. I dont know anything about Nias gym but from what I’ve of her so far, bars are her strength while beam and floor are promising. Ive never seen her vault though.

    • Catherine Says:

      Err, no. CGA break their gymnasts. Besides, one of Nia’s coaches is Li Li! I’m really looking forward to seeing her this year. There are quite a few from unknown gyms this quad so I don’t see that affecting her scores.

  19. GymMom Says:

    TMZ is reporting that Aly Raisman is doing Dancing With The Stars next season which starts in March.

  20. GymMom Says:

    The new cast for DWTS will be officially announced on Good Morning America on Tues morning.

  21. GymMom Says:

    OMIGOSH…Gabby is on the E Channel Pre Oscar show with a monkey named Crystal who makes Oscar predictions? I’m sorry but this is karma for Gabby!

Leave a Reply

