Like Mother and daughter

Brandy Johnson’s daughter is 12 years old and a gymnast. She has some potential here and kind of reminds me of mom


Watch Sydney at Gymnastike

Here is her mom at the World Cup in 1990.

69 Responses to “Like Mother and daughter”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I love that floor music, lol.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    How old is she? Now if we can just get Baby Kwans and Baby Millers and non corupt USAG and figure skating then it would be fabulous lol

  3. icemeltsfast Says:

    My favorite Ohashi flight series (bhs-bhs-layout full) looking good!!!

    And Livchikova:

    Hope it doesn’t take that long for videos from the woga classic to get onto youtube (I’m not subscribed to gymstrike ):

  4. icemeltsfast Says:

    Never really heard of Brandy but I found it odd that her routine was choreographed by an aerobics gymnast… is that common??

    Couldn’t resist watching Bogi’s FX from the same competition at the commentator’s mention. Winced at that Nastia-frog double tuck dismount (Brandy does her’s much better!!). Otherwise, I’ve always loved Bogi. So fierce, lol.

  5. gingercrush Says:

    I would say daughter is better than mother. there is something very odd about Brandy in that it contains more choreography but she may as well have her head chopped off as she looks entirely vacant.

  6. Catherine Says:

    She will be at the NL cup, is that televised?

  7. sainabou nyang Says:

    Gymnastikes has new video up of Podium training for Russia, GBR, USA. Lauries bars look much better than visas last year. Her pak was a little messy, but overall much improvement. No video up yet of Nica in podium training. I’m hoping Kim Z has fixed her form.

    • Tortoga Says:

      I haven’t read the rest of the comments below this yet but I went to the Classic and Texas Dreams pulled all their girls from the international elite session. I read somewhere on Gymnastike that it was because the meet was only going to be broadcast to Gymnastike Gold subscribers vs anyone that wanted to watch. I was dissapointed because I wanted to see all of Kim’s elites but I respect her decision.

  8. Catherine Says:

    Jordan Chiles missed qualifying by 0.85 when she fell off bars, damn! I really really like her, but seeing as she is so young its not the hugest deal.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Someone mentioned on another site that Katelyn was looking messy on bars and beam. She didn’t loom bad in beam in the podium training but i expected her to some tweaks to her beam routine. Like take out the full twist.

    • mim Says:

      bet she’s disappointed but maybe it’s a blessing in disguise given her age!

      ohashi scratched floor apparently.

      why did texas dreams pull out of the comp, anyone know?

      im curious to see mini-shchennikova too!

    • Lis Says:

      I actually think it might be better for her not to be Elite. I’m beginning to think that really young kids – 12 and under – would benefit from not being Elite and instead spending a few years learning dance alongside of training.

      • Lis Says:

        Ugh, ignore the grammar mistakes.

      • Biyatch Says:

        I agree that it might not be the best to be elite so early.

        Of the 2012 team Jordyn qualifies elite in 2006, Aly, Kyla and McKayla in 2009, and Gabby in 2010.

        Wasnt much of an advantage for Jo being an elite for 3 more years than her teammates. If anything perhaps it would help pace the body.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Jo was one year older than her teammates, no? She was in between Maroney/Gabby and Aly. Kyla was the youngest. I agree though I wish we could test this theory out: pause elite, make dancing more of an element. I bet it would save a child a lot of painful injuries too. Wasn’t Jordyn out a year (2010?) due to injuries?

    • katecoursey Says:

      I really love watching Jordan Chiles….she’s crazy strong on all events for her age (3.5 on tumble trak, double arabian and double layout on floor, nice lines on bars, DTY). But I agree with some of the above comments that it might be best for her to not qualify just yet. Not only is she young, but she’ll fall a few months short of 2016. That means she has eight more years until she’ll be Olympic-eligible. Pushing her too hard now is a sure way to burn her out/injure her.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Texas Dreams pulled out….. hmmm elite war in the metroplex. That seems so wierd. Im sure Zmeskal Burdette had good reason not to compete…..They are politically savvy enough

    • mimi Says:

      yeah it’s really odd. kim seems to be good/sensible with her gymnasts so you’re probably right in that she had a good reason. she said the girls will test at camps though. just wish we knew why!

    • Biyatch Says:

      Kim Zmeskal Burdette ‏@KimZmeskal
      @GetAGripGymblog We feel good with Jan camp’s outcome for our 6 & feel it best for their next meet-situation to be at the ranch next week.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        How much do you want to bet she saw something here in he judging she didnt like and was protecting them? Smart to put them in front of the camp judges and not over pressure.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Her girls are probably close to injury enough as it is – so she wants to protect them. Good for her. She’s probably trying to buy as much resting time for them as she can, while she can!

  10. terrigymfan Says:

    Went to the WOGA Classic tonight. Abigail Milliet won the senior aa. Has anybody heard of her? She looked good.

  11. Alexis Says:

    Meredith Sylvia won the junior AA and was apparently very impressive. Laurie Hernandez was 2nd with falls on beam, bars and floor.

  12. gingercrush Says: – 15.800 my arse

    She goes on my hate list for being completely overscored.

    • mimi Says:

      i was surprised how many balance checks she had actually.

      i dont mind katelyn but all these beam routines look the same to me.

      • gingercrush Says:

        I don’t mind her either. But it’s a bit like Nastia Liukin. We’re meant to go OMG she has such lovely lines and all that bullshit when actually both have rather an ugly style to their beam routines. If you’re going to go ugly then do a Ponor and connect the hell out of it. That is impressive.

        Katelyn has the difficulty but in my opinion. Lacks style.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        hmm I actually feel like Katelyn’s beam is pretty unique: bhs-bhs-lo1/1, standing arabian connected to split jump, and the front aerial- front aerial-sheep jump?? I don’t see those too often. But yeah, I don’t recall katelyn ever known for great connections. ):

        Do people say she has great lines on beam? I never noticed that either! And lol, what makes Nastia’s beam style so ugly for you?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She did not connect the standing arabian to to the split jump. She tried but that was not connected.

        Nastia had pretty lines but that was about it. Her beam was boring but she was consistent so I guess you can’t complain too much. Nastia’s least hated event for me was beam

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I also don’t think Ohashi’s front aerial to front aerial to sheep jump was well connected either. I am pretty sure she got ALL her attempted connections if they credited her for an invisible dance series. If she didn’t get the arabian to split jump cv then her e-score would be a 9.3. I suppose that’s not much more ridiculous than a 9.2, which is what I think she got.

        The routine came off as individual skills but I see its potential (or, i am reminded of her past potential).

        Nastia on beam is okay- pretty lines come easy enough for gymnasts that are slender (compared to their colleagues) and do lots of bhs’s, layouts, onodi’s and front aerials, not that I’m complaining as those are some of my skills. She shouldn’t have been near UB 1st place in 2008. But I will say that VT is where I can complain the least. It was simple but well executed and not cheated.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        How long b/t skills before it doesn’t count as a connection? She had a bit of pause (like a shuffle) b/t her arabian and her split leap; I actually felt that connection OK though since I counted less than a second b/t the two. Gabby’s disconnect was much more and that counted (I’m just factoring in stupid judging here).

        I like Katelyn’s beam a lot. I find it much more interesting than the other typical beam routines so I agree with icemeltsfast here. I’d rather see this beam routine than most others. That being said, I don’t think Katelyn has the “gift” of the lines like Nastia did. Maybe her legs just aren’t long enough yet. She has the nice form/pointed toes though.

        And it looks like she caught on to the Maroney hair style. Unfortunately.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        There’s no definitive time (in millisecs or any quantity) limit between skills for a CV to count– that’s where the subjectivity in judging comes in (lol let’s not get started with Gabby’s credited connections). If you aim for the 0.2 CV for an acro series then there has to be rebounding between elements which means immediate take off (aka 0 pausing), unless it’s the BF. But i think it’s the 0.1CV’s for non-rebounding connections that get subjective.

        The only hard limit I know of is the 0.1 deduction for unnecessary pausing/excessive prep before elements. You are allowed 1 second. LOL think of all those standing arabians.. yeah, somebody please correct me if I’m wrong.

        **Correction to my comment above: “those are some of my favorite skills” not “my skills” as I am not a gymnast. lol

        What’s the Maroney hair style? lol they all look pretty much the same to me. (:

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That clears some things. Given the “rebound” effect after an acro element then I would say Ohashi shouldn’t have received a connection bonus for that standing arabian/split jump. She definitely shuffled a bit b/t those 2 elements.

        I wish they would deduct – like really deduct – for all the pausing. The pausing on the floor routines KILLS me. Especially that whole “set up” before a turn element. It gets ridiculous when you can tell what a gymnast is going to do before she does it, only by the setup.

        And the hair – well, that whole style where you pull a ponytail through and then clip it half-way…if that makes sense. McKayla actually pulls it off OK because she does it where there’s not much “end” to her ponytail sticking out so it’s not all fluffy. You want to see a ridiculous example of this hairstyle look at Nastia during her “comeback” at nationals and Trials 2012. Her hair was just ridiculous. Not like it’s a big deal but at least make it look presentable when you’re on TV!

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Ah, okay I should be more clear. The 0.2 CV is only for: C/D + D/more acro series (fwd or backwards) or BD acro series (fwd only) or BF (no rebound required). In any case, the split jump is a dance element and not an acro so the max she could get for that is 0.1 CV for a mixed combo.

        She doesn’t need a rebound (but if she did– ie: land her front aerial on one leg, it’s harder to argue that she didn’t connect it) to count it as a connection. Honestly, I might be a bit harsh on connections but I don’t think that’s connected because of the shuffle thing like you pointed out.

        And haha yup I see the hair thing now. lol I think Nastia was trying to add some style into her appearance- similar to the “messy bun” that’s kinda popular. I don’t hate it in real life but yeah, while watching gymnastics, I’d prefer to not have anything detract my attention away from a routine. Guess that explains the tattoo rule.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks for the explanation – that helps. Also, people are saying Ohashi’s beam is lacking of a “dance series.” What is that exactly? Those awkward arm flailings that many gymnasts do? I can’t help but think of ASac here when she did that weird thing with her mid-section while walking…(hope people know what I’m talking about) – it was almost a hula dance, but instead of swaying the hips side to side it was like the “ripple” was going vertically down…also when Rebecca Bross did that weird robotic pose that almost looked like a high block in Tae Kwon Do…I just have to laugh at some of the gymnasts’ “dance” elements!

        What is the tattoo rule? ASac had a tattoo on her neck but I noticed sometimes she’d cover it up with a band-aid or something. I’m guessing no visible tattoos allowed.

        I agree totally about the hair. I don’t need it to catch my eye while it flails around while you are tumbling. I was totally fine with Aly’s messy bun but the half-pulled ponytail can be distracting when the hair is not as “tame” – if that makes sense.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        A dance series is a CR (composition requirement, worth 0.5) for beam. You just need to have two connected dance elements (and one must be a leap/jump/hop). ie: split jump to wolf hop, which is what Ohashi used to do i think. This is relatively easy to achieve so it’s odd that Ohashi left it out– i’m sure she was just nervous and just forgot, haha.

        There are two basic skills: acro and dance. Dance skills are leaps/jumps/hops, ie: sheep jump (which is why Ohashi’s fwd aerial to a sheep is a mixed combo and not an acro combo). Acro are like saltos (back tucks, front pikes, etc).

        I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about for Asac without looking it up.. it’s like a wave/body shimmy– I think that was just for artistry/personal style. The arm wavy things that gymnasts are usually attempts to make their routines more artistic/for choreo and also keep the flow of movement. Sometimes they work (for me) and sometimes it’s just out of place (ie: Asac). But these “non-skill” movements are not dance skills– they are just part of “choreo.”

        No formal tattoo rule– but it could potentially distract judges. I think that’s why asac and marcel cover theirs- i think their coaches made them. There’s a formal piercings rule though– i think you’re only allowed 2 max. haha the code is weird sometimes.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Oh, I just looked it up: 2.3.2: j) They must refrain from wearing jewelry (bracelets or necklaces) except small stud type pierced earring/s.

        okay forget about the 2 max earrings thing sorry!!

        They should have a hairstyle rule, lol

  13. sainabou nyang Says:

    Blythes quick hits from Woga classic. Sigh Laurie fell on her Tcatchev.
    Right now I’m pretty 50/50 with Katelyn her beam routine was nice, but her bar routine with leg seperation and missed handstands could have been better.

  14. sainabou nyang Says:

  15. exgymgurl Says:

    Ive said it before and Ill say it again Katelyn is on the express train to broken Brossland

  16. exgymgurl Says:

    In NCAA news UCLA lost to Oregon State…. kind of a huge shock but they lack depth this year..

  17. nero Says:

    Oh God, it’s not even a year into the new quad and Katelyn is already everybody’s whipping girl. Poor thing. I love her.

    • Catherine Says:

      I really like Katelyn’s beam and it has enormous potential. Not a stellar routine, but it is very early so I don’t mind. If she actually connects everything and has a dance series and a creditable switch ring leap which she doesn’t do any of here then the d-score is 7.5 apparently. Brings back her old dismount and it’s 7.7. Now she wasn’t scored out of 7.5 here thankfully…it’s theorised to be 6.7ish. That layout full needs to go, it’s too piked. It wouldn’t be downgraded but it would be deducted and it’s just not nice. She can well afford with a monster d-score like that to make it tucked. I really like the potential Onodi-aerial-aerial-sheep combination.

      The fact she scratched floor and did an FTY makes me think 100% Lexie is going to SCAM.

      • Catherine Says:

        Actually, it may be 7.2 with the possibility of 7.4 with the old dismount. Depends, she might rearrange it more.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I can definitely tell that she worked on her switch ring. Her back leg was straight before (mine and everybody’s favorite) but it looks like it’s at maybe 100-110 degrees now. Getting there! Did she take a break for winter or something? Honestly, I thought she kept training. I mean, I know a major factor for competitions is to peak at the right time so it makes sense that her routine at nationals was better but I never thought that when there’s no major meets, their skills diminish rather than plateau??

      • nero Says:

        I think she might be growing/going through puberty. And I say good, get it out of the way now so she has plenty of time to adjust to her body.

        I just feel incredibly bad for what Ohashi will inevitably go through the next three years, through no fault of her own except being an insane gymnastics talent.

        The Trio will prop her up to be a USA 4peat and the gymnternet will do anything within their power to point out her flaws and bring her down.

        God be with this child if over the next few years she beats Komova and/or Mustafina.

        I’m in your corner Ohashi.

      • Kazic Says:

        Nero lolol. You are so right. If she manages to take out Komova or Mustafina the wrath of the crazy portion of the gymternet will be poured out upon her hahaha. Kinda makes me hope she does it.

        I like Ohashi but I do worry like others that she will end up burning out halfway through the quad. We’ll see though. Personally I am a big fan of Shchennikova. She has a lot of potential, she just needs to get over the nerves and that comes through experience.

      • mim Says:

        I agree better for katelyn to go through puberty/growth spurts now. I want to see the girl healthy. honestly I couldn’t care less if she beat komova or musty… I think it would make for interesting competition!

        i like shchennikova too, kazic.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        If she changes her layout full to a tucked full, her sv only goes down by 0.1 but there would definitely be less deductions. however, i love layout fulls– hope it doesn’t go and she just works on it! It has looked better before.

      • Catherine Says:

        icemeltsfast- have you seen Heaven Latimer’s? It is perfection. I’m inclined to think that USA’s best hopes for Rio are Bailie Key and Nia Dennis. Obviously a lot can change and it’s not as if I think Ohashi, Priessman, Hundley, Desch, Hernandez, Biles etc. are all going to drop by the wayside- far from it..I’m really just talking about best AA hopes.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I have not. Just looked her up. Which video are you talking about? I watched this one:

        where her layout full is high and not piked? (: But she’s a junior. After what I saw with Komova, Grishina, and Tan Sixin, I am trying not to get too excited about juniors and assume they will be just as good as seniors… okay, Komova was awesome as a senior actually. I will not go on a tirade about the judging here. But I do hope she gets her all around title soon (sorry USAG fans here, lol).

      • Catherine Says:

        None in particular, just in general. She somtimes falls on it, but I love it, nobody gets close to hers. Ah I just meant to appreciate the skill in question. Komova is out of Championships and Euros. I predicted a while ago that she would not do AA at worlds, I think now there’s a higher chance she won’t than she will..depends entirely on how fast she can heal up of course.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Catherine- what’s your prediction for Komova for the quad in general though? A comeback with perfection or burnt out/past her prime? I know it’s kinda early to say until we see where she’s at post-injury. Too bad we’ll have to wait a while before we know (like a year? unless training vids surface, right?). I hope she is taken care of and won’t be rushed back into training. Komova is the best AAer from the 09-12 quad; don’t care what her “attitude” is. (:

        Also, who had layout fulls on BB last quad?? I only knew of Deng Linlin, Zhang Yelinzi, Kim Un Hyang Katelyn Ohashi, and now, Heaven Latimer. They are all pretty good (Katelyn was definitely capable of a true layout!) but none match Kui’s or He’s.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She is going to be the new whipping girl if the judges continue to ignore her mistakes. Kaitlyn is a nice kid and she doesn’t seem to have a evil streak like her training partner has so I don’t think the venom will come out about a free pass she might be getting but if they do what they did when she was a junior and continue to give her ridiculous scores with falls and mistakes then it is going to piss me off.Be prepared.

      Kaitlyn is very lucky though because I do like her but we will see if her attitude changes when she starts to win.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Which training partner are you referring to? Bross?? I don’t think she trained with Nastia, unless you count the few months of comeback time, lol.

        oh this is an out of place comment but on your tumblr you asked (rhetorically) if Jiang Yuyuan is still training. She is– for the National Games, but I don’t think you’ll see her at any international competitions anymore.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nastia not Bross. The elites pretty much all train in the same area.

  18. Biyatch Says:

    Jordyn did an interview with Teen Vogue and it confirms shes back in training/ ok with putting off college.

    What else are you up to right now?

    “Right now I’ve started training again, so I’m back in the gym, but I’m also finishing my senior year of high school. Right now, I definitely want to go to college eventually, but gymnastics is still a huge passion of mine.”

    I wonder if she doesnt make the 2013 worlds team (which seems like a long shot given the format/ her lack of specialty apparatus) if she’ll keep going to 2014. I worry that as shes never been a Marta pet, with the influx of new talent, and her ass of a coach, shes setting herself up for heartbreak.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      Jordyn is not going to make the 4 person worlds team. She’ll probably die trying. What is she thinking? She should go compete for UMich already, lol.

      Dumb question but who are Marta’s favorites from over the years? Nastia, Shawn, Shannon, and Alicia? Are Maroney and Gabby included??

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shannon who? Nastia over Memmel and Shawn Kaitlyn over Kyla as a junior. Gabby in 2012 over Jordyn. Mccool in 2004. Bross over Bridget Sloan. Whenever these gymnasts made mistakes Marta had the judges ignore their mistakes. There are more but this is off hand .

        No one knows what Jordyn will do. I think a healthy motivated Jordyn will do betetr than you think.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        Perhaps a healthy motivated Jordyn coached under somebody else. Maybe I should keep my mouth shut until I see training video or something. There’s a half a year to go and I’m rooting for Finnegan and Ross. (:

        And LOL brain wobble there– I meant Carly and not Shannon, sorry. How does Marta persuade the judges to “ignore” mistakes?? Does she submit rescores?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta is in charge of the judges and admitted last year that she went to the judges and told them to be tough on the gymnasts. That is what she told us she said to them. Reardless she admitted she went to them.

        Don’t think for a second she doesn’t try and fix the competition.

      • Case Says:

        Jordyn is crazy motivated and I wouldn’t count her out. I see her going hard for a year with some new routines while she finishes up school and then seeing where/if she fits in team USAs plans.

        Not sure what the “go compete for U of Mich” comment was all about considering she’s pro already AND committed to coach at UCLA once she goes to college.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        I know she’s pro & planning to coach at UCLA– I go to a rival school and they strong enough already so that comment was sort of joke as I had always thought she’d go to UM since she turned down money before Tokyo. It was not a very funny joke at all though. (;

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Yes she and Bella have them at the ranch and give the judges very expensive gifts. The parents of their girls used to chip in for this.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        exgymgurl: how do Marta & Bella know which judges will be at a given competitions? And then she tells them during the competitions to be tough on only certain girls?? This is insane. But it doesn’t explain their overscores at international meets.. unless she knows these judges too?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She could definitely be the new ASac (in terms of a comeback) – although she didn’t completely eff up at the Olympics and she isn’t as prone to injury since she does bars. If Jo adds a second vault I can really see her being a threat overall. She goes back to her 2011 beam routine I don’t think Marta could ignore her so easily.

      I kind of hope Jordyn is the new Chellsie, sans the injuries! Wouldn’t that piss Marta off…

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Also Jordyn has a pass to nationals whether or not she shows up at camps. If she went to Nationals and was first or second and verified a death camps Marta would have to send her to do something. Floor…. beam…. bars…. something….

  19. exgymgurl Says:

    Brandy Johnsons kid will be in the Nasty Piukin cup here pretty soon…

Leave a Reply

