While I was sleeping the Best friends edition


Jordyn looks great. The few pounds she gained look to have been lost. She has clearly been training. HOWEVER I am sick of listening to these girls claim they are best friends. We get it, BFF’s, move on….. Being BFF’s (which we all know is bull shit) had nothing to do with winning that gold medal

If you look you can see Tasha Schwikert in the background.

Aly commercial. Hey it’s Sunday, where are you Aly????

Mckayla sure likes her keek videos. Some of them are cute, some of them are the same. Some of them are stupid but overall this is probably a great thing she does for her fans.

This one above is cute. I got these off youtube because someone uploaded them and I have decided to add the ones that are related to an event. This one is for the video she is in. The one above this is the game awards.

69 Responses to “While I was sleeping the Best friends edition”

  1. katecoursey Says:

    I believe that Jordyn, Aly, and McKayla are best friends. Gabby, not so much…..

  2. tulip Says:

    I think Kyla is also close with them. I think Gabby was until after the Olympics and her behavior fractured the relationship. It’s sad.

    • gingercrush Says:

      I think there has and probably always be tension between Gabby and Jordyn, Aly and Mckayla. I don’t see Gabby as being the easiest person to get on with and there is always this feeling that she holds herself back. I have no idea if that is a confidence issue or what but I don’t think Gabby is the type of person that is close to many people.

      Nothing nasty or anything but definately not best friends.

      Kyla one imagines can get on with everyone. As she suffers from none of the dramatics the others exhibit she’d be the type of person to hang with I suspect.

    • katecoursey Says:

      Yeah I think Kyla was originally close with McKayla, and she become close with Aly and Jordyn once she made the team because McKayla was close with them. They seems to like Gabby all right, but definitely not in an “OMG I LOVE YOU SO MUCH” way.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    As a team gymnastics wise, I’ve always seen the chemistry, but as personal friends not so much. This is just me watching their body language and eye rolling in interviews.lol

  4. DL Says:

    I think Wieber genuinely thinks of the others are her best friends, but Raisman really acted like a frenemy during the Olympics.

    • mimi Says:

      why do you say that?

      • DL Says:

        Watch the floor final–the body language after Raisman performs and Wieber attempts to go and hug her is very telling.

    • Catherine Says:

      Caught up in the moment with her coach. They did hug. Aly showed herself to be nothing less than a class act and a great team leader..motivating, calming Gabby down before beam, shaking hands with the Russians etc.

  5. Case Says:

    I think the Fierce Five is playing up the BFF angle at the sage advice of their agents.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      lol it’d be funny if they all really are quite indifferent to each other behind cameras. Well, I could believe that. I mean, unlike Rus/Rom/Chn, they only train as a team for a few weeks at the ranch every year?

  6. Biyatch Says:

    Aly interview. Nothing new except basically saying shes not training full time yet but plans to get back in the gym in a few months. ASac comeback plan it seems.

  7. Biyatch Says:

    Gabby being annoying.

  8. Biyatch Says:

    sorry for the double aly video post. i blame youtube. here is gabby being annoying. i hope.

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    Other than McKayla and Kyla, who have been best friends since they were little, I don’t think any of theses girls are BFFs. Sure they pal’d around together at the Olympics and on the Kellogg’s Tour, but I bet they are hardly even texting/emailing/phoning each other now. They’re all off doing their own things now.

    Agree that Gabby is the least likely to be a BFF with the others.

    • katecoursey Says:

      Idk, I followed them all on Twitter for several years before the Olympics (back in 2009/2010) and Aly, McKayla, and Jordyn were constantly tweeting how much they missed/loved each other. I think they bonded in camps when they were young.

      • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

        Hey Kate sorry to burst your bubble but Aly and McKayla only created their accounts a month prior to Worlds 2011. I followed them back when they could barely go past 5K to 10K followers. (Jordyn has had hers for quite a while though.)They DID tweet each other how much they missed each other yadayada after Worlds and before the 2012 camps though. So maybe you were taking about that?

    • mimi Says:

      i genuinely think mckayla/jo/aly are fairly close. as close as they can be for teens who dont live near each other.

      • Biyatch Says:

        When the girls had a couple of days off after the Boston show both Jo and Mac stayed at Alys house rather then staying with the group at hotels. They throw the best friend term around a lot which just seems like ubiquitous teenage speak but those 3 at least genuinely seem to get along. Do they probably get jealous of each other and act like brats occasionally? Most likely, but I dont know about all of you but I was a pretty big brat at 17 and 18, why should these girls be any different.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I’m probably just parsing words. I think of a “best friend” as someone who is really close and you stay in contact with for years. I think McKayla and Kyla are definitely “best friends.” Aly, Jo, and McKayla I think are definitely “good friends.” Maybe you will be able to say “best friends” but only time will tell on that. At best I would say Gabby is just “friendly” with the other four. Just my impression.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        just like the ice bucket where gabby wasnt invited……

  10. GymMom Says:

    One of McKayla’s keek videos was from the Cartoon Network where she is sitting alone. She says “hi” and then the camera panned to I think some of the other fierce five. Someone commented that it was obvious she was “throwing shade?”

    • sportsfan Says:

      I saw that video too, and the reason they were separated was because they stuck 49ers QB Colin Kaepernick inbetween all of them.

      I don’t see how the video can be called “shady”. She didn’t say or do much.

  11. GymMom Says:

    I agree about Jo looking great.

  12. JAS4 Says:

    I loved Jordyn’s dress! I think it is one of the best she has worn recently. I think they are probably friends but maybe not necessarily best friends maybe its more like after you graduate high school/college and everyone goes their separate ways and are doing their own thing and you still talk to/see everyone occasionally but your closest friends are the ones you talk to all the time

    • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

      I agree with this, especially when it comes to Kyla and McKayla. I don’t think it would have been possible for them to be as close as they were when they were kids and together all the time after McKayla switched gyms. They did reconnect fairly quickly, and that’s true friendship for me.
      Something about this made me think of Aly and ASac’s relationship. They were obviously close back when they were training together and working towards the same goal but the friendship really didn’t stay the same after trials when only one girl’s dreams came true. I do think that they would always have that ‘bond’ since they trained together for a long time, but I really don’t consider them friends per se.

      • Biyatch Says:

        Dont forget Alicia is 25 and a grownup with a lot more life experience and Aly is 18 and just out of high school…

      • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

        Biyatch, I thought about that too. The age gap is insane. I’ve just been reading a lot about Alicia and Aly being ‘so close’ on tumblr, and I just found that untrue. I kinda blurted it out here lol.

      • mimi Says:

        yeah im alicia’s age and cant really imagine being overly close with an 18 yr old, unless maybe they were family or something.

  13. gingercrush Says:

    Hmm so I guess this floor routine is going to be talked about for a while and whilst very impressive with its difficulty it honestly makes me want to vomit. Floor is more than impressive tumbling.

    • Case Says:

      A few tumbling runs were impressive but she landed one on her rear….I’d agree that the artistry could use some work too.

    • Catherine Says:

      I love it! It’s incredible what she can do. I don’t think her choreo is fantastic or anything but it doesn’t stand out as being bad or disinterested in what she’s doing so I think it’s fine. I also think the double arabian fall is a fluke because there’s another video of this in her gym and she lands it fine and sooo upright. In fact, her third and 4th passes looked like she could upgrade them given the height on the third and the overrotation on the 4th in the video I saw.

      Regardless, she will be interesting. A floor routine that’s harder than Lexie’s and Aly’s and an Amanar and Cheng….

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wow she’s got some huge potential. I think that third pass she was going for a stick. I couldn’t really see much choreo but that can hopefully be fixed by the time she’s competing senior. If she’s got an Amanar and Cheng too – she’ll make everyone forget about ASac if that’s the case, haha.

      Let me guess her bars suck. Maybe she and Katelyn Ohashi will perfectly compliment each other.

      • Catherine Says:

        She is senior, just was too inconsistent this year to get anywhere with get scores. So consistency is key for her if she can impact this year. And yes she could complement Katelyn nicely. Id like a team of her if she is consistent, Katelyn, Kyla and whoever of Ebee/Simone/Lexie proves themselves as the best all arounder.

  14. GymMom Says:

    Shawn looks middle-aged. She’s not much older than the high school girls surrounding her. Is that a double-chin?

    Fun picture from today with Blackman team! #ucanationals

    A photo posted by Shawn Johnson East (@shawnjohnson) on

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      LOL are we still talking about Shawn?

      Yes, she definitely overdoes it on the makeup. I’ll say that for her. She’s 21, right?

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Sanity, chances are GymMom is always talking about Shawn. Well more like slamming Shawn. It’s a bit of an obsession, apparently. She will not rest until Shawn becomes anorexic and stops eating the occasional sausage.

      • GymMom Says:

        Yes she uses a trowel to put her make-up on. And by the way, Shawn is known as a huge BITCH by people her age. She has no friends other than those she gloms onto or those she pays. I know she trained alot but the only friend is her cousin Tori.

      • Guest Says:

        GymMom seems like not stopping stalking Shawn.

    • Catherine Says:

      I really don’t care if she looks old before her time. To me, Shawn was a great gymnast with surprisingly good form and a very exciting beam routine which if she had hit splits on would rival Dudnik/Yang Bo etc. for greatest beam routine of all time. I wish she had had bars upgrades as she could have beaten Nastia-with-the-ginormous-bars-advantage as to me, she is a better and stronger all-arounder than Nastia. I wish her the best in settling down or going to college or whatever. She has always seemed like a genuinely nice and down to earth person, no matter how annoying her twitter is which I’ll probably unfollow. I don’t see why she’s constantly a subject, can we not leave her be for a while?

      • Case Says:

        What Catherine said.

      • GymMom Says:

        Shawn is not down to earth & she is definitely not nice unless the cameras are rolling. I am closer to the situation than you are and happen to know.

      • Catherine Says:

        I’m going by the impression I get of her from her interviews. She radiates niceness, and does not seem fake at all. If that’s not the case, then it does not affect my opinion of her gymnastics- the main thing. I do not know her, notice how I make no claims to 100% know her personality..only ‘she seems’. It does not seem you know her firsthand, moreso second or thirdhand. That does not lend itself to a fair and unbalanced view of her since people around somone famous or successful are apt to bitch about them. If you are right, and obviously you could well be, I still don’t care. She was a great gymnast but I don’t want to see her being brought up needlessly every 2 minutes.

      • Gymbee Says:


    • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

      Shawn does not look old. Shawn is not fat. Shawn eating an sausage does not mean that she is eating unhealthy.

      Just thought I’d get it all out there.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I don’t resent anyone posting their opinions on this blog. That’s what it’s for. I think it’s all entertaining. I get the sentiment on the weight comments but other than that, if we didn’t have people stirring the pot every now and then there’d be not a lot to talk about.

      It’s kind of like Sarah!’s blog talking about dimwit Shawn and corn and taters. It’s kind of funny, I think. And ASac’s knockers.

      GymMom should start a blog like “What would Shawn Johnson Do?” – I think it would be funny, actually.

      I was a huge Shawn fan and I’ll always be a fan of her gymnastics. I was hugely (like, HUGELY) disappointed when she retired. I still don’t fully believe the reasoning and think there was something else behind it that I’ll never know about, but I was really sad not to see her give it a true go at nationals in 2012.

      • GymMom Says:

        Another example of Shawn’s phoniness! She claimed she was going to do one thing but she did another. I don’t think her comeback was real on any level other than to extend her 15 minutes.

        People in Iowa are sick & tired of her, other than some 5 & 6 yr old gymnasts at Chow’s.

        My daughter has mutual friends, many of whom cheered her success leading up to Beijing continuing through 1st season of DWTS. After that they all dropped her like a bad habit because she became a bitchy diva, which she remains today. By the way, there is no love loss between Gabby & Shawn. That is a well known fact.

      • mimi Says:

        her retirement doesnt bother me. she’s got her reasons for keeping quiet id imagine. maybe she was avoiding a situation like what happened to chellsie, or even alicia.. and given her link to the gymnastics world, im sure she doesnt want to compromise her position by pissing off marta and the usag minions.

        i always take comments on personality from other people’s opinions with a grain of salt. not discounting you or your experiences gymmom, but too often ive heard negative things said about particular people, and if id taken them at face value i would have missed out getting to know some lovely, sweet, nice people. who knows, maybe shawn truly is a monster but to me she seems okay, i stand to be corrected though!

  15. sanitynmotion Says:

    I always think of that song from Hangover “we’re the three best friends that anybodycaneverhave….the three best friends that anybodycaneverhave…”

    Honestly it’s convenient to label them all “best friends” for the sake of team unity. These five will be paired up forever pretty much so best to make it seem like they are “all” best friends; the media eats that crap up for breakfast. Remember also the slack that McKayla, Aly, and Jo were being given before the Olympics; the “where’s Gabby” comments and how these girls were “so mean to exclude Gabby?” Yeah so honestly much easier to pretend they are ALL one big happy gymnastics family. Even though anybody that knows how gymnasts are and how competition in the gym can be would laugh at that statement.

    If these girls had to compete against each other again (and some of them might) don’t tell me they won’t be secretly rooting for each other to fall. Especially Jo and Aly, I would think. I know that they get along now and everybody is all chummy, but put that competition factor back in and I think Jo has got something (a little something) against Aly and possibly secretly resents the success Aly had at the Olympics. It would only be normal for a really competitive athlete like Jo. I am also really competiitive and I think that’s how I’d be feeling too, like it or not.

    I also think Aly secretly resents Jo for having received more attention for NOT making the AA over Aly making it. So there’s that. I think McKayla is the glue that holds them all together, and Gabby is an accessory that “has” to be there. Kyla gets along with everyone and adds another barrier for any sort of potential conflict.

    That’s my take on this whole BFF thing.

    • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

      If I could like your post Sanity, I would. LOL That’s how I perceive the fierce five too.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Were any of the Mag 7 portrayed as BFFs? I can’t recall hearing that any of them were that. I do think the Fierce Five got along better that almost any US team I can remember.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Back in the day these gymnasts spent time only when they competed. With facebook and twitter and video chats there are a lot more ways to connect then there ever was in the past. I think that is why it seems like they get along better.

        I find it all a bit phony.IMO. Having watched these girls when they compete against each other there is next to no interaction unless the camera’s around.

      • Biyatch Says:

        the mag 7 was before national team training camps. if they bonded it was probably while they were locked in the greensboro coliseum in the lead up to the games.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Mag 7 doesn’t seem bonded at all – seemed like there was a lot of tension between some of them. Dawes was always jealous of Miller; same with Strug pretty much; Chow was like Kyla (no animosity but not really a “come together” type either) and that team lacked a Maroney. Amanda Borden was the captain but…yeah, she wasn’t even like an Aly. I agree though the whole social media thing makes it completely different though. And I wonder if the sheer number of them threw things off – having five girls having to get along over seven. Seven is easier to establish inner cliques; five you almost “have” to get along…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Chow developed a bitchy attitude in 2000. She was heard bad mouthing Miller with Dawes, Dantzscher and others back stage by people that were working the meet. Amy is no saint and is nothing like Kyla.IMO

      • terrigymfan Says:

        If there is any truth to Moceanu’s book she said the Karolyis would let her and Strug eat or socialize with the other team members at all. So that was a division right there. Then with Dawes jealous of Shannon, and Shannon not exactly being the outgoing social type herself at that time (she was still kind of shy and very inner focused), I can’t imagine there being a whole lot of bonding on that team.

  16. sainabou nyang Says:

    Gymnastike just posted an interview with Gabby. She planning on returning to training later this spring. I knew she wasn’t going to take a full year off but then again she might do on competition.

    Whether you like her or not if shes in shape and ready to compete things will be very interesting this year.

    • Catherine Says:

      I believe Chow said Gabby was not planning on competing this year. So maybe just training? She looks the exact same as last year, I doubt it would be tough for her given how minute her frame is to get competition ready if she wants to do so.

    • Case Says:

      Gabby’s body type lends itself to longevity in the sport if she so chooses. The question is whether or not she’ll have the desire to put the work in….and if her family will let her focus on training vs supporting them all.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That will be interesting. Sucky personality or not, I always thought Gabby had more potential in the longer term, so if she actually reaches that it’d be cool to see. I think of everyone in the Fierce Five the two that still had yet to reach their full potential were Maroney and Gabby. Kyla just needs to upgrade her sh*t, but everything else about her is damn near perfect.

  17. terrigymfan Says:

    Sarah! has a really funny “Official Licensing Exam for Physicians” on her site. There is one question that I thought GTT would find especially funny:

    8. Nastia Liukin enters the emergency room complaining that every time she looks in a mirror she starts vomiting. After taking her blood pressure at 110/65, pulse at 70 bpm, and temp at 98.2, what is your initial diagnosis?

    A. Not sure, but her heart is in good shape
    B. Not sure, but her respiration is fine
    C. Not sure, but her eyesight is perfect

Leave a Reply

