Shut up Shannon: 2013 Edition

Shannon Miller saves the world from fat people. I think I have heard this story before. I am eating a donut right now Shannon but don’t worry, its in moderation. I have not had a donut in years.

This is a great Q & A. Take the time to read it. These are great questions that I have never heard Shannon answer before. A very interesting read.

Aly will get her award in NY tonight and it will be given by Shannon. NY loves to take credit for us so they chose Aly to be given an award so they can photograph her with a bunch if Yankees. Rolling those eyes

Shut up Shannon is called Shut up Shannon because Shannon never shuts up. Type A personalities….

Sorry more Shannon. I think she makes more money then the Fierce Five combined. We see more of her then any of them. I see her stealing Aly’s water deal from this little article. Maybe I should change, Shannon , shut up to Shannon takes over the world!!!!!………..:)

33 Responses to “Shut up Shannon: 2013 Edition”

  1. GymMom Says:

    For someone who claims to have dedicated her life up health, she fainted during her talk? She should have eaten saltines and/or orange juice if she is experiencing morning sickness.

    And if she wants to combat childhood obesity, she needs to lobby against high fructose corn syrup & over-hybridized wheat…the 2 biggest contributing factors to obesity..childhood & otherwise.

    God I really am sick of the idiotic propaganda from people who are clueless about health, who want to tell others what they should do.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Shannon is all about moderation and exercise.

    • Catherine Says:

      I don’t believe methods like those are foolproof though? She said on twitter it was moreso from dehydration from it, so she probably hadn’t fully recovered her hydration and then the standing didn’t help.

  2. Catherine Says:

    The intro to the Q&A is a bit annoying. Atlanta in 92. Silly mistakes, bahh. Also, first team to beat the Soviets since the 50’s? They did not compete against the Soviets. Certainly a completely fantastic team and the strongest there, but if they want to mention a victory over the soviets then they should have a postcript (because the soviet union did not exist, and most of their coaches fled to the west). In other words, don’t bring up a team and claim victory over them because they didn’t exist.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      lol good one Catherine. I’ll have to read this later.

      I find Shannon less annoying than some because she certainly has the resume to impress. She doesn’t get nearly enough credit from USAG so the more attention she gets elsewhere, the better. And the more steam coming out of Marta’s ears lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shannon always says the same thing. That is why i tell her to shut up but I would rather listen to her then any fierce five member

      • Kazic Says:

        I was going to say GTT she’s the best gymnast we’ve ever produced and waaaay underrated, so she can talk as much as she wants imo. USAG certainly isn’t going to do it for her.

  3. Dee Says:

    I like Shannon too, but she may be shy and memorized and uses the same script on a loop or she has interview Tourette’s.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I read the Q&A and only thought the sex question in the Olympic Village mildly entertaining. Otherwise, blah. Unless I missed something.

      Is she wearing a wig? I have to be honest I really hate her damn hairstyle. If she’s going to spend all that money on her face at least have a current hair-do. That hair is like from a 60-year-old widow nursing some 30 cats.

      I think Shannon should be a trainer on the Biggest Loser; go up against Jillian. lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She always has a wig on.

        I thought the questions were better then the usual boring stuff

      • GymMom Says:

        Why does she wear a wig? She needs to get some wigs that are real hair & a stylist to take care of them.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Love Shannon but I swear it looks like she’s had more plastic surgery every time I see her. Her jaw keeps getting more and more angular. And I can’t understand why she is still wearing a wig. Surely her hair has grown back by now hasn’t it?

        Also, considering that in Barcelona Shannon was not only 15 she looked like she was about 11, the question about sex at the Olympics although funny was a little on the creepy side.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    At least it’s Shannon instead of she who must not be named lol

  5. lol Says:

    Shannon had cancer. Her hair is curly and short. Who the hell is anyone to question why she wears a wig?

    • GymMom Says:

      A person promoting health should at least wear a decent wig. She can certainly afford it and a stylist to take care of the wigs.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly. She spent all that money on her face at least get a wig to complete the look – that wig dates her, big time.

      • Gymbee Says:

        What looks good is subjective though. She probably likes the way she looks.

      • lol Says:

        WTF does health have to do with a wig? Just because you don`t like her wig doesn’t mean it looks bad. As long as she is happy with herself I am sure shew doesn’t care what you think at all.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I think you are being a little overly sensitive Lol about our comments re Shannon’s wigs. If I’m not mistaken the folks including me who said they don’t like Shannon’s wigs admire her and generally have been very complimentary of her on this blog, both for her gymnastics career and the way she has handled herself since then, including the way she has dealt with her cancer. We weren’t criticizing her for wearing wigs. We were just saying in our opinion the wigs she does wear don’t look that great. Others disagree and say they look fine. So this is no big deal. Obviously Shannon probably thinks her wigs look good or else she wouldn’t be wearing them.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Not necessarily why she wears a wig is being questioned. Why can’t she find a better one is my question. That one makes her look like Dorah or something. I dunno.

      Sometimes after treatments the hair grows back completely different (i.e., if you had straight before, it could grow back curly and vice versa). I’m wondering if she just didn’t like how her hair grew back.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I didn’t see this string before I asked above why Shannon continues to wear wigs. I guess after chemo treatments it takes a really long time, probably years, before your hair grows back like it was before. It’s probably thin and stays short or something for a really long time. Still I agree with GymMom and Sanity that you would think Shannon could get some nicer (and less fake looking) wigs.

      • GymMom Says:

        She wrote in one of her blogs how easy it is to “just plop a wig on my head.” No Shannon it’s not that easy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have no idea how long it takes to grow back. I love how on so many drama TV shows where someone gets cancer and does chemo; literally the next season they are back with all their hair as if nothing ever happened. I know, TV is so stupid with that.

        I just Googled this and it said your hair should mostly all be back 5 to 6 months after treatment. Didn’t Shannon stop her treatments about that long ago? Not sure. Maybe she likes the wigs – makes getting up/getting ready much easier, right? Maybe? I dunno.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe she isn’t comfortable with her new hair. It is really curly and she always straitened it maybe she isn’t allowed to put anything in it.

        I am with LOL no one has the right to judge a cancer patient on how their hair looks.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m not judging Shannon for wearing a wig, or questioning why. I’m more curious as to why she chose the wig she wears. I don’t think it suits her. I was just expressing that as an opinion, not a judgment.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The wig is very much like how she wore her hair before the cancer. Not trying to argue with you here but as someone that spends money to get my straightened I can only imagine what it would be like to not have control over my hair.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I just wanted to clarify I don’t think less of her for her hair. I pay money to straighten mine, too – it’s called Brazilian blow out only it’s not that brand; it’s the one without the formaldehyde crap they use on dead people. Which is horrid for the eyes when they put it on.

        Anyways – yeah I grew up idolizing Shannon much the same way I later idolized MK. I even wore my hair in scrunchies with the tin things and danced around my parent’s living room pretending it was the floor exercise. So I’ll never be negative on Shannon. The only thing that bothered me was when she was praising Nastia Liukin at one point. Bleck. Although I have to wonder if she was doing that in the hopes of getting a hosting job with USAG or something.

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      I’m right with you lol. Who criticizes someone’s wig?! She’s a cancer survivor, let her wear whatever damn wig she wants.

  6. terrigymfan Says:

    I thought she finished her treatments well over a year ago but I may be wrong. I’ve never worn a wig but I would think they would be pretty hot and uncomfortable, like wearing a knit cap all day. Again, though, I don’t know.

    We could talk all day about all the little things on TV that are totally unrealistic. Like whenever they show a baby that is supposed to have just been born, it looks like about a three-month old. Same with “high school” kids – they usually look like they are in their twenties because usually the actors playing them are in their twenties.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah – my favorite is how characters have children that you never end up seeing, and they never end up being taken care of in real life terms. Like Emma on Friends. Anyone with a newborn would not be hanging out at a coffee shop after work!

  7. Karlie Says:

    My mother had chemo a while back – her hair grew back completely pigmented, even though it was (mostly) brown before the cancer. Dying it brown made it look worse because it was so thin. So she wore a wig for at least a year. It’s not exactly pleasant to be in your thirties and have people ask you why you have a full head of white hair, or why your hair is so thin it looks like you’re balding. Eventually it grew in and regained some color but I completely understand why Shannon could be wearing a wig.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thanks. I just don’t agree with judging cancer. Having never been through it I can’t imagine what a person has to deal with.

Leave a Reply

