Help get Shannon Miller Verified on twitter.

Anna Li is verified on twitter. So is Julie Zetlin ( I bet none of you know who the hell she is either) Elizabeth Price, verified on twitter. So is Rebecca Bross. Know who isn’t verified on twitter America’s best gymnast of all time, Shannon Miller.

Shannon has 16 world and Olympic medals overall. 10 are individual medals, Combined the people above have 6 world medals (all belonging to Bross) and NO Olympic medals. (Anna Li has a medal made by USA-gymnastics, officially Alicia Sacramone is the alternate with the medal)

I know twitter is not life or death but it is a social site and for them to have these gymnasts above verified while Shannon Miller isn’t is ridiculous.

I write this blog because a girl asked me to retweet some things on twitter to help get Shannon verified. I decided to take it a step further and write a blog.

The twitter account is @GetShannonOffic

Help spread the word and join the account. Its kind of pathetic that only 3 people want to help.

144 Responses to “Help get Shannon Miller Verified on twitter.”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I don’t get it. Why doesn’t Shannon ever get the credit she deserves? It’s like people are living in a shoe or something.

    Like who the hell cares about Anna Li (sorry, but she’s just lucky she’s decent on the one event the USA has a hard time fielding gymnasts for); and Bross, while decent in some areas (mostly blecky) could never hold a CANDLE to Shannon Miller.

    I find the whole thing just irritating.

  2. Catherine Says:

    I know who she is! Julie is the US rythmic gymnast who managed to qualify to the Olympics. She was on the Kelloggs tour, the one with the long brown hair- she’s a stunner. Anyway, I’ll join.

  3. mim Says:

    i know julie zetlin… the rhythmic gymnast right? she seems like she was sucking up to a-sac on the tour, both were tweeting BFF type tweets and it got annoying ha.

    aren’t twitter verifications based on the amount of followers you have?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I was being sarcastic about Julie but I bet in five years I won’t remember who she is.

      • mim Says:

        yeah you’re not wrong about people not remembering in five years lol.

    • GymMom Says:

      Twitter verifications are not based on number of followers. They’re subjective decisions made by those running Twitter.

      Just like Shannon narrating NBC’s online coverage of the 2012 Olympic Gymnastics as opposed to primetime coverage, this is another disrespect of Shannon.

  4. Case Says:

    Julie Zetlin is ASac’s BFF.

    She’s also a US rhythmic gymnast.

    • JECO Says:

      Shannon Miller was a gorgeous gymnast who should get her due recognition. She probable doesn’t spend much time on Twitter and could care less. She is a class act all around!! In some ways I see a lot of similarities between her and Kyla Ross. Same elegant lines and little attention in the press!!! The good news is I don’t think either girl particularly cares about the social media.
      Can’t wait to see Kyla develop in the next few years, her potential is endless!!

  5. terrigymfan Says:

    Off topic but my Crimson Tide kicked some serious Notre Dame butt last night. Roll Tide! Hubby not happy (ND grad). LOL

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I hate Notre Dame. I was so thrilled they got their butts DON’T tell your husband:)

  6. david0688 Says:

    Does anyone know if the others have a twitter? I know Dominique Dawes has one.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I think Dawes and Strugg are verified I’m surprised Dom M. hasn’t tried to get verified lol Shannon deserves way more credit than she gets!

  8. GymMom Says:

    Shannon Miller’s Twitter is @shannonmiller96

  9. sainabou nyang Says:

    I dont have a twitter but what do you mean verfied. I could have sworn Shannon had a twitter account.

  10. Nina Marie Says:

    Shannon isn’t verified on twitter because she missed the time-frame to verify. I remember reading about it, I think she said that on her twitter page at one time (or maybe during an interview).

  11. Guest Says:

    I think Shannon didn’t care the verification issue so much. If she want to do that, she will give the declaration to twitter official by herself. Shawn also started her twitter in 2009, but she was just verified during the London Olympics.

  12. terrigymfan Says:

    Okay, showing my social media ignorance here. What does twitter “verification” mean? And how do you know someone has been “verified”? Does a seal or something show up in their twitter account? Finally, is there anything we can do to help get Shannon verified other than becoming a follower?

    Sorry for all the questions!

    • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

      It means that you’re ‘real’. Verification helps us distinguish the real accounts of celebrities/athletes etc. from the fakes. Verified accounts have blue check marks next to their name and twitter username.

      Actually I think Shannon has to the verification process herself, but I’m not exactly sure…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shannon retweeted the girl. She was pretty excited that Shannon acknowledged her back. She also sent a tweet to Chellsie asking her to help but Chellsie ignored her request. She said she wants to tweet Nastia and ask for her I was like, good luck with that.

  13. Ashlee Says:

    To get verified, twitter has to contact you. There is nothing the gymnast can do to get verified. Olga Korbut created a twitter a little before london and got verified a few months later.

  14. Ashlee Says:

    I’m suprised Shannon didn’t get verified during London, it seems like any person associated with gymnastics was then.

  15. terrigymfan Says:

    McKayla shopping in Bevery Hills. Notice her sleeves match her Louis Vuitton designer bag. Can you imagine what that combination cost?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      More the I make in 8

    • JECO Says:

      So what ?? She is earning her money….

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I wasn’t criticizing her — just making an observation. That outfit is pretty striking, unlike some of the others I have seen the Fierce Five in since London.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Don’t be over sensitive. I personally refuse to pay 100 plus dollars for a bag when the economy has been shot to hell and people are living on the streets without shoes but that’s just me.

        The most I ever paid for a purse was 15 dollars and I was mad I wasted that

        Her parents are rich and she had most of this stuff before the Olympics

      • mimi Says:

        so many people have LV speedys in australia (many young people here tend to buy designer even if they really cant afford it, keep cashing it up on their credit cards) and they cost a hell of a lot more here too (as does practically everything). personally i think it’s overdone and if i had the money (i dont) to spend id get something a little more special but she’s 17 and probably isn’t into fashion beyond labels and what’s promoted to teens in the mainstream. unimpressed by her outfit though. i wish i could be their stylist haha.

        glass half full comment – at least she’s stimulating the US economy by shopping, right?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I dont think she was buying anything yesterday. She and her “friend” was actually probably someone from Ms America that was going through and helping her try on stuff they had pulled. That handbag is probably hers or “on loan” from before. Shes an OC rich kid like Lauren Conrad, who got tired of playing second fiddle to Kyla Ross and moved to AOGC…. its that simple.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She has better fashion sense than Aly, that’s for sure – although I still don’t understand her shoes. Maybe she’s too fashionable for my taste, haha.

      Those pictures of her look a lot less photo shopped than her Instagram photos, that’s for sure…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She never seems to have real pants on either, always those stretch things.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah are those even in style? I guess…although if you have any ounce of fat on you that can’t look good, unless you wear a big baggy sweater/shirt over it.

        Looking at her house (photos via Instagram) you can tell she’s from a very wealthy family.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aly wears them too. My guess is they gained some weight. Full gymnast training means size negative 6. Normal girls means bigger sizes

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah you’re probably right – they probably all need to buy new clothes now that they aren’t training 8+ hours a day anymore. I’m sure all of the Fierce Five has gained weight given the minimal training they now do.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Yes with her legs and body I can see why she wears those stretch pants. Sometimes she wears a kind of baggy “baby doll” top that is not all that flattering. The sweater vest or whatever it is that she is wearing here though looks really good IMO. It’s funny how she always seems to be looking down slightly.

      • Catherine Says:

        Leggings still kind of are, though wearing them with a short top is an instant no. She has that bag since worlds 2011 or before, I remember the fuss when it appeared in a photo. McKayla tends to wears clothes that appeal to me, whereas none of the other girls do except Kyla, they all seem unfashionable and very 90s or something. Maybe California girls are very British/Irish with trends.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I hate what Jordyn wears. It’s like soccer mom meets Debbie Gibson. It just doesn’t mix. And it’s never flattering.

        Gabby’s clothes are either too wild or don’t match, one way or the other. And Aly’s just…don’t match. And are also rather unflattering.

        I love Kyla because she probably doesn’t even “try,” yet she just gets it right.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Jordyn dresses like Nastia and Shawn did. Ugly shirts with no sleeve and lost of glitter.

        When you are a size negative 0 how hard is it to dress nicely?

        Kyla dresses like everyone and Mckayla is usually okay but I don’t know what the other 3 are doing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Debbie How she dresses now or in the 80’s???:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m thinking “Electric Youth” Debbie Gibson, lol. Only sans the shoulder pads and the Charlie Chaplin hat.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is my favorite Debbie song:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Me too! I was just reliving the music video for old time’s sake – to be honest I don’t remember the video much but it’s terrifyingly cheesy. Might give the USAG Kellogg’s tour a run for their money in the “cheesy” department:

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I remember the video. The part when the 3 girls are Debbie at different ages. I totally remember that.

      • mimi Says:

        aussie teens live in leggings/jeggins, cut off midrif tops (think glastonbury festival gear) in winter, denim bum shorts in summer. mckayla looks like how teens dress here.. sometimes i think she dresses a lot older, but again, so many teens do i guess.

        jordyn bless her gets it wrong every time (soccer mom gone wrong), aly does too but it disappoints me more because she claims to know so much about fashion and clothes. kyla doesn’t try and looks like a nice, normal, fairly well put together kid. gabby is so tiny she looks strange in non-gym clothes.

      • Case Says:

        Jordyn looked the best at the VMAs. Her dress selections are better than her other typical choices. She, along with Aly the fashion queen and Gabby, would benefit from a professional stylist.

  16. JECO Says:

    Well if she had the bag before the Olympics she should be complimented on not “splurging”. And besides, what ever we the consumer buys, will help support the economy, more than us feeling sorry for poor people.
    Don’t assume she comes from a wealthy family just because of a few pictures.
    The whole discussion is silly!!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You are taking one innocent comment and making more out of it then anyone meant. The majority of people at this blog love Mckayla so get over it.

      No one is perfect.

      • JECO Says:

        Appreciate your comments…;)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think I believe but really, don’t take us so seriously.

      • Jeco Says:

        I’m not too serious either, but I’m not so sure the comment was so “innocent “…. Just saying!!!;-)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think it was Terri that said it and she is actually a big Mckayla fan if I am not mistaken,

        We make fun of everyone here. Equal opportunity aha

      • JECO Says:

        Excellent!! I’m having fun too;-)

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Maybe we should call it “Pandora’s Handbag”! BTW JECO, and hopefully not to make a big deal about this, I don’t think any of us were saying McKayla is committing some great sin by having an LV handbag. A couple of us were just saying it is our opinion that paying ten times what an item is worth just because it has a designer label is a waste of money and a bit superficial. Lots of people do superficial or silly things though even if generally they are to be admired. As GTT said, I and a lot of other readers of this blog are big fans of McKayla, both for her gymnastic ability and her personality. I really don’t think we were attacking her personally but rather just stating our views on the whole idea of having designer clothing and handbags. And even if it was (which again I don’t think was the case), the fun thing about this blog is there are no “untouchables” like on some other blogs. Even Shannon Miller, whom I believe most of us admire, gets her share of criticism here.

      • JECO Says:

        Amen to that:))

      • mimi Says:

        it’s a fair call terri, and you were respectful/nice in how you wrote your opinion🙂 but i dont see it as superficial. im of the view that if i ever have the $, i’ll invest in a couple of good quality products and make it last years instead of cheap stuff you chuck out and replace 6-12 months. each to their own!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Oh Mim I’m definitely a believer in paying more for a quality product that lasts rather than getting something cheap that won’t last. Many times the “name brand” that is more expensive does mean higher quality. Seems like that’s really true for appliances, kitchenware, things like that. I don’t think though you are paying for higher quality when you pay $300 (or whatever they cost) for an LV bag. Almost all that extra cash is being forked out for the image. This is really no big deal though. If that’s they way someone wants to spend their money is their business but it’s just not my thing. At least McKayla is still using the same one she has had for over a year. Now when she starts showing up with a different designer bag every other week . . .

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Debbie Gibson…LOL!!! Holy hell that was funny Sanity! Seriously…made my night!🙂

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      If the discussion is too silly for you, then you don’t have to participate in it. Just sayin’.

      Sure beats discussing abortion policies, religion, and menstrual cycles.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I love how people find one negative comment and look over the 50 nice ones.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        And I didn’t see anything negative in saying that the purse was very expensive, or that she wears expensive clothes. It’s a factual comment. Also, this is commonplace in California. Even if people can’t afford it, they’ll buy a $300+ dollar bag to “look the part.”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Rich people hate it when you call them out for buying stupid things.

        I love how she said it will help the economy, yes because louis vuitton bags are such an economy boost for families that need to

        Okay so now I am just being mean:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        haha I know – like the people that are buying the Louis Vuitton bags are indirectly helping out all those other people that are losing their homes, or are barely scraping by on two part-time jobs without benefits.

        I also don’t understand how the bag is not considered a “splurge” just because it was bought (a year?) awhile ago. A handbag’s primary function is to hold your shit. You can carry around a free grocery bag to hold your shit, buy a $15-$25 purse to hold your shit, or purchase a designer handbag for $100+ to hold your shit. Which one of these would be considered a splurge? Hrm…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never could buy a handbag that cost 300 bucks. I would feel guilty about it. If I had the money I would rather buy a house or send my kids to College.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        lol I first thought you said “buy a horse” and then I read it again. Yeah I’m with you. Or a vacation even.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        yep I want a

      • terrigymfan Says:

        LOL. A horse is one of those things I always thought I would love to have so long as someone else had to pay for all the upkeep.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A horse is every little girls dream but mine.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ah, who doesn’t love a good old abortion debate though. Ireland is currently debating it, and trying to enact legislation that was written 20 years ago and abandoned. Because we do not have abortion at all. And the amendments won’t allow for it either, only in the case of life endangerment for the mother, through health or suicidal tendencies. Watching the news makes me think that we threw off the oppression of the church, and yet in some ways never moved forward at all. Contraception was illegal IN my lifetime, so was homosexuality. Sigh.

        Anyway. When I first watched Atlanta and the mag 7, I only really cared about Dawes. All of the hype on Kerri and on Shannon was annoying- I didn’t see what was so special about Shannon for ages.

      • JECO Says:

        All this because of a handbag??!!! Having fun too!!

      • mimi Says:

        oh catherine, i remember reading about that poor lady in ireland who died because she was refused an abortion by the hospital even though it was on medical grounds. it was only last year wasnt it? my heart went out to her husband, so sad😦

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, October I think. They think she would have died regardless, but it certainly would have reduced her suffering. Quite often it is a non issue, because Britain has abortion and its very cheap to get there. Still crazy though. There will have to be a referendum too.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I know I’m a sucker for a good debate on menstrual cycles!😉 jk.

        Catherine, I was in Ireland in November, and saw all these election posters that said “choose children” or something and featured a sad looking child. Was wondering what exactly it was for, was that something to do with abortion?

      • Catherine Says:

        No that was for the childrens referendum. It was to reinforce their rights and make it less complicated to a child from an abusive home. It passed. We have lots of referendums because any change at all to the constitution has to be put to the people. We have messed up and delayed EU treaties by voting other country holds public referendums for them.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Ah, thanks for explaining! Yes haha, the Irish are famous for screwing up Brussels plans😀

  17. gingercrush Says:

    hahahaha I use to think Shannon Miller was a bitch back in 1996 when I knew basically nothing about gymnastics. The Chinese and Romanians were way better I thought and Keri Strug was amazing as was Moceanu (cough cough). Even once I seriously got into gymnastics Miller wasn’t something I thought much of. But she keeps growing on me which is scary.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      OMG You were a media follower. You believed the hype. AHHH:)

    • Case Says:

      Shannon is one of those gymnasts you appreciate more as the years go by.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I hope Kyla follows in Shannon’s gymnastics footsteps and goes to multiple Worlds and Olympics! I would love to see Jordyn or even Aly or McKayla do the same but I would be surprised if they did!

  18. GymMom Says:

    My 19 yr old daughter mostly wears the black leggings. Most of the younger girls live in them.

  19. Ashlee Says:

    They are called “Yoga pants.” Very comfy and popular these days!

  20. sainabou nyang Says:

    I read this on couch gymnast. This supposed to be the updated version. I wondee which elites she interviewed.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      stening to that podcast, including the interviewers’ comments after Joan Ryan was on, just reminds me of how dark gymnastics was back in the late eighties and nineties compared to today.

  21. exgymgurl Says:

    Actually I think they are skinny jeans. They are making them in tons of colors, even at Walmart you can buy them for $15. They put a lot of stretch in them, but do the pockets like denim and call them jeans. Yoga pants dont have a zipper, and in LA you wouldnt be caught dead in yoga pants…

  22. exgymgurl Says:

    Okay off topic, but Im beginning to wonder if Shawn didnt leave elite gymnastics not because of her knees but because she was done with the head games. Nastia and the others hated her in 2008 and played a ton of head games. I wonder if she said to herself at some point hey I won a gold medal, really what more do I need to accomplish? and didnt just say this is BS. I really dont think its about her knee. She looked amazing at 2011 nationals, it was only when she started going back to camps that she started having issues. I also wonder if maybe she couldnt stand Gabby. Most of us can’t but can you imagine training with her day in day out…???

    • H Says:

      Why did the others gave her some much stress? Was it just because she was good?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Nastia Alicia etc used to bully her on twitter. I think in her Nike blog this time around she talked about rooming with Alicia. I think Alicia was over all of the head games too. But I think Shawn just decided she didnt want the comeback. Had she kept progressing her DTY bars and her beam at 2011 nationals were fabulous. Yes she fell at Pan Ams, and maybe Marta wanted more difficulty. I think she should have been on the 2011 world team. Every bar routine I watch from Anna Li, while difficult is wrought with error. Especially after Alicia got hurt.

        It was a head game. Marta didn’t want her in Tokyo, although from her routines and her scores she could have easily surpassed Gabby, Sabrina, and provided that 6th person on the team if Marta didn’t want to use Anna Li.

        Also I cant imagine training with Gabby Douglas. Yuck. Shawn seems like such a nice girl and Gabby is so vile. I think she just gave up. I read a really good article ./ interview with Hollie Vise, about how after the 04 selection she just stopped training and lost her drive. I think although Shawn said the goal was next year, for 2012 she lost her drive. She could have gotten there without all of the reps and still had enough difficulty to be competitive. Pain management and tempered workouts could have gotten her through and I dont see why unless It was obvious Marta wasnt going to use her just because Marta preferred Nastia she didn’t continue.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta made Shawn take the full on beam out of her routine.

        Shawn had an upgraded routine at pan ams on bars, a 6.4 I believe. She must have had that at camp.

        I like you think Shawn saw the writing on the wall at that point. I imagine that if I found out they were holding a spot for Nastia that there had to have been rumblings between the gymnasts even earlier then I was told she was being given a spot if she hit.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        This would actually make sense about Shawn (and is what I suspect too for the most part); it’s just that the only thing that doesn’t make sense about this is that ASac continued with the head games – when she should have known better, especially since she suffered a really bad injury in the interim. She had the exit door available right there with her injury; she could have easily taken it and saved all the grief that she probably went through after Trials. No matter what she had an awesome comeback to her name.

        And ASac and Shawn were roommies; I’m sure the Marta thing was brought up between them behind closed doors. It seems like ASac must have known about it the way she was ignoring Nastia at nationals.

        Shawn definitely had a 6.4 bar routine up her sleeves for Worlds, was known to hit in competition, and was getting her ’08 difficulty back on her beam. She had a DTY – in a field where you really didn’t need more than that as long as you had a solid three other events (she would have complemented McKayla well if she did beam, bars, and floor). She also could have easily trained up to a 6.7 bar routine (same as Gabby) by the time of the Olympics. I don’t buy the whole knee thing; I think she just used that as an excuse after she realized no matter what the odds would not be in her favor. She could have shown up to nationals, done extremely well but Marta would make sure to keep her scores low so Gabby could outshine her.

        It all just sucks because I would have really loved to have seen Shawn make that comeback, for reals. I think that whole re-hab thing she did in Colorado was just a way for her to seem like she was training/making a comeback when she knew all along she wasn’t going to be going to nationals. She was just staying super fit for her sponsors most likely.

        It also sucks we didn’t get to see ASac do her upgraded vault. That would have been bad ass. Marta makes me really hate this sport sometimes.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is why I personally think Alicia was told don’t do the new vaults or floor and you will be on the team. She’s pretty stupid to think she would be on this team.IMO.

        Marta could not put Shawn on the world team in 2011. She couldn’t let that happen because then Shawn would have been the media darling and Nastia would have been a non issue. Marta wanted Nastia.

        Its why she could not chance having Chellsie at Nationals. Everyone counted Memmel out on 2012 but it would not have surprised me if she had come out and just proved everyone wrong.

        I think it was all fixed from the start and it took Shawn less time to realize she had no shot then it did Alicia.

      • H Says:

        Thanks:-) And I also could not understand whys she was not on the worlds team, except from Marta being Marta …

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        All things pointed to her doing really well at that camp. I also remember how excited Shawn was on twitter. She was hitting at camp.

        Marta named Sabrina to that team and originally had Gabby as the alternate. That pretty much proves in my mind that Marta was never going to pick Shawn for any team again.

        She was holding a spot for Nastia even at this point.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I know it just doesnt make sense. She was doing so well, and then for her to just give up why? And Sabrina Vega of all people who had less difficulty and was unproven. Its like replacing Izbasa or Ponor with Haidu… ( an y’all know I love Pitic)…..This is the book I want to read. Kylas spot was being held for Nastia all along. And there was no room for Shawn, but why? Shawn didnt have the best floor in 08 team finals but neither did Alicia…The Shawn at Pan Ams even before the fall on beam looks completely crushed and devastated….

      • exgymgurl Says:

        It also doesnt make sense that at 2011 nationals Bross does that vault. Why not just have her compete a 1.5? Her leg was already bothering her. Its almost like Marta broke her on purpose. It irritates me watching Nastia not even surprised, like her dad hit Bross on the knee ala Tanya Harding….. and Chellsie Memmel shaking her head knowing it didnt have to happen that way. Pushing Bross and getting her out of the way for Nastia was a perfect way to open a spot. That and I want to read ASacs book in 20 years. I think she decided to keep going for Under Armour etc to the trials and to rehab herself. I think she and Shawn both knew……. I think Chellsie is the only one that is enough of a BAMF that she thought she had a shot. What happens if Chellsie does that floor routine at Nationals and hits on beam? And her bars…..What happens???? Marta didnt want Chellsie either. Sad but true.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        This is what is wrong with Marta. She wants the girls at each others throats competing for every spot.

        I hate that they won this year because Marta’s game playing finally worked.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think the gist of it was Marta knew back in 2011 who she wanted to be on that team. And none of the ’08 girls were on that list – except Nastia.

        I wonder if Kyla ever found this out. Seems weird that I would know something like this and she wouldn’t have a clue? I mean those girls had to have talked to each other eventually…I feel like most of the girls I listed in the first paragraph knew this already. They were a lock unless they really effed up at nationals/Trials. Which is what Nastia did.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I really don’t think Kyla had a clue. Her people might have seen what was going on but if Nastia was as bad at camp as was reported then the gymnasts probably didn’t feel threatened.

        Nastia went to a camp and reportedly looked really bad. I don’t thinks she went back to a camp after that. Marta told her to stay home. So while Nastia was at starbucks with her friends the day she was supposed to be at camp, making up excuses about a fake injury when in reality she was told to stay home these gymnasts probably figured she was done.

        She had the gaul to show up at Nationals having worked a full UB routine for only a week. Imagine the arrogance you must have to do that?

        Nastia pretended she was working hard and we all know that was BS.

        Nastia walked around Nationals giving Kyla dirty looks like she was trying to psyche her out. She only hugged her when the camera was around. She did the same thing to Gabby and Gabby never looked at her.

        That is the only thing I ever liked about Gabby is how un-effected she was by Nastia at Nationals and Trials. It seemed like Nastia was stalking her at one point but Gabby never even looked at her. It was hilarious.

        There was one part at Nationals where Nastia is sitting there ignoring Gabby until she see’s the camera then she pulls her over and hugs her. She did the same thing to Kyla, at least on camera.

        This is all first impression.I have not seen Nationals since it happened so I could be wrong but I remember the way she seemed to be giving Kyla dirty looks.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Random people have told me Alicia was cold to Nastia at Nationals but I did not notice things on the TV. I have to go to Trials next time, no matter the price.

        I do remember Alicia tweeting the stuff about hanging out with Chellsie, Shawn and Bridget. That seemed kind of deliberate. Hell that amuses me.

        From what I can remember being told Alicia never actually was mean to Nastia at Nationals out in public. I think Alicia is very much the back stabbing type.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally. From what I was told ASac completely ignored Nastia during nationals, like pretended she wasn’t even there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There was a picture roaming around where they posed for a picture together.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There is a great quote from Tim Goebal on the Jenny Kirk podcast thing she does where Tim talks about how bad the back stabbing in skating is. Something about if kids in the lower levels knew what was going on in the upper levels they might be more prepared by the time they got to Nationals.

        The fact he is talking about the backstabbing and stuff that goes on pretty much proves tome a lot of the conspiracy theories we think are real, at least in skating. Which means its the same way in gymnastics.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        ASac was also told not to do two vaults at nationals right? Didnt Mihai get irritated with her because she did two vaults? With McKaylas concussion, she is the reigning US vault champion….. There is so much backstabbing. Shawn and Nastia were always reported to be best friends. AT&T made up that story for their endorsement deal. How often did you see Nastia at DWTS for Shawn and yet she was there all the time for Evan…. I know she was on tour and had to pretend she was a two time olympian and all but please…. Sheryl Slade as much created a story for Shawns latest book as she did for Gabby’s first book. Its all BS. And I’m beginning to think Shawn moving back to Iowa and doing nothing ( she should become a professional trithlete or something) is just indicative of the fact that that its all BS. Oh BTW tickets went on sale for the teen choice tour stop in Austin… no musical guest… just Gabby and Jordyn and Aly…. $108 for VIP floor seats… yeah no try again….

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree I think Shawn quit because she new there was no way she would be on the Olympic team after she wasn’t on the Worlds team even though she should have been and I’m sure everyone knew Nastia was planning on announcing her comeback because wasn’t she tweeting about being back in the gym a little while before Worlds? I still think there is no way she should have been on that selection committee after Marta supposedly caught her training bars at the Ranch. I think after Nastia officially announced her comeback at Worlds Shawn knew why she was left off the team knew that it didn’t matter how good she was Marta would screw her over for Nastia. I still think Marta over hyped and over scored Gabby to begin with to spite Shawn and try to motivate Nastia to hit a bar routine in the process(and mess with Jordyn since she wasn’t a Marta pet). I think ASac had an upgraded Vault and Marta knew it and she really thought she would be on that team but she realized too late that Marta was telling her not to show her upgrades to screw her over.

      • mimi Says:

        JAS4 – YES. that actually makes sense. i always wondered why marta invested so much into building gabby up in particular (went from being kinda meh to really pushing for gabby, focusing on really building up her confidence compared to the others) .. to give nastia a bit of motivation, someone to catch, considering nastia most definitely knows that shawn never had a shot.

        gabby goes up a few notches in my book if she barred nastia off, haha.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Even though it may have screwed over Shawn, Alicia, or whomever, I’m kind of glad to see it pan out the way it did. If it wasn’t for Marta screwing with things, we would never have seen Nastia’s ego slammed to the floor (literally and figuratively). While it may not have meant much to the four year fans, it meant something to me. It showed that payoffs, side deals, favoritism (or whatever went down with Marta), doesn’t always win. Nastia got her comeuppance, and at some point…Marta will too.

      It was actually quite funny to witness first hand how far she had fallen during the Kellogg’s tour. Sitting in the stands watching her perform some stripper routine the whole night made it worth it to me. She performed very little “gymnastics” (I think the toughest skill she did was a front arial on beam), and it made her “comeback” even sweeter for me. It solidified that she was over…and would soon be forgotten.

      The highlight of the night was seeing Chellsie (spelling?) tumble at the beginning of the show. She did a double arabian tucked, and a double pike during the routine. While these are not the hardest skills, it showed that no amount of pink leotards, gobs of makeup, or Subway commercials could make up for dignity and true talent. Chellsie was never my favorite gymnast, but I can tell you one thing…I’d rather watch 20 hours of Chellsie perform “timing duties” (ala nationals), than watch 2 more minutes of that stripper crap Nastia was selling on tour.

      Long story short – Marta’s skeeming only ended up proving Nastia’s an untalented stripper. And to that…I raise my glass.🙂

    • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

      I really think that ASac was personally told by Marta not to do her upgraded vault and not to even attempt floor, and that ASac had no choice but to agree because she knew how Marta’s head worked. Marta pretty much sabotaged Chellsie because Chellsie never made it a point to attend camps and follow Marta’s rules, and Alicia probably thought that her best chance of getting in the team was following ALL of what Marta said to her. Too bad Marta was playing her from the very start. I think that the reason Marta gave Alicia her 10th world medal despite the injury pretty much says ‘You’re done, you made history, you won’t be getting on that Olympic Team’.
      I really feel bad for all the ’08 girls save Nastia. I don’t think any of them had a real chance in making the team with Marta calling the shots but they persevered anyway. I really can’t help but admire Alicia, Chellsie and Bridget for trying until the very end. I can’t blame Shawn either for losing the drive – she had solid beam and bars, hit at camp, and yet Sabrina Vega was named to the Worlds 11 team ahead of her.
      I’ve never disliked Nastia prior to Trials but now I really don’t like her. She was given free pass after free pass, and she had the gall to admit that she only put together a bar routine ONE WEEK before Nats. The nerve. And of course, we also had Bela Karolyi telling the press that had Nastia hit ONE bar routine he would have fought for her to be on the team. Just imagine.
      Oh and the bullying Shawn thing never happened on twitter, I’m pretty sure it was on facebook. Sam’s page, to be exact.
      And yup Mihai was pretty mad that Alicia did two vaults during Nats and I have no idea why.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I thought it was Shayla Worleys page?

      • mimi Says:

        gymbee you’re right, i think it was shayla’s facebook page.

      • Catherine Says:

        I don’t really get the insistence that Alicia had that vault up her sleeve, and would have been able to knock a floor together. She was injured after the training video emerged, and after that it was obvious that it had effected her vaulting. Her Rudi was still great, but much less dynamic and explosive than what it had been. Quite frankly I’m delighted she never did the harder one. As for floor, very difficult to get that together in the timeframe she had post recovery. Bad timing! Can’t blame anyone who warned her not to do it or floor. Makes sense to me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She had her floor passes by her own admission. Some of us think she was told not to do floor with some type of guarantee that she would have a shot, a shot she never had really.

      • Lyra Gill (@lygill) Says:

        After Nationals, Alicia stated that she was able to do her 4 floor passes. I just wondered why she didn’t go all out – she had SO MUCH up her sleeve.
        And no it was definitely on Sam’s facebook. A photo of Sam, Nastia and Shayla was posted, and a friend of Sam’s asked where Shawn was. I remember another friend of Sam’s saying that Shawn wouldn’t be in the picture or something and Shayla goes ‘I like your friends, Sam.’ I know Nastia said something too but I really can’t remember what. I tried checking earlier but it looks like Sam finally made her profile private.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mihai knew Aly was his best chance at having an Olympian. Maybe he sold Alicia out to make sure Aly got in.

        I remember how IG kept saying Aly had no chance at making the team before Nationals and how stupid they sounded saying that.

        It was fun watching her succeed and shutting up they brats at that board.

      • mimi Says:

        i guess mihai knows how marta operates too, so you’re probably right GTT in that he knew aly had more chance than alicia.

        i often wonder how much of this is discussed between coach and gymnast. maybe not so much with the younger girls (e.g. i cant see jenny zhang being 100% straight up with kyla about nastia’s spot on the olympic team, especially as she commented on kyla’s lack of confidence sometimes but surely she knew what was going on there), but alicia is an adult and i can see a coach being a lot more frank and honest about what goes on with team selections than with the teens. i cant really see mihai leading alicia on though, i daresay mihai would be good at managing their gymnast’s expectations.

      • JAS4 Says:

        An interesting thing though is that if Alicia had been on the team in McKayla’s spot then there’s a good chance Gabby wouldn’t have competed in the AA because she was the most inconsistent on beam so it would have been better to use ASac in prelims leaving Gabby out of the AA then again even if ASac were on the team I could see Marta only allowing her to compete Vault and using Gabby on beam anyways lol

    • Longtimefan Says:

      Hope this link works. I think she says it exactly in this article.

  23. lol Says:

    Shannon Miller got hype in 96? I must have missed that hype. If she got any hype she deserved it. Besides winning Nationals she was the gymnast with all the records to back up the hype. Jackie Fie needs to be bitch slapped for loweing Miller`s bar scores with the way Romania, Lilia and the Dominique
    `s we`re scored in Atlanta.

  24. Catherine Says:

    What does everyone think of Lloimincia Hall’s new floor? I can’t help it- I LOVE it. She’s so into it, I just couldn’t care less how little it bares a resemblance to ‘classic’ choreography. It’s what NCAA is all about I think, and I’ve never seen anyone look that happy performing. Can’t properly embed, think it’s private.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am sorry but I don’t think I have words to describe exactly what I think about that

      • Case Says:

        Seriously, I’m like wtf was that routine? It’s like watching a Saturday Night Live Olympic spoof or something.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is a perfect

      • Catherine Says:

        Hahaha, seriously- it will probably grow on you if you sit through it again. It’s all in her enthusiasm I think.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You want me to watch it again???:) Okay I’ll try, if you meant me.

      • Case Says:

        Can you imagine a Russian gymnast doing something like that?

        God bless the NCAA.

    • Catherine Says:

      Ha yes, you have to work at liking it! I love it now..I know I should hate it but I just can’t. Oh and her form on tumbles is very nice too, have to give her credit for that and her ginormous straddle leaps.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I watched it yesterday and I had a reaction of awe and horror lol.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That is one hott mess but I had to laugh when her whole team was doing her corner dance choreo with her at one point…otherwise I really just don’t know what to say.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Looks like something you are more likely to see in “the Battle of the Bands” than a gymnastics meet. (A very obscure college football reference I know.)

  25. Catherine Says: embeds here. Couldn’t get it to do that on my own blog damnit!

  26. exgymgurl Says:

    google talia chiarelli imitates mens floor routines or something like that. There is a youtube of Talia at Brestyns doing a mens floor routine as a spoof. Similar… funny

  27. Biyatch Says:

    predictably Kyla and Ebee to the American Cup

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Im happy that Larissa will be competing as well.

      I cannot wait for GTT blogging during

      Is anyone going to scam?

    • mimi Says:

      same here, cant wait! scam should be interesting just based on the commentary here! im also looking forward to seeing how elisabeth seitz has progressed since the world cups actually.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Im glad Kyla is actually getting an assignment….. She must have looked good enough at camp🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I will try and get tickets again now that I know Kyla will be there but unless they are good seats I would rather stay home

  28. JAS4 Says:

    Lexie’s new floor routine.
    I actually think this might have potential once it’s all put together. I have never really been one way or the other on her gymnastics but while the music isn’t my favorite it’s upbeat and she seems to be showing more personality from the little bit shown. The double L-turn needs to be fixed or changed but I think it will be interesting to see once its complete.

    • Biyatch Says:

      I saw this and was trying to figure out what her D score will be, Its hard because you don’t see everything together. But with tumbling passes of double-double, full twisting double layout, 1.5 to full in and double tuck. Thats H, H, C, E, D- 2.8 for just acro. Can probably guess D, D, C for dance- 1.1. CV- .2 or more if she leaps out of any of the passes. Plus CR-2.5. Thats a D score of a 6.6 and thats without any leaps…

      • Catherine Says:

        Not if she presents an L turn like that! She’s probably better off with a normal double, or triple if she can manage it. She always struggles once she lifts her leg on them. But then, she’s not great with the difficult jumps to make up for losing out on a difficult turn. Either way, girl is so powerful. But I don’t think even she can leap out of her first 3 passes…probably the double tuck if she can summon some energy at the last. As unappealing a dancer as she is, I can’t wait to see that incredible routine in one piece.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She can’t dance but her routine is presented pretty well. I also think her full in laid out is not actually laid out so she might not get credit for that either.

      • Catherine Says:

        Its quite piked, same as her one off bars. But its still in progress I suppose.

  29. brainy Says:

    I assume everyone has seen this news:

Leave a Reply

