Bridget Sloan era begins

Why the hell can I get 3 blogs in one day and nothing much else for the weeks before????

Bridget had a great vault, mediocre, messy bars and a nice beam routine that IMO was underscored compared to the stuff I watched UCLA do this afternoon. MARK MY WORDS, Kaitlyn Ohashi will be a UCLA Bruin. This girl was tailor made for the overscoring UCLA gets just for showing up.

35 Responses to “Bridget Sloan era begins”

  1. Lis Says:

    I’m just glad that Bridget looks so happy.

  2. Guest Says:

    British dancing shows seem to love their gymnast also. Beth Tweddle is featuring on Dancing on Ice. (Louis Smith also won the latest season of Strictly Come Dancing)

    • Catherine Says:

      It started yesterday, Beth was pretty good and they showed off her flexibility. She did get criticised for holding herself so stiff, but that’s what she has always done for gymnastics so would take a while to get rid of.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Was that Pam Anderson?

      I really wish Beth had won bars. It would have made this Olympics so much more bearable to deal with.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I hope she does the AA in the next few weeks I was kind of surprised she didn’t do floor this weekend! And I agree about UCLA they are good but I see routines from other schools that are the same or better but don’t score as high. Is anyone else doing the college fantasy gymnastics draft that the couch gymnast is doing? I figured I’d attempt it lol

    • mim Says:

      im guessing they are just pacing/starting off slow and saving bridget for AA later, but I could be wrong.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I think this weekend they are competing against LSU so it will be interesting to see the line-ups this week

  4. Catherine Says:

    I was dissapointed with Bridget’s beam because her acro skills have zero amplitude- very, very flat. But still, first outing and she was great. I watched UCLA’s meet and I LOVE Olivia Courtney. Much better routine than VaZam, who got 0.5 more for a weaker routine- tumbling and choreo wise. VaZam was great on beam, and Danusia of course excelled there. Not sure why they put her on bars, she sucks at them. Sophina DeJesus was impressive, but overscored. From the other team I really liked Alyssa Click and one of their girls on floor- she got a 9.8.

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Im not an expert on the perfect 10 system but I thought her 9.8 on bars was to high considering her arches in her handstand.

    • Biyatch Says:

      ncaa scoring is wharped. over inflated compared to level 10.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Biyatch it certainly is like Kytra hunter scoring 9.9’s. WTF? I remember her floor work back in the day.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I still don’t get the whole elite transition to college thing. Bridget can do a DTY right? So why does she just do the single one here?

    I’m glad she still does that cool release move on bars though.

    And her floor is one of my favorites from her (just in general as an apparatus), so why no floor yet? OH well.

    What’s really funny is on beam Bridget’s choreo reminds me totally of ASac.

    • Catherine Says:

      Because she is training a lot less. All of the girls will be easing themselves back into the season. There’s no real need to do a DTY, but she might choose to do a 1.5. The FTY can and does get perfect 10’s though. She definitely will be in floor lineups, maybe they are still tweaking her floor, or just giving more people a chance when the meet is not that important.

  7. exgymgurl Says:

    If a DTY and a FTY are both out of a 10 then why stress the extra and do a bad DTY? There is no incentive. The incentive is to stick a FTY and have great form. I have never seen a college coach put an athlete in 4 events in their first meet. Its too much stress, and the first meet is really about seeing how everyone scores as a baseline.

    Also Rhonda Faehn needs to see who can do what and give the alternates a chance in the easy meets to get some practice and skills. In a team with this much depth Kytra Hunter the AA champ from last year didnt do AA. They dont need to. It was a given that Florida would win.

    I remember Susanne Youcalin after the first few meets Courtney Kupets beam routine had a problem and wasn’t worth a 10 SV and she went back and fixed it. Thats really what the first few meets are used for. To see who has it together and who doesnt. Usually they do an intrasquad every week before the meets and the top 6 scores get to perform. Unless there is an injury or someone needs rest.

    NCAA is a very long season.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s weird to me…a FTY gets the same point value as a DTY…then what’s the point of doing difficulty? But then it gets rather boring, no? I guess that’s why I don’t follow NCAA then – I prefer the excitement of elite. However elite isn’t near perfect either because the code makes it so that now every routine looks the same (beam, floor, bars…and everyone either does a DTY or amanar on vault).

      I guess this just confirms that people like Anna Li are rare – to come out of a college system and go into the elite system, when college caters towards watered-down “easy” routines.

      • Catherine Says:

        Well it’s important to remember that these girls are full-time college students, with assignments, lectures and actual social lives. Their training time is SO much less. The stress is on fun and perfect execution of what they are capable of, not the drive for more and more and more difficulty at the expense of their bodies.

        Because they are older, they are more prone to the serious injuries anyway. Sam Peszek has just proved that- it’s the third ACL in UCLA alone since 2010. I like seeing the originality NCAA brings, rather than moves putting a huge amount of stress on their knees etc.

        The ones who do more difficulty (like VaZam and Kytra Huntra) tend to score higher all the same. But yes, it’s a bit like the early DTY’s of the 90’s, and Silivas’s double double- absolutely NOT rewarded, done to show what they can do. Tatiana Lysenko herself said this in an interview.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thank you Catherine for sharing that. You’re totally making a good point (one that I forget since I take it so for granted how much these girls train as an elite gymnast/most of them being home schooled and what not) that there are other time-taking tasks at hand other than training while in college. Duh on my part. I remember seeing Sam Peszek doing an arabian on the beam and thinking good for her for keeping that in her skill set.

        I love originality too and wish we could see more of it in elite.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I read somewhere that some of these former elite gymnasts say that it is a myth that competing in college is more “laid back” that elite competition (at least when they are in one of the premier college programs such as Alabama, Utah, UCLA, or Georgia). In some ways, they say, college gymnastics is actually more intense and nerve-racking. They don’t train as much (although they still train a lot), and the skill levels are not as high, but they go through way more competitions in a season than they did as an elite. Also, every meet has a team competition aspect to it. It’s the team competitions that are nerve-racking because you are competing for more than just yourself. In elites being part of a team is few and far between.

      • mim Says:

        Terri you might be right about the stress factor. especially juggling training, away competitions, plus all the study.. and a social life of you’re lucky/not a hermit. It would be a pretty demanding life being a college gymnast. Sometimes I wonder if being injured (like, say, shayla) is actually a bit of a relief for some of the girls.

  8. GymMom Says:

    Enjoyed your 3 blogs as usual. Happy New Tear! Apparently Shawn is devoting the entire next year to health and fitness? I thought she was already devoted to that???

    No talk of going to college.

    • Gymnerd Says:


    • Guest Says:

      Maybe Shawn signed a long term contract with Nike to promote health and fitness. I heard she would go to college in the fall of this year and I predict she would stay in CA so that she has more room to work with her new career.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    Lockouts over. GO bruins…. #NOTUCLA

  10. gingercrush Says:

    Ok dunno if I am being a bitch or not but I just don’t get the appeal of NCAA Gymnastics.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You are not being a bitch. Its pretty boring and I hate all the rah rah while a gymnast is trying to compete. That would drive me nuts

      • gingercrush Says:

        Well I find all gymnastics boring. There is only so much you can watch before it gets tiring. I do like that gymnasts can keep going even after elite or can participate in the sport even though they were never at the elite level.

        Sabrina Vega would have been perfect for college gymnastics but some bizarre reason along with everyone else at 2011 worlds decided to turn pro.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She hasn’t turned pro. Sabrina is still able to go to College at least from what I have heard

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You find gym boring because everyone now a days does the same routines due to teh code whoring. It was fun back in the 80’s and 90’s IMO

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        TOTALLY agree.

      • Case Says:

        Agree ginger. I think Vega and Bross turned pro way too soon.

      • mim Says:

        no one has confirmed that sabrina has gone pro though. isn’t it gymternet urban legend?

  11. macstabby Says:

    Gahhh Go Bridgie! I totally don’t generally care about NCAA, but I may have to start because I love her. I saw above that people saw other meets- is there a good place to check out online to see complete meets?

Leave a Reply

