Happy New Year everyone

2012 pretty much sucked overall for me ( keep in mind my year is usually based pretty much on how my baseball team does)and so far it is ending the same way. Tonight I had the crappiest day at work and found out I don’t have tomorrow off like I thought I would. I got in a fight with “the boy” because I now don’t want to go out all night when I have to get up in the morning and to top it all off I burned two fingers on the stove earlier and now I have to type with one finger but no sad tears for me people because 2013 is just around the corner, the burn will heal, the boy will get over his man PMSing and apologize like he always does and my boss won’t be at work tomorrow so I won’t have to extend myself doing work he will surely take all the credit for anyway and I am on vacation in two weeks straight damn dab in the middle of one of the busiest times of my job so sit and spin on that bossy:)

So leading into 2013 tell me what you will be wondering about? Besides the usual things for me like trying to figure out what anyone see’s in Scarlett Johansson as an “actress” and trying to figure out how to turn back time some things I would like to see are as follows,

Kyla Ross to rule 2013, I want to see upgrades on beam (like a new dismount) a more consistent Amanar and a floor routine where she doesn’t get whiplash throwing her head back to much because the girl has tonz of potential and I want to see it fulfilled through 2016.

A healthy Bridget Sloan at Florida, Not just through 2013 but the next four years. Bridget is my shining hope to dethrone any mention of Courtney Kupets ever existing. Bridget needs to stay healthy.

The retirement of Gabby Douglas. She needs to take her one individual medal and fly off into her sunset of every four year mentions so I can have a peaceful gymnastics future without ever looking at her face again. Make it happen fate. You made me look at Nastia during subway commercials for four years straight the least you could do is ground the Gabby ego.

Speaking of Nastia, I want her to go to NYU, Stay out of Boston and stay off my television. She is already too old to be a normal College freshman ( can you see her being laughed at during the frat toga party.lol) so don’t even think about stepping foot in another gym.

Aliya Mustafina to fix her twisting form so I can finally get behind her as a gymnast. She is a true AA gymnast even with the chucking of the Amanar and while I have always liked her every time I see her form I want to go smack her coaches. YOU WERE PART OF THE SOVIET UNION FOR HEAVENS SAKE, This type of chucking should not happen. ever.

Tell all books from Alicia Sacramone, Chellsie Memmel, Shawn Johnson and anyone else in the gymnastics world (not named Dominique Moceanu, Gabby Douglas or Nastia Liukin) that can tear the cover off just how corrupt USA-Gymnastics, Steve Penny and Marta Karolyi have been over the years.

I want Nellie Kim fired and proven a cheat. I want the gymnasts in the past that were screwed over like Shannon Miller in 92 and Isabelle Severino in 96 to get the gold medals they should have had in those years and I want justice for everyone not involved with the alleged Chinese 2008 debacle to get the medals they actually earned on the floor. I am not asking for too much am I:)

I would like to see fair scoring in 2013.

On a personal level I would like a World series for my baseball team, a Superbowl win for the Pats, Paul Pierce to be traded to a bad team and never heard from again and the Lakers to finally tie (2013) then take over (2014) the NBA title reign so I can laugh and laugh and laugh in face of pure evil (he makes Marta Karolyi look like a saint) The end….. (for now. I will have more wants through the year)

99 Responses to “Happy New Year everyone”

  1. Kate Coursey Says:

    I would like to see:

    -Kyla Ross dominate (as you said). I like Ohashi more than a lot of people on this blog, but that vault…man, it’s just no bueno. I’d take Kyla over Ohashi any day.

    -A Maroney vault. I will always have a soft spot for Maroney, and I wanna see a TTY or a double back yurchenko (no matter how unlikely it may seem, I am holding out hope!)

    -Gabby to go away. She just bugs me.

    -At least one serious comeback attempt from one of the 2012 girls. Seriously, all the 2008 comebacks were jokes.

    -With you on Aliya Mustafina. Love everything about her, except for that twisting….

    -New young gymnasts who nobody has ever heard of!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I like Kaitlyn. I have met her she is very polite but the overscoring she gets drives me insane.

      • Kate Coursey Says:

        I agree she is overscored. I guess it’s just easier for me to stomach her overscoring because she’s so much more likable than Gabby…I’ve only seen one interview with her, but she seems like a really sweet girl. And I do enjoy her beam when she hits.

      • mim Says:

        i agree that she seems much nicer/more humble than gabby.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I have,a feeling that Kyla will finally break the comeback curse. she might actually look like Khorkina minus the emaciated look, but if her coaches are smart about her upgrades than I think she’ll be fine. Its the amanar she needs to practice on.

      I’m 50-50on Jordyn and her possible return.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m going to only disagree about ASac’s comeback. That sh*t was legit. Hence, I really second you GTT on that tell-all book.

      • gymglitterxx Says:

        For all you people saying Alicia should write a tell-all book, exactly who’s spot on the team do you think should have gone to her instead?? I think every girl on the 2012 Olympic team fully deserved her spot.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Against my better judgement I am going to approve this comment and hope I come back tomorrow without a troll but for me personally I don’t think she should have been on the team, I think she should have been alternate. I also think she got screwed over by Marta because IMO she was told to not compete her new vaults and not do floor and in the end this is what cost her. Marta publicly said she didn’t have to upgrade, just get back to where she was before and the whole world knew that Alicia had NO chance of making this Olympic team unless she could out perform Mckayla on vault and that was not happening unless she upgraded.

        There was something very fishy going on concerning Alicia and I hope one day we will hear about it

      • Kate Coursey Says:

        Yes, you’re right. I meant to make an exception for ASac, but I forgot…she was really impressive this year, especially after her injury.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly. I didn’t think ASac was making that team unless Maroney got seriously injured (another reason I felt she should have been an alternate – McKayla WAS injured, but only one more accident away from that injury being serious enough for her to not be able to compete – I’m talking about her leg injury, which was there but not apparent until that accident on tour).

        Anna Lee’s alternate spot was a joke. Even if Gabby or Kyla got injured Marta would put Aly on bars before she would allow Anna to take anyone’s place. Marta obviously was playing head games with ASac on that move.

        What I want to know is exactly what Marta told ASac because I remember seeing the article where Marta basically said all ASac needed was her ’08 skills, which I found to be completely ludicrous. If it were me I’d know to probably not even bother after tearing my Achilles at 2011 Worlds – ASac needed that floor even to be half-way useful given McKayla’s amanar.

        I have a feeling Marta led ASac to believe she was getting a spot. She probably figured tell ASac the same thing she told Nastia (since they’d talk, we all would guess that) knowing she was leading ASac on.

      • Short1 Says:

        @gymtruthteller I remember the article where Martha was quoted saying that Alicia didn’t need to upgrade; and I believe, in the same article, it was also implied that Martha suggested that she not do floor. I definitely agree that a tell-all book would be very interesting…especially since she seems like the type of person who tells it like it is.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A bitter Alicia would be a great writer:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Someone needs to plant the seed in ASac’s head. She should write a tell-all under an anonymous name and under the “guise” of a fiction story. You know, the passive aggressive approach, lol. She can set the scenes in different time frames and even in a different country, with a coordinator named Marge Spamoni. lol.

      • mim Says:

        i wonder why she listened. do gynnasts/coaches ever ignore marta and upgrade/make changes?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        This is the question of the quad, really. WHY DO THESE GIRLS/COACHES LISTEN TO MARTA when they KNOW she screws people over right and left. It’s no secret. If Marta were to tell me/my coach something, I’d do the exact opposite. Don’t bother training bars? Heck, I’m going to put more effort into that apparatus. I don’t need any more upgrades? Oh joy I’m adding skills. You know?

        I have to think ASac is smarter than that, that’s why I really want to know what’s going on. Or what went on.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have always wondered why anyone listens to her. Train the damn event and keep it under wraps until the competition.

      • Short1 Says:

        I’m wondering if, as far as listening to Martha or not (in terms of upgrades), it’s kind of a catch-22. If someone listens to Martha, they might not have all the difficulty and/or events they need, but I would guess they’d be less like to end up on her sh!t list (so to speak). If they don’t listen, they would probably have the difficulty and events they needed… but would likely be on her sh!t list.

        If this was the case, I would agree with keeping the upgrades/other events under wraps in the competition, and then doing everything possible to knock it out of the park and put up numbers that would be hard to ignore.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree completely I think ASac was told she would be on that team with out showing upgrades especially after Maroney was injured at Nationals on Floor I think she was led to believe that she didn’t need to show upgrades on Vault to be put on the team which is why she apparently headed out pretty quickly and seemed so surprised that she didn’t make the team

      • mim Says:

        but she couldn’t have honestly thought she was going to make it over mckayla without upgrading, could she? i guess you might be right, with mckayla injuring herself at visas it seemed like she wasn’t a sure thing. or it was at least presented that way to the other gymnasts/coaches.

        i agree with all you guys – marta says do one thing, you do what you can to upgrade/do as much as you can, keep it secret, knock it out of the park on televised comp days so the judges, the public, the other competitors and marta can’t ignore it. except i suppose all marta would do is then argue “oh, but can you do this consistently? i’ve only seen you hit this once” sort of thing to get around putting them on the team.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Thats what I was thinking too Short1. If Marta tells someone not to upgrade, and they do it anyway, and shows it for the first time in competition, she might be all “I kaaant trast you” “I am hed coooch”

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have to wonder if ASac was told/was led to believe she’d be making the team over McKayla because she did have upgrades in her back pocket, and Marta told her not to showcase them yet because she should “save them for the Olympics” or something like that. Like pretend to ASac to not let the other countries know she had a higher-graded vault planned. Truth be told if ASac did have that vault, she’d have made an impressive addition to that team, given EVERYONE ELSE had amanars. Yes, McKayla’s amanar is the most impressive, but the scores don’t show that. If you look at the scores, you’d think Gabby’s was damn close; same with Jordyn. The team didn’t need McKayla’s amanar. At that point, an amanar was “just another amanar” from the US standpoint. Everyone had one.

        And furthermore, let’s be honest the team didn’t need McKayla for that win. She was a one-trick pony, whereas ASac had at least two events she could be world-class on. I can see from ASac’s point of view why she thought she had a chance. Her interview after day 1 of Trials told me she thought she had a really good shot; they asked her how she’d feel with the alternate spot and the look on her face was almost one of shock, like “that can’t even happen, that’s not what I’m here for” and she almost said as such. I could tell right then something was going on behind the scenes, but it was like the joke was on her because we ALL knew McKayla wasn’t being left at home; and Gabby/Aly/Jordyn were all basically locks. That left us with the need for a bars person, so I knew that person HAD to be Kyla (I wasn’t even going to give Nasty the benefit of my consideration, lol).

      • Gymbee Says:

        Very plausible sanity, that makes sense.
        She MUST have had some sort of inkling she’d be selected, why else would she put herself through that and fight her way back after injury? Also the way in which she just disappeared from the HP Pavillion right after trials. If she’d been more “ah well, didnt make it” don’t think she would’ve just ran off like that.
        Tell all book ASac, please! Although USAG will probably buy her off and give her a job. If she wants to keep working within gymnastics she can’t afford to alienate them.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I really think that ASac believed she was going to be named to the team and I don’t think she would have thought that unless she was told so by Marta even if she didn’t have upgrades but I think it’s a good possibility that ASac had upgrades on VT because I think she was originally planning on showing them at Worlds before she got injured after McKayla had been beating her on VT at Nationals and Camps I don’t see ASac as the type to show up to Worlds to hand over the VT title because she didn’t upgrade if she had upgraded to the FHS Double she would have had a SV of around 7.2 which means with her usual score she would have probably scored a 16.5 on her Rudi she usually scored a 15.7-15.8 range so if you apply those deductions to the new vault she could have probably scored around a 16.7(give or take a few tenths) which is almost 5tenths higher than McKayla best VT

      • Short1 Says:

        @JAS4 I remember reading that she had planned on doing the FHS double full in EF at Worlds (and that it had been submitted to be named after her)…so it seems like, at least prior to her Achilles tear, she was capable of doing it.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I remember hearing a lot about ASac planning to do the upgraded Vault right before Worlds and there is a video of her doing a decent one into the pit from earlier in 2011 so it’s a good possibility she had the hard landing down by the time Worlds came around 4-5months later so I think that it’s possible that even after her injury that she could have got the upgraded Vault back by trials
        Here is the link to the video:

  2. terrigymfan Says:

    I want to see in 2013:

    — Victoria Komova gain some toughness so she can reach her full potential Love her but she needs to grow up (I think this will happen this year.)

    — Jordyn get back in the gym soon and make a serious and well planned start toward Rio (I’m not optimistic on this one).

    — Agree 100% with Kate on McKayla but again I am not optimistic.

    — With both of you on Musty. I can’t get enough of her.

    — Andreea Raducan’s gold medal at the 2000 Olympics restored.

  3. gingercrush Says:

    I don’t think we’ll see Mustafina fix her twisting. Bit late for her I am afraid. I dunno, I rather like gymnasts that are flawed in some way.

    I just want good gymnasts that aren’t American, lol. Time for a big Romanian revival me thinks. Come on juniors.

  4. Gymbee Says:

    Aw, I really hope 2013 will be awesome for you GTT. You deserve it!🙂

    As for things I want to see:

    – Jordyn Wieber training hard and getting a medal at Worlds
    – A Maroney vault for McKayla
    – Kyla rocking the whole year, beating Ohashi and Priessman.
    – Tell all books!
    – Shawn to go to college (I really think it would be good for her, I just feel kinda bad for her trying so desperately to stay in the limelight.)
    – Raisman to keep getting endorsements (over-shadowing Gabby)
    – Gabby to get a better attitude
    – Mustafina to get better form on floor, and fighting for medals at Worlds.
    – Komova to do the same.

    And finally…. all of you guys here on this blog and your families to have a great 2013! You’re great!

  5. Gymbee Says:

    You might all have read it already, but I just saw this. Made me chuckle. It’s a review of Gabbys book by british newspaper The Guardian.


    “Douglas’s story is portrayed as almost Dickensian. Her beginnings were extraordinarily harsh: her parents (her father is a shadowy figure at best) were part of a movement called Word of Faith, “a set of teachings that involves claiming and standing by God’s promises in the Bible”. That money was tight (make that non-existent) is a recurring theme in the book – at one point, baby Gabby and her three older siblings slept in the back of the car. In addition she was a sickly child. She couldn’t process protein and had a terrible cough. Her impoverished mother could do nothing but pray. So that’s what she did.”

    • terrigymfan Says:

      LOL. This is the article where the reviewer noted that the book made “the vacationing on Saturn” comment (not the Couch Gymnast which as I mentioned In another comment is where I thought I saw it). I guess Saturn was a really popular place to vacation this past year!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am pretty sure God won’t think its right to take money from people and not pay it back.lol

    • DL Says:

      I’ve been mostly definitely vacationing on Saturn. Happy new year, everyone! Thanks for the fun gym talk and great reads. GTT, I hope your baseball team wins it all so you can say 2013 was great.

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    Yeah, Im sure thats all Gabbys mom did because ya know praying when a kid cant eat is so much more useful than I dont know TRICARE which since her dad was military would have been oh I dont know REQUIRED….. God….please help them to stop making Christians look like such FREAKING IDIOTS….

    ..I think Shawn Johnson will stick around and become a professional triathlete for Nike ……

    I think Nastia will flunk out of college.

    . I thinkMcKayla will end up married to either a big time producer, lawyer, doctor or otherwise incredibly rich man and end up on the RHOC or one of those shows before she is 30…….She is just not going to have a Maroney.

    I think Kyla will get hit by the puberty fairy this year… if she survives that skills in tact or can get a better vault she’ll be fine. She will have plenty of time before 2016 to adjust to her newfound height, and she might end up Khorkina esque by the time all is said and done.

    I think Aly Raisman is done with gymnastics, and will go off to college marry someone marry wome very well off guy and be a “sports and lifestyle” correspondent in Boston for some station.

    I think Jordyn if she can come back may be the granddame with Kyla Ross of the 2016 team. I dont see a huge advantage in the vault code like we had in 2012 so it will take some time to figure out how / what needs to be exploited. I dont think for 2016 that the US is anywhere deep enough.

    I think Aliya Mustafina will continue to dominate and be a gamer when you least expect and also when it is most important.

    I think Izbasa AND Ponor will try for 2016 and one or both will again medal. I would LOVE to see Izbasa medal on floor again..

    I think Rebecca Bross will drop the Patterson, figure out a dismount she CAN do and leave WOGA if she is smart.

    I think Ohashi will have some serious 2 year injury that will keep her away from major competition until 2014.

    I think that the Romanians all using grips on bars in 2016 will bring new life to Raluca Haidu and she will make the team and win a bars medal. ( yeah thats my dream) Because Pitic is a dwarf and will never hit puberty she may get lucky…… 😉

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I think you are dead on Exgymgirl on your prediction of McKayla’s future marriage situation. I certainly can’t see her doing something so mundane as marrying another gymnast and opening up a gym as so many other former gymnasts have done. Whoever he is I hope he’s not some jerk.

      • mim Says:

        i see her marrying a hot young athlete haha.

        are all lawyers rich in the US? certainly NOT in australia. i should go sit the NY or CA bar in that case lol.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I can also see McKayla marrying a hot athlete but if she does I bet it is not a male gymnast. They don’t make any money. I could see her marrying some NFL quarterback or somebody like that, or maybe a big time Olympic swimmer who is raking in the dough.

        Are you a lawyer Mim? Not all lawyers in the US are wealthy but some are.

      • mim Says:

        yes terri but very much junior🙂

  7. exgymgurl Says:


    this is hilarious

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    Yes… especially how the russians pouted

  9. sainabou nyang Says:

    My prediction:
    -Kyla will rock in 2013 and will have smart upgrades.
    -Deng lin will have a huge growth spurt and actually look like and adult. Its like she hadn’t aged a day since Beijing.
    -Romania and USA will have a rough start to 2013,while Russia has a good year.

    Now to my hopes:
    -A non American wins scam
    -An unknown senior ruins martas plans and takes everyone by storm.
    -I don’t care one way or another about Gabby, shawn, or nastia but if we go the whole 2013 without hearing one of their phony interviews than I can’t say I won’t be happy.
    -I want to see new vaults and Better floor routines with giod choreography. Better bar and beam routines with original and inventive skills. I’m tired of seeing the same old mounts and dismounts
    -NO mention of the MAG 7!!!!!Enough NBC how many reunions do we need to see. Sadly you know another is coming in 2016.

    Finally Im picking my dream Olympic team for Rio :-): Kyla, Nica, Katelyn, Bailey, Lexie/Amelia/Simone.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    FIG and USAG will become non-corrupt organizations!!!!!!! (I can hope lol)

  11. sainabou nyang Says:

    I have another wish and its for dear Marta. I wish that she realizes that she’s to old to be NTC and hands over the reins to someone who plays fair and doesn’t resort to mind games to get what she wants. Marta needs to retire, take Bela and go retire at The Villages.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      The villages…. I can just hear Marta saying “vell heer we can play tenees, svim, and go for long walks and there is no chasing theese girls with their bad toe point for gymnaasticas….”

  12. mim Says:

    happy new year to you all!

    my gym hopes are similar to many of you!:
    – maroney vault! it’s no secret im a mckayla fan and i just can’t give up on this hope.
    – sarah finnegan to fix up her bars and go to worlds.
    – kyla to continue upgrading and be the AA champ.
    – a reshuffle into structure at gym australia.. london was woeful for us.
    – gabby to fade into happy obscurity as hopefully grow up a little, become more humble.
    – shawn bound for college.
    – katelyn to not break like a bross 2.0
    because as much as i didn’t like becca’s gymnastics i hate seeing so much injury and pain in someone!
    – the marta/valeri/nastia trifecta to break up and not affect team selections.

  13. macstabby Says:

    I just wanted to say I’ve really enjoyed your blog this year- I don’t generally have much to contribute except for some side-eye towards Nastia and Gabbles, but I love coming here and reading everything. So I guess, gymnastically, I wanted Kyla and Bridgie to kick ass, and this blog to continue rocking as well.

    Patriots? Ew.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Patriots, ew? Did I just hear those words come out of your keyboard???:) I get the Patriot hate and I can tolerate it in little pieces and I am glad you like coming here.

      • macstabby Says:

        Sorry GTT, I’m from Packerland and I bleed green and gold.😉

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So you really love it when I say GO VIKINGS.

        (In reality though I don’t know if they have much of a chance this weekend…)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Packer? ew. Remember how I said I hold grudges? well I hate the Packers from 1986.lol

      • macstabby Says:

        Sanity- YES. YES I DO. Purple pride, eh? At least no one from the Packers ever ran over a policewoman! Althought Brett Favre did show people his peen…

        GTT- Well, I was 4 years old in 1986- my loyalties were not so clearly defined back then, except to Disney, Jem and the Holograms, and She-Ra.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I’ll forgive you then:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        My husband’s family is from Minnesota, so he’s got me on the Vikings. Sorry.

        But let’s not pretend the Green and Gold is guilt-free – the Packers had (have?) girlfriend-beater Erik Walden and bartender-beater with twice the number of arrests than Gabby Douglas’ gold medal count (like the analogy?) Cedric Benson.

        And I think it’s safe to say Favre is more a Packer than a Viking (although the Vikings got some of the best of him for that one/first year…the second year/peen scandal, not so much).

        Although I am totally with you on Jem and the Holograms, being an 80’s baby myself.

      • Case Says:

        Macstabby, I’m calling you out on Mark Chmura.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Football fights:) I’ve got you all beat with “spygate” anyway but the truth about that is NEVER told so I’ll tell it.

        The jets taped the Patriots first and we caught them. We didn’t make an official complaint but unofficially when the NFL found out they destroyed the tape and did nothing to the Jets. So our coach wanted pay back and he sat a guy in full Patriots gear to tape the Jets,their coach called the NFL and the media crusifyed us for months. NO ONE ever mentions how the Jets did it to us first and why we did it back to them.

        Then our very own newspaper printed an article saying we taped the Rams walk through at the Superbowl when WE NEVER DID and for months the NFL let the world think we cheated. When they finally talked they said they had no info AT ALL about that ever happening. BECAUSE IT NEVER HAPPENED. Can you imagine Boston’s very own newspaper torpedoing its very own team with lies? The NFL SAT THERE and said nothing for months knowing the walk through taping never happened. They let everyone kill us and when the truth came out, no one reported it.

        A few months ago John Rothlisberger mentioned on his gymnastics show that the Patriots taped the walk through like it was fact and it never happened. He was soo stupid he never even got it when people got on his case. The entire world still thinks we taped the Rams walk through and the only people that ever said they had proof (they didn’t) was the Boston Herald and people still think it is fact.

        The media sucks

        Why the hello do I watch the NFL again? This sport is a million times more corrupt then gymnastics.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I didn’t know that GTT – prettttty interesting I must say. I believe it though. Well, look at the Jets this year – Tebo, really? That’s what they were hoping on? Sanchez might just get the boot too. I like the Giants more than I like the Jets (and you probably hate the Giants so I should shut up).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Of course you didn’t know that because no one reported the information and when they did it was never front page material. The Herald who started the lies but the info in the middle of the paper in like a square size.

        Here is what they posted for an apology. Imagine that in type format. It was like a small square.

        “Prior to the publication of its Feb. 2, 2008, article, the Boston Herald neither possessed nor viewed a tape of the Rams’ walk-through before Super Bowl XXXVI, nor did we speak to anyone who had. We should not have published the allegation in the absence of firmer verification.

        “The Boston Herald regrets the damage done to the team by publication of the allegation, and sincerely apologizes to its readers and to the New England Patriots’ owners, players, employees and fans for our error.”

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The only time anybody in my family has rooted for a NY team was back in the days of “Broadway” Joe Namath. My family has always been big Alabama fans so became big Jets fans in Broadway Joe’s heyday. (Namath played his college ball at Alabama.) It was before I was born but my dad told me all about it. He still talks about Namath “guaranteeing” the Jets would beat the Colts in Super Bowl III and then following through with it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Patriots should have sued the Herald before they went BK (I’m just assuming the Herald is like any other newspaper – either financially in trouble or in BK…)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They should have boycotted the paper forever. There is no way in hell if I had owned the Patriots I would have no interviews for that paper.

  14. H Says:

    Happy New year to You all!

    My hopes for the coming gymnastic year:

    Kyla gets a new floor choreography (or remove 6 whiplashes),
    and soften up key artistic movements in both beam and floor

    Aly starts training again and get a new artistic floor routine (she has a dancer in here, please let her let it out …) and get som bar training from an a la Liukin person.

    Asac goes for another world … vaulting, because M is in Hollywood

    Rebecca has found her self and therefor upkeep training so she can enjoy a strong and healthy gymnastic year

    Jordyn fixes her beam routine and surprise everyone with upgrades in floor and bars as well

    Price turn into a powerArtistic gymnast during January

    That this blog keep going strong with a lot of blogpost and ditto comments🙂

  15. Blake Smith (@bloksmit) Says:

    I would love for
    – Worlds to not be dominated by USA like they were in 09′ and 05′.
    – AA battle between Iordache, Jinnan, Chunsong, Ohashi, Ross, Komova, and Mustafina.

  16. Biyatch Says:

    Would love:

    -If NBC finally responds to the public outcry, decides to revamp their gymnastics coverage and hands pink slips to Tim, Elfie and Al. They hire Alicia and she holds nothing back on live commentary.
    -If Gabby goes away.
    -For Aly to outshine Gabby and get back into the gym and show up (whether it be in 2013 or 2014) with a kick ass new floor routine that blows everyone away

    Happy new years all!

  17. exgymgurl Says:

    Loved Kyla and McKayla in the Rose Parade. Such beautiful floats this year. The first float they were on with the slide from Honda was very cool.


    There are some great pictures of them with their siblings from yesterday. That is such a cool parade and so different from the Macys commercial parade in New York. No one gets paid to appear…..

    Since it showcases Southern California how appropriate that the two SoCal gymnasts got to be in the parade….

    Gabby was on a disney cruise…. I wonder if it was comped, or if she paid for it. She doesnt have any tweets about being so grateful….

  18. exgymgurl Says:

    Honda float. Good times with the 2012 London olympic team.

    A photo posted by Carmelita Jeter (@jetg5) on

    This one is cute too…

  19. Catherine Says:

    I have a long post about hopes for 2013 here- http://beautifulgymnastics.blogspot.ie/2012/12/hopes-for-2013.html

    TL; DR- I want the crazy bar releases in my life (they will not incur deductions in the new code), better mounts and dismounts, and good things for all of the countries outside of the top 4 with high potential- oh and good things for my favourites too. And a stellar world championship. With fair scoring.

    As for 2012- it pretty much sucked for me, though not for sporting reasons! Here’s to a 2013 with a certain family reunion and the procurement of a spectacular job..somehow. OR maybe I can somehow make €500 a week off my blog. That would be awesome. Screw real world jobs!

  20. sanitynmotion Says:

    I would really love to see Kyla become the next Shannon Miller. I think her coaches did her a disservice with her floor routine last year because she could have easily taken Gabby’s second spot if her floor were stronger and if she had been able to keep her amanar. Kind of sucks all around.

    I like Katelyn Ohashi’s beam and her bars are nice – that’s all I kind of remember about her. She does have that more “frail” look to her which leads me to believe this quad she is at a high risk of many injuries.

    I still love Sarah Finnegan and hope she makes a good splash this quad, too. Get her bars in order and she’ll be a shoo-in for many major meets I would think.

    I still think USA is relatively deep, which will allow for Marta to get away with her continued abuse of her talent.You have Finnegan, Price, Ohashi, Kyla, Priessman, and other age-uppers that I haven’t been able to really observe yet. All in all seems like USA is pretty damn deep still, even with 4 of the Fierce Five still not back in the gym/making serious comeback attempts.

    I would love to see a Maroney TTY but given her injuries and time out of the gym I think that will be a tough call. Plus, the puberty fairy (as someone so eloquently put it, lol) will be visiting her soon enough I would think, if it hasn’t done so already.

    If I ever see ASac or am able to meet her, I will tell her point blank Marta screwed her and she should write a damn book already.

    Out of everything I would wish for fair scoring and no bias, but that will never happen as long as human beings continue to be in charge of this very subjective sport.

    As for Gabby and her mom, all I can do is hope that one day karma comes out in its full bitchiness.

  21. sanitynmotion Says:

    Oh and Happy New Year everyone! It’s been a joy chatting with you and reading everyone’s posts.

    And GTT, may karma come get your boss, too (in addition to Gabby)!

  22. Biyatch Says:

    Oh and I also hope for more Mihai fist pumping and less Geddert.

  23. Case Says:

    Just wanted to wish everyone here a happy and prosperous 2013. GTT, I wish immense success for your Red Sox (unless they are playing the Tigers of course.)

    Other 2013 wishes…I echo the other sentiments about Kyla. I’d like to see some meaningful upgrades on floor for her as well as adjustments to her continuing growth.

    I’d like to see Gym Canada continue to improve and build off their London success. I’m hopeful they have some promising juniors on the horizon.

    I’d like to see Jordyn, Aly, Gabby and McKayla retire and sail off into the sunset. It’s time for new blood and it’ll spare us the comeback/injury narratives.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Same to your Tigers.:)

      I don’t even watch the games between our two teams anymore because I don’t want a reason to hate them.lol

  24. exgymgurl Says:

    As for the teen choice tour, you cant even bu tickets for it here in Austin, and the show is supposed to be Feb 7 th which is like in a month. I dont think tickets are on sale for any of the dates since they “rescheduled” and I dont think any of the concerts / show / whatever it is supposed to be will happen. The first show doesnt even feature the two main music guests…… plus Aly, Gabby and Jordyn are not promoting it at all on Twitter….

  25. terrigymfan Says:

    Living in Dallas I am a big Cowboys fan. I know all you Patriots, Packers, Lions, Vikings, etc. fans just love the Cowboys when not rooting for your own team, right? I say that very sarcastically knowing the Cowboys are a team a lot of people love to hate. Of course there probably is not as much hate nowadays as there used to be. You have to be a threat to someone to really engender hatred.

    GTT even though I have never lived in Boston I actually have always rooted for the Boston teams (Red Sox, Patriots, and Celtics), except when playing a Dallas team of course. I loved the Celtics back in the 80’s and thought it was just fantastic when the Red Sox came back from that 3-0 deficit a few years ago to beat the Yankees for the AL pennant. I think that was the first time in Major League history a team has come back from 3-0 down to when a series. I never cared much for NY teams (especially the Yankees) so was disappointed when the Patriots lost to the Giants in those two recent Super Bowls.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I hope you at least see why I think Romo sucks now.🙂 I was actually hoping they’d beat the Redskins this past weekend, but Romo = epic fail. Even the announcer said something like “well, Romo has failed to make play-offs six out of seven times, I don’t want to say that out loud but you can’t argue that statistic.” The guy just doesn’t do well when it matters, and the Cowboys are almost wasting their franchise on him. They (like the Vikings) need to find an “Andrew Luck” – that dude is doing awesome for a rookie.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I can see why you say that Sanity but I have to say I disagree with you on Romo at least a little. The problem with the Cowboys is the offensive line and the defense. The offensive line blocks nobody, and the defense stops nobody. It’s hard to pass when you have 3 or 4 massive defensive linemen in your face about to take your head off as soon as you get the ball. The only reason the team won any games at all this year was because of Romo, and Dez Bryant finally living up to his potential. Also, Romo is really a great guy. This year he gave $1 million dollars to a charity, some group that helps out disadvantaged kids, and made sure there was almost no publicity about it. I have heard from several people I know who are involved in charitable institutions around Dallas that Romo is always giving money and volunteering his time to help out disadvantaged kids. I know that has nothing to do with how good of a football player he is but it at least makes me like him.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OK that actually makes me like him now. I was really turned off by him when he was dating Jessica Simpson – like, “oh, you’re one of ‘those’ guys…” so I’ll take what you said and start rooting for him more. To be honest I didn’t watch that closely so I’ll look for the Cowboys not protecting their quarterback.

        I think out of all of the teams I “hate” now I’d have to say I hate the Eagles because they let Vick play, and that guy shouldn’t have been allowed to play ever again after abusing/killing defenseless animals. That guy is the lowest of the low – or one of them, at least.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I used to be a huge Celtics fan. When my nephews were young I would take them to games all the time but now the team does not deserved to be cheered. The owner is a jerk, the GM is a liar and the backhanded way they run that organization makes USA-gymnastics looks like it is ran by saints.

      I actually like the Cowboys. I like Romo. I am not a fan of the Mavericks (I have huge issues with Mark Cuban and Saint Dirk) but I remember staying up late to watch the Dallas Stars win the Stanley cup because they were playing a NY team. My mom and I stayed up til like 1 am in the morning rooting for them.lol That is where I learned the foot not allowed to be in the crease when you score a goal rule. I can’t believe I still remember that.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Wow GTT. You really do have a good memory. That’s a pretty obscure fact for someone not from Buffalo or Dallas.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have a memory for information no one cares about:) Plus I HATE NY sports teams and when they lose, I celebrate.

  26. mim Says:

    any advice on how/where to watch the college meets?

  27. exgymgurl Says:

    we need to organize a “gymtruthteller board goes to WOGA public observation time” and watches the elites. Id love to see Valeri, Katelyn, Rebecca, and Grace McGlaughlin all training together. Perhaps if Nastia is not there anymore they wont have to wear ugly collared pink leos…

  28. Catherine Says:

    A happy new year’s present for you GTT- http://www.theonion.com/articles/future-olympic-star-hard-at-work-on-her-backstory,29217/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=SocialMarketing&utm_campaign=standard-post:headline:default

Leave a Reply

