December Gym bordom

The only Gymnastics news to report is that Sam Peszek tore her Achilles. She posted this on twitter. (Thanks to Case, for the update in the comments section)

Samantha Peszek ‏@samanthapeszek

Big huge thanks to my team for helping me through today….tore my Achilles. Taking the red eye home tonight. Ready to get back to Indy

I also found this video on youtube when Aly threw out the first pitch at Fenway. She was interviewed by Tom Caron. I have seen multiple people interviewed here including the moronic current Governor of Massachusetts and Ray Bourque.


If anyone would like to talk about what happened in Connecticut you can do so here. My opinion on the subject is pretty much the same as everyone else. This is a huge tragedy and anyone that has little kids in their lives is having a hard time with this.

I spent the day with my nieces on Friday and the TV was off the entire day. How do you explain something like this to a 6 year old that has to go to Kindergarten every day?

In ten years I hope we remember the 27 victims names and their stories and forget the killers because that never seems to be the case. This is me doing my part. (If anyone has a great video or article that I can use for any of these victims please let me know so I can add it)

This is a video of Noah’s Uncle talking about how his nephew was shot 11 times.Sit and think about that for awhile.


(I can’t edit wordpress right now. It’s pulling its usual BS so copy and paste above link until I can fix it.

Charlotte Bacon, 2/22/06, female
– Daniel Barden, 9/25/05, male
Rachel Davino, 7/17/83, female.
Olivia Engel, 7/18/06, female
– Josephine Gay, 12/11/05, female
– Ana M. Marquez-Greene, 04/04/06, female
– Dylan Hockley, 3/8/06, male
– Dawn Hochsprung, 06/28/65, female
– Madeleine F. Hsu, 7/10/06, female
– Catherine V. Hubbard, 6/08/06, female
– Chase Kowalski, 10/31/05, male
– Jesse Lewis, 6/30/06, male
– James Mattioli , 3/22/06, male
– Grace McDonnell, 12/04/05, female
– Anne Marie Murphy, 07/25/60, female
– Emilie Parker, 5/12/06, female
– Jack Pinto, 5/06/06, male
Noah Pozner, 11/20/06, male
– Caroline Previdi, 9/07/06, female
Jessica Rekos, 5/10/06, female
– Avielle Richman, 10/17/06, female
– Lauren Rousseau, 6/1982, female (full date of birth not specified)
– Mary Sherlach, 2/11/56, female
Victoria Soto, 11/04/85, female
– Benjamin Wheeler, 9/12/06, male
– Allison N. Wyatt, 7/03/06, female
– Nancy Lanza

58 Responses to “December Gym bordom”

  1. Case Says:

    I have a child in that age range. I’m really struggling with it all. Why the children?

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I hate the fact that this horrible tragic event is being utilized by politicians to get their agendas across. Shame on them. Instead of trying to come together as a nation and pray for these families (who’s holidays will never be the same and who’s lives are ruined), all I see on the Internet is the media spouting crap on gun control. There’s a reason why these horrible killers target places like schools and movie theaters in the first place: they can be sure as heck that nobody will pull a gun on them in return. And it’s not like we can expect criminals/killers to obey the laws in the first place. If we just ban guns, you really think nobody will figure out a way to get one? Last time I checked cocaine was a banned substance, yet it’s almost easier to get than See’s candy.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree and disagree with you. Politicians are all scum including our President who interrupted Monday Night football to make his speech because he knew it would get him the most press but I kind of believe in gun control for certain guns. NO ONE needs an assault rifle.

      This situation still could have happened because the killer would have still had access to the gun since he stole it from the mother he just killed and she was a fan of guns which is why she had several. The only thing that gets me is that she let her son with mental issues have access to these guns. Who in their right mind would teach their son with MENTAL ISSUES how to shoot a gun?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        No, I completely agree with the need for a semi-automatic and guns of that nature. Nobody needs that. Yet if we had laws against them and somebody wanted one, they’d find a way to get it. Sadly.
        I agree with you on politicians as well. They are worse than scum.
        I will never understand why the mother taught her mentally ill child how to use/shoot a gun. I would think there could be better hobbies – painting? pottery? I mean, what is this world coming to.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        IMO there are no more repercussions for kids that behave badly. Your kids steals and the store calls police what is the first thing a parent does? calls a lawyer or threatens to sue. I can tell you from my part time job that kids today know they won’t get in trouble if they steal so they come into my store and openly take what they want.

        When I did something bad I was smacked. Guess who didn’t do things that would get me smacked as a child? Me that is who.I personally don’t believe in beating a child but if my kid pulled today what these kids pull they would not be put in a time out.

      • Kylie Says:

        We have tight gun laws and very rarely have problems. Our population is smaller but still rarely problems with guns (semi auto, hand guns etc). Even our police aren’t strapped. Another issue I see here is the mental health system is lacking? am I right in saying this? Somewhere along something is failing these people😦 So sad. Here is an article I read today, this may have been rehashed (not sure), there may be parts that are not quite correct but it sureputs Mental Health in the spot light xx

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There was a big hoopla many years ago (I don’t even remember how long) where the people with mental issues had the right to do what they wanted with their lives if they were over 18 and they let them all out.

        There is a great article out called, ” I am……” ( I won’t mention the killers name here) and it explains how hard it is to get help for a child with mental issues.

        Here is a link to a version of it

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        lol this is another issue entirely that would be fun to discuss.

        I was totally spanked as a child. Was I beaten? I don’t think so. Do I harbor resentment for it? Nope. Do I think it’s wrong to spank a child for wrongdoing? Heck no. It was a great way of sending the message across that what I did/was doing was WRONG and to QUIT IT.

        I can vouch for my niece, who never gets disciplined that we are in for more of this (bad behavior on a child’s part) if parents continue their lousy job of so-called parenting. There are too many parents that want to be “friends” with their children so just let them get away with all sorts of crap, and then turn the discipline chore to their teachers when they (eventually) head to school. That’s another reason I would never want to be a teacher (despite the fact that now I absolutely know I could never consider myself “safe” in a classroom because there are all sorts of fucking crazy sick people out there)…I wouldn’t want to deal with their parents!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was hit as a child. It did not happen every day or for everything but it happened more than it should have as far as I am concerned. I don’t hold any resentment but I remember it.

        I was more scared of my father and what I thought he might do than almost anything he ever did to me which is really the point. Make your kids think you will kick their butts so they think twice about doing what they

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Now see hitting is not right (IMO) and there’s a big difference when you live in FEAR of your parent vs. when you just don’t want to disappoint them, so avoid causing havoc or doing “wrong” things. I’m very sorry to hear that on your part, GTT.

        There is “constructive” discipline vs. the kind where your child lives in fear of you, but everyone has their own methods and ways of handling disciplining their child. I’ve seen too many instances of lack of discipline and definitely feel like we are in this “entitlement” generation where a child is treated so that they grow up and feel like they should be the center of everyone’s universe.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My father is an asshole and always has been but if we discussed asshole fathers I would be here awhile.

        Kids today all get trophy’s ( I never did I remember being pissed when our soccer team came in second and only first place got a trophy) they don’t learn how to lose because there are no losers. I went to my nephews soccer game a few month ago and THEY DIDN’T KEEP SCORE. It was just weird.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I’m glad you list all the victims GTT. I want to forget the killers name and remember those children.

      I personally don’t think spanking is a more effective way of disciplining a child than not spanking. No one in my family was ever spanked, but we were spoken and scolded if we misbehaved – and we did NOT want to get scolded, that was the big “fear” (instead of fearing spanking).

      We have strict gun rules in Scandinavia too (although that didn’t stop the murderer at Utøya in Norway last year).
      But obviously, the fact that a law against something didnt stop someone breaking it, doesn’t mean we shouldn’t have laws. Murder is illegal, yet people kill, that doesn’t mean we should make murder legal.

      The U.S has some frightening gun-related statistics according to the below article. Speaking as a European, the U.S laws seem insane to me.

      “A study in the Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery found that the gun murder rate in the U.S. is almost 20 times higher than the next 22 richest and most populous nations combined.

      Among the world’s 23 wealthiest countries, 80 percent of all gun deaths are American deaths and 87 percent of all kids killed by guns are American kids.”

      I’ve read quotes saying Americans need guns to protect themselves, but guns failed to defend those kids and their teachers.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I agree with you Gymbee on spanking . Neither I nor my husband have ever spanked our kids. That doesn’t mean we haven’t disciplined them and set boundaries, we just don’t think spanking is the right way to discipline a child and sends the wrong message on how to handle things.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am not sure spanking is the right way either but I also don’t feel if a child does something that can hurt themselves that a smack in the butt means the cops should be called which is how things are these days.

        Grounding a kid does nothing. You send them up to their rooms with cable and video games. I had a 13 inch black and white TV as a kid in my room and that was it. I didn’t get cable until I was 16 and I paid for it myself

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        lol you got a TV? Dang. I didn’t even get a phone until I was a sophomore in high school, and less than eight months later my line got taken off when my Dad installed DSL. Sign of the times.

        I’m not “for spanking” but I’m definitely for some sort of discipline. And I’m going to go for as long as I can before letting my kid have a cell phone (when I decide to have said kid).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        13 inch black and white It was a Christmas gift to me and my sister who had the plus on her side of the room so lets say my sister had a TV that I got to watch when she wasn’t

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t get a cell phone until I was in my 30’s and I never had a phone in my room.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I was grounded once haha. That was the ultimate punishment, when even getting scolded wasn’t enough. I wasn’t allowed to read, just sit and think.
        My dad explained to me why we were never spanked – he wanted to be “smart” enough by disciplining us with words instead of getting physical. Made sense to me.

        Ditto sanity, on the cell phone and kids!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        The only reason I got a cell phone was because I went away for college and I didn’t have a land line. It was a total old-school phone, no text capability and I remember drooling over the “flip phones” that the richer kids got. lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I had one of those pre-paid ones for years until I wanted a camera on my phone so I got a service instead. I am with you on the flip

  3. catherine Says:

    Poor Sam, saw that too. As for Connecticut, just unbelievable. As an outsider my view is very much clouded by how insane your gun laws are to me. In Ireland its much much harder to get a gun, nothing very powerful is available and there are absolutely no shootings except between criminal gangs who obtain all of their weapons by smuggling. The serious family gangs, not the local disadvantaged youth. As such, I don’t know anyone who owns one and being around one would feel very strange and sickening.

    Anyway, I know there are lots of European countries also with no gun crime….even the ones who are less strict re. Buying and carrying guns than America. So clearly there are plenty more issues here, such as undiagnosed mental health, anti hero worship figures of past school shooters, and even just gun security. I don’t see a solution and its just frightening because it will keep happening. His mother had what, 4 guns? What is the need for 4? And he had access? Just unbelievable.

    First things first, the media need to absolutely ignore the shooter instead of bigging him up and fuelling the fantasies of others. Gun security needs to be made a national issue, too many are able to get hold of their relatives weapons.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You can blame the second amendment for that. There is a lot of good and bad in complete freedom. Unless it is having medical care then the stupid President forces you.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I think a lot also needs to be said about the violent video games children/adults play on their computers/X boxes or whatever it is as well. Day after day these kids are playing these very realistic, disturbing “shoot ’em up” games and it’s no surprise they are being completely de-sensitized to the act of murder. They take it to the real world and it’s just like the games they play on a daily basis. This kid is no different: he obviously shut himself up in his house and probably was on the computer all day playing these games. I’d bet my salary on it. He had no job, was probably depressed, and was a “loner” i.e., probably got lost in his computer world.

      I read a lot on the Columbine tragedy as well and a lot of it had to do with these violent games in addition to teenage angst and one of those killers was on anti-depressants (another issue I don’t need to go into).

      There is so much behind this issue than the matter of gun control. I’m completely with you on the need for a semi-automatic pistol (or two of them, as in the case of the mother) and even just more than one gun per household seems very extreme. I don’t like guns, but if someone has them they should be very responsible with them, especially when you are sharing that household with a child that is not completely mentally sound. Do I think the killer should get off on that charge? Hell no. He obviously planned all this. But at the same time, the mother is partly responsible for not taking precautions to keep these violent weapons out of the hands of her adult child.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Agreed about the mother. I can’t believe for a second that she knew he would do something like this. If she had, if any mother had this would never have happened because no mother expects her son to kill her and then go shoot children at an Elementary school.

        I think you are right , partly about video games. A normal child won’t be effected but we have to start worrying about the ones that will be.

      • Case Says:

        I’ve always supported the right to bear arms…not staunchly, but I’ve supported it nonetheless.


        Sandy Hook really shook me to the core. It’s altered my position on gun control. We need to ban assault rifles and extended magazines. I support the constitution but there is just no way in hell this is what our forefathers intended with the second amendment.

        Leave the handguns and hunting rifles and get rid of the rest. Our kids deserve better.

        I will also say that I am not a fan of Obama or many of his fiscal policies, but I thought his speech was on point last night. He is clearly affected as a parent like many of us.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t question his opinion but I do question his timing. During Monday night football was about him getting face time and not about what actually happened.

  4. terrigymfan Says:

    i’m am like the rest of you in that my heart was absolutely broken thinking of those beautiful children being destroyed, and of course their teachers too. We have had a lot of tragedies in this country but I think this is the worst.

    I find it hard to blame the mother. From what I have heard she was doing the best she could with a difficult situation. Plus there was just no precedent for what this guy did. Most of these mass killers target their peer groups — people they perceive has slighted them – but this guy targeted complete innocents. This had nothing to do with the mental health system breaking down. This wasn’t some poor kid from the street.

    This is not really even a good case for gun control. Unless we are going to ban guns altogether then this type of incident could happen since the guns were all purchased legally and registered.

    I am definitely for banning assault rifles though. I’m politically conservative but personally I could go for banning handguns too. They would need to be banned so that police could confiscate them on sight from criminals and non -criminals alike. That is the only way you could make a dent in this gun violence IMO.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Yeah, but the fact that “everyone and their mother” has a gun, means they can easily be stolen.
      When I hear “gun control” I think more that people who have no intention in murdering anyone can never guarantee someone won’t use their guns to kill and they should make sure the gun parts are not stored together and in a safe. I don’t know. There seems to just be way too many guns around altogether.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      It’s a tough topic really – gun control. While I am all for the Constitution, I don’t think common civilians should have access to semi-automatic weapons or really – any type of weapon our soldiers use to defend this nation (I mean what’s the need for that?). I can see where a woman living by herself may feel safer by owning a handgun, but that’s it. This woman, to be owning not one, but TWO semi-automatic guns plus another gun and a rifle – all that with a mentally ill son in her house…now that’s just irresponsible. I don’t care how anyone spins it, that’s just irresponsible. She should have at least locked those up and hidden the key in an undisclosed location, and hid the ammo somewhere else (also locked up).

      My friend from the UK says nobody really owns guns there. Well it’s kind of too late to strip all of the Americans of their guns – but maybe that is part of the problem. There’s just too many of these “weapons” out there in the first place for access by those who want to use them in a manner they weren’t intentionally purchased for.

      I’m not sure how “more” gun control measures can help in this case. Let’s be mindful of the fact that the States where these killings/mass murderers have taken place already enforce relatively strict gun control measures. The problem is obviously that even when guns are obtained legally, they can still be confiscated/used in an illegal manner. You can say that about all sharp objects too. So what do we do? We can say “ban all guns” but let’s be honest, someone who wants to use one in an illegal manner will find a way to get one. No matter what. This is not a legal/illegal issue – this is a people issue.

      • Catherine Says:

        Correct, Ireland the UK have no guns except for criminals who have smuggled them, and hunters and farmers. In Ireland, the police force are not armed, nor airport security or anything.

        I would not call USA’s policy strict because there’s easy access to ridiculous assault weapons. And all it requires is a background check, which is WAY too easy to get around. I realise there are more issues here st play though.

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    I am for getting people better mental health treatment. I am for affordable access to appropriate medication. The average parent of a child with extreme adhd pays about $300+ a month for their medications.

    I am also thinking if Sam is smart, she redshirts this entire year and gets another year of eligibility / scholarship to finish her degree or get a masters degree. Its much easier to finish college in 5 years than in 4 years and I’m sure Lou will get her to the right doctor whether or not it is someone that UCLA recommends. Probably the one that sewed up Courtney “bargrips the size of shawn johnson’s head” Kupets. TWICE

    You said “the moronic current governor of massachusetts and Ray Borque” Im just going to assume that your grammar was correct and you did not mean to imply Ray Borque was a moron…. because to me thats sacreligious and you cant go there. More properly you should have said Ray Borque and the moronic current governor of massachusetts, so that no one would mistakenly assume you thought Ray Borque to be a moron.

    Grammar rant over😉

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    Oh and the $300 a month is generic medication with insurance. Good insurance that still does not cover the best classes of overpriced medication.

  7. Guest Says:

    The country is crazy. Don’t know how many children would be killed until gun control is adopted.

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I think I spent a good majority of the weekend in tears over this shooting when I read some of the letters the children had written to their parents it absolutley broke my heart I can not even imagine the horror these families are going through. My children aren’t quite school age yet but the though of sending them to school is absolutley terrifying! I agree that we need to have better gun laws no one needs an assault riffle or anything like that! I also think we need better security in schools because locking the class room door and hiding in a corner is not enough! More measures need to be taken to prevent anyone with weapons from ever getting into a school in the first place maybe more resource officers and/or metal detectors I know it sounds a little extreme but apparently it’s become nesessary!

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    I have to say one more thing about the whole “mental health” issue. I have a sister, an Aunt, a friend, and now potentially my niece all being/having been diagnosed with anywhere from moderate to extremely severe mental health problems. The problem with mental health patients is that despite all of this technology we now have at our fingertips, doctors continue to have an extremely hard time really “solving the issue” when it comes to mental health problems. They can diagnose it, but the only treatment they are able to provide for it is DRUGS. And even then, it’s almost like being a lab rat; they just prescribe different amounts of different substances until they “get it right.” Or basically, until the patient somewhat feels normal. Mostly, it’s an ongoing problem/issue of “getting it right” and even then – what kind of damage are these drugs doing to the patient’s physical/brain chemistry in the first place?

    As a relative/friend of many who suffer from mental health problems, it’s extremely frustrating watching these doctors try and find a solution. There really is none. It’s a shitty thing overall. Every single person is different so it’s not like treating a physical disease or sickness, where a pill or medication will more than likely be the solution to killing off the bacteria causing it. Everyone’s brain chemistry is different, so being able to effectively treat a mentally ill patient is near impossible, it takes a lot of time, and it takes a lot of exposure to all sorts of drug types and treatments. It sucks.

    So I guess my whole point here is that many are arguing for better mental health facilities and diagnosis, but really how is that going to help or solve anything? By “facilities” I’m not sure if people are insinuating that all mental health patients should be put away/forced to live somewhere like a rehab clinic, but with mental health every case is so different and complex – many mentally ill people are able to still take part in the everyday “real world.”

    Also, it’s almost too easy to be diagnosed with a mental health issue these days – it’s next to impossible to really find relief for it without resorting to hard-core narcotics. The first thing doctors do is prescribe a realm of drug treatments, and let’s be honest there are very little studies on how long-term users of these drugs are overall affected by exposure. Someone wrote something (I should have saved the article) indicating how drugs have been very closely related to every mass shooting in the US; also, how drugs were very much a part in many murders taking place across the US where, for instance, a child/teenager would all of a sudden murder their mom/parents for no reason but was being treated with some sort of hard-core narcotic for anywhere from days to weeks to months to years. One of the Columbine shooters (for example) was on prescribed Paxil for depression medication.

    I’ll have to find that article, but it’s scary.

    • Lis Says:

      As someone who has a mental illness that is being successfully treated, the meds are what have kept me alive and well. It doesn’t end with taking my meds, but they work. They are the starting place. There is a lot of trial and error at first and that does suck. Also, narcotics are not used as treatment (heroin and opium are narcotics). Paxil is an SSRI – selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor – an antidepressant and anti-anxiety medication. Also, correlation does not equal causation. So the fact that the murderers were on prescription medication for mental illness (which is what I’m assuming you’re saying) does not mean that’s what caused the person to murder. Unfortunately, it’s more likely that the underlying mental health issue did.

      We need to keep talking about mental illness to take the stigma away so people can get the treatment they need.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sorry about the narcotics reference. Hopefully everyone got what I meant.

        I agree, correlation does not equal causation but there’s something to be said when every one of these massive murders are linked with someone on one of these prescribed drugs. Not saying that if you are taking these drugs you will be committing murder but obviously for some, the reactions with their brains over time is causing them to do something they have never before done. None of these mass murderers had criminal records, if my memory serves me correct. (Also let me be clear that I’m not excusing any of these killers for their mental health problems; all of them planned their acts to the last detail and deserve to rot in hell for doing so).

        All of this being said, I wish the mental health stigma would go away but honestly, this tragedy is making it worse. The media is connecting these types of mass murderers with mental health issues, so now the subject on a personal level will be even more taboo. So now what? Do you think anyone with a child/sibling/etc. with mental health issues will have an easy time coming forth with it? Heck no. Now they are associated with those crazy killers. I would bet if you go up to someone and tell them you have asperger’s now, they will just view you as a ticking time bomb waiting to explode. Hold you at arm’s length. Oh, and make sure you don’t have access to any deadly weapons.

        I feel bad for people like you, and my sister – and my friend (who has since quit the medications and insists therapy is good enough, which works for her but not everyone) – who are actively trying to treat themselves and make themselves better, but now it will be even harder to come forth with it because this has been linked to some of the worst tragedies in the US.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Ditto! SSRI’s are a good starting point. When they work, they bring people taking them to a level where they function.
        Also, the overwhelming majority of people with mental illness do not go on killing sprees.
        I think there’s ‘mental illness’ and mental illness though.
        All for taking the stigma away. After all, there’s no stigma in having a broken arm, so why is there when it comes to mental illness?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        sanitynmotion, you and Terri are the reason I love coming to this blog every day to see what everyone has posted. This has been the best discussion I have seen on the internet about this subject. Every other place you give an opinion someone feels the need to attack what is being said.

      • Lis Says:

        See, I think that it’s not the meds that are having the reaction, it’s that the illness is not being taken care of which causes the person to snap. Although, I do think that the psychiatric community has to be very careful when giving medications to children that haven’t been tested for their use (like some of the SSRIs).

        I’m truly hoping that educating people about mental illness – what it is; how it’s an illness, not a choice; how we can treat it – will take the stigma away. I used to be afraid to tell anyone that I have bipolar disorder (type 2). But then I realized that I helped to educate people. When I’m on my meds, you would never tell that there was something wrong with me and people would say “you can’t have bipolar – you’re not crazy!” and then I’d have to explain. And it helped.

        Thank you for being so understanding, sanity. It is hard to be where I, and your sister and your friend are. Some people can get away without meds; I, unfortunately, am not that person.

        Also, another interesting thing that’s not talked about is how all these mass murders are done by men. I know that almost seems like common sense, but it’s an interesting fact.

  10. Katie Says:

    I cried all day watching the news about those babies. When the pics of those kids came out, I cried even harder. Two of those babies had red hair. My son is a redhead, and for some reason it just hit home in a totally different way. If I wasn’t going to see my smiling red haired little boy coming home ever again…… Whew…

    Mental health is so serious. And so many people are afflicted in different ways. The stigma that’s attached needs to go. People need help. And if you do need help, it doesn’t make you any less of a human being. I have a brother with aspergers. I know what this is like.

    Our nation becomes more and more shallow each and every day. Vanity is god. Having thousands of fb friends means more than being a good friend to 5 people. Mental illness has always been around. But this world makes it so much worse. In my mind, gun control will fix next to nothing. Helping these mentally ill people will help immensely.

    Great post GTT.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Sadly it’s press like what we’ve been exposed to which will give even MORE of a stigma to mental health problems. If your little Johnny has aspergers you will likely not want to admit that to any neighbors/friends for fear of little Johnny potentially being labeled as the “next mass murderer” or some shit like that. Seriously. This nation/world is really effed up in more ways than one. NOTHING has been said about the desensitizing of today’s youth to murder using deadly weapons via the repeated/frequent use of violent video games. You notice how young males are the ones who have been pulling these mass murder stunts. It will only get worse the more this issue is ignored.

      You don’t see the “little Sarah’s” of this world sitting at their computers playing shoot ’em up style video games. Hence, I think this is a major problem that’s being completely ignored. I don’t know why since it was a major issue brought to surface with Columbine.

      You can’t tell me these killers weren’t in some way just carrying out an act they do every day in their virtual/PC worlds. In their virtual world they are the master of their universe and call the shots. It’s so easy to just step into an unarmed “safe” haven that holds a mass of people like a school, movie theater (and what’s next? Disneyland? a grocery store? Wal-Mart?) and start shooting everyone to death. So easy. People need to wake up and realize that no matter where they are, they are NOT SAFE. You won’t be able to get rid of the guns in the US, so anyone that wants to play real life shoot ’em up will be able to get a gun. Easy. Then they take the easy road out and shoot themselves.

      I guess it all just kind of makes me angry, because everyone is pointing at everything to have something to blame and in reality, its our values that are to blame. We are a computer-dependent, entitled nation. We are becoming almost like zombies. We had less gun control 60 years ago and fewer instances of this sort of crap. Also 60 years ago mental health problems were deemed a “non-issue” and were basically swept under a rug or ignored completely; if you had mental issues you either were deemed crazy and locked up/drugged, imprisoned, or seen as evil. So what I’m saying here is that our ignorance of mental health problems isn’t the underlying cause of these mass murderers (nor was it even contributory); we had WAY LESS in terms of facilities and medications years ago when these mass murders were not taking place so frequently.

      I mean let’s be honest, we’ve “progressed” in very many ways in terms of mental health issues since even the 1990s, during which my friend’s father committed suicide from depression. He was taken in many times by his concerned wife trying to get him committed to an insitution for his condition, but he talked the doctors out of it, showing reason and restraint in interviews. Also back then, healthcare providers had NOTHING in terms of provisions for mental health, yet now we all know many people who are able to seek treatment and get therapy for it. That’s a lot considering just a decade ago mental health problems was considered “taboo” and generally not spoken of.

      Sorry for the rant. My overall point here is that it’s not mental health issues nor gun control that really was the cause for something like this. It’s really our core values I think. I really think to a point the dependency on internet/computers/etc. is really taking its toll and desensitizing humanity to each others’ needs and values. When we live in a virtual world it’s so easy to ignore reality.

  11. terrigymfan Says:

    I agree with you Sanity on the mental health issue. I am sure there are a lot of people who need mental health resources and can’t get them but that wasn’t the problem in this case. The kid was from a very wealthy family and, from what I have heard, his parents (both of them) were doing what they could to help him. These cases are just extremely difficult. My son has a friend, another 16 year old boy, who has been a part of the same core group of friends (about 10 to 15 girls and boys) since they were all about 3rd or 4th graders. The boy has Aspergers, and from what I can tell to about the same degree as the CT killer. We would haveparties at the house when all these kids would come over and this friend would just sit there by himself the whole time. He would not talk to anyone and also walks with his arms hanging down dead still and straight all the time. At first you felt sorry for him but then realized he was happy being just with himself. I know his mother very well and she is a good person. It turns out this kid makes straight A’s in school. He never asks a question though, just like the CT killer. The difference is my son’s friend, after he reached high school, came out of his shell a bit and will talk to you at times. He is a very nice, sweet kid. He will also be a very productive person in society. He just needs to be in an occupation where he doesn’t need to interact a lot with people

    My point is that it can be very hard to tell the difference between the two — one (my son’s friend) being a sweet and harmless kid and the other (the kid in CT) being a ticking time bomb. I know we all (and I’m no exception) want to find someone to blame in a situation like this, whether it is the parents, the other kids he came contact with, our mental health infrastructure, whatever. I think it is just a sad reality of life. And it is not limited to the US nor even limited to our modern society. There have also been situations like this. In the old days they chalked it up to “demon possession” and all that but of course any intelligent person knows that is not the problem. We are always looking for simple answers to unexplainable problems.

    Now as far as gun control and whether it would have helped here is a whole other discussion. I probably need to talk about that in a separate comment though since this one is really getting long.

  12. terrigymfan Says:

    On the gun control issue, let me first say that I don’t think anything short of having an outright ban on rifles and handguns would have stopped this particular situation in CT. Everybody keeps saying he had an “assault rifle” but it was a semi-automatic rifle, meaning you have to pull the trigger for each shot. Assault rifles have an automatic mode which allows someone to fire repeated shots without releasing the trigger. I only bring this up because there are a lot of proposals to ban “assault rifles” but in this case I don’t think what this guy had fell into that category. Many regular hunting rifles are semi-automatic and are just as deadly as the rifle he had. Plus he had two semi-automatic pistols that would have done just as much damage, especially since he was targeting kids.

    Since the guns were all purchased legally by his mother and were registered, they were in fact “controlled.” If that is all that we are going to require, that they be purchased legally, by someone with no criminal record, after a waiting period, that they not be “assault weapons,” etc., it would not have stopped this incident. However, I guess it is arguable that those type of regulations, if enacted on a nationwide basis, might make these “mass shooting” incidents less likely in the future, since maybe some of the whackos who do them might find it more difficult getting the weapons they use. The problem with that argument IMO is that most of these incidents have been painstakingly planned by the perpetrators in advance. The Virginia Tech shooter and the Columbine shooters planned their sprees for months. Same thing with the guy who went on that shooting spree in that theater in Colorado this past summer. It is difficult for me to believe these guys wouldn’t have obtained their weapons, or ones like them, if there had been more red tape to go through to buy these weapons in the first place. Not with some 300 million of these guns out there now. Somebody would have been willing to sell them the guns even if they couldn’t buy them themselves.

    I don’t want to be pessimistic but we really need to go to a system like most of these European countries where you simply cannot own guns except under very limited circumstances. (At a gun club where they have to be kept etc.) That way the police could confiscate them on sight. With 300 million guns already out there, collecting even the majority of them would be difficult. We would have to have a grace period of a year or so where people can turn them in and get paid fair market value, or even better than fair market value, no questions asked. Obviously we would be talking a lot of money to do that. After the grace period it would be against the law to own them and the police would confiscate them on sight. Even if we did that, it would be years before we got the number of guns down to a level where they were really uncommon and criminals would have a hard time finding them. I think it might be worth it though. It is not just the mass killings that are at issue, it is all the more mundane gun homicides that we need to try to do something to stop too.

    • catherine Says:

      I think most people are aware that assault weapons were not used, but it does hammer home the point that they are available all the same. I believe the aurora cinema shooting was the result of one.

      Well what strikes me about the planning stage is the Norweigan Breivik case. It took him several years to plan and he needed a LOT of ingenuity and contacts. So it’s a lot less likely to happen, or even to occur to people. I would definitely agree with that.

      I could see riots if there was a sudden law change and gun amnesty!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am very excited you get to go to Worlds. Make sure you people watch. Sometimes that is more fun then the gymnastics

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yes please people watch and report back here. I hope Nastia goes and you take lots of pictures of her stank eye face. 🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        God NO Nastia. She’s retired, for good hopefully.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Im so jealous. But worlds is too expensive. Im gonna try and go to nationals next year. If you can please sit begin Marta witha tape recorder lol

        I agree with GTT when you watch whats going in around you, you see things the camera doesn’t show.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Since Obamacare doesn’t go into effect until 2014 I tried getting tickets to the American cup but it wouldn’t work. I took that as me not being meant to be there. My sister was paying for that one.

        I refuse to get anything but great seats. Other wise I might as well stay home. So far it is not looking good.

      • catherine Says:

        Thanks🙂 I’m gutted it’s so far away! Yes this Europe thing is dead handy, 2015 worlds are even closer to me. But Rio is a no go so whatever!

        Yeah my seats for AA and ef day 1 are nice, not so much day 2, binoculars at the ready ha. Definitely into people watching! I wonder will Nastia be the FIG athlete rep again? I’ve warned my boyfriend he’ll end up being blanked.

  13. terrigymfan Says:

    Somewhere up in this string Sanity mentioned violent video games and movies and the effect they have on these killers. Sorry for chiming in late but I also think these contribute to what these crazies do. They are not creative and get their ideas from what they have seen. What I am at loss on us what could or should be done about it. I am a big believer im the First Amendment and the thought of the government telling us what we can and cannot watch or read or say nauseates me. It’s probably dangerous to say the government can ban a video game or movie because it is too “violent” without starting down the path of the government telling us other things we cannot watch or say or read. On the other hand I wish something could be done about these violent video games and movies but I just don’t know what.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I agree with you on the video games Terri and Sanity! I wish something could be done about them in a reasonable manner! And maybe I just don’t get it but what the heck is entertaining about shooting up people in a video game even for the people who don’t get wrapped up in it? I agree that something has to be done about gun control as well whether it be taking up policies like many European countries or making tougher stricter gun laws and making it harder to get guns. As for mental health I do believe that it needs to be made more widely available to those who can’t afford the help they need otherwise. I also think that as a country we need to find a way to stand against all the violence and crime to try an stop it as much as possible whether it be new stricter laws or increasing security in schools and other public places. Watching the news everyday crime steadily increases. I don’t know what exactly needs to be done but something needs to be done for sure!

  14. JAS4 Says:

    On a gymnastics note I would love for a major competition to be held near here lol but I don’t see that happening anytime soon! Lol

  15. JAS4 Says:

Leave a Reply

