Turkeys of the year for 2012

turkey1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gabby Douglas: You would think winning the AA at the Olympics would automatically keep your name off this list but not when your bad attitude and obnoxious comments before and after your win make you sound like an insensitive brat.

The “We all have to deal with disappointment” comment after Jordyn Wieber did not make the AA at the Olympics has to be the most second most obnoxious thing I have ever heard come out of a gymnasts mouth.

~~~~~~~~~
John Geddert: You were told that Jordyn Wieber would not get credit for her combinations on beam and yet you rolled your eyes and deduced the complaints to jealousy.

A good coach would have fixed the problem and probably prevented the injury to your gymnast that took away her chance at fulfilling her life long dream of being the Olympic AA champion but instead you let your ego get in the way of common sense.

~~~~~~~~~~

Nastia Liukin: Where do I even start? She half ass’d a comeback a few months before the Olympic Trials. She then went to Nationals and put together two horrible routines and than admitted on National television that she only put an uneven bar routine together the week before competition. She than bragged about how she had an upgraded routine for the Olympic Trials that would take place two weeks later.

I wish I could find the video of her interview after Nationals. The eye rolling and arrogant attitude is something only a TV movie could dream up but we saw it live at a Gymnastics competition.

Someone please re-write this part about Nastia so I can help the people in the future reading this blog understand just how obnoxious this comeback really was. I did not do it justice above.

Nastia was told by Marta she would be on the team if she hit and when she failed Nastia made the media believe the comeback was for her love of the sport. She said a million times, “I didn’t give up” and made it seem like she kept competing after tanking every uneven bar routine because she wasn’t a quitter when in reality it was because she was told she was on the team if she hit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Everyone involved in the Chellsie Memmel debacle.

Steve Penny, Marta, all of you. Anyone that was too scared to let Chellsie Memmel compete at Nationals because you knew she would show up prepared I hope Karma screws you over. You disgust me I think more than anyone else on this list including Nastia.

~~~~~

Gabby’s mother I actually understand you claiming bankruptcy before the Olympics to protect your daughters future earnings. It’s morally disgusting but I understand it. What I don’t understand is taking a free ride from a gym and than stabbing them in the back when you do hit it big.

If not legally you morally owe it to Excalibur Gymnastics to pay them back.

I will never understand how this women could justify flying all over the World to see her daughter compete while claiming she had no money. 2.500$ dollars in disability and child support and you can’t support your kids? They are old enough tell them to get a job. I have had one since I was 14 and that doesn’t include the babysitting I did from 11 on. Than again I guess I was raised by parents that taught me that being able to take care of myself is a priority. Even if it is pay check by pay check.

~~~~~~

Who would you nominate for Turkey of the year?

I have to stop writing because all of this crap is pissing me off again. This is why I do not read about this family. They give America a bad name and never get called on it.

I planned on posting two articles but as soon as I saw the comments in the comments section I realized that certain people in this Country never have to take responsibility for their actions.

80 Responses to “Turkeys of the year for 2012”

  1. sainabou nyang Says:

    Lol I’ve been wondering when you would do a year in review of 2012. The good, the bad, and the ugly.

    I would add Valeri to this list for pretty much giving up on Rebecca when Nastia decided to make a comeback. Although Rebecca takes some of the blame as well.

  2. FaerieGodFag Says:

    Definitely Marta for screwing over Alicia Sacramone. Don’t even get me started. UGH.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I planned on using the Chellsie Memmel thing but I got annoyed after writing the Gabby mom stuff. I will go back eventually and add the Chellsie stuff. Marta and Steven P

    • Aerial Says:

      Alicia was so self-possessed and unlikeable at the tour, that I don’t feel bad for her anymore. I admired her comeback but I think she’s really just a mean-girl. She had her time.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Are you talking about the alleged Anna Li thing or did you witness something? I still don’t believe it was Alicia. Anna Li has tweeted Alicia recently but none of them tweet Nastia at all and haven’t (not including the 2012 Olympic team)

      • Aerial Says:

        No, I am talking about her performance and behaviour at my stop. She did not take it seriously at all, from beginning to end, or seem to feel a sense of honour and pride to be included in the tour. She had a much more minor part than other girls, and not sure if her ego could handle that – or so it seemed.

        She took McKayla’s spot in the Olympic rings… not sure if she regularly did this or not. We were 2 rows from this right in front of the floor. She was standing below the rings openly laughing hysterically while the others climbed in. Then, once she got in and they started to raise/spin, she laughed and was openly talking and laughing the entire time… and missed many of the moves the other 4 did because she was covering her mouth from laughing… and rolling her eyes. Unfortunately I only watched her because the other 4 were doing the routine and she was barely/not at all participating, breaking the whole effect. And for the only person in this routine not actually being in the Fierce 5, I thought she looked like an egotistical loser. A woman beside me said, “Who IS that???” I quickly explained… the woman said, “Well, I’ve never heard of her. I think she needs to get over herself!” Ha!

        Then, there were these parts where her role was to “pose” by a piece of apparatus while the others performed in various spots in the arena. When she was right in front of us again, I watched her examine her nails, yawn, etc. She appeared completely uninterested in the others or what she was supposed to be doing. She didn’t watch anyone’s routine but had the time to fluff her hair and examine her nails throughout. ” When they would announce, for example, “It’s our hometown girl, Jordyn Weiber!” and some of her achievements, everyone else who was posing would clap… except Alicia. This happened every time.

        The worst was the very end of the show. I am really into sportsmanship and I get pissed when others don’t embody it… especially when it’s easy to. The gymnasts lined the floor for the finale and every athlete was introduced and cheered for, while the other athletes applauded them as well. Alicia and Nastia were right in front of us again. They’d been sitting and when Alicia stood up, it was clear from her actions that she broke a nail. Everyone else was dancing, rotating in circles and clapping throughout the ending. Alicia kept interrupting Nastia and showing her, her broken nail. Nastia unfortunately seemed to baby her in response and kept checking in with her to see if her nail was okay. (this sounds so dumb, but imagine watching it in person.) Alicia didn’t participate in the ending at all, she actually turned away to face us and examined her nail THE ENTIRE TIME. She did not applaud a single other participant or even look up once, and did not dance. When her name was called, she suddenly looked up from her nails, ran to the center of the floor, gave a million dollar smile and presented herself to the crowd (all the other tour members clapped and shouted for her), then she ran back and again didn’t do the same for a single other athlete. Then, the show was over, and she was the first person to run offstage and leave the arena.

        So, this may sound petty, but she certainly wasn’t a team player throughout. My Mom was with us, who says nary a negative thing about anyone, and her feedback in the car on the way home was, “It was unfortunate that social girl obsessed with her nails was right in front of us the entire time… her behaviour was really distracting and she seemed only into herself!” I was pretty shocked to hear my Mom say this.

        My husband and I were surprised to see Alicia right from the start. She has mega hair extensions in big loose curls that she wore DOWN for the show… like halfway down her back, and I had never seen hair so long and clearly styled worn down for a gymnastics event. I’m surprised she put the effort in to look so “fabulous” if she was going to put such little effort into what she was doing. You could see the length of her fake nails from where we were. I’m glad she broke one, haha! Really, it as the lack of interest in the tour in general and the others when it was time to support them, that pissed me off. I would have preferred Anna Li to take the spot in the rings, even Nastia!!, anyone in comparison to her. And no, I didn’t have negative feelings toward Alicia previously – beyond the clear mean-girl-radar most people have. I actually really admired her comeback.

        You know who impressed me? Bross. It seemed she’d volunteered to be as helpful as possible… when she wasn’t performing, she literally was running around the entire time putting props in certain spots, returning props for other peoples’ numbers, getting to her spot on time, and always applauded and smiled for everyone – when their achievements were announced, the Olympics were referred to, after they performed. She made me a fan.

        Holy frig this was long.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Man Aerial thanks for the story. I wish you had you tubed this lol. I probably would have found it more entertaining than the tour itself but that’s just me…ASac is the ultimate mean girl. But karma really bitched her out and all she has now is her Kansas City bench boy. I can’t wait to see an update on her in 10 years and shell be the fat ugly one with five kids, a missing tooth, floppy boobs and three ex husbands.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No way, it would have been more fun. I love people watching at gym meet.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Wow. Sac sure showed USAG. Ahem.

  3. terrigymfan Says:

    How about Anna Li for going around claiming she was an Olympian when she wasn’t?

    I assume this is limited to gymnastics but if not Ryan Lochte has to be on the list for talking smack before the Olympics and then being a big flop, plus sounding like he has an IQ of about 75 every time he opens his mouth.

  4. gingercrush Says:

    My turkey is to Mariana Bitang and Octavian Bellu for their over-the-top excuses and dramatics concerning Larissa Iordache’s injuries. Also for their entire shafting of Diana Bulimar who should have done floor in Qualifying and should have been able to do beam final.

  5. gingercrush Says:

    My other turkey goes to those bloody Russians with clear connections to corruption. I.e. Irina Viner. Also to Valentina Rodionenko and her husband for their firing of Alexander Alexandrov. Also to Russian cow Ksenia Semenova who couldn’t help herself but get involved in that whole mess. You were a cow when you were a gymnast and just as much cow now that you’re no longer a gymnast. Also your women coach is a cow too.

    Also a mention must be made for Sergey Zelikson who should have kept his ugly mouth shut considering how useless his conditioning of Grishina was.

    • Viola Roadkill Says:

      Wait, what did Semenova do?

      • Catherine Says:

        Waded in on the Alexandrov angry petition-turned-slanging match on sprashivai or one one of those. Afan and Vika did too, but Semenova got the boot in and came across like a whiny child. Old enough to know better, as are the other 2.

      • Kazic Says:

        She seems rather bitter in general, but unable to leave the sport alone. Apparently she is being training to be a judge now.

  6. gingercrush Says:

    Oh and can I make a turkey to obsessive gymnastics fangirls and their ugly postings of Kohei Uchimura’s crotch and then saying, “I want some of that”. How bloody sickening.

    Also another turkey to Levya and his terrible habit of posting pics of him half-naked.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Don’t forget his creepy stepdad.

    • Wha? Says:

      I know what you mean. I went to the Tour back in ’08 and there was a bunch of teenage girls sitting behind me making sexual comments about the guys. Now when the girls came out, they bitched about their “skimpy leos” and “Why do they spread their legs like that? Gross”.
      They’re doing gymnastics, dumbasses.

  7. gingercrush Says:

    You missed the two Dominiques for putting themselves front and centre in getting attention and sometimes taking it away from current gymnast. Here’s looking at you Dominique Dawes and Dominique Moceanu.

  8. JAS4 Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I think the majority of USAG deserves to be on the list for all it’s underhanded corruptness! Lol but I think number one on the list should be Nellie Kim and all the other cheating judges!

  9. brainy Says:

    John Orozco for being a big baby.

    • catherine Says:

      Ah now, a shit olympics after going in expected to do well and then to tear his acl on the tour…that is going to be hard to deal with.

      • Kazic Says:

        I wonder if he’ll come back to the sport actually. I feel a bit bad for him, but the way he chocked, and how badly it screwed us over annoys me.

  10. Lithi Says:

    Between Nastia, Valeri, Gabby and her mom, the two Dominiques, US and Russian gymnastics with their corruption, the Olympics and their corruption, only one thing to conclude:

    So many turkeys, not enough ammo.

    Oh, and a Happy Thanksgiving (what’s left of it) to the American contingency.

  11. Lis Says:

    Hmm… as it’s Thanksgiving, I’m going to turn this on its head (if that’s okay) and say who I’m most thankful for! Jordyn Wieber for being a class act and an amazing gymnast. Aly Raisman for her tenacity and skills as team captain. Aliya Mustafina for never giving up. And, mostly, for the lovely sport of gymnastics.

    I felt like being positive today;)

  12. Gymbee Says:

    Wasn’t Gabbys line even “we all have to LEARN to deal with disappointment”? Even more bratty. Indicating that she knew how to, but Jordyn didn’t.

  13. exgymgurl Says:

    I agree about Bellu and Bitang, but mostly for crushing Raluca’s olympic dream, when her bar score would have helped them more than anything Chelaru did in three up three count.

    My turkey is Oprah. I think she hurt Gabby, realized there was a major opportunity to help herself and her network and capitalized on it. I think she jumped on two of her followers for ratings. I think its HILARIOUS that GK got a contract with Aly before Gabby for leotard lines.

    I also think its hilarious that Nastia is tweeting pics of some Nike Under Armour gifts from Dicks sporting goods when she HAD a contract with Adidas.

    My other turkey is that Russian bitch from their federation that said she only thought Mustafina had an opportunity to medal maybe on bars. She obviously hated her and was one of the people behind the firing of her coach

    • catherine Says:

      Valentina Rodionenko. Arsehole of the highest order.

      • Kazic Says:

        Yes Valentina Rodionenko has my vote. She’s single-handedly torpedo-ing Russian Gymnastics, and she isn’t even officially with the program!

    • exgymgurl Says:

      I love y’all cause y’all knew exactly who I meant…. Bellu and Bitang also for living in 1996 and replacing Bulimar….. Chelaru has gone home to train away from them…. hmmm maybe shes tired of all of their antics….

      • Catherine Says:

        Chelaru has in fact retired. From the national training centre at least, she is only training recreationally at her home club. It doesn’t mean she’ll never compete again- she could at a small meet. Amelia Racea has retired too, and Gabriela Dragoi. In fact, they can barely scrape a team together at the moment seeing as Ponor is likely to fade out from major comps also. Iordache, Bulimar, Haidu, Trenca..Izbasa probably. That’s almost all of their senior elites.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They need to go steal Anna Pavlova. I don’t understand why some Country doesn’t go talk her into moving.

      • Catherine Says:

        Wow I didn’t read that properly, didn’t see the rest of what you said about Chelaru.

      • Kazic Says:

        GTT are you serious or joking about Pavs? Didn’t she do a tripple off beam last week or something, and everyone was like, “wtf have you been all quag?!”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She has a DTY and her floor is beautiful. I am sure her beam routine could be upgraded with real coaching. No joke, some Country could use her.

      • Kazic Says:

        I don’t understand why Russia can’t use her. She’s better than Grishina who, no matter how beautiful her work is, needs time to mature. Pavs is ready now.

      • Catherine Says:

        She is still inconsistent, often shows laboured routines and only her vault is really of international elite standard, the rest are too low in difficulty. Certainly she shows beauty in her work still.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She has no coaching right now, at least not geared towards elite routines. If she trained where she was wanted she would be fine for a Country like Canada

      • Kazic Says:

        GTT are you trying to say Canada sucks lol?

  14. exgymgurl Says:

    ponor announced her retirement. shes not training anywhere

  15. exgymgurl Says:

    Maybe Chellsie Memmel and her sister and Andy should move to Germany and start competing for the German national team since Chusovitna retired. She could vault a Yurchenko 1.5 and theyd be happy.

  16. exgymgurl Says:

    We need to find an island, start a country, recruit elite gymnasts that want another shot at the olympics as residents, build a gym with a dormitory, find some coaches and film it as a reality show. Start with like 15 and by 2016 we are down to 5 that are healthy and viable.

  17. exgymgurl Says:

    St Sebastian. He is the patron saint of athletes. We could have the city of gimnastica. We could recruit other dissed american and high power athletes also that wouldnt make the olympics for their home countries. It should be a big enough island we could do 3 maybe four different sports teams.

  18. brainy Says:

    End of year entrant for the Turkey of the Year — thecouchgymnast.com — for this: http://www.thecouchgymnast.com/?p=7724

    • Gymnerd Says:

      WTF is so “inspiring” about Gabby? I mean really? Missy Franklin, for one, won, what, 6 gold medals?, went back to swim for her high school, and did NOT turn pro. Nor did she go on Oprah and trash those who helped her along the way.

  19. exgymgurl Says:

    I saw this there and on the USAG website and thought we should all band together to vote for someone else, anyone else just to negate gabbys votes and put them all on one person

  20. Aerial Says:

    What is so inspiring about her? Were the previous American AA winners considered so inspiring? Gymnastically-impressive, yes, but inspiring – no. I agree with GTT’s prior analysis of her “story” and how many dumb people buy into it. In reality, I think she’s brutal, as well as her family and their behaviour.
    PS. Anyone that announces, “I inspired a nation” does NOT deserve to win such an accolade based on egocentricity alone.

  21. Biyatch Says:

    Rebecca Bross does watered down routines wearing tour costumes in Mexico

  22. What ever Says:

    Turkey Nominations for all of the judges for McKenzie Wofford’s bar routines at Visa 2012. Just watched them again and there must have been some cash given under the table to keep those under a 15.

Leave a comment