Mckayla on Hart of Dixie Tuesday night

The question of her acting talent has been answered. I say don’t quit your day job kid but if you want to be an actress, study the craft.


I will be paying a little attention to College gymnastics this season since Bridget Sloan will be competing for Florida. Here is what her coach expects of her.


Vanessa Zamarripa will do elite again. Not sure why but it is nice to see someone continue with no Olympics on the horizon.

Tags: ,

55 Responses to “Mckayla on Hart of Dixie Tuesday night”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    How are you going to watch Florida in Boston? Most of the colleges dont stream with the exception of Bama and UCLA and Utah for top ten clubs that do stream video coverage… I’m just curious because Id love to watch more Georgia and Florida. I think this year is Floridas National Championship year between Sloan Kytra Macko and Bridgey and Marissa King whom I like because she still brings the difficulty

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I know I have seen Florida in the past so there must be a way. I get the Big ten Michigan network so I get some of their competitions.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        We need to get the SEC network nationally to watch gymnastics…. I get Big 12 which means I could watch Oklahoma maybe I guess, but I can also stream in on my TV

  2. Catherine Says:

    I’m way more interested in UCLA’s Lee and Francis. They will stream but that’s no good to me because I can’t suffer the 8 hour time difference with a job. Eventual youtube it is!

    McKayla isn’t awful by any stretch of the imagination at least. I think she just falls short of cringey, a bit too try-hard. Decent enough effort.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I have never been on the Peng Peng bandwagon. I find Victoria Moors more watchable. I am always told I should love Canada on floor but I don’t accept Moors.

      • Kazic Says:

        0_0 You don’t like Peng peng GTT? I adore her. Also a fan of Moors. Why don’t you like her on floor?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I liked Peng Peng’s beam routine. Just threw in a bunch of gutsy moves and more unique than what I’m used to seeing. Not the most impressive form but I’ll take it if it means I’m not seeing the same damn combination I see on every other beam routine.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have never been a Canadian gym fan with the exception of Lori Strong. IMO people over hype them with hopes of one of them actually hitting and I think Peng Peng is the guilty party of just that (though not her fault) I like Moors on floor. I find Peng overrated in general.

      • catherine Says:

        I don’t think she’s legendary but she is really nice on beam and bars with creative enough skills, and engaging to watch on floor. Great personality. Danusia is fairly similar, gorgeous beam and floor. She is training an aerial in cross stand.

        If vazam throws a Cheng that would be awesome. She used to make it look easy.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      There is a way that you can set your computer up to “record” the stream like an in home DVR….so you wouldnt have to watch it live check into it seriously

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Meh. I’m sick of the “not impressed” face already. I wouldn’t call her acting skills “awesome” but not bad for a one-liner. Still don’t see her capable of pulling out a movie role in the near future.

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    Not bad. But at the same time I had my not impressed face on. Luckily Mckayla is young and if shes serious about acting she has many years to perfect her craft.

    I don’t really watch NCAA gymnastics but I might this season. Do they show it on tv? ESPN?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Sometimes ESPN shows meets so you have to keep your ears open. I will try and advertise when I can

      • exgymgurl Says: always lists all the televised meets / streamed / audio streamed meets which are typically friday and saturday nights

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Has Bridget Sloan been pumping iron? She looks buff.

    • Kazic Says:

      Probably preparing to crush the competition lol.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I almost didn’t recognize her lol.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Rhonda Fahen probably has her on a conditioning program… kind of funny about her statements on work ethic as she was known as “lazy” in the elite world… wouldnt surprise me if Bridget doesnt feel like the pressure is off and she can just have fun with it. She’ll easily win SEC freshman of the year and they should easily take SECs and super 6.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Bridget was known as lazy because that is what Sam Peszek told everyone during her recruiting trip/official visit to UCLA. This all started because of comments Sam Peszek made.

        I remember when GGMB reported what she said and then the next thing you know everyone calls Bridget lazy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sam Peszek had the nerve to tell people Bridget was lazy. Wow. Given the pounds Ms. Sam quickly packed on after the Olympics I would have thought vice versa on that one. I can barely recognize her now. And does she even do AA for UCLA these days?

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Is Sam known as being Catty? maybe it was an age difference thing and Bridget was just not as motivated as Sam thought she should be.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Except I think they’re the same age….weren’t they both 16 in ’08? Sam always struck me as a Mean Girl, though.

  6. Lis Says:

    McKayla did pretty well. Honestly, I think she’s on par with a lot of 16 year old actresses. Not saying that she’s great, but it could’ve been a lot worse.

  7. Gymbee Says:

    Considering it’s her first acting job, I think she did good! Rome wasn’t built in a day and all that.

    Hahah same reason GTT. Never paid attention to NCAA but because of Sloan I will this season.

    • Kazic Says:

      I agree. That was great for a first attempt. She could definitely do it with some training. Not surprising, considering the kind of personality she has.

  8. terrigymfan Says:

    I thought McKayla did a pretty good job for the first time. I grew up in the South and obviously am pretty familiar with southern accents. I cringe at a lot of them I hear in the movies or TV because they are so unrealistic. McKayla’s wasn’t half bad though. She turns her head before she completes her line at the end, which I think an experienced actor wouldn ‘t do, but all in all pretty good for someone with no experience. I hope she goes to a good drama school if she wants to do this seriously.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      To me it sounded like she cut in and out of the accent

      • Kazic Says:

        She did a bit. But I have seen experienced actors do that too. Eh, like I said, good for a first try.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        That’s true but it really takes an experienced actor to do a completely realistic accent. I haven’t watched this show but I bet most of the regular characters who are supposed to be southerners are only doing the accent “part time.” It was the same with Cheers. Every now and then you would hear someone toss out a word or two in a supposed Boston accent but most actors spoke with the typical “generic” American accent. At least it seemed that way to me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Actually it’s kind of like that in Boston. Certain words stand out but we do not talk like TV shows say we do. I find the Boston accent to be a myth. I know, we are not supposed to hear our own accent but I am telling you people from Maine have the “{Boston accent” other wise its a myth.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        You’re just not hearing it GTT. We were up there in August and believe me a lot of people (not everyone) speak with a serious accent. It is a pleasant accent but still very distinct. Nothing like what you hear on TV though when someone tries to do a Boston accident. The TV stuff is fake.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I find thay british and Aussie actors give great southern accents.

        For example the guy who plays Jason on Trublood is an Aussie. Or if you’ve seen the recent Denzel Washington movie flight his love interest is British in real life but in the movie her southern accent is good.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Sainabou, have you ever seen L.A. Confidential? I couldn’t believe the 100% American-sounding accents of Guy Pearce and Russell Crowe, two Aussies. There wasn’t even a hint of Aussie accent that came through.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The guy that plays the Mentalist does a great job of an American accent (He is from Australia)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Terri I did. Great movie. Its a shame that brits and Aussies can do american accents better than us Americans can do a British accent or even a legit southern accent.

      • mim Says:

        honestly it’s not hard for aussies (and brits probably) to do american accents because we are inundated with american tv shows/movies/music from such an early age you’ll find that most kids can do a decent generic american accent even if they don’t study drama or whatever. even still, i was super surprised when i heard the guy who plays chuck bass on gossip girl speak in his natural accent, his american accent is spot on!

        i love the boston accent! i find it really distinctive.

        i think mckayla did fine on hart of dixie , it’s a good starting off point and she’s got time to learn. would be great if she’s serious about really studying and improving on her acting.

  9. Case Says:

    McKayla did better than I thought she would. I thought it was a fine first try. She has a certain “it” factor you can’t teach. She will be around for awhile.

    • Lithi Says:

      Hopefully she won’t make a publicity whore out of herself like Nastia and Moceanu. Or make a complete fool out of herself like Ryan Lochte. Time will tell.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        LOL. Well there’s at least three things McKayla has going for her — she doesn’t have the following traits: bitchiness (Nastia), nuttiness (Dom), and dumbness (Lochte).

      • Guest Says:

        I feel Mckayla has the special power of making publicity approach to her automatically so she even don’t need to be a whore to seek the fame purposely.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    Not bad for a first time but I think going to a school with a great drama program would help. I hope she continues with gymnastics though!

  11. lottie Says:

    ….kinda cringe

  12. sainabou nyang Says:

    Nice clip of team usa Rio 2016.

    The clip for Chinas 2016 squad is there but theres a new one for usa.

  13. Biyatch Says:

  14. Biyatch Says:

  15. natty Says:

    gymtruthteller, unrelated…theres a story on yahoo regarding a gymnast who was doing a double back dm off bars, and into the pit…shes done it a “thousand” times before, but got “lost” in the air and landed on her neck in such a way, she pinched her spinal cord and is hopefully only temporarily paralyzed….broken vertebrae too.

    so sad and scary.

    How can you break a vertebrae in the pit?

    coaches safety certified

    shes done it before, no problem….

    and loses it mid air…..

    how do we “lose it” or get lost in the air?

    was she just tired?

  16. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think VZam is inspired by olympianz mohini bhardwaj and anna li

  17. Guest Says:

    She looks having interest in continuing her acting career.

Leave a Reply

