Why should I like Bailie Key?

I keep hearing how much potential she has yet I have never been as impressed as everyone else. So tell me what it is that all of you see in Bailey Key?

Her most impressive event for me was floor. I definitely see her potential on that event. She has nice form (accept on the uneven bars and some bent knee’s everywhere) she certainly is very talented but people have her winning the AA at the next Olympics and I don’t see it personally.

Potential implies that she can upgrade and become consistent as she gets older and while her beam has potential I don’t see any in her uneven bar routine. Nice lines does not equal good form. It’s a personal pet peeve with me when someone at this level can’t keep their feet and legs together while swinging an uneven bar. That being said I always mentioned this when it came to Viktoria Komova as a junior and she did clean it up as a senior so don’t harp on me too much Key fans. I am what I am:)

Who is the uneven bar coach at Kim Zmeskals gym anyway?

You can learn more about Bailie here at her website


31 Responses to “Why should I like Bailie Key?”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Well weren’t people saying Bross would win AA in 2008 after Beijing? Personally that sort of thing is way too early to tell….

    • gingercrush Says:

      Hmm well 2000 all the talk was Vanessa Atler and look how that turned out. Or the idea that Moceanu would only get better.

      • catherine Says:

        Moceanu did get better, she was great in 98.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She was good but she was quite overscored at the GWG and she was quite average every other time I saw her.

      • gingercrush Says:

        Yes she was at Goodwill games and was awesome at Nationals that year. But considering how the US did at those Goodwill games, bias certainly was part of it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wouldn’t use the word awesome per say

      • Kazic Says:

        Personally I always look at Moceanu as a vast talent who never really fulfilled her potential because of personal problems in her life. She was never really as good as she could have been.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I feel the opposite. I think if she wasn’t the cute kid that smiled she never would have accomplished anything because she was the most overrated, overscored gymnast of all time

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        A big appeal for Dominique was that her parents were Romanian and she had that “pixie” look reminiscent of Nadia. I remember when she was making her big splash, it was all about how this girl would/could be even better than Nadia. She didn’t even come close. Yes she was talented but she never did anything that makes me look back on her and think “wow she really left her mark on the sport.” The only thing I remember her by is her cool beam mount – and even that was copied from someone else.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Agreed. I still say if she looked like Jennie Thompson she never would have been overhyped by the US there for by default the world because she was always overrated as a gymnast especially in 1995

  2. gingercrush Says:

    Americans have so much difficulty compared to other countries. Look at the Chinese and Romanian juniors or even the Russian juniors. Their floor difficulty and vault is so low compared to the Americans.

    As for this one. o.o She is going to be fighting against so many other Americans for spots into World Championships and Olympics. I can’t help but wonder whether that domestic competition is going to be such a cruel pressure-cooker it’ll be what ultimately costs many of these gymnasts.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Oh and I hope Ohashi remains healthy. Horrible vaulter and no doubt as she enters the senior ranks her beam difficulty will fall but she has great Uneven Bars which is going to be so important for this next quad. I hope her coach Liukin and Martha have sense and let her be a three apparatus gymnast. Otherwise she’ll be another Bross and suffer huge burnout.

  3. catherine Says:

    I don’t see that happening, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see her on the team. I like her because her leaps especially switch ring are fucking awesome, and her expression and dance on floor shows lovely potential. I love flexibility, and Bailie has a good few positives that are rarer in USA than elsewhere. Grishina reminds me of her, though hopefully not with the same Olympic experience.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Ooh you’ll be very please Catherine. Mai Murakami finally getting an international assignment. DTB Pokal World Cup competition.

  4. Sarah Says:

    She needs to upgrade her floor music. That babyish carnival tune isn’t doing her any favors. I agree with GTT. I see a lot of potential on floor, but she has a lot of work to do on bars and beam if she wants to be a serious contender for Olympic AA champ. At this point, I wouldn’t even consider her a lock for the team, much less AA champ.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Martha loves babyish music.

      • catherine Says:

        And awful choreo, delightful combination. Eberle got away lightly, her floor was entertaining, but Gheorghiu’s was just horrendous with no relief.

        I’m okay with Key’s music because of how cute she is. She will need to ditch it sharpish though, will quickly pass its sell by date. One of my favourite juniors, Eythora Thorsdottir who is a bunch of graceful Soviets reincarnated, has that awful song from the film IT which I used to find very freaky when I was younger and I still hate it. But I can look past it, for her. Same with any awesome routine.

      • mim Says:

        i dont mind bailie’s floor music either. she’s a kid, she’s only 12 or 13! if she was 16 with that music it would be different.

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    So of the incoming seniors in 2013 ,2014,etc who do we predict could be a good all arounder?

    I like what I’ve seen so far from Bailey and I agree she’s not an all arounder just yet. I hate her floor music but for now it suites her.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Madison Desch perhaps??

      They’re either Floor workers/Vaulters and weaker on Uneven Bars or like Ohashi have great Uneven Bars but crap vault. They all appear to do beam reasonably well though.

      The rest of the world appear to be good at Beam (or as good as Americans) and reasonably good Uneven Bars but severely lacking on Floor and DTYs are achievements.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Im going out on a limb and Catherine might kill me lol, but I think Lexie could be a potential AA. She needs to clean up her form in beam and UB. I like her tumbling on floor.The floor music I like but not for Lexie unless she can do something about the choreography.

  6. kate r Says:

    Her Geinger was nice, but other than that her bars need a lot of work. It will be interesting to see how she develops.

  7. allie Says:

    I just watched her floor, and the choreography and style remind me SO much of floor routines in the early to mid 90s. And the look of the leotard prob didn’t help with that.šŸ™‚

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    I think Ohashi will burn out before 2012. I think that Bailey Key is the next Chelsea Davis and will be great for Georgia Gymdogs Gymnastics now that they have a real coach that is making Shayla Worley and Christa Tanella do conditioning for the first time since they started at Georgia.

    I think that the Cincinatti Gymnastics chicks Lexie and the other one will probably shine and do well, but I dont like to predict things based on Juniors. Someone like Gabby will come out of nowhere again… sigh….I hope that Kyla can stick around and get a better Vault, even if its like just a Cheng or something like Izbasa did… and upgrade her floor….I dont see any of the other 2012 Olympians doing gymnastics for real in 2016.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      “I think Ohashi will burn out before 2012.”

      -Freudian slip, EGG?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        What about the other Woga junior Madison Kocian oer whatever her name is. If Valeri burns out ohashi whats his back up plan?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      actually I think shes already burnt out….. so yes it was a slip…. but I think shes peaked and done

      • Gymnerd Says:

        I don’t know if she’s done, but I don’t see her lasting till 2016 either. I don’t even follow juniors, because there’s too much turnover/disappearance/heartbreak between junior & senior careers.

      • Kazic Says:

        Gymnerd I sort of agree but more with the USA than other countries. I think it’s easier to pick out juniors in say, Russia that will probably make a good run at Rio (possibly because there are less of them) but we’ll see.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Amelia Hundley is my favorite junior right now she has good potential and always seems to be genuinely happy to be competing

  10. gymfan1415 Says:

    chris burdette is the uneven bars coach at texas dreams

Leave a Reply

