Unfulfilled potential: Lizzy Leduc

So I wrote this blog a few days ago and waited to post it and what do I find on my twitter feed but a Gymnastike link to a video of, What has Lizzy Leduc been up too. Make sure you watch the video. Lizzy seems so happy it almost made me cry. I watched her at live at Nationals a few years ago and that smile was gone. I am so glad she is happy. You don’t go to a real Nationals and get to call it a Nationals unless you have been ran over by Lizzy’s dad running to get pictures of her.

On to my blog about Lizzy


I first discovered Lizzy on youtube. Her parents have been putting out videos of her since she was born it seems but you could tell even at age 8 she had a lot of potential and talent. It saddens me that it was never fulfilled. (She’s only 15 so I say this might be a little early to say she didn’t fulfill her potential)

She had the form and style before she got to Woga and when there she added skills she just never seemed to master.

Valeri has no patience for potential and after spraining both elbows she finally left Woga (after needing a fresh start according to her mother. A post on youtube (they still love Valeri and Ana, blah, blah, blah) but people don’t leave Gyms for no reason. Fact is if Lizzy had grown into her potential at Woga she would still be there.

Exact quote-

Didn’t really have anything to do with Valeri’s coaching. He is a great coach. She was coming from a major injury and just needed a fresh start. We still consider Valeri and Ana friends and WOGA is an excellent place to be. (Link to quote, page 2)

If I had to guess what Lizzy’s gymnastics future would entail I say she ends up at UCLA competing College gymnastics under Mrs Val. Who knows maybe we will see her make a future Olympic team via the way Mohini ended up on one.

Watch that video above Ms Val because Lizzy isn’t even looking at your school and if a gymnast ever needed you its Lizzy Leduc.


24 Responses to “Unfulfilled potential: Lizzy Leduc”

  1. Gymbee Says:

    She is so sweet! I had a smile on my face watching that, so happy and well-adjusted🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It surprised me a bit. I always thought of her father as a little bit too involved in his kids sports. The mother too but I am glad she looks so happy and realizes being an Elite gymnast does not define you.

  2. Case Says:

    Lizzy is a great kid and I agree that UCLA would be a great fit.

    Where’d she go after WOGA again?

  3. Catherine Says:

    Hasn’t she dropped to level 10 for the moment? Hope to see her in the future.

    Have you SEEN Jordan Chiles? She’s not even elegible for 2016 but has mental skills…front triple full-front layout, 3.5 twist, DTY, DLO…triple off beam..

  4. mim Says:

    i didn’t know who she was until i watched her gymnastike interview, but i have seen her name vaguely floating around. she seems like such a sweet kid. kinda glad a nice kid like her got out of WOGA then!

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    I still wonder about that other blonde girl that left WOGA…crap forgot her name…McKenzie? She left because she was sick at a camp and Valerie made her compete anyways (something like that)…in any case something doesn’t add up when a talent like that decides to give up on elite. She must have had a really bad experience. Glad she’s happy though and best wishes on getting a full ride in college.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Valeri has some success but if you think of all the talent he had and wasted. The odds (due to the volume) can’t be very good.

    • Dee Says:

      *her not we…stupid phone

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Love this blog and our gossip, but could we maybe not discuss the specifics of the Wofford incident? TMI, and the girl must be absolutely humiliated that this is out there. 😦

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree. Until the person who wrote the comments went all crazy on me after I refused to delete the comments she made I actually thought about doing it anyway. Mckenzie is just a kid and she doesn’t deserve the bullying.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Thanks, GTT. Love this blog, btw.

    • mim Says:

      i agree gymnerd. (although she was sick, whatever happened wasn’t her fault so i hope she doesn’t feel bad about herself!. it’s her former coaches that should be ashamed of themselves!)

  6. natty Says:

    Just discovered your blog and would love to be brought up to date about WOGA and valerie. Can anyone refer me to links/blogs about what has happened there, and/or continues to happen?
    I have not heard about any of this, as have just been a fan mostly, with just a tad of fun, recreational gym experience. Is there something bad or unhealthy about the training? Thank you.

  7. Dee Says:

    I’d love to see her pull a Mohini and comeback after college. I think it could happen. I also remember seeing her on you tube long time ago, she has so much talent.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    Id love to see all the gymnasts that arent martas favorites from now on pull Talia Chiarellis and compete for other countries national teams. I think its stupid politically what you have to do to be on Team USA ( team of overprivileged bitchy little snots) Id love to see some Marta reject go compete for Germany or Norway and win a gold medal and beat all of her little pets…

Leave a Reply

