Cutest thing ever #updated


and it doesn’t even involve a puppy.

Mckayla Maroney wrote herself a letter 5.5 years ago and her mother kept it. It really is just too cute. The only thing that could have made this cuter would be if it was hand written.

Mad props to Mckayla for knowing a lot is two words even if she didn’t know Gienger. was spelled “Gienger.” (Damn spelling caller out-ers:)


Sarah did her own version of Mckayla’s letter to herself which made me laugh so I am adding it here. If you are under 18 STAY AWAY FROM THIS LINK or as Sarah would say, if you click on said link make sure your mother and father are not home.

By the way Sarah I saw other mistakes in McKayla’s grammar and spelling but I am not one to talk about “grammar” You can talk to me about spelling because if I spell a word wrong, the fault is YAHOO, They are my spell check:)


42 Responses to “Cutest thing ever #updated”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    That is damn cute. Especially how she references Kyla and “by myself”…and what’s even more interesting is she doesn’t mention the Olympics. At all.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      My best bud Kyla is still my best bud Kyla. This letter pretty much shows the McKayla that annoys us sometimes is the original.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ah, but have you seen her latest interview? It’s a serious one, and very well done. Watching it after a few obnoxious ham ones drives home the point that she just plays up to whatever the host/audience want.

        What a geinger she learned! I want it to become a Def. If she goes near bars again, because there is probably too much work to be done to them that it’s a waste of time. I always notice wrongly spelled words, but that is a tough word and she was 12 so whatevs. I can’t picture her doing a double layout- but tall gymnasts have done them too, and done them well so no reason why Nastia’s mess of a one means tall American gymnasts can’t do them. Rie Tanaka has an exquisite one- very straight.

        Very cute letter. Here’s the interview Before anyone says it, I think she does not mention Sandra by name because her name doesn’t mean much to her audience or host..

      • mim Says:

        thanks for sharing the interview catherine. i think she genuinely has a great attitude about her whole vault fiasco.

      • DL Says:

        So adorable. I’m glad that Maroney and Ross are really best buds from back in the day, and not opportunists who wanted to spin a good “childhood best friends win gold together” media story.

  2. Case Says:

    Love this.

    You know what, I like that kid. That is all.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    Too cute.

    Now GTT lets imagine Nastia at age twelve writing a letter to herself. Lol

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    Oh snap read this! Valeri and Rybacki have been promoted.

    • Case Says:

      Saw that and wasn’t surprised. I do wonder what it means for Valeri’s students though.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Rybecki replacing Kathy Kelly is news to me. God this organization is full of assholes and idiots isn’t it.

      Valeri has peaked exactly ONE gymnast to gold. He’s killed everyone else and there is no way he is giving up Ohashi.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      i dont care about Rybacki but how can valeri be on usag payroll and still be coaching his own elite gymnast for Rio? Ohh these next four years wilk be interesting.

  5. mim Says:

    mckayla’s letter is just adorable.

    i saw the news about liukin and rybacki.. i dont understand how valerie can coach his own gymnasts and perform his new role. and something tells me nastia is sticking around USAG one way or another for a very, very long time. shudder.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Special assistant to Daddy? We already know this organization is corrupt they just make it more obvious to the the every 4 year people every time they do something like this

      • mim Says:

        apparently gymnastics australia is rife with favouritism too. just a sad reality of the sport i suppose.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        It feels like the Karoyli family will be passing over control of usag to the Liukin family in a few years.

  6. Guest Says:

    Shawn and Derek(filled in by Mark) Week 7
    Tango-Paso Fusion, 30/30

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thanks. I didn’t watch I just voted but that was a quick upload:)

      Am I the only one that picked up on some tension between Shawn and Marc and I swear Mark and Derek are a couple.

  7. katecoursey Says:

    This is adorable. I’ve always liked her a lot…I know everyone doesn’t agree, but she’s always seemed quite genuine to me.

  8. terrigymfan Says:

    One thing I find funny in McKayla’s letter is she says, “My friends will like me for who I am not what I wear.” But then she says, “Speaking of clothes, my style will be cute but comfortable and my hair will be short and sweet.” Translation: “I want my friends to like me for who I am not what I wear but I’m not going to take any chances.” LOL

    The letter is very cute though. I love the part about Kyla at the end. Shows that their’s is truly a genuine friendship, not just something drame up recently as a good story.

  9. Gymbee Says:

    Isn’t it actually spelled “Gienger” though? Sorry for being a spelling nazi :-p

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am sure we could spell it twenty million ways depending on the Country we are in Mrs Spelling nazi:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        Guess you’re right😉 I met Mr Gienger though some years ago, and after that I always double-checked my spelling of the name :-p

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am only right in the this incessant need I have to always be right even when I am wrong:)

        I hate the word Tcathv??? (sp) I NEVER spell that one right and I am usually so far off that google and can’t even figure out what I am trying to

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think that is “Tkachev”. I had a russian coach who pronounced it the right way. I just remember it starts with a T and then a k right after, and then whack a “chev” on the end lol.

  10. terrigymfan Says:

    Another funny thing in the letter is McKayla is claiming to be 12 but based on the date of the letter she would have been 11 1/2. Typical kid wanting to be older than they are.

    • Gymbee Says:

      In her tweet she said it was a letter to her future 12 year old self🙂 But yeah, I used to claim I was 12 since I was 6, cause I thought that seemed like such a massively cool age haha.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Okay, now her question about how it feels to be 12 makes sense. That is really cute.

  11. Sarah! Says:

    Yankeephobia: Fear that Bill Buckner can’t bend over and pick up his tickets to the World Series.


  12. terrigymfan Says:

    In case anybody is interested, I read that McKayla Maroney will be appearing in the 7th episode this season of Hart of Dixie. The first episode is next Tuesday Nov. 13, so the Maroney episode should be on Dec. 25 if there is to break in the episodes. It’s supposed to be an episode where a high school football player gets hooked on the main character doctor. Not sure what McKayla’s role exactly will be.

    • katecoursey Says:

      There’s no way they’ll air an episode on December 25th…TV shows usually take a 3-4 week break for the holidays anyways, so it’ll probably be in January.

  13. Sarah! Says:

    Nasty wrote a letter to herself!


  14. Sarah! Says:

    In looking at McKayla’s letter more closely and reading your comments about it, here’s what I came up with.


Leave a Reply

