Gym Drama in the making?

I love anonymous posters that leave me bits of information and run away into the darkness of a blank computer screen.

Remember that blog by John Geddert about leaving a gym and the way to do it? well according to this Robinhood John wrote that blog because he has instituted knew rules at his gym and no one is happy about it.

Jordyn “has given notice” (some gym person will have to explain to me exactly what that means) and the gym itself is losing a lot of gymnasts due to the new policies John Geddert has put in place.

Now remember this information comes from an anonymous source so don’t blame me if this persons version is one sided.

Twistars website.

They have a policies page but I don’t know what is new or old.

Geddert sounds a lot like Steve Nunno to me.


If anyone involved would like me to add anything to this blog send me an e-mail. All names and e-mail addresses will be kept private.

88 Responses to “Gym Drama in the making?”

  1. tulip Says:

    Sounds like he is biting himself right in the butt. Jordyn giving notice? I thought it was assumed that she was going to college in California and wouldn’t be training full time with him. Hmmm…

    Thanks for the gossip GTT

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You’re welcome🙂

      I figured “give notice” means quitting but I did not want to assume.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Weird I thought I had read somewhere Jordyn would be going for 2013 worlds and then seeing about her options? That she liked being in the spotlight for gymnastics? Hrm.

      Well, “give notice” sounds a lot like “I’m leaving, it’s been nice and all.” I am kind of sad to no longer see her compete because she was such a good competitor but I wish her nothing but good things in her future. It’s too bad pro athletes can’t compete in college (at least, just gymnast pro athletes).

  2. Biyatch Says:

    Geddert had mentioned in one of his blogs I believe that the Wieber’s were giving him a percentage of Jo’s endorsement deals. Wonder how Jo “giving notice” effects that arrangement.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t know why she would do that,

      • Kazic Says:

        I would assume that if they were in fact doing that, it would be to cover some of his costs. I know he’s blogged before about how difficult it is to be a coach to an elite gymnast. He mentioned that he has to furnish the gym with proper equipment, plus sometimes his travel expenses are not always covered. I am not 100% sure of the details, so don’t quote me.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        It may have just been an agreement to use her to promote the gym, like “wieber fever” tshirts they sold etc…

      • Biyatch Says:

        “I did have an interesting conversation with one well established coach about the expenses incurred by the club owners during the long haul to an Olympic Games. He stated that the athletes and their families get significant funding from the national office and related programs yet sometimes the out of pocket expenses for the clubs is under appreciated by the parents of some upper level athletes. I did let him know that this may not be the case in all situations and he was surprised to hear that the Wiebers offered up a percentage of Jordyn’s pro income to help reward our contributions to her success. This is a rarity and I mention it here not to shine the light on the Wieber’s but more to encourage this as a TREND for elite parents to adopt. Elite gymnastics is a major financial strain on gymnastics clubs. Equipment needs, staff training, extensive travel, missed gym time, planning hours, coverage in the gym while away, etc are not something that is covered by monthly tuition. I am thankful that the Wieber’s get it!”

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sometimes the national team athletes take a part of the stipend they get from USAG and pay their coaches with that, too. In addition to gym fees. In fact I thought I had read somewhere that Excalibur had made that arrangement with Gabby and her mom – hey don’t worry about paying us, we’ll just take what you owe from the stipend when she makes the national team. Then she made the national team and left Excalibur. Double whammy.

        If Excalibur were smart they would have had Ms. Hawkins sign an agreement and they could go after her. If they didn’t then I can’t feel sorry for stupid people.

      • Kazic Says:

        Yep Biyatch that’s the post I was thinking of.

        If Jo is actually moving gyms that’s very interesting. All indicators before were that if she chose to continue it would definitely be with Geddert. I wonder what changed?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People are speculating she is changing gyms. All the comment said was she has given notice. That could mean retirement

      • Gymnerd Says:

        “This is a rarity and I mention it here not to shine the light on the Wieber’s but more to encourage this as a TREND for elite parents to adopt. Elite gymnastics is a major financial strain on gymnastics clubs. Equipment needs, staff training, extensive travel, missed gym time, planning hours, coverage in the gym while away, etc are not something that is covered by monthly tuition. I am thankful that the Wieber’s get it!”

        Oh, spare me, John. You act like you’re entitled. You conveniently forget that over the years of Jo’s lower level training, her parents’ money helped subsidize your upper levels at the time. And what’s this about “not shining the light on the Wiebers”? It was a great gesture of them to OFFER to do this. You also forget in your rant how much notoriety and name recognition Jo has brought to your gym. Whether she offers you a percentage of her income or not, I think you’ve come out about even.

    • Kazic Says:

      GTT I am assuming that it means changing gyms because the last thing I heard from a reliable source (her mother) seemed to indicate that she wants to continue. Obviously that may be wrong, I’m just guessing. But that’s why I am making that assumption. Also, Geddert seemed to think after the Olympics that she was quitting and seemed fine with it. If he’s acting angry, it seems it would be because she’s leaving his gym for another, not just quitting. *shrug*

      • Anonymous Says:

        Hate to say it but if Kathryn/John hadn’t screwed up Jo’s beam routine for 2012… she could be Olympic AA Champ right now.

        It would be shocking to me if she continued at another gym though.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know. If she had her 2011 beam routine she would have made that AA final, at least. I don’t think she would have been made champ – it probably would have been Komova – and then it would be like “well you may have lost Worlds but the Olympic gold is so much sweeter.”

        I still don’t know what Geddert was thinking with those connections. I thought he was going to take them out after seeing they weren’t working but he was stubborn for sure. Sad thing is it ended up costing Jo, not him.

      • Kazic Says:

        I agree completely. Glad I’m not the only one who blames him lol.

  3. Dee Says:

    Given notice sounds more like she might go train elsewhere, if you think of it in context of him ranting about people switching gyms. Will be interesting to hear more about this.

    • Kazic Says:

      I agree, though last I had heard, Rita Weiber herself said she was unsure of what Jordyn wanted to do. Last thing she said made it sound like Jo is thinking of trying to continue her career. It was on her blog. And in the past Jordyn said she couldn’t see herself ay any other gym. Of course, things and people change.

      • Dee Says:

        I read that blog, too, and I feel like it was filled with so much uncertainty. I didn’t get the impression that she was going to continue…unless that really meant that she wants to but Geddert is over it. From his end it seemed like he wanted her to be done, but that was the impression I got. I’d personally love to see her continue, if at least to gain another world title…but without the drama so she could at least enjoy the spotlight without something taking away from it (Komova drama, gabby, you know, all the crap from this quad).

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Geddert stupidly commented on her “body changes” and how it was unlikely she could continue…. If Im her and I read that I’m not continuing with him

      • Kazic Says:

        Dee I dunno. If we are talking about the same post, we interpreted it differently. It seemed to me far more likely that she will continue now, then say immediately after the Olympics. Right after the Olympics I thought she was done, and Jo was taking about college. Now she’s talking about waiting for a while. I think it’s likely we’ll see her at least try to make it to worlds next year, and then re-evaluate everything after that. Just my opinion.

      • Dee Says:

        Maybe you are right, when I read it I thought she was done? It was a little confusing bc his blog seemed like she was done and her moms seemed like she was keeping options open. Either way I don’t blame her…she was with him forever and maybe it is time for a change. He seems to be a little different since London.

      • Kazic Says:

        If I had to pick Dee between believing the mouth (Geddert) and the Mom (Rita), I’m going with the mom lol. I personally partly blame Geddert for what happened to Jo in Quals. He was told the training she wouldn’t get credit for her connections (supposedly) and ignored it. I also think he could have done more for her routines in terms of upgrades before the Olympics. I will give him that he does always seem genuinely proud of her, but if she chose to go somewhere else, I wouldn’t be surprised.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I loved Jordyns old routine the one she did in 2011. If she had kept that routine I wonder if she would have qualified for AA.

      • Kazic Says:

        Probably, but then Komova would probably have been Champion.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    Maybe it was Geddert who didn’t want Jordyn to upgrade like she needed to and insisted on her keeping the beam routine that wasn’t working and maybe Jordyn has decided that she would like to train elsewhere if she continues (where would be an interesting question). Then again maybe she gave notice just as a formality because she can’t fulfill her training obligations due to the tour of in case she decides not to continue (which I hope she does continue)!

  5. mim Says:

    oooh, love gym gossip! i cant imagine jordyn at another gym!

    i have to wonder though… if someone has been whispering in her ear about leaving geddert. surely with his little outbursts (some called for, i’ll give him that) he isn’t one of marta’s or USAG’s favourite guys.

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    Love me some Gym drama. Maybe Jordyns going to Gage lol.

    When I read his recent blog Id assumed he was talking about Gabby and the Excalibur issue. If this is true, wow just goes to show you never know what’s going on behind the scenes.

    • Dee Says:

      Ahhaha my guess was GAGE, too! I don’t see her fitting into their style for some reason but who knows. Although I feel like gage is going to be the WOGA or chows of this quad (you know how there is always one gym to get all the attention) bc It seems to be getting a lot of attention as of late (finnegan, then Dowell winning Mexican open, now vega moved there). Who knows, maybe jordyn would go there. Not sure where else?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I definitely think GAGE and TX dream will have their time to shine in the upcoming quad. Im so excited. I have a feeling this next quad will be good. Full of drama and the usual politics from USAG.

    • mim Says:

      i thought GAGE too but for some reason the thought of jordyn at GAGE made me laugh?! random! haha.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Maybe Jordyn will move to LA and go to AOGC with Maroney. She could potentially train with UCLA too right?

      • Case Says:

        This is the the most viable response yet. Either AOGC or Jenny Zheng….and only because she’s headed to UCLA. People are reading way too much into this.

      • Kazic Says:

        Lol love you too Case. We’ll see won’t we?

  7. Case Says:

    The devil is in the details on this one.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    From their policy page “Twistars USA Gymnastics Club requires an “IN WRITING” one-month notice should your child decide to retire from our program. Because of the cost of supporting a competitive team member and the commitment we have extended to our coaching staff, it must be understood that it is your responsibility to notify the owners of the club 30 days prior to your child leaving the gym. During that month of notice your child is welcome to train in the gym. We have often found that during this period of notice the gymnast, together with our coaching staff, are able to find a resolution to their concerns. If you child leaves our program without the required 30 day notice, your account will remain open until the completion of the current competitive season (June 30). All outstanding tuition, and pro- shop charges as well as all related boosters club financial obligations, commitment fees, travel costs, apparel costs etc are due through the 30 day notice period. All outstanding balances must be paid in full by end of the 30 day notice period.Failure to provide payment in lieu of notice is considered a serious breech of contract with Twistars USA Gymnastic Club.”

    Thats giving notice. She must already have another coach lined up. She may just be done with him and wanting to shop around. I personally dont blame her. Id be looking for a new coach also if my coach had had me keep the same beam when he was told the connections would not be credited….granted she had a stress fracture but still….

    • hurms22 Says:

      Well Jordyn was fugging up those connections as early as AmCup. So he had plenty to time to change them, from what I know Tammy Biggs told him he wouldn’t get credit for it and he shrugged it off and also when he was told at PT in London about Joryn maybe not getting credit for her leaps he had a lot of snark about it too. I also read that at the gym he blames a “Pro-Komova” movement that kept Jordyn out of AA finals.

      • hurms22 Says:


      • mim Says:

        see i dont get why he didnt change her beam! was it just arrogance? he seemed to really be sensible about jordyn and her training, i dont understand why he jeopardised her chances for maximum scoring potential by not adjusting her beam routine accordingly… out of not wanting to be wrong? or something stupid like that.

        still cant comprehend.

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    It also means geddert wont get her USA gymnastics national team training $$

  10. DL Says:

    I hope she’s not retiring.

  11. exgymgurl Says:

    Retiring would be completely different than “giving notice” If she was just retiring, I doubt her parents would give noice, her USA gymnastics team $$ will soon show up in someone elses gym

  12. Catherine Says:

    Lol Gage..probably the worst fit for her. AOGC/CGA make the most sense. In other news, FIG congress is going on. Make way for the shocking news that Nellie and Bruno are…back! DUN DUN DUNNNNN. I would be shocked if the other guy got it, Adrian Stoica. I believe Nellie herself does not actually have competition.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Nellie Kim aint going no where. Shes aiming for the top spot. When she gets it Nastia will get the head judge position. I think what we saw in the draft COP is what will be in the final version.

      • Kazic Says:

        Saina I have a hunch that Nastia may be aiming for eventually Marta’s job. Just a hunch. I know GTT hates when I say that lol.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Lol i know. Then GTT will have to see Nastia on her TV forever and ever.

      • Kazic Says:

        Haha lbr Nastia loves attention too much to go away. She will find a way to stay on yo’ tube lol.

  13. nero Says:

    You mean after the Olympics gymnasts are actually having FUN instead of going right back into the gym? Gymnasts from other countries are already training for the next Olympics and ours have the audacity to be kids/young adults and celebrate their successes. I, for one, am getting my whip out and going to demand they get right back into grueling training to perform the hardest tricks in the world for my amusement.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Hahaha, I love it. He even had a bit of difficulty with a Gienger and Shaposh half.

    • Kazic Says:

      I am not against fun, but I am against unsafe performance environments. Also a small part of me inside is like *but Russia is catching usssssss!* And then I look at the state of their leadership and lol myself to sleep.

  14. exgymgurl Says:

    I think that Tasha Schweikert is having a very positive influence on Jordyn, and I think that whatever decisions are made they will be sound ones. I think the Wiebers are handling this with class style etc, and then his percentage agreement will also be terminated. She could be coming into some big checks soon and if thats the case, it definitely makes sense to cut and run. God knows that percentage agreement could have been in lieu of team fees etc for the last year or so that shes been professional.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Speaking if Tasha what’s the deal with her and Steve Penny. Remember at Visas 2010 when they were awarding the Bronze medals to the Sydney team. Steve Penny goes up to Tasha to hug her and she puts her hand up to stop him and gives him a dirty look.

  15. RebeccaH1019 Says:

    If you check out the comments section, John maintains that Jordyn hasn’t given notice.

    (Also I forgot my name on here so hopefully GTT allows this comment to be posted.)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I said it the blog this is info someone sent me and should be taken as such.

      It also does not say she has not given notice in the comment section. It says she has not decided. She could have given notice that she won’t be back at his gym.

      nope… not at all. Jordyn is enjoying the tour and will decide on her gymnastics future upon completion

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Has anyone figured out what the new rules were that people are unhappy about? I haven’t bothered to do a comparison.🙂

        The Olympics has totally gone to his head, either way.

      • Catherine Says:

        Lol yeah ‘John Geddert, elite coach, HEAD COACH OF TEAM USA THAT’S ME’. Also Grandi has been reelected snore. He is going to be 82 in 2016.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Didn’t Geddert say in one of his blogs or on twitter that he was glad to be focusing on his level 10s or the girls preparing for NCAA or something to that affect? Or am I just imaging that? lol I will have to see if I can find it! If that’s the case maybe he isn’t really interested in coaching elite much anymore but then again I find that hard to believe because he seemed to enjoy the attention lol

    • mim Says:

      i can’t see john admitting jordyn has given notice on a blog anyway, regardless of if she has or hasn’t. it’s not really his place to announce anyway, morso jordyn’s decision to do so.. much less on a public forum.

  16. RebeccaH1019 Says:

    I don’t know… he specifically answers the question that was asked. Just sharing information!

    Rachael / October 22, 2012
    Is this a hint that jordyn will be leaving or retiring?! Please say no!

    John Geddert / October 22, 2012
    nope… not at all. Jordyn is enjoying the tour and will decide on her gymnastics future upon completion

    • mim Says:

      i dont see that as a specific answer. it’s a vague answer. the emphasis isn’t “she’s not leaving”, the emphasis is “this is not a hint”, so he answers the question just not the part everyone is thinking of!

      semantics i know. but it’s sneaky word-play to avoid answering the real questions.

  17. gymfan1415 Says:

    Geddert’s website no longer says home of Jordyn Wieber!

  18. exgymgurl Says:

    all mention of weiber off the website, and if you google them it still in the google crawl says home of Jordyn Wieber… woga still says home of carly dingdong

  19. Anonymous Says:

    The new policy is not posted in the policy website link, but it involves potential elites and college bound gymnasts with additional compensation owed to the gym owner in certain situations.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thank you anon. If you know any more info please send and I will keep your info quiet.

    • Anon Says:

      Certain situations? That’s putting it pretty mild I’d say. I’ve never heard of another coach/owner making certain groups of gymnasts in the gym sign contracts that, among other stupid ideas, insists that the gymnast OWES him money (a large sum of money) if they get a college scholarship…even if she’s left his gym long before getting said scholarship (up to 2 yrs prior!) Who does that??? College scholarship money is not money paid to former club coaches… So I guess these girls are to pay it out of their allowance?? Craziness!

  20. Sam Says:

    I don’t know if this blog is about Jo, Gedderts has lost 7-10 level 8-10s in the last calendar year to other gyms. 4 just left this past offseason. When I read the blog, I assumed it was about them.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The note I got was about gymnasts leaving AFTER Jordyn gave her notice. So it must be knew.

  21. Aerial Says:

    Here’s some more gym drama for you, related to the tour… Anna Li admits to others bullying on the tour and being friends with “some” people:

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Sounds like a blog to me:)

    • Kazic Says:

      GTT I know you are not a fan, but will you ever talk about Orozco’s injury on the Tour? It’s at least worth mentioning in the context of it being unsafe.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I made fun of him getting hurt but I think that was on twitter.

        I don’t always post gym news. If I did there would be twice as many blogs.

      • Kazic Says:

        Personally, no matter how much I dislike an athlete I will never cheer or make light of an injury. It’s not funny. I wanted to know what you thought of it, like I said, in the context of “oh crap another Tour injury.”

        Well considering right now gym is dead, it might be worth mentioning. Hmm I must have missed your tweet.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am who I am and I don’t pretend to give a shit when I don’t. I thought I made that clear a long time ago but I guess not.

        I don’t like him. I don’t like the free pass he continues to get from USA-gymnastics and if he is injured I don’t have to deal with it.

  22. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    Speaking of drama, Quotes taken from members of the Int Gymnast Forum in regards to the whole Jordyn leaving situation. Heres what some people had to say about this blog…

    “That gymtruthteller crap is generally one of the worst blogs I’ve ever seen. I’d take anything anyone says on that crap with a pinch of salt. We’ll see what happens.”

    “You’re not lying, it is “THE” worst blogs ever. You should of read the crap he/she was spewing out during the Olympic AA finals.”

    Congrats homegirl you know you’ve officially made it big when you got the kids talking!;)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      How will I ever survive if the biggest internet stalkers of all time hate me? Where’s my kleenex.

      They sure “know” a lot about this blog for people that hate it so much. When I hate something I usually just avoid it. Not IG, they know what I was saying at all times.

    • Kazic Says:

      Lol GTT you have pissed off the kiddies. You’re totally fine, you let people on me post here without flaming me lol. I love when people use the equation: insults+opinions you disagree with=crap. It makes them sound so intelligent.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I love pissing off IG. It actually makes me smile. I feel better when they disagree with me. It lets me know I am right again since most of the losers that post there are retarded like NastiaFan101 or know it alls like Kitty

      • Kazic Says:

        I love NastiaFan’s youtube. He’s got all the full meets lol.

  23. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    IG Forums are full of pretentious obnoxious obsessed Nastia fans who act like they know everything & will rip you a new one if you God forbid state your own opinion on a message board! whatever they can suck it cause GTT is the realest shit!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I have been dying to hear your opinion on this Anna Li situation?????

      • Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

        My take on the whole Anna Li situation is this….This is a tour full of bunch of homschooled/Gym sheltered socially awkward teenage brats who have had no life outside of the Gym & not to mention been sucked up to and have been told time & time again they are the best & how great they are, so this is recipe for disaster/drama but great conversation for us!;) I mean would we expect anything else but petty drama? I do think However, she was writing that from an observational point of view, cause I can see where whats left of the fierce 5 & their plus one leach Nastia would clique up & not “Invite anyone to sit with them at lunch” I don’t picture it being this whole evil shit talking fest where they gang up on her or other people. I just see it as the girls just not including her in their little group to hang but nothing horribly rude. However, at the end of the day even if they do say somethig bitchy I’m sure its nothing more then typical petty girl talk & comments you know. But isnt shes like what 23 so why would she really care or feel bullied by a group of 16 yr olds & that bitch Nastia, I mean consider the souce. Really like why would she wanna hang with them anyways? I feel like the term bullied is used and thrown around too loosely these days. I mean being 23 myself I would def be annoyed constantly being around 16 yr olds being loud, giggly & just immature so I can see where she’s coming from but there is a difference between being annoyed & being bullied & if that was me I would just eye roll say fuck it and not acknowledge & move on! I mean what do you expect from a group of young girls together like that? & why give someone so insignificant so much power over you. Sound like all parties involved need to just go about their own business & call it a day…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That is why they hate Nastia is a bitch and I say it.

      • JAS4 Says:

        GTT they all must obey the Nastia rules from your blog awhile back they probably have their own set of rules too lol

        IG rules of Nastiaism
        1. Nastia is the best no other can compare
        2. All who oppose the queen are guilty of blasphemy (and will be subject to intetnet taunting by 12 year olds obsessed with Nastia)
        3. Any who doesn’t believe Nastia is the true 08 UB champion is stupid or on crack
        4. If you are mentioning gymnastics then by default you must mention the queen AA and UB champion
        5. In 6 years when you turn 18 you must get a picture of her majesty’s likeness tattooed on your body

Leave a Reply

