Aly Honored

Aly was honored in Florida today for her accomplishments at the 2012 Olympics.

I personally don’t understand how people get so attached to their Religion probably because mine was forced on me as a child but I suppose believing in something is better than believing in nothing. Plus I saw a great poster the other day that could not be any more true:)

“I would rather live my life as if there is a god and die to find out there isn’t, than live my life as if there isn’t and die to find out there is.” ― Albert Camus

I do love how Aly spends time writing her signature. It means she cares.

I for one can’t believe the Olympics refused to have a moment of silence for the 11 Israeli Olympians who were murdered during the 1972 Munich Olympics. That was wrong. Shame on you IOC.

55 Responses to “Aly Honored”

  1. GymMom Says:

    I like Aly the best of the 5. She is down to earth. She seems to appreciate things and honors given to her. And that’s obviously why she’s getting the most endorsements? Being Jewish in my opinion is more than a religion. Aly has had a good upbringing and has been taught how to act.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly is likable because she is actually just a normal nice kid. People liking her just because she is Jewish is kind of ridiculous IMO.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I agree I really like Aly she seems nice and genuine

    • mim Says:

      i really like her too. she seems to be polite, grounded and genuinely nice. i also think the fact she was considered “the workhorse” of the bunch is very reflective of the fact she isn’t entitled. major props to papa and mama raisman!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I like Aly not because she’s Jewish but because she’s humble and she really worked hard to accomplish her dreams. She represents the ultimate Olympic story that everyone “likes” to see. That story is especially hard to find in gymnastics since it’s so rife with politics.

      I like Jordyn for the same reason. Kyla, too. I’m looking forward to seeing Kyla continue (and I just really hope she and her coaches don’t listen to Marta and let that girl accomplish her true potential).

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I’m dying to know what upgrades if any Kyla will show at camp this weekend. I kind of wish she could go with Ebee to Stuttgart.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I kind of doubt she’ll have any upgrades since most likely she’ll be trying to get her 2012 form back from the post-Olympic break…but it’d be great if she at least upped her floor routine.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        ^ What Sanity said. “Like!” 🙂

    • Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

      I just cant keep this inside to myself anymore if everyone hates me for saying what I’m about to say so be it…Aly didn’t just score Olympic Gold in Gymnastics, based off the way her siblings uhhh look she scored serious gold in the genetic lottery!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What do you mean? Because she is Jewish or pretty?

        I see nothing wrong with that opinion and I see your point. It’s the same with Gabby. If she was white no one would care.

      • Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

        ^^ gymtruthteller Are you talking to me?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes,your comments about Aly. You said and I was just asking why

        I just cant keep this inside to myself anymore if everyone hates me for saying what I’m about to say so be it…Aly didn’t just score Olympic Gold in Gymnastics, based off the way her siblings uhhh look she scored serious gold in the genetic lottery!!!

      • Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

        What I meant by that was that after seeing pics of her siblings…How do I say this as politely as possible without calling anyone ugly…She won genetic jackpot cause she is best looking out of all of them!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Ah,lol Genetics. I get it. Um yes her sisters are not as pretty as she is and no offense her parents are kind of goofy looking especially the dad.

      • mim Says:

        aw, her sisters are still little though. they’ll have time to grow into their looks.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Why am I not surprised at the IOC? IOC, FIG, USAG are all either pompous, corrupt, or both!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The IOC is a joke. So the the FIG and USA-g

      • JAS4 Says:

        You are exactly right the are a joke and USAG or should I say USAMG (M is for Marta lol) is the biggest joke of them all lol

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      They’re all a bunch of political assholes. I wouldn’t expect much from any of them. Unless any of their special interests are affected they could give a shit.

  3. GymMom Says:

    Poor Jordyn, having to be in a photo with the likes of these 2 last night? Gabby wearing a shiny GOLD lame’ dress?? How tacky and cheap!

    https://mobile.twitter.com/gabrielledoug/status/258773330037968896

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I can barely see Gabby. Some marshmallow-looking thing took over that picture. Puff? Is that you?

    • Guest Says:

      It is none of the business of Nastia in the awards ceremony. I feel annoyed that she keeps trying to leech Firece 5 for getting attention.

      • Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

        Was Nasty Lookin there to receive the award for the most embarrassing epic fail comeback is sports History? God this girl has reached a whole new level of annoying and desperate. Her motives are so clear & obvious to everyone, she latches on to anyone or anything that will get her attention or at least a photo opp. Funny how now suddenly she’s all over the fab 5 or whatever the hell they decide to call themselves these days posting pics with them & what not when before that she really didn’t give a crap about anyone of them! I mean as a 23 year old why would you really wanna hang around 16 yr olds? Especially since there are girls on the tour (Alicia & Chellsie) her age that she spent half her life with..& then it dawned on me the drama between them & how they cant stand her either, so she has to go hang out with the younger more nieave crowd because they think she’s cool while everyone else see her for what she is which is an egotistical opportunist bitch who needs to have the Fashion Policed called on her ass. I mean really just shoot me if I’m 23 & hanging around this shit

      • GymMom Says:

        I read that Nastia presented the Women’s Sports Foundation Award last night. WHY???

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        AA winner to AA winner. Is that the organization Dawes was the President of? because I noticed you never see Miller at any of their events

      • Guest Says:

        In 2010, she wound around the figure skater Evan.
        In 2012, she is on almost everywhere with photos of Fierce 5.
        It is not hard to predict that who she will leech in the following Olympics.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Nastias BS comeback makes an excellent blog called “The best, worst, and could have made a comebacks.

  4. GymMom Says:

    Jordyn looks amazing! Pretty dress that’s age appropriate and a good style for her body. Her hair & make-up are flawless.

    https://mobile.twitter.com/jordyn_wieber/status/258769074442612736

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She looks great. These girls have been able to stay in relatively good shape despite the tour. I was expecting much worse after seeing what happened in 2008…

    • Catherine Says:

      Those style of dresses look very cheap or something, to me. Lovely hair and makeup. If she fixed her eyebrows she would be seriously stunning.

      • GymMom Says:

        What’s wrong with Jordyn’s eyebrows? I think she looks flawless.

    • Case Says:

      That color really works for her. I think she looks stunning.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I think Jo’s dress is lovely too. (Sorry Catherine but I think you are being outvoted on this one.) What I like most about it is it shows off her waist. If I were one of these girls I wouldn’t do anything to hide my waistline. Much better than the dress she wore at the MTV VMAs , which I thought hung on her like some old drapes covering a floor lamp. Her hair and makeup are stunning too.

  5. Yevdokiya Says:

    You all were talking the “let’s see if this mean tweet will get me blocked” game. And some of those tweets are well-deserved, not to mention hilarious. I actually perform for a living so I’m a bit careful on Twitter, but if that were not the case I would tweet this in response to the above photo:

    Whoever styled these girls, take note. Jordyn: Perfect. Nastia: Trying Way Too Hard. Whoever that is in the middle: Hopeless.

    But I won’t actually do it, lol. If someone else wants to, feel free.

  6. Guest Says:

    Oh, Shawn put her phone on somewhere (at 14:40 of the video). Is she trying to turn herself into a sexy lady?

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2219445/Dancing-With-The-Stars-Derek-Hough-reveals-Shawn-Johnsons-costumes-sexier.html

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Ok – I’m sorry, but these people have GREAT over-paying jobs that allow them to do what they love which, I’m sorry, does NOT involve making the world a better place or finding cures for cancer or anything of that nature. They dance. Yet obviously can afford really pricey handbags and nice cars. Yet they have the audacity to BITCH about having to stay up late and choreograph and teach the dance and yada yada yada? Oh wah wah. Fools. How about staying up late in front of your computer because you have a really needy client that wants a Word report finished prior to the agreed-upon due date? And not getting paid extra for the extra work. And driving a HONDA and thinking that’s good enough. What a bunch of assholes these people are. They’d be nobodies if entertainment weren’t such a huge over-glorified industry in this world.

      I’m not directing this at Shawn. She actually did not complain at all and took time to hug the paparazzi dude. I just can’t stand the others who are all “it’s so laaaaate I’m so tiiiiiiiiired waaaaah!!!!”

      Give me a break.

      Yet this society continues to adore the likes of Kristin Cavallari and make a big spectacle of her shedding 25 lbs of baby weight in two months. Again, if I didn’t have to work I could do that, too.

      • mim Says:

        she will always be the nasal-y whingy 16 yr old from laguna biatch to me. her “steeveeeeennn” is forever burned into my brain.

        kristin cavallari, not shawn lol.

      • Dee Says:

        Ugh that Kristen from Laguna beach is such a whore. Why and how is she even still getting attention? For what? Being dumped by her fiancé and getting pregnant in a desperate attempt to get him back?

      • Tortuga Says:

        @ Mim, hahah yes that episode where they’re camping and Kristen just repeats his name over and over. LC’s interpretation “Stee-Vun!” Will forever be burned into my memory.

  7. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    “I watched this and all I could stop thing was, I hope this tumbles to the ground and they all fall off except Jordyn and Aly.lol Yes I am mean.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfwAQufcQQ0

    As Miss Memmel stands there with a pair of Pliers & a sinister grin on her face;)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Oh gawd that’s cheesy. And I can’t help but think their outfits are atrocious.

      Memmel deserves to be there more than Nastia does. Her comeback was actually legit.

  8. Catherine Says:

    • Catherine Says:

      Her accent is good actually, sounds like she robbed it off Rosie and Sophie (the two girls on Ellen). Though she does lose the twang slightly and turns a bit Jamaican at one point. But great effort! One of the best I’ve heard from a non-Brit.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        That was good! I have to admit it was so good I didn’t recognize it was Aly at first — I thought it was an actual Brit who was a dancer or something in the show. LOL

    • mim Says:

      bahaha love aly. she’s not half bad with that accent! shame she didn’t go with the full-blown essex accent though (it’s a personal fave of mine lol).

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Surprising that someone who has such a boring monotone voice could throw off such a good accent from another country.

      • Dee Says:

        Hahahha that is surprising!

  9. GymMom Says:

    There were other female athletes nominated for the Women’s Sports Foundation Award…Missy Franklin, Serena Williams etc. Mary Lou won this award too. I don’t think Carly won it?

    • Guest Says:

      Even Missy and Serena deserve being awarded more.

      • GymMom Says:

        I agree. I think it’s part of the puzzle regarding how and why Gabby won gold when she clearly should not have!

      • JAS4 Says:

        I was reading something on twitter about the sportswoman of the year award and it says its supposed to be for the woman who was basically the best in her sport all year (not exact words) and blah blah blah if that’s the case then if a gymnast were going to win shouldn’t it have been Jordyn? Gabby won trials and the AA (which were fixed for her) while Jordyn was the top gymnast in the USA for most of this quad! Makes no sense lol I blame Marta lol

  10. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    http://verucasalt2929.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

