China’s Rio Squad- Updated

Here is a very impressive Montage about China’s future gymnasts. There is a lot of talent in China’s future, Take a look


So I found this blog today and they have two very interesting blogs. One is about Carly calling out Khorkina and the other is about Khorkina pretending she does not remember the gymnast that beat her.

This is why I will always be a defender of Carly and her attitude back in 04. The Queen might have more medals but she has always been a sore loser. How else was Carly supposed to act? Just like her.:)

The Russian way is to say one thing to the US media and run home to Russia and complain about the mean old US stealing their medal.

Another thing that kills me is this idea that “the artistic gymnast” usually the Russian gymnast is robbed every time they lose yet when the Russian gymnast is the tumbler like in 1992 Russia has no complaint. I hate hypocrites.

There was another interview where Khorkina talks about how the judges got it right 4 years ago giving it to Nastia “The artistic gymnast” (because she is Russian. Don’t think for a second if the US gymnast was the artistic one Khorkina would have had a problem with it) yet they got it wrong going the other way this year

IMO the artistic gymnast should always win out if the start values are close and the routines are clean but only if the form and technique are part of the equation.


I watched this and all I could stop thing was, I hope this tumbles to the ground and they all fall off except Jordyn and Yes I am mean.

37 Responses to “China’s Rio Squad- Updated”

  1. sainabou nyang Says:

    I can hardly wait so over this current quad except for Kyla and a few others.

    Btw my phone is acting up so I’m not sure if my other posting went through.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It was in the wait to approve section. Not sure why. WordPress being wordpress

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I can’t wait to see if Kyla will be bringing possible upgrades to camp this weekend. Im surprised Ebee will be there. I can see her being phased out in the next quad and being overshadowed by Simone.

    • Dee Says:

      I agree…this was my least favorite quad, ever.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Wow. Might be China/Russia going for gold and the US lucky to compete for a bronze by then…

    The only thing about the Chinese though is they seem to “wig out” at the big meets not taking place in their country. Have they ever won a Worlds championship (team) that didn’t take place in their country? (I honestly don’t know) – but they just seem to be SO good, then they leave their country and sh*t hits the fan.

    I guess I blame Communism.

    • Dee Says:

      I always wondered why they seem to have a meltdown outside of their own country. They always seem like a huge threat and then the plane lands over their border and it seems to unravel.

      The one I’ve watched on and off all quad is Siqi. (Hope I spelled that right). I am hoping to see a lot of her in the upcoming years…I like her style for some reason and I”m not usually a Chinese gymnastics fan in general…usually more partial to Romania and Russia, occasionally a US gymnast will be bearable enough to really cheer for, haha.

  3. exgymgurl Says:

    That girls two vaults are awesome. And the new “downgraded” amanar won’t even play out with a double tsukahara… would love to see her tumble. They are looking like they are 2 years from an olympic games rt now and we are at just the beginning of the quad…

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    Khorkinas hair in that clip was just…. Omg. Like a mullet Toupee. In Athens she looked emaciated and sickly. Her form on vaults were just as bad as nabs.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree. Her vault form was horrible but Russia doesn’t care about form and hasn’t in years

  5. catherine Says:

    The Asian championships next month have the Chinese team finalised- Li Yiting (vaulter), Zeng Siqi, Shang Chungsong, Huang Huidan, Wu Liufang…and someone else, damn. They really need new faces, but they are quite weak on floor. From their juniors, Lou Nina is great, Xie Wenwei has a nice floor and Lu Jiaqi and Fan Yilin have gorgeous beam and bars. But they are still so weak on power events.

    Yes, I’ve seen plenty of stuff on how ‘choose the jordin’ stole the medal from vika, the bars mistake was highlighted, but not the vault disadvantage vika had and her weak floor. Annoying attitude to see all the time. Vika did not deserve either AA title, her competition was stronger than her (even without being helped by overscores).

    Khorkinas attitude problem spoils her gymnastics for me. I also hated her vaults, and she was so overscored on everything post 2000. It also wrecks any enjoyment of Boginskaya, she said that Zmeskal would never have won in 1991 if the competition was held in Europe.

  6. Dee Says:

    I made it through 59 seconds of that Olympic Ring finale, and those 59 seconds included a stupid commercial by youtube….and I had to turn it off. I literally gagged. hah!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I felt the same I don’t know how these girls are not embarrassed? Maybe not Aly,Gabby and Jordyn they are kids but Alicia and Nastia are adults.

      • Lissa Says:

        Really? Aly is 18. Jordyn is 17. Gabby is 16. All are well old enough to act like adults. Alicia and Nastia are what? Early 20s? How many girls in their early 20s do you know that are more adult-like than girls in their late teens? Sorry, but they should all be held to fairly similar standards of behavior. Alicia and Nastia do not magically become mature because they passed their 20th birthday, while anyone over the age of 16 is old enough to act like an adult.

      • mim Says:

        how many girls do i know in their early twenties that DON’T act like teens? me – im in my early/mid twenties. precisely alicia’s age to the month. so are most of my friends. my job is a professional one and this requires me to act my age if not older, not a girl in her late teens. you could hardly expect a 16 yr old like gabby or 17 yr old jordyn to be on the same level as an almost 25 yr old alicia.

        GTT i agree … alicia and nastia really are old enough to be embarrassed by the tour, whereas i can’t hold it against aly, jordyn and gabby. their whole lives have practically been gymnastics until this point and they’re only kids.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Alicia and Nastia probably should be embarrassed but the reality is this is probably their last opportunity to make any real money off their gymnastistics careers. Money speaks louder than a lot of things and avoiding a little bit of embarrassment (well, maybe a lot of embarrassment) is one IMO. The younger girls are just having fun it seems to me.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      WTF was with that chick trying to hang herself at the end of the Olympic Rings segment? Yeah, I want MY 9-year-old to come home and try that. Idiots.

      P.S. Those outfits are just….wrong.

  7. kadie Says:

    Yeaaaa, sorry I can’t stand patterson. I agree she won, and I agree khorkina is a sore loser (to a point)

    Patterson lacked class. Im sure you like her cuz she is a tell it like it is gymnast, but she sounds like a spoiled brat to me. No class, no tact. You can see it throughout the entire 04 games. Guhh…

    • mim Says:

      never liked carly either. mainly because i feel like she didn’t put her all in the olympic TF but then brought it like a mother in the AA. just made the impression on me she cared more about herself… which is fair enough. it just didnt endear me to her.

      that and she’s boring, aside from the “awww that’s toooo bad” comment at 2003 worlds. the only time she’s mildly interesting and she was being bitchy. lol.

      khorkina is unlikeable too but her bitchiness is funny to me ha.

  8. gingercrush Says:

    Russians are almost always better than Americans. Though they have a huge twisting form issue.

    But I actually hate Khourkina and have a big problem with taller skinny gymnasts like her and Nastia. It just looks vile. Komova better not go lose weight this quad or I’ll have serious issues with her too.

    Khourkina’s vaults were gross and her beam was gross. And I don’t like her on floor.

    Love the Chinese but too few can get the difficulty on floor and vault is an issue too. Also the changes on Uneven Bars will need to be addressed.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Oh and I disagree with sentiment here about the 2008-2012 quad. Yes the Olympics tended to be a disappointment especially with how gymnasts like Iordache, Grishina and Jinnan performed (Jinnans prelims was just scary hope she has a fab 2013 worlds). But 2010 worlds were great with Mustafina performing well and the AA final was good too. Event finals were okay. 2011 worlds were good. Even though I still think Komova was incredibly unlucky to not win the AA title (and has way more of a case than the Olympics). Each event final had very deserved winners and a floor competition that was competitive.

      I worry about this next quad in that Americans are going to have so much difficulty that I’m not sure other countries can catch up. Other countries can perform on beam and Uneven Bars but how they’re expected to combat the Americans on floor or the 10 or 12 Americans gymnasts that can pull off Amanars I do not know.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Komova lose weight? If she gets any skinnier she is going to have to run around in the shower to get wet!

      • Catherine Says:

        She put on a good few pounds between worlds and Olympics. She probably could revert back to her 2011 self, as she was not at full training in between those times due to her injury. I would fully agree she needs to stay at the weight she is now or heavier. Way too much of a waif last year, worse than pretty much any old Soviet.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    If China doesn’t peak too soon then I think they are going to have a really good Rio squad

  10. DL Says:

    Haha, they’re not even dressed in the Olympic ring colours in that last video. Fail!

    • Biyatch Says:

      In the video I’ve seen with all 5 girls they had the olympic colors on. I think they stick nastia and alicia in white to differentiate them from the team. i was shocked when the 4 girls were there they used alicia over nastia. or maybe they thought since the whole show is pretty nastia-centric they should throw alicia a bone instead. seriously if i was one of the girls this year i would be pissed at how the show seems all about her. someone needs to tell her she’s soooooooooo four years ago.

      • DL Says:

        Yeah, the videos I saw with all of the Fierce Five, the girls were wearing the Olympic colours.

        I like to think that Bridget Sloan is off at college having a great time, relieved that she didn’t give up her eligibility and have to participate in all this circus.

  11. exgymgurl Says:

    I watched that video with Khorkina, and its like Komova barely says anything and Khorkina has an amazing fake tan. You have to hand it to Khorkina for being the diva that she is, Sarah has a blog called Khorkina as diva… this would be a perfect addendum, not remembering Carly Patterson, thats so a standard mean girls trick LOVE it. And the craptastical has become just wierd, I’m so glad Kyla is out of the show, and Geddert saying they are extending it?
    Great extra $$ for the girls, but notice Kyla is back at camp… so Im guessing shes the only one in contention for 2013 worlds.

    BTW the Carly Patterson “Oh thats too bad” comment from 2003 worlds where the chick falls on her butt on floor, of course they want the other team to screw up!!!! She’s kind of a diva in her own right, but with fewer accomplishments and medals to back it up

    • Catherine Says:

      It brings to mind so much Nastia being unable to remember or spell He Kexin’s name. I hate the way the Chinese girls in general are termed ‘the chinese girl’.

  12. sanitynmotion Says:

    This is so funny (the comments under the article)

    So true. Yang Yilin was the one robbed in 2008 and Nastia was overscored.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I just watched all 3 routines from the event finals a few days ago and Yang was clearly the best gymnast. No way Nastia and her bad form deserved Gold let alone a medal.

      • Catherine Says:

        I’d say it’s close between He and Yang. Yang had the most awesome routine, but she was laboured and didn’t she have a late turn? And then He of course with her dead hangs. Certainly I would put Nastia 3rd or 4th. Most of the others had much cleaner routines, would have been interesting if their difficulty was stacked too.

  13. Catherine Says:

    Elizabeth Price is down to compete at the Stuttgart World Cup. It’s just an AA. Tough enough competition…Larisa Iordache, Vanessa Ferrari, Victoria Moors, Rebecca Tunney and Elizabeth Seitz. Definitely between Price and Iordache I think. Musty pulled out and no Russian Olympians are allowed compete this year..still 2 places left to fill. Asian champs are probably too near for one of that crew to go. I would SO LOVE if Mai Murakami got the spot, especially if she wasn’t at Asian Champs. I would nearly put money on Sidorova or Inshina nabbing a place though.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am glad Price is getting an opportunity to compete.

      • Case Says:

        Me too. I think her Olympic shot is probably past but at least she can put her talents on display again internationally.

  14. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    “I watched this and all I could stop thing was, I hope this tumbles to the ground and they all fall off except Jordyn and Yes I am mean.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA I CANT, I CANT EVEN RIGHT NOW! That is the best & I totally agree!

    It’s funny cause on some other Gym site I wont name names but hint it rhymes with dinternaional Hymnst Tonline Borum someone stated something along the lines of “You know your career is over when you go on DWTS” Ummmm interesting cause In my mind when you go on the Kellogg’s tour of Champions is really when your career is over! I cringe every time I think of this stupid & tacky show! I feel embarrassed for them…

Leave a Reply

