Who do you root for?

redsoxbanner_2013 and Fuck ESPN, YOU SUCK TOO🙂

Gymnastics is pretty dead right now. Baseball playoffs are coming up (urgh) so I want to know who everyone roots for. Overall.

Most people stay loyal to their home teams. Some stray (for instance I HATE THE CELTICS)

So tell me, Are you a sports fan? Baseball, Hockey, Football and Basketball faves? Tennis? Soccer? Gymnastics? Ice Skating? Cricket?

Are you partial to any celebrities? ( I love Taylor Swift even if she can’t really sing) Movie Star?

80 Responses to “Who do you root for?”

  1. David Says:

    I’m a sports fan. I like baseball and am partial to the Oakland A’s. I also like the 49er’s. I don’t have any celebrities that I’m partial to since they don’t catch my attention.

  2. GymMom Says:

    I love all sports. I tease my grandson because he roots for the Lakers. LOL! I grew up loving the Detroit Tigers. My Dad’s radio stations carried the Tiger games, so we went to a lot of their games. Athletes(active & retired) and//or celebrities I admire? My PRINCE…(Fielder of course); the Ravens Michael Oher; Patrick Ewing Jr; the Heat’s Dexter Pittman; Race car driver Dario Franchini & Ashley Judd; gymnast Shannon Miller; Kurt Warner; Slipknot’s Mick Thompson(former neighbor & friend); Jon Bon Jovi; Craig Ferguson; actress Kathy Bates; gymnast Olga Korbut; Wayne Gretzky; Michael Jordan…more…but just off the top of my head.

  3. GymMom Says:

    I used to like Taylor Swift until I found out her wealthy parents bought her music career & when she joined the “crew” as Iike to call them….Ellen, Bieber etc.

  4. GymMom Says:

    I also like tennis players Maria Sharapova and John Isner; OKC’s Kevin Durant and Vikings Jamarca Sanford; Giants Victor Cruz

  5. utgymfan Says:

    I’ve been waiting for the perfect opportunity to post on this blog for the first time and here it is. I’m a huge sports fan. I’m a University of Tennessee alum so I cheer them on every Saturday in the fall even though that has been rather heartbreaking for the past few years. As far as baseball I am a HUGE St. Louis Cardinals fan (I’m from west Tennessee) and as far as the NFL I root for the Saints. I like Real Madrid for soccer. I didn’t follow gymnastics closely until 2008 and my favorite American gymnasts are Shawn Johnson and Aly Raisman (I know yall are gonna hate me for that ha) but I also love Mustafina and Ponor.
    I’m not really partial to any celebs I can think of off the top of my head but if I think of one maybe I’ll repost. My favorite thing about this blog is its completely enlightened me on Nastia and Gabby. I was never a big Nastia fan before but now I can’t help but think she’s a horrible person ha

  6. Kylie Says:

    I like Taylor Swift she’s definitely a much better role model than most kids/teenagers have out there in the celebrity world. We’re big rugby supporters in our house – we support our local Hawkes Bay team The Magpies and of course our national team All Blacks. I’m also a big tennis fan although no huge favs, we also go to the basketball alot in season, our local team is called The Hawks and we’ve just secured a new coach – who just recently stepped down from coaching our national team – Tall Blacks. AWESOME.

    • gingercrush Says:

      OMG lol a fellow kiwi. Where bouts are you. Not that I’m going to stalk you or anything😉

    • mim Says:

      wallabies are going to own the all blacks!😛

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I can’t wait for the trolls calling you racist not realizing you are talking a sport.lol

      • Gymbee Says:

        Wales will own both Wallabies and All Blacks😀

      • Kylie Says:

        HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhahahahahahaha Mim you are D R E A M I N G Robbie is still working for us don’t cha know. As for you Miss Wange, go back to your corner your a Londonite now :p

        Tehehe Gymtruth I’ve often thought that we have All Blacks, All Whites, Tall Blacks, Black Sticks, Black Sox, Black Caps haha full of it.

        I’m from Hastings Gingercrush!

  7. sainabou nyang Says:

    Gymnastics is the only sport I watch consistently. Dont like baseball and I don’t watch basketball.

    I watch football occasionally but I dont have a favorite team.

    Taylor Swift is adorable and I like some of her song

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Hit post comment to quick. I wish Taylor had a better voice but overall her songs.

  8. Lis Says:

    First time posting (hope you let me post!).

    I grew up a HUGE baseball fan and the Orioles were, and are, my team. Cal Ripkin, Jr. was my hero for a good part of my childhood. I also love NCAA basketball. I went to Duke, so I’m partial to the Blue Devils;) Yeah, yeah, I know they’re not everyone’s favorite, but I’m an alumnus!

    NOT a fan of Taylor Swift. I’m big into indie music. Jenny Lewis is probably my favorite singer. I’m also a huge theatre nerd so when I got to see Bernadette Peters in A Little Night Music, I cried.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I was in a good mood. Post away. Even though you are an Orioles fan and I kind of despise them lately🙂

      I can see why people don’t like Taylor. She really cannot sing but I love how she takes no prisoners and writes all this stuff about people who do her wrong.

      I know who Jenny Lewis from her acting as a kid.

      • Lis Says:

        When I met Jenny Lewis after a concert, I nearly hyperventilated. She’s in the bands Rilo Kiley and Jenny & Johnny and she does her own solo stuff. She writes beautiful lyrics and her voice is amazing.

        I grew up in the DC area before The Nationals came along. My dad took me to Memorial Stadium (the old Orioles’ stadium) many times and then to Camden Yards. They will always be my time, even when they suck (which is most of the time, let’s face it).

      • Lis Says:

        Oops, “my team”

  9. Catherine Says:

    I love hurling myself🙂 I root for Kilkenny, Kildare and Cavan (all of which are either the county I live in or where my parents are from) Lol no baseball or any kind of basketball league here. We have our own national games that take up the national interest- Gaelic football, and hurling. Soccer and rugby are also played nationally in leagues and so on but also internationally. We suck at soccer because of the devotion to Gaelic football, but okay at rugby because its fed by all of the private schools that don’t bother with the national games.

    (WTF is hurling you ask?) It’s the fastest field sport in the world. Matches always have huge amounts of scores because it’s so fast-paced. There are rules- like you can’t just leg it up the pitch with the ball (it’s not called a ball but I’ll say it here for simplicity). Players are not paid, it’s entirely amateur and always has been. You can’t be bought and sold by different teams, you play for your county and that’s it. The fact that money plays no part is so refreshing. The stadium too seats 82,500 and I think is the largest that only exhibits amateur sports.

    It looks like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBx7ZsjziHQ The atmosphere at these games is UNBELIEVABLE. Love it.

  10. Case Says:

    Let’s see…other than gymnastics I also love baseball. I’m a Detroit Tigers fan and have been since birth. I also appreciate many of the other storied franchises like the Red Sox, Cubs and Dodgers. The Yankees are the exception, can’t stand them.

    I follow NFL football. Yes, the Lions. I also enjoy NCAA basketball.

  11. gingercrush Says:

    Awww I thought this was going to give me an opportunity to say how amazing the Russians, Romanians and Chinese are in comparison to those vile American gymnasts. Boo.

    I like Netball and Swimming. I also like figure skating but have gone off it since the Olympics though hope to get back into it again as we get closer to 2014. Also I get bored very quickly. It can be painful watching a beam or floor routine let alone 2mins and then 4mins of figure skating. I am also a huge fan of Aksel Lund Svindal. He is yum. And Norway in winter sports. I particularly like Biathlon.

    I dispise Taylor Swift. My pop culture ended in the nineties. I don’t even know half the current pop stars though I must say Britney has always been rather interesting.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Taylor writes her own music (lyrics and music)and plays several instruments she gets some props for that, at least over Brittney who recycles the same music for all 9 songs on her CD.lol

      I actually met Britney when she was a kid. She was sweet away from Christina Aguliera but when she was around Christina she acted just like her.

      • gingercrush Says:

        Taylor Swift is the Gabby Douglas of the music world. Vile. Britney is the Catalina Ponor of the music world.

        Hmm which do I prefer😉

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        All you Swift haters. One days she will write a song about you and you will regret it muhaha

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Taylor Swift is too humble to be called the Douglas of the music world. I’d say Gabby is more alike (personality-wise) to Christina Aguilera. Talented but lacking of humility. There are other similarities; both of them have claimed to be bullied when they were younger, only Aguilera couldn’t claim her bullying was due to her skin color like Gabby could. Christina was hated by her high school peers because she acted like she was too good for anyone and was above them all. Yes, she’s insanely talented but needs a humility lesson. Funny enough she looks a lot like Nastia IMO. All three of them should hang out and talk about how awesome they are.

        I think Taylor Swift writes really catchy songs but her voice isn’t the best. Hollywood has machines to make it sound better than it does though. Look at Ke$ha and Katy Perry.

  12. GymMom Says:

    I love all the responses.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I want to know about Taylor swifts parents buying her music career. Smart investment though. Her songs are the type that once I hear it I can’t get them out of my head. So in a sense she drives me nuts. I’ll post my favorites tomorrow when I’m on my computer.

  13. JAS4 Says:

    It Braves/Red socks at my house and lots of college football (USC/Clemson) as for music I like a little of everything (well almost everything lol) I was a huge spice girls fan lol and I still love Panic! At the Disco and fall out boy and my chemical romance (especially welcome to the black parade) lol favorite movie is the proposal (because I love Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds) I’m not as big on rap music but do yo chain hang low has to be my favorite I still crack up when I here it lol

  14. terrigymfan Says:

    I am a big Alabama Crimson Tide fan and things have been very good on that front the last few years. Not just football because the women’s gymnastic team is really good too – national championships the last two years and six overall. Even the women’s softball and golf teams won national championships this past year. As far as pro sports being a Dallas resident I like the Texas Rangers, Dallas Mavericks, and Dallas Cowboys but I am really not that “passionate” about it. One of my favorite actors in Liam Neeson. He’s getting up there in age but he’s still just reeks sexuality to me. I also like Clive Owens. As far as the female actresses go, my favorite is probably Keira Knightley. She is just drop dead gorgeous IMO and also is a very good actress. Favorite gymnast is Nastia Liukin (just kidding GTT!). Actually it is Shannon Miller. I won’t comment on the current gymnasts since that really is not the subject of this thread.

    • Kazic Says:

      Hey Terri roll tide! Not from Bama, but I like the team.

      For me I love football (college and pro), soccer, and college basketball. I’m from NC so I pull for the Panthers. I screamed when we got Cam Newton. Also like the Redskins. RG3 will make it interesting, I’d almost given up on them. Basketball is a fun one. Grew up about an hour away from two of the greatest programs in the nation (duke and UNC) so it’s impossible not to be a fan. I prefer UNC, but I am not a Duke hater. That’s it for the more American sports.

      I also enjoy Alpine Ski racing (huge Lindsey Vonn fan), and I’ll watch ski jumping too. Figure Skating is another fave, along with Cycling (do I even need to mention gymnastics lol). For favorite athletes, besides Vonn I digg Julia Mancuso and Adam Malish. Also Dide Cuche. Love Shannon Miller, and Mustafina is slowly making her way onto my favorites list. Whether the fierce five get there will depend on the next few years. I have conflicting feelings on Marion Jones (long story, I met her as a kid and never forgot it).Oh and I generally believe Michelle Kwan should be elected ruler of everything.

      Lord that was long I’m not even going to answer the celeberity and music questions unless anyone really wants to know lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        lol you should go for it. I totally did. You probably saw the length and didn’t even bother reading it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Be long.

        Liking Michelle Kwan is mandatory at this blog. There is no free speech when it comes to the the Kweeen:) and tell us your Marion Jones story pleaseeeeeee

      • Kazic Says:

        I read yours Sanity. I like to read so the length of a post never scares me😛

        Ok let’s see. For Celebrities as far as real acting goes I like some of the more offbeat people. Alfre Woodard, J.K. Simmons, Stanley Tucci, Jullianne Moore. I like to look at Brad Pitt (circa Meet Joe Black. He is so good looking in that movie, it’s insane) and Chris Hemsworth (I might have a thing for white guys lol). Also Terrence Howard is dem fine😛

        Music I am kinda eclectic. I don’t do country except for Dolly Parton and Reba McEntire (I know, two of the most country people on the earth lol), because I like their personalities. Some of Reba’s new stuff has shades of RnB in it. I actually see the two genres spilling over into each other a bit. Not a big fan of the current state of commercial rap. I have a saying: “Oh Rap you used to be a ghetto songstress, a bard speaking of the struggles of your people. Now all you talk about is booties.” Not a fan. Tupac, Jurassic 5, Blackalicious, people like that. I will listen to Kanye, though when he;s on the charts he takes up two spots: one for him and one for his ginormous ego. Ugh. I also listen to rock type stuff. Petra, Bon Jovi, LP, whatever. I am unique in my tastes lolol.

        Ok since GTT requested it I will pull out my Marion Jones story. It’s going to be a little purposely vague just because lol. So basically when she was training for her last Olympics I ran into her. She’s from my home area and she was training there. My friend went to the school whose track she was using. I was in sports at the time, so I was in good shape. My friend (best friend at the time) had a weight issue and some self esteem issues (not all of which were tied to the weight, but that’s neither here nor there) so I had volunteered to help him loose the weight. We went walking all the time and would talk during these long ass walks. You know, just hang out.

        So one day instead of walking along a road or trail we decide to use the nice new track at his school. Like usual no one was around so we just walk in and we see a guy sitting on the bleachers talking to a woman standing on the track. I’ve always paid attention to sports so I recognized her immediately and froze in place thinking “uh oh I am not supposed to be here!” She stops talking to the guy (coach I am assuming) and then actually waves us over. I was shocked. To my surprise we ended up having like a 20 minute conversation with Marion Jones, just sitting on the track. She was so nice, and seemed genuinely interested in the stuff we said, asking questions, stuff like that. She asked me a lot about what i was doing in sports when I told her I played. I even asked her a few questions, and was surprised at how open and honest she was. They weren’t nosy, but they weren’t the standard types of sports questions athletes usually get. I told a silly story and she laughed. Eventually she had to get back to it, but she gave us both autographs (I still have mine, it is framed) and waved goodbye. It always stayed with me.

        I don’t condone athletes cheating. I think that not only are you cheating your fans and yourself, but also all your competitors that put just as much hard work into the sport as you. But I also don’t like the pressure we place on athletes to preform, or how we deify them. They are people, just like the rest of us. When you have that kind of money riding on your performance, on being perfect every time, is it any wonder some of them collapse under the weight? We ridicule them if they are caught cheating, tell them they let down our kids (which is silly imo) but in the same breath demand they deliver each and every game. It’s not really fair. We have to give them room to be actual people.

        Like everyone else I was surprised when she was caught, but with me I was less angry and more disappointed. I always did wonder if maybe the reason she waved us over was because she wanted to be able to, just for a little while put Marion Jones the Superstar aside and just be a woman hanging out with two unwittingly bold kids.

        Now GTT are you sad you asked me to be long lol? I told you, long story, and probably nothing special to you guys. Just special to moi😉

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marion Jones cheated and she got caught and she paid the ultimate price but that doesn’t make her a bad person. I am glad she was nice to you. I love celebrity stories because I like hearing how people act when there are no camera’s around. I find it interesting.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks for the story Kazic. I find celebrity stories really interesting as well – especially sports celebrities, since for the most part I feel like it’s not so much about “luck” or “who you know” but more about the hard work to get them to where they are (unlike a lot of current actors/singers). I always found Marion Jones appealing. She seemed like a good person. I was disappointed as well that she cheated because I was so happy when she did well in Athens.

        She did pay a big price for cheating. Could you say she almost was used as a scapegoat? I am also sure that there were a lot of cheaters (especially in track and field) that in the past were fortunate enough not to get caught (that still have world records).

      • Kazic Says:

        Well she did other stuff too. There was the check cashing thing.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t know about the check cashing thing…guess I should Wikipedia her. Obviously my head was up my arse during this time period…

  15. sanitynmotion Says:

    I love sports – the sport I played though is basically never televised, and even during the Olympics when the women’s national water polo team FINALLY won gold, they were ignored 20 minutes later for the women’s soccer team (soccer has more model look-a-likes than water polo ever will). But whatever. I swam too (and still do) so at least that gets some good prominence every four years. Thank you Michael Phelps.

    I didn’t start watching football until I met my husband. I love it now, although I still think there are too many damn rules. Anyways, his family is from Minnesota so we root for the Vikings. I like Green Bay too, and Kansas City (my gramps was from Oklahoma). I hate the Cowboys (sorry Terri) but most of that is because I think Romo sucks. I don’t like the Patriots either because I also think not too highly of Tom Brady. Same with Phillip Rivers so I don’t like the Chargers, lol.

    I really hate the Yankees. Hate, hate. They’re like that rich high school girl that everybody wants to be like because she drives the nicest car, has the nicest clothes, and gets the hottest boyfriends. Only with the Yanks, even with their payroll, can’t clench it more often than not.

    I like the Red Sox but some of the fans really freak me out. I spent my college years on the East coast and damn – they can totally ruin the atmosphere of sports bars (no offense GTT).

    I live in So Cal so of course I naturally root for the Angels and Dodgers – mostly the Angels. I also like the Lakers but I think Kobe gets worshiped too much. I don’t really watch hockey.

    My favorite gymnast of all time is Shannon Miller. I grew up pretending to be her with my best friend. We memorized her floor routines in the early 90s and I even used to buy those “tin things” to put in my hair and the white scrunchie (I was in elementary school). My second favorite gymnast of all time is actually starting to be Mustafina. It used to be Shawn but she’s starting to rub me the wrong way and I really didn’t like how she “retired.”

    I think my all-time favorite athlete though is Michelle Kwan. I haven’t watched figure skating since she retired.

    As for music, I like a lot of random genres. Basically everything but country (and IMO, Taylor Swift is NOT country). I grew up to Britney Spears – I wanted to be her. It’s sad to see her now because she is almost a shell of what she once was; she used to COMMAND your attention on that stage, and now she just struts around like she’s not really sure what she’s doing or why she’s there. She’s an example of how Hollywood can ruin you. I also listened to Christina and appreciated her talent…also am a huge fan of dance/electronica (don’t ask) and have certain rappers I like/listen to (Tupac, Ice Cube, Eminem, Outkast). I loved Mariah Carey, but more like 1990s Mariah Carey since now her voice is either gone or she thinks that the “breathy” singing is “in.” I also liked Whitney Houston and Michael Jackson – huge MJ fan because my mom played it all the time around the house. I also like Linkin Park (ok, LOVE LP) and No Doubt (they’re from my neck of the woods)…OK my post is obviously too long at this point and I need to shut up.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      No offense taken Sanity at the Cowboys comment. They’re one of those teams that you hate them unless you are a fan of them. It doesn’t matter much anyway because they have generally sucked for the last 15 years or so. I disagree a little on Romo. I’m not any big fan of his but I do think he mostly has a bad team around him rather than being a bum himself.
      I forgot to say in my comment that I hate the Yankees too. And Notre Dame although that doesn’t play well at my house given my hubby is an ND grad.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I should have mentioned that I like watching pro golf a littel, and my hubby is a really big fan. But right now we are so fed up with the Americans (Ryder Cup) that we are disgusted with it.

      • catherine Says:

        Notre dame played in Dublin! Just a few weeks ago. The following that went with them was unreal considering the expense. Great atmosphere around the place though. I think they pretty much annihilated the other team.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Lol Taylor is definitely not country but I give her props because she actually writes her own music and plays an instrument. I really like country music-Miranda Lamber is my girl, love Gun Powder and Lead! I also like Little Big Town, some Carrie Underwood. My friends look at me crazy because apparently Black girls don’t listen to country but this one does along with Rap etc lol

      A TV I just got into is Ackward in MTV. Show is hilarious.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Awkward is the best TV show on TV. I have never laughed so much watching a teenager show in my life.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Oh I am offended.lol REAL Sox fans are ones that were fans before 2004. The current group of people calling themselves Sox fans have never lived through what I have lived through and we don’t act like the bandwagon nation at the bar. What you encountered at the bar weren’t even Bostonians, they were people from out of town being trouble makers. I hate College kids in this town, they aren’t even from here and yet when people hate on the Sox they blame Sox fans.

      Unless you are old enough to remember where you were when the ball went through Buckners legs or the cheating umpires in 1999 during the ALCS and the cheating Yankee players (Scott Brosius I am looking at you, you fraud) then you are not a real Red Sox fans, there for, THEY DON’T COUNT:)

  16. Sofia Says:

    Loved the Braves all my life, and now we live in Atlanta, so it is fun to follow a local team, and go to games occasionally. This is Chipper Jone’s last year, makes me sad, but he is an exemplary athlete, even opposing teams have paid him homage in his farewell season!! Love gymnastics obviously. I follow the Crossfit games too. As to fans of anyone else, the Beatles and Gary Oldman, who I think is the finest actor working today, and who is sadly under rated. I also adore Stephen Fry, renaissance man, and amazing outside of the box thinker.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I love Stephen Fry too Sofia. Did you see Gosford Park? Love that movie. Also, did you see the second Sherlock Holmes movie? There is a scene where Fry is walking around stark naked. It is hilarious. Not exactly what you would call a “hard body.” Only Fry would do that.

      • DL Says:

        Gosford Park is so awesome!

      • Sofia Says:

        Hey there! Yes, Stephen has balls, literally and figuratively!! Love him! I adore everything he says and he says it so much better and more articulately than anyone else!!!
        This has been fun to see what everyone is a fan of…reminds me that there is life after the Olympics!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am rooting for the Braves this year. After what they went through last year they deserve to win the whole thing. Plus that gives me hope for my Sox next year since it would only be fair we get some happiness after what happened.

      • Sofia Says:

        Yes!! I hope for a great season for the Sox next year!! Sorry to be so late to reply! Baseball season has made me grieve for a while, still looking for something to get excited about. LOL Post Olympic let down!

    • Kazic Says:

      Hey I’m in ATL too. We should totes hang out lol.

      • Sofia Says:

        I am such a loser! I just saw these comments…yes, that is sad…so sorry!! Well, the Braves are out, sadly, and Chipper went out with a wimper, felt so bad for him!! I would love to hang out, Kazic!!!!!

  17. Dee Says:

    Gymnastics has always been my one and only. The only interaction I have with other sports is a good fluff piece or documentary. For example, I will watch any football movie because I like the story, not the sport. I occasionally will watch a little bit of football or basketball with my husband only because he buys the really good snacks to eat while watching, hah.

    I’m not too much into the celebrity scene, either, I think a lot of it is a hoax for money. I always preferred not knowing about their personal lives so that when I watch a TV show or movie I’m not thinking, “oh there’s the guy that cheated on his wife and made national headlines” and can actually enjoy the character and the story. I will sometimes read People because it can be interesting, but I don’t follow it/get overly involved.

    I have always followed gymnasts and the sport and all that…but I guess it’s because gymnastics is my life for the most part (training and working in a gym = not much else!). Instead of following sports or celebrities I would rather read/watch things that pertain to my graduate studies, etc. It is nice every once in a while to catch up on other sports/celebs, but I just don’t get to all that often. As far as music goes, I usually listen to indie…although I did have a strange obsession with the Foo Fighters for a long time. That has faded, though.

  18. DL Says:

    I can only watch baseball at the gym (no cable and time zones issue, plus I’ve spent the last four months in four different countries), so I follow whichever team happens to be playing. I used to be a Blue Jays fan, but now I’ve lived in so many places that I don’t really have an allegiance to any one team.

    • catherine Says:

      My all-time favourite gymnasts are soviet- Elena Mukhina, Tatiana Groshkova and Aleftina Priakhina. The 1989 Soviet worlds team is the greatest team of all time, ever. But quite a few of the ballet routines are really boring, I wouldn’t watch filatova and barakaksanovas routines on repeat for instance. I love love love Ukrainian gymnastics, not just Lilia but Sheremata, Karpenko, Skarupa and Roschupkina. I want to see a resurgence. Mo Huilan is another favourite, one of 3 true all-arounders with heaps of difficulty.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        BTW Cat I’ve really enjoyed reading your commentary on the past AA competitions. 92 and 96 Olympic AA are my two favorites. Sydney and Athens were boring. Oh and I’m adding London 2012 to the snooze fest list. Not because Gabby won, because the barely showed anyone else. Im still trying to find decent footage of Larissa, Yao, and the other girls routines from TF, etc.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I can’t agree more. I was severely disappointed in the AA in London. I was hoping to see a true showdown between Gabby and Jordyn from the US, Yao from China, Iordache from Romania, and Mustafina and Komova from Russia. Imagine if all of them were 100% healthy – DANG. As it was, I was gunning for Aly to make a surprise win in London and then she effed up on her beam. And Gabby failed to do what she normally does (fall or run off the FX mat).

        1992 was my favorite AA, but IMO all AA competitions that I have been alive for and have actually watched (’92, ’96, ’04, ’08, ’12) have truthfully been ruined by shitty judges. I can leave out ’04 and ’96 on this one too since ’04 I barely watched and it was obvious Khorkina was past her prime, and ’96 I was only rooting for Miller, so once she was out (one step out of bounds on floor) I really didn’t care. I was too young to really appreciate gymnasts from other countries so I never got to really appreciate Lilia until later in life.

        Anyways, so for ’92, ’08, and ’12 – shit judges that just fix the winner. I can go on but it just sucks because it ruins the whole sanctity of this sport (like I’ve said before). Now that I am more educated in gymnastics in general, I totally “see” the fix for Nastia (whereas in ’08 I didn’t realize – this was when I had no clue the difference b/t a 1.5 Yurchenko vs. an amanar). Gabby was obviously overscored this whole entire year, and I still am scratching my head about it. In 1992, Shannon was underscored so that Gutsu could win. It all leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I guess come 2015 we can see who the fix is in for next.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I think it was GTT who mentioned Nastia and her terrible giants and leg seperation in Beijing. I went back and watched the AA and I do notice it some. I can’t say that Beijing was fixed for Nastia as Im not too familiar with the COP of 05-08 but I didn’t realize that her vault until now was a Y1.5,I may not be a walking encyclopedia of gymnastics knowledge but I do know a low difficulty vault when I see one.
        Also Im watching 1996 worlds and Cat I see what you mean about Mo Huilan. Lovely to watch.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Don’t take this the wrong way but please, OPEN YOUR EYES.lol Some of them, no, no, no, every time she swang she had form issues.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        *Sorry that should say 1995 Worlds.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah it was GTT – and I went back and watched as well and completely agreed. Nastia’s vault was a 1.5 and was landed well, but did not get much height or amplitude. She still scored something like a 15.8 – which cannot be compared to the last quad, but still very high for a 1.5. Shawn’s amanar was a bit under-rotated but was still counted as an amanar – think she got a 16.1 or something, and after that it was obvious the fix was in. Her vault score needed to be a lot higher than Nastia’s because her bars score wouldn’t even come close. Of course, Nastia’s bars scored in the 17 point range I think and Shawn’s was probably high 15s/low 16s so she was playing catch-up throughout the rest of the competition. Then Nastia’s floor was extremely over-rated for her (lack of) difficulty, and they made it so that Shawn would not have a chance of over-taking her. Shawn did a nearly perfect floor routine anyways but still came out with a silver – and now I see it was obvious no matter what (unless Nastia fell) Shawn was going to be getting silver.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Lol GTT I’ve also noticed Nastia has a kind of a club foot or maybe that was the camera angle.

  19. GymMom Says:

    This is one of my new favorite artists…Dave Thomas Junior. You might recognize the music from NBC’s Olympic coverage. This is one of the most powerful songs I’ve heard in a long time


  20. GymMom Says:

    1992 seems to be the cutoff point as to when competitive gymnastics was fun to watch and not fixed.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree. Even in 96 they wanted Lilia to win and Mo Huilan on the podium regardless of how they performed. I loved Mo and think she easily should have won that AA if she had hit but she messed up several times and should have been way lower then 4th. I also think the overscoing of Lilia even when she fell to her knees (like she did on vault in team finals and still scored a 9.5 something) was at least an attempt to fix that AA and I still can’t figure out how 3 Romanians ended up on the podium

      • catherine Says:

        The Romanians all went 4/4. I rewatched and analysed the whole thing, Galieva, khorkina, kotchetkova, miller, Dawes, moceanu and huilan all screwed up so the Romanians could not but sweep up. As it was, amanar was lowballed on floor. Dawes got massive scores. Lilia and mo were I think a bit overscored but they were just so exceptional I can’t seem to care. Lilia had a form break on bars and mo had the step out and step back on beam, that was it. A great competition for the sheer depth.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Amanar was missing something in her routine that was needed and she had her start value lowered. It’s been too long for me to remember exactly what she was missing. Damn my memory is going.lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If anyone else had made Lilia’s mistake on bars they would have been in the 9.6’s. They were propping her up the entire AA so if she made a mistake she would still win. She deserved to win because of Simona’s lowered start value with the missing C (I think it was a missing c skill) Mo took two huge steps on beam and got a 9.8. The AA might have ended fairly but that doesn’t mean they weren’t trying to fix it.

        Milo was overscored the whole Olympics especially her compulsories UB, Vault with a step scoring higher then Amanar and her floor.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simona_Am%C3%A2nar and this is not 100% correct because I could have sworn she was missing a skill and they had to count anotehr skill in its place. It explains a version of it here.
        Dawes fell OOB so she got more off on her floor routine (I just read your blog) Oh and Lilia did not have great form. I have to find the video that shows all her leg separations. It’s on youtube somewhere. I’ll see if I can find it. I can’t seem to find the version but her geinger had a leg separation in the one I just watched.)

        In Atlanta, she scored a 9.887 in Optionals (the highest score of the entire Olympics, on any event, for men or women) and only a 9.737 in the All-Around. She did not start from a 10.0 in the All-Around despite having the most tumbling bonus of anyone at the Games (.6 in D and E elements, and .3 in Connection Value) because her tour-jete half (Strug), a C element, was not completed or credited. Thus, she did not have enough simple A, B, and C skills to fulfill her value part requirements and much of her D and E rated tumbling had to count as these easier elements to fulfill requirements.

        Amanar did not perform a double turn in either the team optionals or the all-around because it was not necessary as long as she completed her Strug. She included few A, B, and C skills in her routine because her excess D and E tumbling bonus could count to fulfill these simpler element requirements. However, when she failed to complete her Strug, four of her six tenths in D and E elements had to count towards fulfilling requirements, which left her with only .2 counting towards her bonus. In that Code of Points, gymnasts needed .3 in D and E skill bonus, and .3 in Connection Value bonus to start from a 10.0. Without the error, Amânar would have finished well ahead of her more established compatriots Gogean and Milosovici. Her failure to score well on the floor was also evident when she failed to medal on floor at the 1995 Worlds or qualify for the event finals on floor at the 1997 Worlds.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ahhhh. That makes way more sense. I was wondering if they didn’t care about her because she was newer on the scene or if they invented an artistry deduction. Thanks for that. To be honest, they only ever mentioned about what vaults were out of a 10.0 or a 9.9, they mentioned about Mo’s floor being out of a 9.9 and that’s it- no idea about the rest of the routines. I tried to keep it in mind that everything else wasn’t automatically a 10 but it went out the window a bit.

        Yep I did think Pod’s bars and Mo’s beam should not have reached the 9.8’s but I found it hard to care because of my bias for them. Still it would have been more refreshing to see fair scores, especially as the competition was so close anyway. I think the worst score was 9.825 for Dawes’ frightening beam. Also the way Moceanu was pushed in the intro’s and fluff ahead of even Miller and Dawes so much nevermind the strong international field, bleughh.

        I’ll have a look for Pod’s bars from a better angle then. Not a great angle at all on that feed anyway. Aren’t the judges getting the same view though, so they can’t really tell either?

        It’s fun to do those blogs because I’m bored and it forces me to have so much more insight. I’ll do 1992. I cared more about Lysenko shooting herself in the foot then Miller V Gutsu. Thank you Sainabou!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The judges have a side angle but you can see the form breaks if you do your job. They should just watch all routines on video. That would make it honest.

  21. GymMom Says:

    It was kind of weird that NBC chose the Keri Strug moment as the all-time best Olympic moment of all time?? Are they kidding?

  22. Gymbee Says:

    Lovely post! It’s nice to get to know fellow posters a bit more, and talk about something else🙂

    I never really liked soccer, which of course is the big sport in Europe. My husbands team is AC Milan though, so by default (haha) I like them too and watch their Champions League matches.

    When I moved to the UK though, I started watching rugby, and I love it. None of that sissy soccer behaviour, where they drop to the ground when a player in the opposite team even looks at them. No, you got huge players (without any padding might I add…. “no padding, no helmets, just balls”) slamming into each other, and getting up like nothing had happened. Exciting, and the fans are not as vile as soccer fans. No separated stands.

    For tennis, I like Djokovic. I also love love love athletics/track&field. Favourites are Dai Greene from Wales (400hurdles), Usain Bolt of course, Carmelita Jeter, Tyson Gay, Robert Harting (discus). I could go on and on haha.

    Music, I always loved rap. Tupac and Eminem!

    I’m also very excited that the TV series Dexter is back on! Can’t wait!

    • Kylie Says:

      hehe it has always amused me re the no padding and helmet thing eh – a lot of American Football players are apparently in awe of it! Beans used to be a great Rugby player but had to retire due to brittle bones or age depending who’s story you listen to haha

  23. mim Says:

    im not a major die-hard sports fan but i like watching tennis, soccer and rugby (league and union). im more into art-sy stuff i must admit but i love watching a good competition and getting rowdy with cheering. was big on sports as a kid though but now i majorly regret never having tried gymnastics lol, although as a kid i always preferred rhythmic. im obsessed with wanting to give beam or bars a go but im too old now haha.

    because my studies/job always deals with serious/intellectual-ish/ borderline depressing stuff, i like to chill out with mind-numbing ridiculous reality tv (kardashians yes but honey boo boo crosses into my threshold of bad tv) comedies or teenybopper shows. im a major music nerd and love all sorts (indie, folk, house, jazz standards, musical theatre, classical, 90s pop, ska, 80s punk, the occasional country tune). im not partial to any celebs in particular but reading celeb gossip is a bit of a guilty pleasure.

Leave a Reply

