i.i.i. ” illogically illogical IG”

I am not even sure if the title of this blog makes any sense to the real world but it makes sense to me.

I am SO bored and not tired so I I did something I have not done for awhile. I went and read IG’s message board. BIG mistake.

Every time I read that message board I leave with a migraine. I should know better.

So according to posters at that board, Shannon Miller’s career has no merit because the Soviet system was ” crumbling” when she won. Yet Gabby and Nastia were better gymnasts competing in 2008 and 2012 with the Soviet system not in existence?

More fun, Nastia is a better gymnast than Shannon because she won 5 medals when it was harder to win event finals medals.

(I guess that illogical logic forgets that 6 gymnasts competed and only two made event finals when being an AA gymnast was a must in order to make a team)

Oh and the 1993 World was the weakest World Championships ever. ( I really need some smiley icons at this blog.lol The rolling eyes one would be freaking out right now. Someone needs to tell Shannon,Lilia, Gina, Lavinia, Tatiana, Oksana etc… that their careers were a joke)


Question for you?

Before 1997 every gymnast had to perfect two sets of routines, Compulsories and Optionals at World Championships. Do you think that was easier or harder then having to compete optionals twice?

I would think learning and competing two sets would be a hella lot harder than learning one even if the “difficulty” is so much harder these days. Especially when you consider just how technical compulsories were during those days.

Q2- What are the big skills we do today that were not capable back in the 90’s? The Amanar was done by Simona in late 1999 or early, 2000 but she had a whole new vault to work with. Simona in 1996 easily would have been capable of that vault earlier if needed. Double doubles? Done in the 80’s. Full twisting double layouts? done in the 80’s.

I personally think we overstate the difficulty being done today but that is my opinion.


91 Responses to “i.i.i. ” illogically illogical IG””

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I also think that people tend to forget that the scoring was different back then and if they calculated scores for those routines there would probably be a lot of them with scores comparable to today’s scores than people would think (I would attempt to do this but I’m not that good with the code lol)

    • Gymnerd Says:

      And how powerful the Eastern European teams were back then also.

      Another thread there asks if Gabby will be the greatest American gymnast of all time if she wins Worlds next year (same thread?) Is everyone on that board 12 or so?

    • Anonymous Says:

      Does anyone else find this hilarious? I was dying laughing

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Sadly enough though, at the rate we’re going, that’s what women’s floor is going to look like in a few more years.

  2. mim Says:

    absolutely learning two routines and having them perfect for competition would be so much more pressure on the gymnasts today, even if the difficulty was slightly lower.

    ive been missing gymnastics, so im re-watching the 2010 worlds. boy it’s a crying shame ana porgras retired. and it’s nice to see demy and nabs compete.

    can someone explain to me what happened to the caquattos? i mean, i know they went to compete for florida but was it just a matter of them being squeezed out by the juniors turning senior at that right time pre-olympics? or was it an injury thing/marta didnt like them/they didn’t have difficulty?

    • Kazic Says:

      I feel the same way about Porgras Mim. She could have really made a splash at the Olympics. But for whatever reason, she wasn’t happy in the sport anymore, and wanted out. Boo I say.

      I rewatched 2010 worlds a few says ago too. Demy and Nabs throwing down does warm the cold cockles of my heart lol. I think it’s Demy who’s claiming that she maybe could have made the Olympic team if Alexandrov had been a bit more accommodating towards her or something.

      I think they just got squeezed out by fresher talent, but maybe someone else wants to elaborate on that.

  3. nero Says:



    Loved their reaction to Mckayla’s vault.

    Also….AA!! Didn’t watch the whole thing just the end. The guy yells NIET and throws his pen when Komova comes in 2nd, so that was fun


    Dammit, I had bars final now I can’t find it. Here’s another website that has every.single.event from London. Went to about the 8th page and was only able to find QF, TF and AA. Might be fun to watch some Phelp’s races in Russian.


    Hopefully everyone can dink around with google translate and find the other finals, floor finals would be fun

    Still trying to track down the Chinese version. Canada has everything on their website CTV but you can’t watch unless you live there, so if anyone knows how to get around that, that would be great!

  4. Catherine Says:

    Kitty thinks that Podkopayeva cannot be called one of the best ever because she did not have the longevity Nastia had, or somesuch awful comparison. I have a bunch of people at that board hidden. The USA threads and comparison threads are the worst. The Chinese threads are a model of good opinions and civility. Judith, Rachael, AndromedaAiken, Marocanu liefje and a good few others are excellent posters and contributors. For every one of them there are a tonne of idiots though..

    The longevity argument is one of my favourites. Nobody EVER says look how great Gogean was, look how many medals she won. Longevity IS a reason why a gymnast is considered great, but it isn’t everything. Look how many people revere Pod and Huilan and others with a career of less than a quad.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    I agree we overstate the difficulty of skills being done today… yes overall the routines have more packed into them hence it is harder on the body… but all of the skills were done before and the equipment is soooo much better now! The beams are more giving and we have the table! 90% of the gymnasts doing amanars on the table would not have been capable of it on the old vault.

    And when Shannon competed, routines had to be near perfect! which in my opinion was much harder. In the new code, its OK to have wobbles and steps because difficulty can make up for it, they don’t have to be flawless to win medals like Shannon’s generation had to be.

    On another note, we are now to a generation of gymnasts who never had to compete on the old vault at all! In 2004/08 those girls had at least used it for compulsories or early optionals if not elite. Now it is officially extinct from the minds of gymnasts competing today.

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    I think that its really important to recognize that compulsories could force elite gymnasts to do things like oh I dont know backward AND forward tumbling at a high level on beam and floor. Compulsories also would well.. separate people with leg separations, bad form in general, and someone like Alicia Sacramone would be encourage to do better on her splits. Make a Yurchenko 1.5 a compulsory vault. Most elites in the world can do it, but yet we see better Yurchenko fulls at NCAA meets.

    I am a big fan of compulsories. It would give judges a way to evenly compare and contrast all gymnasts. Then let them have at the difficulty on optionals. Compulsory routines would also allow teams like Italy, Romania, and Japan a chance to medal even higher. I think at this point bringing back the easier routines would be a challenge for USA, Russia, and China because the coaches tend to play to the strengths of body type from a young age rather than consistent fundamentals. This would put value on execution, and like I had a skating coach ( in hockey mind you) tell me that you couldn’t expect to do power skating / fancy speed and edge work if you weren’t well grounded in fundamentals, because you can’t control it.

    I think Russia, the USA, Romania,and China ( now that they are using age eligible gymnasts and timing reps properly for peaking at legal ages) would still dominate, but it would showcase and reward the best quality gymnastics. Someone like Kyla Ross would flourish in the compulsory system…

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Imagine if gymnast from say from year 2000-YTD had to still do optionals and compulsories how different international/domestic meets would be. Imagine if the still used the vaulting horse today, would we still have everyone chucking Amanars?

  7. terrigymfan Says:

    Another thing people forget is that everybody was an all-arounder back then. You couldn’t just concentrate on one or two events. Everybody had to learn 8 different routines to perfeciton. Plus I think there is just no comparison between doing a vault on the old horse as opposed to the balance beam.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I know from what I’ve been told the table vs. pommel horse vault makes a HUGE difference and the beam used to be actual wood. Ouch. Now the beam is what – some kind of synthetic hard foam? I mean, it still hurts to fall on I’m sure – but not near what it used to be. My friend did gymnastics in the 70’s and 80’s and told me it’s SO much better now (the equipment).

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Of course I meant to say doing a vault off the old horse v. the table, not the balance beam. Doing a vault off the balance beam, now that would be tough!

      • tulip Says:

        I started gymnastics on an actual wood beam and had one in my living room that I used to practice. It was slippery and much harder to stay on- especially because we wore the footies which made it slicker! I started right after the 1976 Olympics when I was 6 in a small town and the gym wasn’t caught up yet. Soon it got replaced and I was so happy I wasn’t flying off when doing turns. Plus the concept of a spring floor was years away. After competing on one, I was hooked!

  8. sainabou nyang Says:

    As much as I like to see difficulty and neat skills, I also like to see clean and consistant routines. I don’t care if a gymnast lasts for 10 years or 5 years as long as she had a solid career where she could be counted on to nail a routine under the most extreme pressure. Every gymnast will have their off day but if she overall rocks it I respect her.

    Ive never cared about Nastia one or the other. Her gymnast has never wowed me but it was necer boring either. I forgot who posted it but looking back at her prior bar routines I did notice her leg separations and form. In my opinion you can’t even put Nastia and Shannon in the same category.

    • Kazic Says:

      Why is it that no one seems to give Shannon Miller the respect she deserves? IMO she’s one of the finest gymnasts America has ever produced, but she’s not nearly as celebrated as less accomplished talents. I feel like Moceanu is more well known, and she never really lived up to her potential (IMO, some may call me crazy for that one).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Kazic I totally agree and it drives me crazy. It’s almost as if USAG and FIG go out of their way to ignore what Shannon did. I really wish she had won that gold over Gutsu in ’92 because everyone would have been forced to shut up and accept her as a gymnastics super star. As it was, I think at the time everyone so badly wanted another Mary Lou/media darling and here was Shannon, kind of awkward-looking and shy. She wasn’t a camera hog. Yet she was so GREAT at gymnastics (much better than Mary Lou) but was basically ignored for her lack of personality.

        You could tell too they were working so very hard to find this “media darling” type personality that would be able to overtake Miller. They focused so much on both Dominiques (Dawes/Moceanu) almost hoping they would un-seat Shannon so they would have their new “Mary Lou.” Yet it never happened because they just weren’t good enough. I know they tried when Moceanu was 13 and won nationals (that was so fixed BTW, and in this current time she never would have been able to compete at that age in the first place) but then Miller overtook her just in general (Worlds, Olympics) yet never got the credit she deserved.

      • Kazic Says:

        Sanity your point about her not being a personality superstar is a good point. It still doesn’t explain the way she’s basically ignored though. I mean, I had this conversation on a gym board once and a couple of morons tried to tell me that Nastia was better! Nastia! So after I stopped laughing hysterically (And the red haze of rage faded) I was like: bitch plz.

        I don’t discount Nastia’s abilities, but I am not sure if she counts as a real American gymnast (besides all the other reasons you could say she’s not better than Shanon.) She was born in Russia, to two very Russian parents, and trained in the Russian style (in America but still). Even the Russians think she’s Russian. Ask them who they admire (both Komova and Mustafina have mentioned her) and they’ll name her then a Russian gymnast as if she doesn’t count. It’s hilarious.

        Anyway, yes she was and is fantastic, and I will still tell anyone who will listen what an amazing job she did commentating the live NBC stream at the Olympics and how they ought to hire her and Samuel L Jackson to commentate instead of the Terrible Trio.

        Don’t get me started on Mary Lou. Soooo overrated. I get that she is a trailblazer for the sport in the US, but give her credit for that, don’t say she won AA like it meant something when all the people who would have won were at home eating Borscht. Just sayin’

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Shannon Miller dominated her sport for at least four years straight. I believe she was a world champ at least twice (AA) and almost (should have been) the Olympic AA champ. She went to two Olympics and competed ALL events at both and if it weren’t for her, Mag 7 wouldn’t have happened. Nastia can’t hold a CANDLE to her. Nastia never even was able to win ONE world AA championship – and I know the age rules changed, but still. She had three tries to win a world title and wasn’t good enough, whereas Shannon won that title twice and with a better competitive field. Shannon has two gold Olympic medals, and Nastia has one – so those gym board people can shut up. “Scoreboard!”

        Also, Nastia was really only “good” on bars and beam. Not sure how she slipped in and got a floor bronze at the Olympics – probably overscored/Nellie Kim order (I wasn’t even following gymnastics as much then yet I was thinking in a 3 up 3 count on floor, I’d send Johnson, ASac, and either Memmel or Peszeck up there…this was before those latter two were injured). Shannon was awesome at all four events – a true all arounder. She had no weak event. Sigh. I guess she was ignored because she wasn’t coached by the Karolyis and they saw her as a threat to their US gymnastics dominance (i.e., “a non-Karolyi gymnast doing well at the Olympics and actually BEATING a Karolyi gymnast? Shame!”) She was a threat to them and she kept beating everyone no matter what they tried to throw in her way. It’s sad but she never got the credit she deserved because they didn’t want to give it to her, and they unfortunately were in control and still have all the control. It’s amazing she’s still able to keep her head held high above it all.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    Totally – you can’t compare gymnasts in the ’90s to today. The rules are different, the equipment is different…even the quality level of gymnastics is different. And unfortunately not in a good way.

    With the way the code is currently there is no benefit of being unique or doing a move that you could make “your own.”

    Every damn beam routine looks pretty much the same nowadays in my mind: mounts for the most part are “hop ons” (you see a mount like Peng Peng’s and it just kills me because it reminds me how the code has stripped most elites of being unique); the requirement for getting low to the beam is satisfied via “sanding” it (a la Aly Raisman and even Kyla Ross); the same damn connection, every single time almost (front layout, back handspring back layout) – and Gabby has yet to perfect this one, BTW; same split leap combos;…I could go on. Basically, it’s getting boring.

    Floor is the same. Every routine has the same structure. I’m glad they’re at least getting rid of those annoying split leaps out of every landing.

    Bars are the only place where I’ve seen more “interesting” maneuvers thanks to this quad’s Beth Tweddle, the Chinese (in general), and that German girl (Seitz?) and then you have the beauty of Komova and Mustafina who also have some cool combinations – so I’m not going to cry foul here just yet.

    Vault same. If it’s not an amanar it’s a DTY. If it’s not a DTY it’s a 1.5. If it’s lower than 1.5 you’re either watching France or the NCAA.

    The code has really stripped gymnastics of any originality and also of its grace/beauty factor. It’s all about tumbling/pounding/etc.

    If those people on the boards think Shannon’s career is a joke, then I’m guessing they would say Mary Lou’s was a TOTAL laugh (her wins were a gimmie and can I say that in ’92 when Shannon should have beat Gutsu the Soviet Union were still a force to be recognized in gymnastics?) And in 1996 a “former” soviet member gymnast won it all. Despite the “crumbling.” So what they REALLY should say is that the Magnificent Seven win was a joke and a fluke because “that’s” when the soviet regime was gone. Idiots.

    I am in total favor of bringing back compulsories. It weeds out the gymnasts that only rely on difficulty. Difficulty shouldn’t be everything in ARTISTIC gymnastics. It is something like compulsories though that gymnasts like Aly Raisman could benefit from. Not to call her out specifically, but imagine what great form she would have had she been “forced” to go through compulsories. Although part of me wonders if the same structure in ’96 applied to ’12, would Aly be part of this Olympic team? I’m thinking there’s a chance probably not. Same with McKayla possibly.

    It’s just so crazy though that in general – with this sport, changing the rules really changed the sport over time.

  10. Catherine Says:

    I think the only seriously difficult skills NOT invented in the 80’s and 90’s are the Dos Santos 1 and 2. Tweddle’s bar release maybe? Li Ya’s release combinationa and dismount. Ehh Patterson dismount. Ray dismount. That is a seriously small list.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Cat the fact that the list of difficult skills is so small makes me wonder why coaches are not trying or encouraging their gymnast to come up for example with a new way to mount the balance beam. Im not a gymnastics coach and perhaps they are. I just want to see more creativity. Especially on floor. You dont have to be a ballet dancer but come on floor should be where you can show people you realky are. If you cant dance fine, at least be in tune to the song. The right song is key.
      Even though Aly cant dance, Hava Nigila is a perfect song for her not just because shes Jewish, because it fits her.

      Now Gabbys floor music I will never understand.

      • Catherine Says:

        Look up Alexis Buecler’s! It is infamous music..used in one of the wackiest eurovision entries ever (and eurovision IS all about the cheese anyway). At least it will be gone before she’s senior..

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        For some reason I love Lexie Preissmans floor music. I least I think its Lexies. The salsa and samba, the drums, percussion, etc.. It makes me want to get up and dance. Perfect music to play on floor in Rio. Is it the right music for lexie? Not sure yet.

  11. Case Says:

    Shannon Miller gets the shaft because Bela wasn’t her coach. Everybody who knows anything about gymnastics knows she was hella good.

  12. kadie Says:

    If I had the choice between watching shannons 92 floor routine or alys im picking shannons every time.

    Im a ballet dancer (was, pregnancy destroyed me), and one things girls do not understand today is the importance of the basics! They all want to do a triple pirouette, when they can’t even do a plie. Its this generation of high tech craziness that thinks bigger is ALWAYS better, and anything less exciting then a double double is not worth watching.

    As for the girls saying nothing was difficult back in shannons era? Yeaaaaa. I betcha my next kid these same people think “these boots are made for walkin” is a jessica simpson song. They don’t know their history, or care to learn.

    Shannons floor routine from 92 is still my all time fav. Nothing compares, in my opinion. (Pods comes close) the difficulty is great, but what I love, is that she’s a frikin ballet dancer out there

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I agree. The more I look at what goes on between the tumbling passes in Aly’s floor routine, the less I like it. It is pretty sad that THAT is what a gold-medal-winning floor routine is anymore. I mean don’t get me wrong – she deserved it – the code is what’s wrong these days. I get the difficulty argument but it’s taking the “artistic” out of artistic gymnastics.

      • kadie Says:

        Im not a gymnastics expert, just a fan, but yea what I know about the code is all kinds of messed up. Anyone think coaches should have their girls taking ballet? Im so confused as to why some gymnasts have actually said they have never taken ballet! Do they really have such a disregard for artistic quality that they deem it completely worthless?

      • mim Says:

        im shocked that some of the girls haven’t done ballet or dance, or that they aren’t required to. anything learned in ballet can transfer to beam and floor, even bars with pointed toes! the gage and all olympia girls seem to have a bit of it though, or at least good choreography and music. and say what you will about nastia’s floor, but i kind of liked that she was a prancy little ballerina-ish type on floor. her form might not have been perfect but it was nice routine to watch…. running and hiding from ya’ll now haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        RUN AND HIDE:) Nastia was not a bad gymnast she just is not perfect and her fans need to grasp that. I hated her floor. I found her trying too hard to be artistic. The prancy stuff you liked I hated. It was pretentious and over dramatic. IMO

      • mim Says:

        i agree, she’s definitely far from perfect! try telling that to a die-hard fan though lol.

  13. GymMom Says:

    It looks like the people in Virginia Beach think Gabby is overrated too. Wow! Apparently the mayor there planned to honor another Olympian with a parade and since Gabby was in town, they added her to the parade tomorrow.


  14. GymMom Says:

    The parade in Virginia Beach is part of the Neptune Festival there…a typically non-inclusive event/white event.

  15. GymMom Says:

    In a poll at the Virginia Pilot’s website, 67% voted not to have the VB Mayor present the key to the city. Again..WOW!


    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wow. This will be interesting. Looking at all of the negative comments, I have to wonder if Gabby will get boo’d at her own parade. I think it would serve her right, throwing her former peers under the bus and playing the race card. She really ruined it for herself. I hope her and her mom are proud.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The best revenge would be to not show up. She only had two dozen people at her signing for the phone people. If people in VA are done they should stay home.

      • mim Says:

        she’s getting terrible advice from behind the scenes. shame chow doesn’t have more influence on gabby’s attitude, he seems very sensible. i guess he’s gladly putting a bit of distance between them in all of this though.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      This isnt Chow, hes not the agent. This is her agent, look how her husband treated their african american nanny… and its excalibur. She was horrible to them. This is a train wreck, and someone needs to tell her to get away from her mom, and shade, and get emancipated minor ruling. Shes headed to the caymans with a 40 yo man just like someone else we all know…. Marta was smart and got Gabby away from her mom. Marta is done with her now, and if Gabby isnt careful, not only VA Beach, but USA gymnastics is not going to want to be associated with her. Shes becoming beyond annoying and moving toward TOTAL EMBARASSMENT / LIABILITY

      • Gymnerd Says:

        ” Shes headed to the caymans with a 40 yo man just like someone else we all know…. ”

        ???? Spill, please!

  16. GymMom Says:

    By the way, I want to add my 2 cents about Shannon Miller. I watched most of the Gymnastics from London online in real time. Shannon did an outstanding job as a commentator. It was the polar opposite during NBC’s Prime Time coverage. Shannon was not given the better job during Prime Time…obviously continuing with the theme of not giving her the respect she deserves. I also want to say I really love reading all the different takes on past & present day gymnastics.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I think Shannon doesn’t get the credit she deserves mainly because she was painfully shy as a teen, especially in 1992 when she had such a great Olympics. The rest of the team was weak that year and only won bronze, which also hurt Shannon’s recognition. In 1996 she was overshadowed by the team’s gold. Not being a Karolyi gymnast didn’t help.

      I am so glad Shannon has become so poised and outgoing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think Shannon is ignored because she had the nerve to beat the Bela gymnasts. It made the US look stupid when they counted on Zmeskal over Shannon in 92 and the people in charge never forgive, even if they are not in charge anymore.

        I bet they have secret files on gymnasts they hate.lol Secretly passed on to new CEO’s in charge year by year.

        How dumb is USA-gymnastics to promote Zmeskal types over Miller types anyway? Who needs the good form and technique and artistry and dancing ability when you can have the tumblers.

      • Case Says:

        GTT is dead on.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Occasionally yes:) If you mean Shannon than yes again (minus the secret files:)
        Marta is wrapped around this organizations finger and when she was going to name Nastia to the World team in 09 no matter what she did at the camps I knew this organization was messed up beyond repair.

        How weird is it that Valeri knew enough to tell Nastia to stay home back then but he didn’t in 2012?

        Makes you wonder.

      • kadie Says:

        Just in response to gtt comments…

        Every broadcast involving shannon in 92 and 96 (not so much in between I noticed) mentions that steve nunno was “mentored” by bela. If shannon couldn’t be directly coached by bela himself, I guess the “next best thing” would be being coached by someone who “learned everything from bela”

        You really don’t have to look to hard to see the marta/bela bias. Its not some crazy conspiracy theory, its just a fact.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Their Bela connection to everything yes but I don’t get the Shannon hatred.

        USA-Gymnastics just ignored her. Back when Kupets won her bar title USA-Gymnastics put on their website that the last US women to win the world title on bars was in the 70’s totally ignoring and forgetting Shannon winning in 93. How does USA-gymnastics forget it’s most decorated gymnasts WORLD TITLE?

        The way they have attached themselves to Nastias like she is Gods gift is bad enough but ignoring your best gymnast of all time in favor of crap astounds me.

        I love how when the Olympics came around Romania invited all their name gymnasts regardless of their medals being bronze, silver or Gold or at worlds or the Olympics. The US invited only their AA winners and shoved Gabby in the picture as soon as they could.

        There is something wrong with this organization and as much as I would LOVE to blame Steven Penney whatever this is, happened WAY before he became involved.

      • mim Says:

        you’d think the karolyis could just appreciate a good gymnast regardless of who coached them, if they love gymnastics so much. i had no idea that shannon miller was so disrespected until this blog. shame for her!

        do you think the karolyis will favour the texas dreams gymnasts now (whether obviously or subtly)? or have they mellowed slightly since then?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Chelsea Davis made a world team for that reason. There is no way that girl should ever have touched a world stage. She was horrible. She’s horrible as a College gymnast.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Wonder if other countries do this to their gymnasts too. It’d be like now if Russia ignored Mustafina because they had put all their faith in Komova…

        Yeah I notice how the US always puts a big “halo” on their AA gymnasts: Mary Lou, Carly, Nastia. Yet overall Shannon has more gold medals (Olympic or World) than any of those women. It’s so stupid. Anyone who is a true fan of the sport can see through it.

  17. GymMom Says:

    Gabby needs to SHUT UP! She was interviewed by NPR and she added to the web of bs she’s been weaving. It will definitely make you ill.


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t read stuff about her anymore. It’s a waste of time, for me anyway.

      • GymMom Says:

        It is probably a waste of time?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My personal theory is if something on the net makes me mad I just don’t go there. Of course I slip like I did the other night.lol

        Gabby thinks she is Gods gifts to humans, she isn’t. If I read everything this stupid kid had to say all my blogs would be about her. I would rather leave them blank.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So stupid but this is what I’m talking about – so much is the media trying to “feed” to us that she’s American’s sweetheart:

        HEADLEE: And so now that you’re a celebrity, you’re America’s sweetheart, what’s the one thing you want to use that celebrity to get? What’s the one thing you want to do now that you are somebody? You are the A list.

        If she’s the A list then why were there only a dozen people that showed up when she was at a cell phone store signing autographs? I doubt if Angelina Jolie were there there’d only be a dozen people. And I doubt Angelina Jolie would step within 50 feet of a “common” cell phone store. That’s what personal assistants are for.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        There she goes again:

        “So I knew I had that chance, so I had to move away and just get better coaching.”

        What. A. Bitch.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      “HEADLEE: And so now that you’re a celebrity, you’re America’s sweetheart, what’s the one thing you want to use that celebrity to get? What’s the one thing you want to do now that you are somebody? You are the A list.

      DOUGLAS: Hmm. I have no idea, actually. I would have to think about that.

      HEADLEE: Really? You haven’t even spent a moment thinking, I want dinner with George Clooney or Justin Bieber?

      DOUGLAS: Well, there’s so many things in life and I want to live life to the fullest and I kind of want to give back and give back to the people that love and supported me, and I want to be a blessing on other people.”

      Really now? Hmm, maybe she could start by paying back….EXCALIBUR?????

  18. Guest Says:

    Shawn will be on the Ellen Show the 4th time.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I remember once. She’s been on 4 times?

      • GymMom Says:

        I don’t watch Ellen. She used to be funny but now she is downright MEAN! I don’t think it’s funny to scare people or push a button & have them fall into a hole. And she has the same people on all the time.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I used to love the show but I think I am at work when it is on.

        I do think she is a nice person because so many actors and singers do anything she asks and I don’t think Tom Cruise would do one of her stupid skits if he didn’t like her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Save yourself Gym Mom. Stop reading this shit.lol

    • Guest Says:

      07 after World Championships
      08 after Beijing Olympics
      09 DWTS season 8
      12 DWTS all stars

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I guess I don’t watch Ellen:) Anyone else find it Hilariously ironic Shawn will be shopping at JC Penney where Nastia has her “cloths line”

      • nero Says:

        Already know how the interview will go….

        Ellen: So you tore your ACL and had to retire at the old age of 20 (audience laughter) was it hard to give up gymnastics?

        Shawn: Um, it was definitely bittersweet. But I wanted to be able to walk when I’m older

        Ellen: And you went to London to cheer on the Fierce Five, how was that?

        Shawn: Um, it was bittersweet because I wanted to be down there competing but we’re all so close, they’re like my sisters and I was so happy to cheer them on and see them win

        Ellen: You have Derek as your partner instead of Mark, how is that going?

        Shawn: Um, it’s bittersweet because Mark is a great choreographer and my friend but Derek’s a great partner

        Ellen: And which of the Fierce Five do you think would be great on DWTS?

        Shawn: *clasps hands to face, starts giggling* Oh my gosh don’t make me choose, they’re my sisters!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        LOL, We should have a drinking game and every time she says , bittersweet we take a shot:)

      • Guest Says:

        Shawn has said she would to see Mckayla in DWTS.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So drinking words are “bittersweet” and then another one should be “knee” – you know she’s going to say that a few times…

  19. GymMom Says:

    OMIGOD….Gabby is wearing a tiara! Kill me NOW! STAB ME IN THE EYE!


  20. GymMom Says:

    Too funny…the Shawn interview….I mean “bittersweet!” LOL!

  21. GymMom Says:

    Drinking game…won’t take long to get drunk!


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That is the point of a drinking game. If I am going to watch Shawn do anything but a beam routine I want that drink.lol

  22. GymMom Says:

    Uh oh..McKayla had another surgery….this time on her toe. But I’m sure she’ll be back on the Kellogg’s tour?? 😉 😉😉 LOL! #KELLOGGSMARKETING101


  23. exgymgurl Says:

    McKayla just gets blonder and blonder and more highlighted as time goes on… and now with Kim Khardashian extensions… her hair did not grow that much since her leg surgery….

    • GymMom Says:

      What bothers me, are the “suggestive” photos she posts on Instagram. Her facial expressions are sending the wrong message. She seems like a sweet girl, but if I were her mother, I would be doing something about the image she is putting out there.

      When my daughters were younger, I suspended their cellphone service temporarily, when they abused the privilege. I only had to do it a few times before they got the message. McKayla’s image and future is at stake.

      A future in Hollywood is a dead end. They chew up and spit out girls like McKayla every day. Shawn is still trying to make some in-roads there, but she will never make it. She has no speaking skills, no education and she has an ongoing weight problem. Hollywood is only interested in these girls current popularity…not as serious actresses. Gabby told NPR that she plans to become an actress when she’s done with gymnastics?? Really??? A year or 2 from now, who will want Gabby to guest on their show? Shawn did a guest spot on that American Teenager show on ABC Family…but nothing else in the past 4 years. Does Gabby really think the Vampire Diaries cast wants to be her friend? LOL!

      I know a few people in Hollywood(not bragging) and I wouldn’t want my daughters anywhere near there. It eventually destroys people. I’m happy to live in the Midwest.

      • Catherine Says:

        To be honest, I think it’s extremely easy for her to look ‘seductive’ without even trying with the way her features are. I think for a 16 year old, she is quite modest at least outwardly. Most 16 year olds around here are busy rolling up their school skirts, plastering themselves in serious amounts of make-up and wearing dresses up their arses to teenage discos. It’s only 8 years since I was 16 but it has gotten a lot worse in the time since I think.

        Features wise, McKayla is interesting because she looks SO Irish. She is actually of an Irish background, which her surname proves and her mother’s first name implies the connection may be on both sides. She has that cheeky look. Bridget Sloan and Sarah Finnegan both stand out as having the same cheeky cast to their features and both must have some Irish in their heritage too..

        (Sidenote: I do think her parents should watch her instagram uploads but lately they all seem fine so maybe they are now doing so)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Can’t agree more GymMom. People think Hollywood is the “end all be all” but I’ve seen enough (lived within 40 miles of Hollywood all my life) and heard enough to know that not much good comes out of Hollywood. It’s a fast life. To get to the top in Hollywood it’s not the nicest road to take. McKayla would actually do herself better by staying away. It can make you the type of person you never thought you’d be, and it’s sad how many change their morals just for the shot of fame. And then when you get there, you discover it’s not all it’s cracked up to be, that you’ve shunned the people closest to you and love you in favor of those who are just using you, and for the most part you are not happy with yourself. Just look at how many celebrities are on drugs (even secretly) – you’d be surprised to know that many suffer from ongoing depression. It’s not a nice life. I can see where the money would be nice, but fame is not everything.

        And on another note, if Gabby thinks that her Excalibur gym was racist just wait until she gets a whiff of Hollywood. You notice how many “A list” black actresses there are? Right. Exactly. You also notice that of the 5 or so black actresses in Hollywood, most of them do what they can to “look” white. Of all the roles cast, not many are made for the “black woman” and we only typically see more than one black woman cast in major roles in movies that are set in the South (in the ’50s or ’60s or something, to boot). Sure, TV shows are getting better at casting minorities, but the film industry is still very pro-white.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I agree with you about hollywierd 100%…complete dead end. Shes got to make a brand for herself, as opposed to relying on acting. As for gabby, remember Kerri Strugg got a 5 second guest spot on the original 90210 but is she an actress?

    • mim Says:

      from the photos ive seen i don’t think she’s gotten hair extensions, but it’s definitely a bit longer and absolutely blonder! i know my hair grows really fast naturally so it’s possible that it isn’t fake.

      i really hope mckayla goes to acting school or something. it’s one thing to be charismatic, it’s another to actually have acting skills. i think she’d potentially be a great (read: entertaining) commentator when she’s older but i doubt she’d go down that path.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        If its growing that fast it means her body is getting more nourishment from eating more and less training… Look at Chellsie Memmel or Nastias hair… theres a reason it doesnt look healthy chronic malnutrition…

  24. GymMom Says:

    Nice to read that people still line up around the block to meet Shannon Miller & get her autograph.


  25. GymMom Says:

    Interesting photo of Gabby & Shawn from 2011. Shawn is definitely out of shape. There is no love loss between these 2, which I mentioned in an earlier comment.


  26. GymMom Says:

    All the girls and Dena Walker watched Gabby compete in London at Excalibur on a big theater screen. They all spoke lovingly and positive about her. What they got in return, was a big kick in the teeth!


Leave a Reply

