Camp update

Someone sent this to me. They got it off facebook. Guess Marta wasn’t impressed.

No announcements made today😦 After all the waiting, they were told to wait some more…no additions to the National Team until next camp in October, per (name removed). Thanks for all the support and prayers, everyone! (name removed) had a great first US National Team training camp! I pray (name removed) stays healthy all the way. She’s coming home this afternoon, we can’t wait🙂 Great job, (name removed) girls! We’re all so proud of you!

55 Responses to “Camp update”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Huh? Does she normally add more people to the national team after the Olympics? Why add more now?

    • Case Says:

      Lexie Priessman tweeted a picture of several of the girls to McKayla doing the whole “not impressed” look. McKayla asked them what was up but they didn’t really say.

      Maybe some of them expected to be added to the team given the retirements of Nastia and ASac? Otherwise I’m not sure why they would have expected to be added in September.

      • Case Says:

        The picture referenced above was taken at the ranch.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh I see. But even if more were added or anything, would this affect tournaments or meets? Maybe the timing makes it so that more don’t “need” to be added until October?

        Marta always likes to wait until the last minute.

      • Catherine Says:

        No it’s only the fact that in January, there will only be 2 on the Jr national team- Amelia and Bailie. I expect Nica, Nia and Polina to be added, maybe Laurie too.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I thought they would at least add a few more to the junior National team since there’s only six and some of them will be seniors very soon

    • catherine Says:

      More need to be added because in January there will only be 2. Maddie Simone lexie and Katelyn all turn senior. Polina, nica and nia at least should be on it. Hopefully Laurie too.

      • Catherine Says:

        My phone likes responding to the wrong comment!

      • mim Says:

        i’ve just been watching laurie’s floor routines from 2010/2011. what a little dynamo! i love how dramatic and exaggerated her dancing is, i think it will translate well when she’s older.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I hope they add her and Polina and a few others to the junior national team!

  3. Case Says:

    Per Rita Wieber’s blog, Jordyn has committed to a second tour that runs for two months after the Tour of Champions ends.

  4. Catherine Says:

    Gabby is guest starring in The Vampire Diaries. I get really confused with all of the vampire programmes- even though they are all broadcast here too. Now for McKayla on HIMYM…?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That show is really bad but the kiddies like it. It’s star was on Degrassi and half the dresses I used for the gymnasts were on her

  5. Catherine Says: Podcast with Blythe, Uncle Tim and Spanny. Spanny sounds absolutely nothing like I’d imagine. Has interview with Tim Dagget on his haters ha.

    • Catherine Says:

      Wow it’s long. But the Tim Dagget interview is really good.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Wow that is the first I’ve actually liked Tim Daggett. What he said about greedy ass NBC came as no surprise.

        Is this a regular podcast? Spanny sounds as I expected her to sound. Uncle Tim was boring. Blythe was Blythe.

        GTT imagine if you were on this podcast and Marta was the guest? Imagine if they asked Marta if she had read your blog?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I would get on her case for so many things:) but Spanny is involved in blogging for attention of gymnasts. I am not. I would probably turn down the opportunity. I like being unknown.

      • Catherine Says:

        It’s the first one, think it will be regular. Clearly needs a dose of snark- GTT would be perfect. Spanny is extremely pro-Gabby so I don’t see it happening if she’s a regular..

      • Catherine Says:

        Next interview is Anna Li, nice.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I wish they’d had Bronwyn and Clara (Stoi) on then it would have gotten interesting. I still crack up over their “Fuck you Marta” blog.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never saw it. I am pretty sure that is the site that crashes my computer every time I try to read it.

      • Catherine Says:

        Clara just had a baby, but they both seem to be on hiatus. Stoi used to crash my laptop and my phone every single time- but it doesn’t anymore so it’s safe to check out again GTT.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thanks but I don’t even remember where it is. A link?

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I thought Spanny was a gay guy…..

      • Catherine Says:

        Lol maybe you’re thinking of Aunt Joyce? No posts since the AA, but lots of archives which are pretty great.

      • mim Says:

        Exgymgurl, i always thought spanny was a gay guy too!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Is Spanny 16? She sounds so young. It explains a lot about her blog

      • Catherine Says:

        Yeah she sounds incredibly young, I would have said she was 30ish before this. But if she remember the 96 tour she has to be 22 at least I’d say. Some of the things she blogs about make her seem older. Then when she’s very biased she seems younger. I kind of get a shock when I see a bunch of bloggers on twitter talk about their 16/18/19/21 birthdays, so many are really young. In fact there’s a 12 year old British guy somewhere!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am listening to the Tim interview now. I love how he is making excuses for the broadcast issues but I am glad he is aware of it. It’s not his fault. This is what the every 4 year fans want.

        I’ll keep my opinion on the rest of it to myself. I am sure these people involved in this worked hard to create this but a lot of it was pretty embarrassing to listen too. If you are funny you are funny. When you’re not funny, well.

      • Catherine Says:

        Uncle Tim has some interesting MAG posts, but I don’t think I care enough about MAG to really get into it. Spanny has some really hilarious posts, like the MIOBI recaps and others, but as soon as there’s an opinion post I switch off from it. Blythe has really great quick hits, but I think TCG do a better job of news in between meets.

      • GymMom Says:

        I stopped reading the extremely immature tweets & other online stuff spanny posts. Gabby can do no wrong in her eyes. She sucks up to Gabby’s family which is even more disgusting.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Every time I checked her blog out it was a post about that stupid ass show so I also stopped reading it. Than I read she donated money to Gabby and kissed her ass and I stayed away and have never been back.

        I hate to bad mouth other blogs but I have no interest in reading blogs dedicated to telling gymnasts how great they are.

        I love Kyla, I have mostly great things to say about her but when she missed vault and did not upgrade her floor I understood why they left her out of the AA and I pointed that out.

        I have to be honest. I think it is a bone in my body:)

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, I block out all of the pro-Gabby posts too.

      • Gymbee Says:

        GymMom, agreed. I stopped following her when she was sucking up to Gabby’s mom with “I got your back against Excalibur” style tweets.

      • Sarah Says:

        Spanny’s name is (Not outing, sorry. At least not yet:) but she tries to keep it all secret for some reason? If you type in Spanny Tampson on google it comes up. But yeah a lot of bloggers are young. “The World Gymnast” is 12. Bekah from Get A Grip is like 19. Triple Twist twins are 17. etc.

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    I meant to post this in this blog.

    • Catherine Says:

      He’s so great to interview, never holds back. Slams Grishina’s coaching, damns all of their chances of making 2016 but doesn’t slam Maroney, interesting.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I know. That’s why I love this guy. I like how honest he is without being insulting. What he said about Mckayla was interesting. I’m so glad he spoke out about Grishina. I hope they aren’t stupid enough to try and push Alexandrov out because they need him unless they have someone better. Russia can’t even find quality coaching staff any more.

        If Alexandrov came back to the states and opened his own gym that would be something.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Biggest dream: Alexandrov coming back to the States and shoving Marta out of her position. LOL.

        I thought what he said about Raisman was funny – her tumbling compensating her rather bad choreo – I mean, funny because it’s so true.

        I totally agree on what he says about the code of points.

        Thought it interesting too how he claimed Shawn would not have made the team six months after…didn’t realize she was starting to grow.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        This guy Sanity I think would do a much better job than Marta as a NTC. He doesn’t seem luke someone that would break his gymnast . He seems like a Russian version of Chow.

      • Catherine Says:

        He did coach in US so he knows the system exactly. I want him to stay and get Musty to more worlds and maybe Rio if she can hold out as he is her personal coach, his only personal student (Musty’s original coach fled to WOGA). Then he can go wherever he wants once they have a stable system in place.

        He’s much more stern than Chow I think and not smiley. Hmm, reminds me more of Akopyan maybe.

      • Kazic Says:

        Love Alexander. I think Grishina should share some of the blame. She was the one who backed out of beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Isn’t the going excuse for blaming a gymnast for anything, “She’s only 16”

  7. nero Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of Alexandrov. 4/5 of the Russian team lack mental strength, he allows the girls to continually fall while training. That’s not a great way to practice. It also gets on my nerves when the interviewer tries to say that their gymnasts are nothing but beauty and grace and ours are ugly. There is NOTHING beautiful about Paseka’s vault, Mustafian’s twisting form,Komova ‘I give up after one wobble’, or Grishina falling. There is plenty to love about Russian gymnastics but also plenty to hate.

    I do appreciate one thing he said, and I think it’s something that Russian, Chinese and Romanian stans seem to forget. Jo, Gabby, Mckayla, Aly and Kyla were not ‘chosen’ at a young age. The clubs that all US Olympians start at are a business, they aren’t supported by the government to hire vault coaches, bars coaches, beam coaches and choreographers. The Olympics aren’t in any of the US coaches mind until these girls are probably about 10.

    In the other 3 countries, especially China, most of the girls are made from a young age to be Olympians. That allows the coaches more time for over-splits, pointed toes and flexible shoulders. Things that a gymnast needs to learn when they are young. In the US they focus more on skills and strength because 99% of these girls are put into gym because they have too much energy and their parents need an outlet for them.

    • Catherine Says:

      Komova absolutely lacks it, and Grishina bottled it. The other 3 are fine, and even Grishina has held up very well in other major compeitions internationally before. Alexandrov has no control over Grishina, she was coached totally seperately. I would not say 4/5 because there was nothing wrong with Paseka, Afanasyeva and Mustafina mentally. I think the interviewers play up to the old Soviet balletic grace, and the 4 that do have floor routines DO have well composed elegant floor routines. No interviewer is going to care about Mustafina’s crap twisting form, because they don’t have the knowledge and it doesn’t really make for a good question anyway. Anyway, Alexandrov only directly coaches Mustafina, the other 4 all have their own personal coach. I doubt they would have really wanted Afanasyeva and Paseka on the team in the first place, both of them are results of lack of depth- Sidorova and a healthy Dementyeva would have been more valuable. Inshina and Bebelo (..skaya..have trouble with her name) would have been more valuable too.

    • mim Says:

      while i find komova beautiful on beam (when she doesn’t give up and jump off) and bars, her floor bores me to tears. even grishina’s does too. and im one who really loves “artistry” and the “ballerina” types on floor.

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    that sheryl shade and the nanny stuff is horrific….. maybe thats why gabby isnt under her thumb

    • GymMom Says:

      Yes it was shocking! Apparently a doctor who lives in the same building as Sheryl & her husband found the nanny in the lobby and thought she had been mugged on the street. Gabby signed with her in April before the court ruling but the case info was out there to read. Their behavior(Shade & her husband) makes my skin crawl.

Leave a Reply

