Remembering the 2008 tour

I know I said TMZ, GTT was over but I was bored looking through other peoples photobucket and came across a few pictures from the 2008 tour. There was some drama back then like a member of the tour allegedly getting kicked off the tour for drinking and there were even some hook ups. I wonder if we will get any tour hook ups this time around?

Remember when Chellsie Memmel dated Joe Hagerty? He just married someone else and she is engaged.


Remember when Blaine Wilson hooked up with the rhythmic gymnast, Aliane Baquerot and they got married on tour? (Vegas baby)They just had their second child (I would have bet the farm this marriage would have ended by now but it has not. (She is pictured next to him) Talk about a story to share with the kiddies. Hey remember when we hooked up on tour and decided to tie the knot for the hell of


Anyone else remember any 2008 tour tidbits?

66 Responses to “Remembering the 2008 tour”

  1. Case Says:

    2008 was the year of Shayla Worley. Girlfriend got a little freedom and partied like a rock star….an underage rock star.

    The tour is a scary place. You are basically letting minors who have lived very regimented (and often secluded) lives out and about parent free. It’s like Breaking Amish or something. Lol.

  2. GymMom Says:

    I remember that Shawn gained A LOT of weight on tour in 2008. I remember she wore some outrageous outfits and people slammed her online quite a bit.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      That was on the tour? I didn’t know it happened so fast.

    • Guest Says:

      Shawn gained some weight after the tour in 2008, but before her first DWTS she looked having lost a bit and I saw she have some workouts in gym. However, in the end of DWTS, she seemed to gain weight again.

      Shawn was hurt by harsh comments about her body from internet and that made her pay attention to the weight issue and have the workouts regularly nowadays. So she currently looks not so “fat” though she has officially retired from gymnastics for a few months.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    I remember nothing. But I hardly cared at that point cuz the Olympics were over🙂

  4. JAS4 Says:

    The tour just seems like controversy waiting to happen lol

  5. Biyatch Says:

    So apparently they had Alicia sit in McKayla’s spot in the Olympic rings at the Sunday show… I am surprised Alicia a. agreed to do that and b. didn’t punch someone in the face at the mere suggestion. Kellogg’s must pay REALLY well.

    • Case Says:

      I’m sure she was thinking, “better me than Nastia!”

      By the last 20 stops it’ll be Aly, Jordyn and three randoms anyways.

    • mim Says:

      mckayla tweeted she can’t wait to be back on the bus, so i wonder if that is just wishful thinking or if she really will recover quickly.

      • GymMom Says:

        McKayla’s tweet about being back on the bus is spin from Kelloggs to keep people buying tickets for later tour stops, with the promise of McKayla being there.

        Kelloggs needs to get rid of the rings at the end of the show.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m not all that surprised. This is the same girl who gladly took a Worlds gold team medal she didn’t deserve. And I’m a fan of ASac, but I’m saying it how it is.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ah but Miller did that too!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Miller competed at quals though (during the competition you’re talking about). She at least got them there. ASac left the competition before quals even began (I know, to have surgery, but still).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Miller never wanted to go to that competition. They forced her to go. USA-gym threatened Nunno and he went. USA-Gym at all levels is corrupt. Always has been. They did not care they were wearing out their best asset and I always wondered if they did that on purpose.

        Miller also saved team USA in 1995 when she competed on a sprained ankle and that among many injuries kept her hurt all of 95 and 96.

      • Biyatch Says:

        yeah but better alicia getting a 10th medal than anna li.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That would never happen – Anna Li didn’t even have “one” world medal let alone nine.

      • Aerial Says:

        I think it’d be more appropriate for one of the Olympic team alternates on tour to sit in the rings.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Technically Alicia is an Olympian so she made sense.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        chellsie and nastia are also olympians….shades of chellsie memmel always pulling team USA out of the fire and then being turnd on just like Miller was…. I think anyone who earned an olympic medal could sit there, honestly if McKayla had gone out, ASac was the logical reserve. I still dont get why she wasnt named alternate… the way the vault medals went down if shes competing she would have had one, and beam final over gabby … in fact ASac gives us extra punch in 3 up with her, wieber and gabby on vault, her gabby and raisman on beam, then kyla only competes bars….. but I bet she makes beam / vault finals and wins vault gold. Unless she sat it like Maroney did….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I still say Kyla should have made beam finals over Gabby and Aly

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Alicia would have beaten Sandra on vault

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s why I was so pissed when Maroney sat her damned vault. Her vault didn’t really matter in team finals (I mean, they won by such a landslide they could have used Kyla’s perfect DTY and still won) so she was there to win THAT gold medal. Then she sits. I’m pretty sure ASac would have had that gold medal had she went. I wonder what went through her mind when she saw Maroney sit down. I also can’t help but wonder if Marta will bother with the one-trick pony thing again, given what happened.

      • Biyatch Says:

        Truth GTT that ASac would have beaten Sandra on vault. I still think Alicia was robbed of a vault medal in ’08.

        I broke my foot so Ive had mucho free time and was thinking about it. The thing is, if you had subbed Alicia for McKayla, it would have messed up Marta’s master plan of letting Aly, Jo and Gabby duke it out for the AA. Alicia would be used in vault and beam and would be an event final contender in both. Heading into the games of the Alicia, Aly, Kyla, Jordyn, and Gabby lineup, even after Gabby’s trial showings she would obviously been the weak link but Marta wanted her 3 way AA showdown. I suppose they could have held Kyla in prelims but she was the perfect lead off. Gabby ended up pulling through but was definitely a much bigger risk than a lineup of Kyla, ASac, Aly. (That lineup has the lineup of the clean, the sassy Alicia-ness, and the power.)

        I wonder, if the teams had stuck to 6 members, who would have been number 6. Ive heard people speculate Anna Li (which I don’t think would ever happen Marta doesn’t trust her.) I think it would either be Price or ASac. I think Im still bitter cause I want to see the Maroney-Sacramone vault duel with world/olympic pressure.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It would have been Finnegan IMO. Marta wanted to use her but when she fell on beam on day two she could not take her. I think she loves that kid and we will be seeing a lot of her in the future.

        I would have taken Price. She deserved to compete even though I think Kyla should have been ahead of her at Trials even with the one fall. Price’s beam is a disaster.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I think it would have been Finnegan too. Marta was talking up Finnegan well before Kyla when being asked about “new” seniors for 2012. Part of me wonders if her “team” at that time (early 2012) was stacking up to be Finnegan, Liukin, Jo, Gabby, Aly. I mean all those girls had to have amanars for a reason. You have Jo, Gabby, Aly do them for vault; Gabby, Jo, Nastia on bars; Finnegan, Jo, Aly on beam (this was before the intro to Jo’s stupid “connections” – you know, when she was the world bronze medalist on beam); and then Finnegan, Jo, Aly on floor.

      • Case Says:

        I think it’s pretty easy to figure out why Marta left ASac home. She simply didn’t want to chance another Beijing-type meltdown on the biggest stage.

        I actually like ASac quite a bit, but I’m sure Marta’s head would have been on a platter if ASac bit it again in London and it cost the U.S. team a gold.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah, so Maroney had the melt-down but it wasn’t as “bad” because it was for the individual, not team, medal. She was lucky the code favored her first vault so much that she got a silver. Honestly her sitting should have put her off the medal stand.

      • Case Says:

        I agree with you sanity. She should not have received an individual medal for sitting down one of her vaults. But…McKayla delivered in a big way during TF thus proving Marta’s selection correct.

  6. Guest Says:

    Derek Hough did a flip in the tour.

    • mim Says:

      the non-gymnast in me is kinda impressed. haha.
      i know nothing about this dude except he is a former ballroom dancer or something, so i guess he is athletic-ish?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        lol he must have taken gymnastics at one time. Random athletic people can’t just flip out of the

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah usually dancers also do acrobatic training. Just watch So You Think You Can Dance (hahahaha)

    • nero Says:

      woah woah woah woah… mean to tell me that Shawn was amongst gymnastics equipment and was able to walk away with her knee INTACT????

      They took some pics with the 5, I hope that meeting was recorded for one of the DWTS packages because the awkward would put air into my lungs. I can see it now…..

      Shawn: We’re going to meet the Fierce 5 tonight, or as we like to call ourselves when I’m around, the Sensational Six. *walks into room* Oh hey guys, look I brought Derek, you know from DWTS, I’m on the ~All Star Season~

      Fierce Five: *Crickets*

      Shawn: So how awesome was it to look up into the stands in London and see me cheering for you guys? I mean we’re all so close, it’s like we’re sisters. I bet it was really calming for you guys to have me there

      Fierce Five: Um we didn’t even know you were there

      Shawn: Well make sure you guys have my voting number on speed dial so you can vote for me as much as possible. I’ll make sure to mention on DWTS how I trained with you guys and helped mentor you to the gold!

      *Close up of Maroney*- Not Impressed Face

      -and scene-

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OMG nero…awesome.

        Did Shawn even end up showing “a” floor routine at this tour stop? As in, the floor routine she was supposedly so excited to show us all at nationals?

      • GymMom Says:

        Wow, Shawn those satin shorts looked awful!

  7. mim Says:

    adding to the gossip not in any way related to the 2008 tour (which i know nothing about but love the story about shayla being “dismissed” from the tour haha), i read on gymnewstics that apparently afan has gone all political and is running for her local council elections. second gymnast i’ve heard of doing this (alina kabaeva being the only other one). trying to find the source though!

    funny but good for her if that’s what she wants.

    • Catherine Says:

      Well she’s not at the mallorca training camp anyway!

    • Koruton Says:

      Well, Khorkina went into politics too, no? Do you know which party is she running for?

      • mim Says:

        i read it is the united russia party.

        ah i had no idea what khorkina was up to now lol. i can see her in politics somehow, haha.

    • catherine Says:

      The source is in Russian but it has been translated to say that she is running for local coaches elections because ‘gymnastics will be finished sometime’, which is a bit inconclusive as to whether she is done now or not.

  8. terrigymfan Says:

    This video of Nastia on the 2008 Tour is hilarious. She looks like she is making out with the balance beam, and they are singing “Daddy’s Little Girl” in the background. How creepy is that? Plus I swear it looks like she has a bit of tummy on her and this was only about a month and a half after the Olympics.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Gawd this was HORRIBLE. She does have a little bit of a back-fat roll – I mean, it’s NOTHING but it is something considering how almost skeletal she looked in Beijing. She probably gained 5-10 lbs here. I guess it comes on fast the moment you stop training 8 hrs a day and are all of a sudden permitted sugar and fast food.

      Some of the comments below the video made me laugh…”uhh, did she even DO anything on the beam?”

      Fast forward four years later and they are doing elite-level release moves off of bars, even for the athletes who don’t typically “do” bars.

      At the end of the day though I’d much rather see my favorite gymnasts in competition instead of doing this boring crap. I mean, even I can walk down a beam and wave a ribbon around. I might have more balance checks and even more back fat, but it’s just not impressive to watch knowing what these guys are capable of.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She gained more than ten pounds if she had fat. I know weight is a touchy subject but before Nastia went back into training she gained a lot of weight. You would not have even seen it if she didn’t still dress like she was a size neg 10. One photo had her doing a skill of some kind and you saw the fat on her side. Was she fat no but she was not skinny and she gained a lot more than 10 pounds. I would say she gained 25 plus. It looked like so much because she was always such a stick.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        You’re right – I tend to underestimate weight gain/loss…and considering Nastia was a “taller” 5’3″ (and not like Shawn, who was like 4’10”) …Shawn must have gained at least what, she said it was something like 25 pounds? Which sadly looked more like 45 since she’s so damn short. So yeah you’re right…Nastia probably gained maybe 25, maybe 30…not like it looked “bad” on her but considering she was skeletal before, was strikingly different. Her recent comeback she still wasn’t near her Beijing weight. Probably a big reason why her bars were so labored.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There was a huge difference between her chunky time and how she looked at Nationals. I was surprised how much weight she lost in that short time. Both her parents are short and skinny, she will figure out her weight issues.

        She is never going to be a stick again. She better get used to that.

      • GymMom Says:

        I’m the same height as Shawn and I gain weight if I look at food. LOL! I’d say Shawn gained more like 40 pounds? She probably gained about 25 on the tour & more afterwards. I remember having lunch with Corky Ballas(Marks Dad) during the time Shawn was on DWTS. We discussed the fact that Shawn was gaining weight while she was on DWTS…almost unheard of. I actually liked Shawn then. But she became so annoying and remains that. I give her credit though, for keeping it going more than 4 years after her Olympics. What is sad is this guy she calls her “boyfriend.” He goes to the University of Iowa and is very good looking. It’s obvious by his Facebook & Twitter he’s a big time partier and ” player.” Shawn is in denial about him. I thought it was over between them but he visited her in London, hoping to get close to some big names. Shawn tweeted she was the “happiest girl in the world right now” underneath a photo of them in London. Shawn acts like a giddy 14 year old when it comes to this guy. It’s odd someone doesn’t sit her down & get her to face the truth about this guy? These girls live a very sheltered life in the gym & aren’t prepared for the real world. That will probably never change.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shawn is still a kid and who hasn’t been fooled by a guy once in their lives? I don’t think we can blame her for that. Well we can but…………:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        About Shawn? Yeah, I know! I remember seeing her parents in the crowd in Beijing and thinking, “uh oh – poor girl is gonna blow up if she doesn’t watch it if she quits after this.” No offense, but she has the type of body that has more propensity to gain weight – AND she’s short as heck.

        There was that picture of her awhile back during “comeback mode” after 2011 nationals/worlds – you know, when she was rehabbing and doing a blog on ESPN and telling everyone how she was working hard and all, and there was no doubt in my mind because that picture had her rocking a hard core six-pack and she was nothing but muscle. She looked great, and I of course was excited (as a Shawn fan would be). That’s why it kills me she just up and quit; I still think there’s something more to it that we don’t know about. I really wish I knew…it just didn’t make sense, the way she quit. I know, I know – beating a dead horse.

        I agree though she was showing signs of losing the “cut” look before she made the announcement she was withdrawing. I think she’s found a good “attainable” weight considering her height/build. Sadly she’s going to have to work out much more than the average joe to keep her weight off, just by looking at her mom. I’m sure the Nike sponsorship and this DWTS crap is helping. After this though I can’t really see her being in the limelight anytime soon…Sheryl Shade or whoever it is is probably trying to figure out what to do now with the “Shawn Johnson” brand.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think it made sense. She knew she had no shot. When you are a gymnast you know. The rumor mill had Shawn hitting at camp and when she wasn’t named to the world team in 2011 and was left off in favor of Sabrina Vega of all people she had to know.

        Marta is not fair. Never has been and never will be.

        Shawn doesn’t need Marta anymore so maybe she will tell us the truth someday.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I hope so because if someone as popular/loved as Shawn told the truth (as we know it), USAG would have a lot of answering to do. She probably doesn’t want the political blackballing to come her way though. A part of me hopes that the fame train starts leaving without her, she panics, and then releases all of this information Moceanu style. It’s not like Mary Lou could claim that only “losers whine” after something like that happens.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        GymMom – that’s interesting. I think I remember (now that you say it) that she was having her wardrobe altered as she was going through the competition, but I didn’t realize it was for getting bigger! Yeah, poor thing’s body probably just didn’t know what to do with itself after not working out constantly (although don’t you work out all the time with DWTS? Although it’s not doing hard-core flips and stuff) and introducing salt/fat/sugar to one’s diet.

        Interesting about this boyfriend. Girl’s gonna get her heart broken…but then again, I guess she can always write a book about it. He sounds like a total user.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Regarding GTT’s comment above that Nastia lost so much weight in such a short time, usually you are weak when you do that and I think that was true of Nastia. She “looked” pretty fit by Nationals but in reality was too out of shape to complete her routines. She needed to lose way gradually as part of a longer process of training and getting in shape. But she didn’t have time for that because she started her come back so late. It was part of her arrogance to think she could start training that late.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She thought she was on the team. Why bother training?

      • mim Says:

        i may be in the minority with this one, but i actually think nastia looked good with the weight gain. of course it wasnt ideal for gymnastics and competiting, but by normal people/gym retirement standards she still looked great.

        i’d love to read an in-depth tell-all from shawn one day. i think it would only happen if something makes her snap though, otherwise i think she’ll keep her mouth shut.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Oh I agree Mim that Nastia looked better in 2012 at Nationals than she did in Beijing. She was almost frail looking in Beijing. She looked much more healthy looking and of course more mature at Nationals this year (although she was actually out of shape). In the interim though she had some extra pounds and did not look as good IMO.

      • Guest Says:

        Has Shawn “kissed” Derek in this scene? I don’t know how her boyfriend thought this.

  9. Case Says:

    Anybody remember the drama of the rival tours of 2004? First of all, whoever thought TWO gymnastics tours could survive was crazy.

    In 2004 the USAG tour competed with the Rock N Roll Gymnastics tour. Courtney McCool got kicked off the USAG tour for appearing at the Rock N Roll tour stop in her hometown.

    Wait…there’s a pattern. Mohini in 2000, McCool in 2004, Shayla in 2008. Somebody’s getting kicked off this bitch this year. Who will it be?

    • Gymbee Says:

      My guess would’ve been McKayla! Maybe her getting injured and at home broke the “curse”?🙂

  10. Aerial Says:

    I would have voted for McKayla getting some boyfriend action and letting loose on the tour a bit… although I think this time around, many of the guys have gfs. And little Horton Hears a Hoo is married.

    I didn’t know about Memmel and Hagerty. And I thought there was some scandal about Blaine Wilson and that girl…. it’s his second marriage, is it not, and was he married when he went on tour? And was it a previous tour when it was rumoured Roethlisberger and Miller hooked up? (not sure about that one – the timing that is, not the rumour.)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I would hope Shannon has better taste than John. He is

      The only scandal about Blaine and the bimbo is that it was like a month and a half period that they met, hooked up and married.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        i’m sorry but whenever I hear somebody mention the rumor of Miller and Roethlisberger being together I can’t help thinking, “Ben Roethlisberger?” The image of those two together is just too funny to me,

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I just feel

  11. Exgymgurl Says:


  12. Dee Says:

    LOL I never heard the Blaine Wilson story before. Learn something new everyday!

  13. GymMom Says:

    Regarding Shawn ever “spilling” any secrets….I don’t ever see that happening. I doubt she has any idea of what went on then or even now. She isn’t the sharpest crayon in the box and she definitely has no opinions of her own.

    There is something else that bothers me about Gabby and Shawn and its their pulling “religion/God”(I’m a Christian by the way) out of their hat when it suits their purpose. Gabby was continually posting Bible verses on Twitter leading up to the Olympics and during, but not at all since. I believe she was manipulating her West Des Moines host family with her fakery.

  14. Niceguy44 Says:

    USA Gymnastic hired a chaperone to help the women team. Sounds like they got a babysitter so they won’t get in trouble. With the exception of Ali, most of the women on the tour are underage.

Leave a Reply

