Paper Dolls

Aly is at Fashion week. This dress is better than her last one but still not quite right. Color Aly, you need color and for some good news she dresses better than her picture

There was so much discussion about the dresses the girls wore to the VMA’s and I was bored to tears because the boy is out and there is only so many Strawberries I can plant so I decided to play paper dolls and dress them in some things I liked.

So I searched for a list of designers and used that to search for some dresses and here is what I came up with.

No mocking my fabulous paint shop editing either peeps:) This is a lot more time consuming than you would think but the one thing I do really want to hear your opinion on is the dresses themselves. I’ll let you know what I think when I post the pictures.


Here we have Jordyn. This dress is my favorite of all the dresses I found. I originally thought this would be perfect for long legged Mckayla but the color ended up being too light for her. Than I played some games with different pictures and subbing in different gymnasts and it looked best on Jordyn who was actually the second gymnast I tried. I am pretty sure the picture on the left has a beige colored top while the one on the right is white. I like the left picture better.


HA, Dress number 2 did not work out so well for Mckayla. . Mckayla is taller and slender so I thought the dress would look cute but instead it made her look like hooker I am so sorry Mckayla:)


I did this one for Aly originally but couldn’t get it right so I used it for Kyla. I am having second thoughts.


I think I like this better on Jordyn.


I liked this dress but could not find the gymnast to wear it? Who would you put in this? and I am sorry Aly, I found no dress for you. I’ll keep looking:)


I can not find a picture to fit this dress but I love the dress and Aly is the only gymnast left. This would probably be better on Mckayla or Kyla. What do you think?



and last and least here is what I picked out for Gabby. I didn’t want people to think I left her out on purpose or something?:) I thought this dress was perfect. Her ego is as big as her head and she thinks she is a queen so…………


35 Responses to “Paper Dolls”

  1. Kylie Says:

    Oh I LOVE that top dress. You did well! Great matches.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I like the purple dress and black dress I think it would look ok on Aly and as for the dress that you couldn’t find a gymnast for I thought that one was really cute I think it might look ok on Kyla

  3. tulip Says:

    GTT you are one of a kind! I love the choices you made. Between this and the dolls, have you thought of graphic design? If you’re not already in that field. You are very creative! One of the many reasons I love your blog

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You can’t all love all of them. Come on, someone must hate something?

      I found a dress for Aly but I can’t find a face to match it. It will be up shortly

      • catherine Says:

        I don’t like the one you couldn’t find a gymnast for, the rest are okay but not great. I think it could be different styles this side of the Atlantic, i noticed it when i was shopping in the us too.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I have actually thought of that. If I had picked a different career it would have been either that or journalist and my grammar and spelling would be a hell of a lot better .lol

  4. Hannah Says:

    Haha!! I love the first dress for jordyn, gorgeous!

  5. JAS4 Says:

    Or perhaps Gabby would look best in something previously worn by her bffs Michelle Obama and Oprah lol

  6. Aerial Says:

    This is an awesome post! Feel like I just browsed through the opening pages of a celebrity/fashion magazie… the superimposed heads are great. Look at you and all the branching out lately GTT! Too much fun. At least for us!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      and some day I will buy a real paint shop and the faces will match the pictures:)

  7. terrigymfan Says:

    LOL. The dresses are great but those girls have lost some serious muscle tone since the Olympics. They have got to get back in the gym and start working out again.

  8. terrigymfan Says:

    This is a seriously funny post and reminds me that Halloween is coming up. I would love to find masks of the Fierce Five. I could dress my 3 kids up as three of them and I could go as the fourth. but I know my husband would have no part of it so that means I will have to leave one of them out. Any suggestions on who I should omit?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      lol, yes I don’t see your husband dressing up as a fierce five

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Well, duh, you should exclude Gabby, of course, since that’s what she experienced at her old gym, and most likely with the Fierce Five. Then she could whine that terrigymfan left her out, too!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah…if you’re white (I’m assuming) then you don’t want to put brown makeup on your face and go as Gabby…whoever does that would be called racist. Someone did that on the last MTV Challenge (love that show) pretending they were their partner (who happened to be black) and they were totally called racist. Then they went on about how they were brought up in a religious commune and didn’t know better. Whatever. Long story. So anyways, I’m guessing Gabby will have to be left out. You can tape a sign on your uniform saying “Gabby is getting her makeup done” hahahahaha.

      • Case Says:

        OMG I thought I was the only person who still watched “The Challenge.” Totally remember the scene with Emily and Camilla that you are talking about.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        THANK YOU…yes I love that show. I don’t watch Real World but I definitely watch the Challenge…

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Sanity I guess I’d be damned if I did and damned if I didn’t on this one. If I left Gabby out I’d be accused of racism for omitting her and if I have her in I’d be accused of using “blackface” (even though I was thinking of a mask not makeup). I think I will look for another theme for this year’s Halloween masks. LOL

  9. Biyatch Says:

    I was actually at the Badgley Mischka show yesterday as a guest of some of my sponsors at work (granted I was about a dozen rows behind the front row) and was quite surprised to see Aly there. Girls been jet setting like nobody’s business. I liked her dress it was of course Badgley Mischka and generally the deal is the designers send over a few options for her to pick from and thats what she picked. What killed me is the shoes. Accessories are supposed to tie the outfit together and she put on bright red pumps that stuck out like a sore thumb and ruined the classic look of the dress, I think the general impression of the outfit would have been so much better had she chosen a nude pump or a black Mary Jane of sorts.

    I still think Aly needs to go for an A-line. This dress might be too edgy for Aly but I could totally see it on one of the girls.

    • Biyatch Says:

      Also Im heading to Ralph Lauren in a couple of hours, I wonder if she’ll be there as well. Will report back.

      • Biyatch Says:

        I get my days wrong RL is tomorrow, but no gymnast sighting at Nanette Lepore. Heh

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I loved Aly’s dress but not the shoes. Again, she thinks that by wearing funky colored shoes she has a fashion sense. Oy. But I loved Aly’s dress for me though, not her. I think she needs to wear things that are more flattering on her figure. Someone commented at the bottom of that article and I couldn’t agree more, so I’ll post it here:

      Omg, why does Aly ALWAYS do this? She’s hot as hell but she does not have good style. Like Aly, your VMA dress was awful…you have a hot body and a tiny waist, but you also have broad shoulders, so don’t wear a freaking grandma sweater that does nothing for your figure. It made us focus on your square shoulders, and it gave you a square body. Also, the pattern on that was just no. I guess this is a step of from the VMA dress, but she should wear something that shows off the curves she actually has! Wear something more formfitting around the waist next time, Aly. You’re hot and super talented, I’m not hating on YOU….just your choices.

    • mim Says:

      that’s so awesome you get to go to fashion week biyatch!

  10. Dee Says:

    I am heaving with laughter over the gabby photo/ego/queen combination. GTT you have outdone yourself. The floating laughing crazy head over that dress is sending me into hysterics.

  11. Gymbee Says:

    Ooh brilliant! Love the top dress! Very well done! And Gabby’s dress is definitely fit for a queen lol.

    I’m thinking maybe navy or red for Aly?

  12. sainabou nyang Says:

    Fierce three shuffling.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby looked better in the first 5 seconds of that video than she has ever looked dancing It was that bad.

      SCARY THOUGHT, Bross did the best job of anyone dancing save Jordyn. Be

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Lol kyla had some moves though. Ebee price sadly does not. Lol

      • Case Says:

        My god that looks kinda rough. The Fierce Three did okay but somebody needs to help all the others.

        This is one place where losing McKayla will hurt the show big time. She can actually dance.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        This will likely be Gabby’s next floor music LOL. I can totally see it.

  13. Aerial Says:

    WTF kinda choreo is that? If they have a main goal of bringing back the running man, that’s one thing, but the rest of it? Talk about beginner jazz circa 1985. I don’t have many skills but can choreograph and whoever they used does not do any justice to the abilities of those kids. Sad to say but even McCool and Co. work better with current styles/music, and I never thought I’d say that.

    I’m sure with one week to pull this entire show together, that’s the best of what they got. Oh yeah, and the giant swings to broken legs.

  14. jessie Says:

    i love the dress you picked for jordyn! who is it by / where can buy it?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I meant to keep the links for the dresses so I could find them again but it got too time consuming. I am looking for you now. We will see if I get lucky:)

Leave a Reply

