The Russians come home

It is nice to see Komova smile. Who speaks Russian???


If anyone is interested here is where the Fierce 5 will be appearing the next few days. I only linked it because they seem to be adding videos for those who missed it. I missed it all (taking what I’m given cuz I’m working for a living)

Answer me this? Why does anyone give a crap about John Orozco? Last time I checked he choked away his Olympics and won exactly NO medals. In fact the team lost bronze because he fell twice.

143 Responses to “The Russians come home”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    She had a pretty smile on her face at the end of quals, right after beam I think. Don’t know why but I remember thinking “it’s nice to see her smile.” Too bad her Olympics didn’t pan out the way she wanted.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I wish NBC had run a few human interest clips on the foreign athletes especially Mustafina and Komova. The NBC commentators acted like they were robots or something just there to serve as foils for the Americans. I seem to remember that Jim McKay of ABC had a wonderful way of making the foreign athletes seem like real people. I miss Jim McKay.

      I may have missed it, but did folks on this blog talk about that time Mustafina brushed off her coach when he tried to console her after she had a bad routine? I think it was during team finals after her floor exercise. It was the funniest thing I’ve ever seen. She literally flung his arm off of her. She’s something. No wonder they call her the Diva.

      • Aerial Says:

        It was so great to have the option of CTV – not only did they air full broadcasts live, but they showed all teams during all rounds of preliminaries, and truly gave an international perspective during all finals. The criticism NBC has gotten is quite deserved IMO. They are so pro-American and forget it’s a domestic meet, and rarely honoured great international stories, often neglecting to even say who won the other medals if an American won gold. It would turn my stomach if I was watching NBC, to see an athlete tear their achilles in a race and fall partway through – they didn’t even care enough to tell the viewers if they were okay or who they were! I hope they pay heed to the feedback. Yes, I always respected ABCs coverage too – and their commentators.

        I think the Russians could do a lot better if they weren’t crying nonstop. Remember when the Americans used to cry all the time too? They have definitely improved since they put the waterworks away! I’m not sure if people talked about that Musty moment specificially here, maybe because she was being a diva and seemingly difficult the entire time. Even sweet Canadian CTV said the Russians were a very difficult crew during podium training and in the warmup gym – always fighting, always crying. Not sure that kind of energy and focus pays off.

      • Aerial Says:

        * oops, meant to say they treat the Olympics like a domestic meet much of the time.

      • Kazic Says:

        I have a lot of respect for the Russian team, and the efforts they have put into rebuilding their program since the collapse of the Soviet Union, but I think they put too much pressure on the girls. They have a gold or nothing attitude, and it needs to stop, if they actually want to see gold medals. Despite what NBC thinks, these are young girls, not robots. Put enough pressure on them and they will crack.

        I do not say this to mean that USA doesn’t want to win. Of course they do. Everyone does. But I don’t think a story like Mckayla’s (where she just learns to laugh at her mistake) could happen with the Russian team. I read an interview somewhere with the Russian national coach, where someone quoted Komova as saying that a silver medal is the same as no medal as all. The coach basically agreed with her. It’s that attitude that’s wrecking them. Silver is a huge achievement, and more than they got at Beijing.

        Komova is a beautiful gymnast, but there’s still too much little girl in her. Or at least, she can’t compartmentalize the little girl whem she needs to. I heard she was complaining about interviews during the Olympics. That is was interfering with trining and such. She lets too much stuf get to her, on the inside. She hasn’t learned to form that outer protective shell. and it hurt her performance.

        Concerning Mustafina, she’s a very interesting young lady. She’s a bundle of contradictions. She can be intense, yet compassionate. Fiery, yet gentle. Courteous, yet intense. Kid’s got a lot going on lol. I do not think of her as a diva. Diva’s do not clap for their competitors, console their teammates when they make mistakes, or give thumbs up to their rivals (who have done better than they in an event especially). What she is, is someone who is intensely competitive, who places an enormous amount of pressure upon herself to do the best she can. Sometimes it comes out a bit explosively, as it did after she fell of beam in AA, but I think most of that fustration you see is directed inward.

        When we first saw her in 2010, I was not a fan. I was impressed by her abilities sure, but she seemed aloof from her team in a way that was unappealing to me. 2012 Mustafina seems to be a different girl. I think her injury has softened her a bit. She seemed more accessible. She waited with Komova at the end of AA to see her scores, even though she didn’t need too, and I’ve seen her do little things like that all olympics. After London, I’m a fan. And after watching her in non-gym situations, I’ve discovered the intensity has an off switch, thank God. She’s a different girl outside of competition.

        Holy crap that was a treatise on the Russian team >_> That’s basically how I feel about their program though. TLDR: Pro Tip: Less Pressure=More Medals. Unless your name is Aliya Mustafina. Then you’re just a bad-ass.

  2. jv Says:

    This is a nice video. Komova is charming..

    There is also Mustafina’s mom..She is very nervous and then happy. Typical hectic arrival scene.

  3. jv Says:

    Also. Ksenia is greeted by her little brother, and ALya tells them , “enough”.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Who was that guy who picked up Komova? I think he has the hots for her.

    • Kazic Says:

      Someone told me she said something to the effect of, can’t you all just wait, or something close to that.

  4. jv Says:


    The text is in Russian,but the pictures are so great.
    Komova, Mustafina, and Valentina Rodionenko held a press conference.

  5. jv Says:

    terrygymfan: I think he is a reporter. Let me see

  6. Kel Says:

    I still wish Komova had won the AA…if only she had stayed in bounds on vault…if only!!! The US team looks like they are having fun in NYC. Nice to see Jordyn look so happy. I still feel bad her Olympics didn’t turn out quite the way she wanted them to. It’s not like she bombed in qualifying…she just wasn’t quite herself. Still hope she sticks around for a bit and goes out on a higher note.

  7. Aerial Says:

    There was a great article I read somewhere with Alexandrov speaking openly about the girls, their behaviour, their results and intentions. He mentioned Komova felt broken by her silvers and wanted to be done with the sport, but he said something like, “At her age – where will she go and what will she do? I doubt she’ll retire when she thinks it through” or something.
    The other thing I noted was she did a brutal hack job on new bangs, similar to what I did at age six the night before my first school pictures. Partway down her forehead and really uneven. But, superficial notes aside as I assume she did that herself in the village, I too hope she continues. She is so beautiful and elegant, and I’d love to see her still competing and improving on the world stage.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I would love to see Komova and Mustafina in Rio. Komova is so elegant and beautiful but seems to have a somewhat fragile personslity — she still has some maturing to do — while Mustafina, well, let’s just say I wouldn’t want to tick her off in a bar. They are both very interesting girls.

    • mim Says:

      saw vika’s new fringe, the only explanation for it is that it’s probably part of her teenage “rebellion”, bless her. luckily it’s only hair and will grow out.

      russia really needs to invest in a better sports psychologist for the girls. they lost their focus from the first rotation and were easily rattled from seeing the USA on vault. also, peeking in on the US training sessions doesn’t exactly scream confidence. they’ve got the goods just not the mental strength.

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I think worlds next year should be interesting even if it is only AA and EF. I still wish they were doing team competition too! Anyone know why they only do AA and EF Worlds the year after the Olympics?

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Does anyone think worlds next year will be exciting/interesting to watch?

      I Hope it is because I remember watching worlds 09 and it was kind if boring.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I actually thought about going myself. I can’t wait.

      • mim Says:

        i hope so! can’t wait to see who competes! i didnt watch the 2009 worlds but im excited to see how it all plays out next year.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        2009 worlds was was blah. That was when I saw the early signs of Rebecca bross meltdowns. She was so close ti winning the AA but Bridget beat her.

        I hope 2012 is like 2010 worlds.

        Btw, Catherine does BBC air the grand prix in Scotland? I see its later this year and hopefully I can watch on youtube.

      • Kazic Says:

        I am hoping for a Musty/Vika/Jordyn battle royale. It will be like Christmas and my birthday rolled into one. Where is worlds never year?

      • Catherine Says:

        Worlds is in Antwerp, Belgium next year. No direct flights, but Brussels has trains and stuff to it.

    • Catherine Says:

      It had better be, I’m planning on going, it’s only 2 hours flight away😀 Will be very interesting to track how the new Seniors do beforehand and who of the fierce 5 will be back training hard for it. Russia and Romania should be exciting too. And hopefully a return of the fabulous Mariya Livchikova..

    • Catherine Says:

      Sainabou- I haven’t a clue. I only get BBC by accident because it broadcasts to Northern Ireland who pay the license fee and the republic picks it up. It shows different things regionally, so maybe it might show it for scotland…? Check it out if any previous ones on youtube have BBC commentators. Come to worlds!!

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Too funny!

    • Kate Coursey Says:

      Ahahahaha. This is hilarious.

    • mim Says:

      it’s a cute photo. kyla’s mum seems more reserved than the others. mckayla gets the posing from her mum haha.

    • tulip Says:

      wow! It is very easy to tell which mom belongs to which gymnast because they’re demeanors are the exact same as their daughters.

    • tulip Says:

      wow! if you know anything at all about the girls but nothing at all about the moms, you can still matcht the mom with the gymnast based on pose alone. Each moms demeanor is exactly that of her daughter. Pretty interesting.

  10. Catherine Says:

    Gabby’s head inflates further, I like how Aly reacts..

    “I wanted to inspire a nation, so I can check that off my bucket list,” the 16-year-old said, prompting incredulous responses, er, all around.

    “Wow, that’s a hard bucket list,” Raisman said.

    – From Letterman. I want to see all of these appearances on youtube..

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Why any 16-year-old should have a bucket list is beyond me. I didn’t even know what that was when I was 16.

    • elitefan Says:

      Just watched the Letterman clip — he started laughing when she said that, and then they changed the subject. Pretty good interview, he gave them all roses at the end.

      I’m looking forward to seeing them on Colbert — did anyone else see where he acted out McKayla’s vault with a barbie spinning on a drill? Hilarious.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I just watched the interview. McKayla kind of stole the show. Everyone else was pretty much awkward.

      I also felt really bad for Jordyn; her “presence” has been downgraded to fourth on that couch. It was obviously lined up by personal achievement: Gabby, Aly, McKayla, Jordyn, Kyla.

      Who knew before these Olympics that Jordyn would come home with the same number of medals as Kyla.

      • Catherine Says:

        It sounds like they needed someone to take charge a bit and break away from the shyness.

      • Kazic Says:

        Mckayla always steals the show. She had more than a few coy answers where I was like, “Ah I see what you did there!” The ones I am thinking of are “Corn Flakes” and “50!” She did that shit in purpose.

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I think 2013 Worlds will be more interesting than 2009 because there will be fewer “retirees.” Mustafina wants to re-establish her reign. I love this gymnast (have since 2010) and really hope she goes to Rio and wins the gold medal in the AA. This time around she was recovering from injury and had a major growth spurt but I can see it all coming together quite nicely for her.

    Kyla, too – she said she’d be training immediately after the talk show circuit stuff. She’s only going to be in a few shows on the tour. If her coaches can get her to upgrade floor, her beam/bars dismount, and get her amanar back she could very well establish herself more.

    In one of the interviews too it looked like the two that were most “gung ho” about Rio were Aly and McKayla.

    I also wonder if Bross has completely hung her hat yet. But yeah, when I saw her in 2009 lose out to Bridget when she could have easily won I had a feeling it was the beginning of the end for her. That just doesn’t look good when you’re supposedly the next “it” girl.

    We can’t forget Priessman, Ohashi, Ebee, and Finnegan. The US is so deep right now that 2013 worlds might just be a US showcase unless Mustafina/Komova are back…which I hope they are. Also, Iordache and Jinnan.

    This Olympics kind of pissed me off because I wanted to see a real competition with Yao, Iordache, Musty, Komova, Weiber, and Gabby/Aly gunning for it. It turned out to just be between Komova and Gabby (mostly due to injury and that stupid FIG rule), which just deflated the whole thing for me. I don’t know, Gabby’s win didn’t “feel” like a big deal to me. Everyone (the media) is making a big deal out of it , but I almost felt like in these Olympics, the AA competition was almost like what you would see the year after the Olympics – the “big guns” barely making an appearance. I don’t know. It just didn’t feel like Gabby’s win was all that big of a deal. It almost was more like Mary Lou’s win. If Iordache and Jinnan were healthy and giving Komova/Gabby a run for their money it would have made it so much better for me. The fact that Deng Linglin was in the top three after three rotations – I was just like, “really?”

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Come to think of it i liked watching worlds 2010 better than I did this Olympics. sanit im like you, I want a knock down brawl.Even when you know who’s going to win you still want to see a battle.

      Gabby I know you guys think she’ll be on your TV for the next four years but i would give it a year and a half. Americans have short attention dpans spans and being the first black anything loses its appeak after awhile.

      Speaking of Marta spanny just posted a hilarious pic of her and steve penny in some kind of embrace. Spanny put them on different movie posters as like long los lovers. Its gross and funny at the same time.

  12. tulip Says:

    The other girls handled that so well. Am sure that Gabbys media training has included little.nuggets about inspiring the world. I’m pretty darn sure she just wanted to win.

    And Marta is throwing things at the tv “not vat i sez Gabby! You von cuz I, Marta Karolyi, am zee bezt in za zport and vill never go away. I own UZA gymnaztix!!” Maniacal laugh…

  13. tulip Says:

    Good question about Orozsco. He had a terrible Olympics.

    I always wondered about him because NBC always showed that story with white trash mom talking about the mortgage and little John went to his gym “and axed can i work”? I always got pissed because a) it’s your job as parents to pay the mortgage, not his and b) when i hear “axed” instead of asked I turn into a horrible judgmental person.

    Plus Tim always saying he is in gymnastics to make a better life for his family. That type of pressure can be enough to tank the whole operation when not managed well. Didn’t he tank worlds in AA finals? He should have been on podium but fell. Feel for him but his coaches need to work with him on putting all that crap aside.

    • Aerial Says:

      Orozco was extra publicized just like Gabby beyond their talents because of the media’s obsession with their skin colour, and how they were/are “poor” and could save their families if they win. It kind of turned my stomach how it was portrayed. Their stories and sacrifices are poignant, but the intrusion on family business (especially during interviews) must have been hard to handle at the outset. To be honest, I totally forgot about Orozco after the AA… I saw him all teary but only caught blips of the men’s finals.

      • Kazic Says:

        If more people could do what we are right now and discuss politics in a rational manner, the country would be better off. You don’t have to agree with them, just resp

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      And as you can se Michelle Obama ain’t heading to the Bronx to visit orozco.

      I’m telling you if Gabby hsdnt won gold or even competed in the AA no one would of cared especially those in the Black community. I dont remenber anyone drooling over tasha swikert after Sydney and she came back and won two national championships.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She is using Gabby and Gabby is too stupid to even realize it. No one in Gabby’s family has much common sense. Gabby is 16, she probably thinks Michelle is her buddy when the whole world knows she is using her for votes.

        I am not a big Obama but I hate his wife. She is a a huge phony and if the way she dresses makes her a fashion icon than fashion is dead.

        God help me if she is in my life for four more years. I can deal with him but I literally cannot stand her.

        I guess I should clarify. Having him as President I cannot deal with for four more years. I hate his politics and what a two faced liar he is but personality wise he can be funny.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        GTT that’s exactly what I thought. I kept thinking Gabby it might seem nice that the first lady is stuck to you like glue but where the hell was she a year or two ago.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have been paying a lot of attention to the up and coming election and most experts say that Obama needs the black vote to be re-elected. The majority of white people are fed up with him and they were huge in getting him elected the first time. If the black people don’t vote for him he will have a hard time getting the votes he needs to be president again.

        Michelle Obama is doing everything she can to get the black vote and Gabby is being used for that.

      • Catherine Says:

        Showing my ignorance here, but isn’t the other possible who can actually get elected Mitt Romney? He comes across like a total asshole. So is it a bit like ‘the lesser of two evils’ choosing Obama?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You have been brainwashed by the media . I am pretty sure you are not American correct? the media paints Obama as some kind of saint but he is not. He has wasted more money than any President that has ever been. The media doesn’t point put the truth especially not the media that goes on outside the US.

        When I say you are brain washed I don’t mean you personally. Literally the media in the US prints what it wants. If the media likes you they post only the good stuff. If they hate you the print the bad stuff.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know this isn’t a political blog, but here’s my take: there’s nothing more dangerous than a second-term President. Just look at Bush, even. With what Obama “accomplished” his first term, I can only imagine (and fear) the second term as he will no longer be thinking of the need to get re-elected. He’s so arrogant in the first place he’ll have no issues shoving more stupid laws/programs down our throats that will surely send the US over the clift to BK. So while I am not in favor of either Romney or Obama, my vote is for Romney just because he will not be sitting pretty on his second term.

        I can’t stand Obama’s arrogance and just lack of understanding with the public he pretends to serve. I really can’t stand his wife either – who’s basically using his Presidency as a means to fulfill her own travel escapades, mostly on the taxpayer’s dime. I hope she’s been enjoying the sites and surroundings and visiting the world while I work my butt off just to get gas in my car (mostly to take me to work, not to an exotic destination in Spain with all my girlfriends).

        If Gabby were white, Michelle would have had nothing to do with her. If anyone is racist, she is. I can’t fault Gabby for feeling special/singled with the First Lady’s attention, but it’s so obvious the reason behind it. Oh well.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I dont care for Obama or romney. I dont trust any politician. Romney is boring IMO but i think he made a good choice picking paul ryan for VP.Ryan is much better than that idiot Biden.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ryan sounds like a whackjob with the views he holds. Romney isn’t much better. Just my take as a total outsider. It’s mad to contemplate their potential power, our presidents are figureheads with no power and many of them have done two terms of 7 years each. Current one looks like a hobbit ffs. Real power is with the Taoiseach (prime minister) and they cannot introduce laws or change the constitution without a public referendum. Anyway, I kinda like Obama but I’m not exposed enough to really judge.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ryan only sounds like a whackjob because that’s the picture the media here paints. It’s really sad how anymore “news” isn’t news – it’s just what the media wants you to hear. It’s a propaganda machine. Most people take what the mainstream media says for fact. It’s not, anymore.

        GTT is spot on with what she said earlier about the media. And about Obummer.🙂

      • Kazic Says:

        Personally, I like Obama. Can’t stand Romney. Even if I liked Romney I wouldn’t vote for him though. There’s a couple of things on his personal resume’ that make him unpickable for me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No one likes Romney but Obama is an idiot and he is putting this Country so far in debt China will take over any minute . I also hate when the Government tries and tells me what I can and cannot do and Obamacare pisses me off. Romney is not much better in that for my state but I’ll be damned if I am going to get fined for not having healthcare while paying for everyone elses healthcare.

        The lesser of two evils is Romney.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Agreed! This election makes me want to run for president not that I know anything about running a country but apparently that’s not a requirement to run for president these days lol oh well I’m not old enough to run anyways I think you have to be at least 35 lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You need to be The one thing I remember from that 5th grade history class:) You are so right that you don’t have to know the job to have the job. Obama proved that. Bush proved that. Have we had a decent President since

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah all the halfway decent politicians seem to have disappeared off the face of the earth and now we are left with a bunch of corrupt, power hungry people who have no earthly idea how to run a country and most of them probably have no idea what it’s like to not be rich lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Romney is rich, very rich and he knows how to use his money which is why he gets my vote. Hopefully he can try and help our money issues. I don’t think he will but I can hope

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah something has to be done about the debt it’s ridiculous!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        My vote is for Romney only because he won’t be sitting pretty on a second term. Obama on his second term scares me. At least Romney has experience with business and the private sector. Obama…still can’t prove he even went to college. Or he’s actually a US citizen.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t doubt he is an American but I laugh that he doesn’t have to prove it. If you work in retail you have to prove you’re an American citizen every 3 years but the president doesn’t have too? How messed up is that?

      • Kazic Says:

        For me, Obama is the lesser of the two evils. I am not totally pleased with his performance, but at least I know what I am getting with him. The devil I know, is better than the devil I don’t know.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I know this is not a political blog but since the cat is out of the bag I’ll go ahead and say I line up with GTT, Sandy, and JAS on this. To me it’s not so much the guy as it is the party he is with and their agenda, and I don’t want to see four more years of the Democrats in power with their more taxes and more welfare agenda. Obama is not a bad guy but I don’t think Romney is either. The only bad thing you can say about him I think is that he is a bit boring and I guess he’s flip flopped on a couple of issues before. IMO he is definitely not an asshole. The fact that he is rich means nothing. The media never seems to make an issue out of a Democrat who is rich (can you say Kennedy?).

      • Kazic Says:

        I got ya Terry. And I totally respect your right to disagree with me. Like I said, I do not worship the ground the President walks on. He’s done good things and bad things. He’s not perfect. But he’s better than the alternative Imo, so he will have my vote.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The respect is mutual Kazik. Same for Catherine and the others on here who share your view.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes I’m Irish so I have no vote or anything, just looking in as an outsider. Obama has a (pretty distant) Irish connection and visited last year with a great speech and had guinness etc. so it would be tough to find negative slants on him. (Clinton is the most revered of all here, he was a significant help in the vastly complex peace process for Northern Ireland) I was pretty thrilled with the healthcare thing as I have experienced the nightmare expense of it myself, only to realise it wasn’t what I expected at all. Total letdown. Romney is painted as a ‘backwards’ Republican with outdated views. He’s also getting slammed because he said London wasn’t prepared for the Olympics, which launched a mm-hmm girl did NOT just say that reaction in the media. I think I would be a Democrat if I lived in America.

        Sounds like neither are a particularly good choice. Good luck with choosing!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m with all in the respecting everyone’s opinions. I hate it when I read a political news piece and the comments below are just people bashing each other and calling each other names for their views. It just shows how people can be such morons.

        I have to say, Terri’s point about the Dems never making a big deal out of rich Dems is spot on. I think it’s funny too how Romney is being made out to be a rich a-hole, when Obama is extremely wealthy as well (yet that point is rarely driven in the media). In fact, most politicians are wealthy because they are able to basically set the laws and trade off of insider information using what they know stemming from the policies they set. It’s illegal but they all get away with it. Pelosi and Reed are two examples of how to become rich by being a politician and using insider information. In my humble opinion, being a public servant to the US shouldn’t make you rich. But it’s so corrupt now, it just does. It’s like a troup of insiders vs. outsiders and everyone thinks that a politician is out for them. I just have a negative view of all politicians in general. I’m neither a Republican nor Democrat; I was born in the Regan era and liked him OK, thought a lot of his policies made sense after I learned about them. I even liked Clinton after the fact (funny enough, I guess I really like Clinton now that I’ve experienced Obama). Haha.

        And I hate flip flopping. But it happens. I hate it because it’s just so obvious they only say things to get the vote. It’s not their “real” opinion. Obama’s flip flop on the gay marriage issue was a total joke. I’d have more respect for him if he stuck to a value or belief and kept with it over just flip flopping for the sake of a vote. Romney is just as guilty of this I’m sure.

      • Kazic Says:

        If more people could do what we are right now and discuss politics in a rational manner, the country would be better off. You don’t have to agree with them, just respect their opinion. It’s not that hard lol.

  14. sainabou nyang Says:

    I read yesterday that Carly Patterson is doing something with the troops. I wonder if she’ll be singing to them.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I hope not, for the Troops’ sake.

      • Kazic Says:

        Oh and I don’t think gabby is responsible for all Black kids everywhere, but I do think that seeing her will put gymnastics into the minds of young Black girls who might not have considered it prior to her win.

        If she inspires even one more to follow in her footsteps, it will be worth it IMO. I’ll just have to mute her when I see her on tv >_>

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Kazic I believe that you will see more black kids, would be great to see more kids of other nationalities as well. BUT I don’t think you will see that much of an increase inblacks signing up for gymnastics. One factor is price the other is that gymnastics is not football or basketball where you can drafted and earn millions via salary and/or endorsements.

      • Kazic Says:

        I know that that gymnastics has a higher barrier of entry than things like basketball, but middle class blacks do exist. Hopefully now some of them will consider gymnastics.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      USOC tour. Visiting the troops (like they care about Carly Patterson) Shannon Miller did one a few years ago.

      Carly wasted her best opportunity for fame when she wanted to sing. She is old news.

      Anyone else kind of disgusted with USA-Gymnastics and their parade of Olympics AA champions this Olympics?

      When Romania gets together they bring all their medalists even the ones that weren’t AA champs. Not usa-gymnastics, they bring just the AA winners and they ignore everyone else. It kind of tells you how stupid their organization is and what they value over longevity and true talent. One hit wonders

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I doubt the troops even know who Carly Patterson is. I mean, I was at some pet event expo and Kristi Yamaguchi was there, signing some children’s books she wrote. Now I grew up a HUGE figure skating fan so I was all stoked to see Kristi…then shocked. NOBODY was in line. I was like, “wait…wha?” Then I was in some tent thing (after meeting Kristi, which was cool but she only got up and took pictures with the handicapped kids; not people like me who, despite not being handicapped – trust me I don’t take that for granted – DID cheer for her every damn time she was on TV competing and literally cried when she won the Olys in 1992, thank you very much…and I don’t think the handicapped kids knew who she was either, they just figured she wrote the books they were reading) so anyways…I was in the tent thing and they announced Kristi Yamaguchi was signing books outside – probably because nobody was standing in line. I swear there were like five teenagers in front of me, probably at least 17 or 18, and they were like “who’s Kristi Yamaguchi?”

        AND she was on DWTS maybe like two seasons before Shawn? AND she won.

        My point is, we all know where Shawn/Nastia/Carly – ALL OF THEM – we all know where their careers are going. Eventually. So yes, USAG is stupid not to celebrate ALL of their Olympians and keep the SPORT alive, instead of backing individuals. Backing individuals in a four-year sport gets you nowhere. In four more years nobody is going to remember who Nastia was.

        And see where the sport of figure skating now falls in the US. Nobody cares. Nobody is beating out their competitors’ knees and there’s nobody out there from the US taking the world by storm. It’s been like crickets since Kwan retired. Does anybody even know who won the last world champs in figure skating? I don’t. And I was even more obsessed with figure skating (at the time) than I am about gymnastics now. Good thing the internet wasn’t around as much then.

        I’ve had too much coffee. I don’t even know what I’m ranting about anymore.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I know who the world champ was this year in Figure skating, wait nope. I forgot so I will say Michelle Kwan:)

        I don’t consider myself a skating fan. I am and will always be a Kwan fan. Nationals next year are in Boston and I am going to the ladies and men but not pairs and ice dancing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No one remembers Shawn from gymnastics and no one remembers Nastia either.In ten years she will be even less remembered.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally off topic, in a way, but in ten years I wonder what they’ll look like. I can see Nastia having some sort of work done a la Shannon Miller (although I don’t know if you can do anything about that forehead) while Shawn will probably be running some kind of fitness foundation while being sponsored by the likes of Panteen.

        I have to say Carly did not look that good in the promotions of these Olympics. She needs a new hair style or something. That poof doesn’t make her face look good.

        And Kerri…where do I begin. Everything about that girl screams comely housewife. Plain Jane. Ick.

      • Aerial Says:

        I agree… why would they care about Carly? And would they remember her? She is so ungymnastlike somehow too.

        I do think people know about Shawn and gymnastics. I watched a lot of gymnastics this summer with uninformed people on wedding and cottage weekends and days, and they all remembered Shawn. Many remember Nastia but most of them think Shawn was the actual “best gymnast” winner (in their words)… probably thanks to Sheryl Shade.

        Not sure about 10 years from now. I bet Shawn stands the best chance as things stand, but we’ll have to see what happens next for Gabby re: sponsorships, being in our face, continuing on. Shawn is really the only one who has stayed in the mainstream media as Mary Lou did (unfortunately) in a variety of ways, with seemingly no fade in hire-ability in sight.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think people might link Nastia and Shawn’s names to being gymnasts but specifics they will not remember.

        No one I know has a clue who Nastia is. When I try and explain they remember bitch face and her

      • Guest Says:

        I just wonder will Shawn become a star on entertainment area as Bruce Jenner after her second DWTS. I remember she said that she want to participate in Amazing Race too, or to become a Reality TV Star? I don’t mind Shawn keeping media attention (becasue she can piss off a Russian, hah). I just hope that she don’t ruin her image in Hollywood world like Miley Cyrus did.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        As a former fan of Hannah Montana and not afraid to admit it:), Miley Cyrus is no longer a real star. She is a walking tabloid.

        I am voting for Shawn every night and I will be blogging about it when I can just for that reason of pissing off a certain Russian:)
        Boo Yeah:)

        Favorite Hannah Montana song is, If we were a movie.

      • mim Says:

        im still surprised at the level of fame gymnasts achieve in the US.. in australia, people wouldn’t have a clue who our gymnasts are (MAYBE with the exception of lauren mitchell, but you still need to know your sport to know who she is). some people didn’t even know who nadia was (?!?!?!?! wtf.), you don’t have to be a gym fan to know who she is!

        i seriously don’t see anything wrong with fading into obscurity post-gymnastics. it’s not like you do gymnastics to become famous. but i guess nastia and shawn got addicted to being in the spotlight and now can’t envision anything less. i hope girls like jordyn and aly do something really personally wonderful that doesn’t necessarily translate to fame and just have happy/content lives rather than scramble to stay “famous” unless they have their hearts set on commentating or coaching.

      • Kazic Says:

        I am also a huge figure skating fan, in addition to my love for gymnastics. I weep for what the program in this country has become. ;_; When we look to people like Rachel Flatt as a standard bearer for our nation, we’re in trouble. Ugh can’t stand her. If Mirai Nagasu can become more consistent though, she could go somewhere. She’s at least part star. And she’s really funny in an unassuming way. I remember during press conferences at Vancouver, she was asked what was the most exciting part of being picked for the Olympic team. She said that Evan (her coach is also Frank Caroll) had gotten a watch when he won some championship and she hoped she would get free stuff too. Then she was like, “But that might just be because I’m asian and we’re cheap.” I died. Also like Christina Gao.

        I yearn for the days when people wanted it enough to cane their competition. Not saying that i condone that behavior. Just the fire behind it :p

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mirai annoys me. Gabby annoys me. Why do you post here again:)

        Gabby is not responsible for every black child in America and it kills me that people think she should be.

        She isn’t a good role model as it is. She’s a cocky asshat that makes stupid comments that make her sound like a spoiled brat.

      • Kazic Says:

        I post here GTT because a. I enjoy the discussion, b. I am mature enough to not be bothered when others hold opinions different than my own and most importantly c. You too profess love for the Kween. That’s good enough for me lol.

  15. tulip Says:

    That didn’t take long…
    None of this comes as much of a surprise.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Hopefully her agent will look out for her and make sure her money is taken care of so it’s not another Dom M. Story

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am going to sound mean but this totally makes my day. I feel bad for Gabby but I saw this coming a mile away. Gabby needs to hire her own lawyer and be emancipated. It’s sad there is no way that will happen because every adult in her life is a fucking idiot.

      Gabby, come to me girl. I don’t like you at all so I am not in this to be your friend or get your money and if I say retire and go the fuck away I mean it with all the sincerity I can muster:)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Things happen for a reason and I don’t wish Ill will on Gabby but she and hee family have no clue how to handle millions of dollars. No one is mature enough. If I wer her mother i would get rid of Tasha and find a good experienced agent and financial investor.

        Then i would move the hell out of Virginia beach. Now Gabbys mon has no excuse not to Iowa.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wish reality to happen to Gabby in form of being brought down to earth. Right now she is an annoying little shit that comes across as phony, immature and honestly stupid. She does not come across as a very smart.

        The second she said “we all have to deal with disappointment” about Jordyn she lost me for good. I still think how happy she was after qualifying was a FU to Jordyn because she beat her out for a spot in the AA.

      • mim Says:

        i’ll volunteer my legal services to gabby! haha. you’re right, she needs a good lawyer stat.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes, that was the point of no return for me too. I don’t really see what dissapointment Gabby has faced (upheaval of moving not a dissapointment), unless not qualifying for worlds AA when she had low difficulty somehow equates to the Olympics.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t really care what Gabby does with the money she will earn. All I know is that what’s being quoted for her is much lower than what Nastia or Shawn were expected to earn (and I’m assuming much lower than what they have earned, given Shawn is relying on DWTS to continue her fame and Nastia’s last Subway commercial is about to air). Especially Nastia, who, even though she’s as fake as they come is technically more accomplished in the sport. Yet she’ll never come close to what Gabby’s bound to make. I think a lot of this is due to skin color.

        And now we’re getting the “real” story behind her family (which is sad overall). Frankly I’m not much surprised. I just wonder how an expensive sport like gymnastics was able to be funded by Gabby’s mom, who said she sold a lot of jewelry and stuff but still was able to get her hair and nails done on a consistent basis. And let’s be honest, girlfriend doesn’t look hungry.

        Bet from now on there will be a major custody battle not over Gabby but over her money. If I were Gabby I’d be seeking a lawyer. Even her mom would stand better to tell Gabby to seek emancipation at this point since Gabby would most likely give back to her mom over her dad from the sound of things.

        I hope Gabby pays back her old gym, too. It’d only be fair.

      • Dee Says:

        Oh god “girlfriend doesnt look hungry” made me LOL so bad.

        The stuff about the old gym burns me up so badly, especially in interviews when she’s like “I needed to go to Chow’s because the old gym was not giving me good enough coaching” – among other things. I thought that sounded so class-less, even though she is only 16. Plenty of other girls have changed gyms and they do not say things like that. Be thankful that the old gym let you train there while bills were not paid and spent all that time and energy on your gymnastics…

        If I was that old gym, I’d be calling a lawyer. Seeing the projections of the money this kid is supposed to rake in, I’d be honing in on her mother and getting my compensation. I’ve been suspect of these people all along because of that.

      • Kazic Says:

        Not a Gabby fan, but I want to see her do well, if only for the sake of her status as a role-model to young Blacks.

        I really hope we are not seeing a Dominque Moceanu v 2.0

    • nero Says:

      Can someone explain to me this whole thing pre and post Olympics?? I never paid much attention to Gabby before, I mean I knew she would be on the team but I didn’t see her doing AA in TF then WINNING the AA

      From the little nuggets I heard at Nationals and Trials are:
      Her parents are divorced, her dad is/was in the military and has been overseas multiple times and came to see her at Trials

      Was there this whole dead beat dad angle happening before? Is this something the media is stirring up? Did Gabby’s mom just come out and say this now?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The dead beat Daddy stuff all happened after she won. Before it was, everyone should root for Gabby because her dad fights for our freedoms bull shit.

    • Dee Says:

      The best part of the radar online article was the comments people left at the bottom LOL

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah most of the time these days I read the title of an article, the first paragraph, then go down to the comments section.

        This was my fav comment so far:

        wonder how much she has seen them since 9 years old. dont think either parent cares. just opinion. besides, vb is not exactly a strugglng town. her mom acts like it was so hard to pay for the girl and i bet the military gaveher checks even when the hubby didnt. you can call the command when they dont pay child support. also bet thehost fam took most of the bill. moms story smells fishy.

  16. Kel Says:

    The dead beat daddy story probably wasn’t a story NBC wanted getting out pre-Olympics. Not the feel good story you want promoting one of your “it” athletes. I think Gabby was so happy Jordyn didn’t make the AA final because she knew it would be easier to win. I think Gabby deserves whatever comes her way…if she ends up bankrupt so be it. That AA spot should have been Jordyn’s after Gabby practically ran off the floor during her floor routine in the prelims.

    On another note…what the fuck happened to Shawn? She looks like a sad shell of her former self. She is so media hungry and so fugly looking now. Way too tan and way too blonde. ICK!!!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The tan and the blond hair looks weird.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I am so happy that the media is not focusing so much on Kyla. She has so much potential for rio. In order for these girls to successfully train for rio and sray healthy they have to literally go back to their old lives ans sau Goodby to Hollywood. You can’t have so many distractions

        Gabby is really underestimating how much the Hollywood lifestyle will distract her from training and chow is not foing to waste his time if gabby is nor focused.

        For now my vote is with kyla to return for rio.

      • Aerial Says:

        I’m not sure Kyla’s physique will allow for her to remain on top easily for 4 more years. At 15 she’s already the tallest and body starting to change shape since the Games already. (I’m surprised they aren’t all blowing up eating regular food wherever, whenever and not training. But I noticed Kyla the most.)

        I’m sure she’s got more great gymnastics left in her, though. I just hope when I see the girls on the second last week of the tour, they won’t have done themselves in within 4 months of the celebrity lifestyle. Hopefully some will train on the weekdays they’re able to around their school schedule as well.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Kyla’s parents are really tall – I read that somewhere. She is 5’3″ I think but so is Mustafina and I think Nastia was too. Who knows if she’s going to grow more; it’s possible but she has four years to sort it out. The only problem is Kyla doesn’t practice as difficult of skills, so she may end up having the same issues as Sabrina Vega did; very good form/execution but not enough difficulty to surpass the other competitors. We all know she needs higher start values on floor and even beam to be competitive in the long run; she could also up her bars dismount.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        No sanity dont jinx sabrina lol. She training for worlds next year and im praying that she has upgraded her routines.

        I must say though regarding Kylas dad. I saw a pic of him and hes a good looking man.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The important stuff:)

      • mim Says:

        kyla has looked great in this post-olympics period, she’s such a doll (her parents are also very attractive!). it’s too bad they have to worry about growing tall and their inevitable changing bodies to stay competitive but im crossing all my fingers and toes that she continues to improve her gymnastics for rio.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I always thought she was a cute kid but when they put the make up on her and put her hair down she is a gorgeous.

      • Aerial Says:

        She sure looked gorgeous on Letterman. They all cleaned up nicely, but it was extra nice to see the quietest member of the team (and also the most “zoned out” in interviews) looking so stunning.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I saw some of the letterman clip via aunt joyce and shes right if it wasn’t for mckayla the interview would have been ackward and boring.

        Letterman was asking the silliest questions. He was talking to them like they were little girls.

        Agreed that Kyla looked gorgeous and may I say other than Mckayla best dressed. Loved Gabbys shoes but didn’t think the outfit was flattering on her tiny frame. Jordyn…. No comment. Aly….love her but ….

    • nero Says:

      I would say it’s probably the infamous DWTS spray tan, but girl was orange all the way back at Pan Ams.

      I hope none of the ‘Fierce Five’ turn ShawNastia. In 2008 you could tell they just cared about gymnastics. Very little makeup, hair up and simple. And then when they decided to come back and grace the gymnastics world with their presence it was like orange tan and caked on makeup galore

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It still shocks me the change in her from Pan Ams to her Coke commercial (at the end) – she obviously hadn’t been training for awhile when that commercial aired. NOT saying she’s fat or anything like that, but she was definitely really toned at Pan Ams and her arms were not nearly as toned in that commercial.

        I don’t think the tan looks that great on Shawn but whatever. To each their own. I was surprised at Olympic Trials when they were talking to her that she had wrinkles at the corners of her eyes – that combined with the tan made me wonder if she wasn’t “fake ‘n baking.”

        It will be interesting to see in the coming weeks, as the Olympics dies down, who sticks around media-wise. So far I’m getting the sense that the two stars of this quad are Gabby and McKayla.

      • Dee Says:

        I don’t even know anymore if Gabby will wind up being a star of the quad, despite the fact that she won AA. When Aly won her floor gold I felt as though she solidified her ticket as being more of the “it” girl than Gabby. I feel like in the week since the games Gabby has slowly been promoted as the “girl with the family issues” and I can see the interest in her dying fast. Except for the young gymnasts…I can see young gymnasts loving her.

        I think McKayla and Aly will wind up as the stars, Jordyn will become a “Jordyn who?”, Gabby will be remembered for her family’s BS and Kyla will keep going with gymnastics but people will forget to connect her to the Fab 5. I personally don’t see Jordyn continuing with gymnastics…but I think the others will try, as long as media stuff does not get in the way.

        I saw Shawn had wrinkles, too! I thought I was seeing things but I guess they really are there. Is she back with that boyfriend? I saw pictures on twitter of her and the same guy she was dating before.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I think people in general are tired/fed up of the whole family background issues – they got their fill with the death of Anna Nicole Smith and the ensuing litigation over her daughter because whoever was her “real” daddy would stand to make a rather large sum of cash.

        McKayla could end up being the star of this quad because she has the looks, the media presence, and the personality. She also had something happen to her (kind of like Lolo Jones) where she should have/could have won and then a mistake happened. Guess we’ll find out sooner or later. Wonder if Gabby will have to “deal with disappointment” then.

      • Aerial Says:

        When will already cute and famous people learn, that extreme fake tanning (just like plastic surgery) actually AGES you? Shawn has naturally tanned-looking skin… apply some bronzer and call it a day, girlfriend!

        Carly tweeted Shawn during the games and said, “Can’t wait to see tonight’s game with our boys!” And then I saw Shawn tweeting pics of her (former?) boyfriend with her in London. Because I’m this cool, I clicked on his page and there was lots of mentioning of being in London, but no mention of Shawn and she wasn’t in any of his photos. He also seems like a dud catch in terms of what I’d think she’d want to be associated with… always tweeting about getting drunk, sometimes drugs, swearing. Especially considering he has an open page and he used to post like that when she was 18 and they were definitely dating, I’m surprised she doesn’t think he’s a bit of a douchebag. Maybe they’re friends on good terms and he just doesn’t want to admit to it.

        McKayla is already the star. She’s running away with all these appearances. Letterman did a great job continuing to mention McKayla and her face after the show – by now everyone and their cousin must know her at least as well as Gabby. And Gabby bugs me. Who has the audacity to say, “My goal was to inspire a nation, and I did that!” You don’t have the write to such a grand assumption on behalf of other individuals! Tres cocky and self-righteous, in my opinion.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah “inspire a nation?” Really? Mike Phelps is inspiring. You are not.

      • Guest Says:

        Shawn’s twitter has mentioned that “Happiest Girl in the world” in the photo with this guy. I think this guy is still a boyfriend with her. I think he doesn’t talk about Shawn many in twitter just because everyone has the privacy. Imagine if you post your dating life to the public everyday?

      • Aerial Says:

        Interesting caption. To be honest, he used to. But I do agree with your sentiment otherwise!

      • Kazic Says:

        I too see Mckayla and Aly as the likely stars of this quad. Jordyn may compete through next year, but ultimately I think she is too smart to continue for too much longer.

        She’ll probably graduate on schedule, go to college, and get on with her life. She’s too grounded to end up swept up in the lifestyle.

  17. Gymnerd Says:

    Hate to burst everyone’s bubble (I can’t stand Gabby either), but that “Radar” site is apparently the National Enquirer – not exactly known as a bastion of honesty.

    It could all very well be true, but I wouldn’t bet the farm on it.

    Carry on…..

    • tulip Says:

      No bubble to burst. Don’t care either way. Just posting a link.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Oh, don’t get me wrong. I don’t mind the link at all, and the mean part of me is giggling. I’m just trying not to get too invested in the fact that perhaps not all is golden for Li’l Oprah.

        Before the Olympics, I didn’t care who won as long as it WASN’T Gabby. Makes me ill to think of HER being all over my tv screen, internet, gym mags, etc. for the rest of her life. Hopefully she goes the way of Carly. Soon!!!!

  18. tulip Says:

    Don’t know if anybody body posted this elsewhere- so sorry if it’s a repeat-

    On Rock Center tonight, John Orozco basically admitted that he got nervous at the Olympics because people talked to him in advance about $$ he could expect for wins, by medal, etc…
    Then he ate mat. Just as we suspected. His story has always made me a little sad and I can’t put my finger on it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      At least he is honest but I am sick of people whining about money. Dude if you can’t afford to eat because you are a gymnast than go get a real job. No one forces you to do gymnastics.

  19. JAS4 Says:

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      i saw his dive. This guy is yummy but my gaydar went off though.

      • Kazic Says:

        Greg Louganis is his mentor. So your gaydar is probably on point lol.

      • Dee Says:

        Apparently he is engaged, but if you look at his and her tweets to each other it is mostly all bible verses so who knows wtf is up.

      • Kazic Says:

        Hmmm. He is yummy.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Gay or not he is lovely to look at.
        This olympics had some delightful eye candy from the track stars-Tyson gay to the mens waterpolo players-lord have mercy Tony Acevado. Then there is Nathan Adrian who I think looks even better then Lochte.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      LOL to the gaydar quote. Usually it’s the other way around, no? Gymnast to diver sounds a lot more rational than diver to gymnast. Wow. Well, hey – good luck on that. At least the competitive fire is still burning.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Phoebe Mills was on the 1988 Olympic gymnastics team. She competed in collegiate diving after retiring from elite gymnastics. I have never heard of the reverse though.

Leave a Reply

