Womens Bar finals, Men Vault and Ring

I have never felt so sick to my stomach over something I have no control over (not baseball related) in my life as I was waiting for Beth to get gold on the Uneven bars so right now as happy as I am that she won a medal I can’t help but mourn for the gold medal it could have been. BETH, BEth, Beth.

I would rather He won the gold (Nastia killer that I love) but at least I can like this podium. The first podium in gymnastics so far that doesn’t make me want to smack around someones little dog.

I have been thinking and a lot of people hate that He was “under age” and have no problem calling her every name in the book but people forget she lives in a Communist Country where she has no control over anything she does.

EVERYONE seems to have some sympathy for Tatiana Gutsu because she was from a Communist Country when in reality that wasn’t even communist anymore and the Soviets cheated calling themselves the Unified team so they could compete to gether and milk the world out of all the gold medals.

All the little Chinese gymnasts run around smiling when they mess up, acting happy and I always get the impression it is beat into them from a young age to do that. Imagine living in that kind of Society and than realize He could go home and be beat by her coach for not winning because that is what a Communist Country is.


Here is the start list. ALL discussion for the Event Finals goes here. PLEASE take all other results to their Blog.

Like I said in my other blog, If Beth Tweddle does not win the Uneven Bars gold medal this is officially the WORST OLYMPICS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!


OMG, Nightmare story time. I was writing an e-mail and came up with this horrible nightmare idea of what could happen in the bars finals. He Kexin is going to tie Beth for Gold and lose on the tie breaker.NBC could totally set this up with the judges. Imagine the movie NBC could and would put together if this happened.lol

If this does happen I am totally becoming a freaking horror writer. Move over Stephen King the Sox season is not the worst thing to happen since 1918


I am so thrilled Koko made the uneven bar finals. She had a tough couple years so being here is huge for her.

I am gutted for Beth’s dismount on bars. She had that damn medal, HAD IT. I just want to scream.

Mustafina was short on two of her early handstand but a great stuck landing. Best part of the competition.

Gabby needs to burn that leotard. It is gross.

Loved how the US girls were rooting for Beth. You could tell Jordyn was the happiest. I think maybe she appreciated the hug more than we know.

Now I must say, two dead hangs and all I think He Kexin was underscored. I won’t go as far as to say she deserved gold but I think it should have been closer.

I also want to know why no one is calling Gabby out for the dirty look on her face when she saw her score and that she was last? Komova is getting ridiculed but one fake smile from Gabby and the rest dirty looks is never mentioned. Hypocrisy at its best.

159 Responses to “Womens Bar finals, Men Vault and Ring”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I think it already is, I haven’t lived through another one live but wow the scoring and the crushing dissapointments.

    Anyway, I REALLY want Beth to won. Much as I love Komova and Musty’s routines and much as they both deserve gold in their own right- Beth’s routine is just more difficult than theirs and she really really deserves this. GO BETH!

    (If Gabby ends up on the podium I will go MENTAL)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The way the judging is going I expect a 16.300 for Gabby on bars.lol

      Beth must win. It’s all set up for her. She has had the highest score the two times she competed. She deserves this

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        If Gabby gets over a 16 on bars I will be stunned.

        I’m predicting Beth for Gold, Musty for Silver, and Komova for Bronze.

      • Kazic Says:

        If the judges underscore Tweddle, the crowd with murder them :p

        Saina I like your prediction. I actually like post-injury musty more than pre-injury. She seems to be a little less…razor sharp. I am a big Komova fan also, and would like to see her do well.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Kazic the brits will burn down that arena if they screw twiddle.

        If musty hadn’t been injured this Olympics would have been different. The musty i see now is different. shes definitely lost her fire. I wonder if I will see her in tye coming years or if her sister will take the torch.

      • Kazic Says:

        I wouldn’t say Musty has lost her fire. I just think she may have learned a bit of…humility isn’t the right word, because I’ve never thought she was overly arrogant. She was just…too focused. I saw her being a little more relaxed. Thought it was really nice the way she waited wit Komova at the end of the AA finals. I think I heard her say something about trying to maybe make Rio, but not sure. She will definitely go on for at least a year or two.

        Her sister is good, and will most likely continue to improve, but didn’t she have an injury recently?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Her sister had some issue with her femur. Cant remember if it was before or after Russian cup.

        I agree that she seems more relaxed. i never saw her as arrogant but she had more fire, more fight and yes she was way too focused.

      • Catherine Says:

        Thankfully there’s too much competition I think for the podium..Tweddle Vika Musty He Kexin and Yao Jinnan before thinking of Gabby’s routine. It’s Gabby’s beam that moreso needs to be well away from podium but there aren’t as many strong contenders there..there’s two obvious ones ahead of her but two might not be enough..

      • Kazic Says:

        Saina In her case, I am not sure the lck of fire is bad. She still has like, twice as much as everyone else lol.

        Catherine if they have a day like vault had where a lot of people mess up, Gabby could be on the podium. Prepare yourself😛

      • Catherine Says:

        Can’t. I know it’s unpredictable but trying to keep the faith..

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        It would be great if musty stayed on for another year and wins the world AA next year. Heck everyone already has Katelyn winning it.

      • mim Says:

        i read a nice interview where musty had said before her injury her gymnastics was very child-like but post-injury she had to accept her changing more “womanly” body and approach gymnastics in a more mature manner to match that. she seemed to be pretty down-to-earth and have that self-awareness a lot of girls that age don’t have. i’d love to see her keep going for a bit but apparently she loves physics/science/maths too so maybe academics are in her future!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Mim all the more reason for her to train for worlds and win it. A perfect wat ti end her career.

    • brainy Says:

      Sorry to say that the judges today proved willingness to screw GB and Louis Smith, so hopefully they’ll feel the heat from the crowd/ press and deliver for Beth T.

      Different subject: Here’s something to raise everyone’s mood a little:

      • Catherine Says:

        Not their fault the tiebreaker exists, it also screwed Denis Ablyazin and Aly Raisman.

      • Kazic Says:

        Right Cat, that wasn’t them deliberately screwing GB.If they under-score Tweddle, THAT will br screwing them over. And the judges will probably be promptly tared and feathered.

      • Catherine Says:

        Now their scoring is a different story but the tiebreaker is out of their hands. I don’t see Tweddle getting anything other than gold really if she can repeat that routine again with no mistakes, but London is impossible to predict.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    If Beth and He Kexin are on the podium I’m pretty sure Nastia will be hiding from the press until the smoke stops coming out of her ears lol

    • Dee Says:

      I forgot about He. How have her scores been? I can’t tell if she has a chance to podium or not.

      Beth has to hit. It’s gonna be hard to watch…I’m so nervous for her.

      • Catherine Says:

        High 15’s. She’s been hit or miss on that routine this year but only had an issue with her landing at Chinese nationals and has now hit twice in competition. She’s had a good rest now. Totally wouldn’t mind seeing her medalling. She also has higher difficulty than she has yet shown..7.4 instead of 7.1. If she pulled out 7.4 she could beat Tweddle if she had no mistakes..but 7.4 could be a disaster if she doesn’t compete it due to inconsistency/endurance issues..will be a very interesting final.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      it has to happen. It could save this Olympics for me:)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        If he wins a second gold on bars i so want nbc to interview nastia right after for her response. It will be priceless.

      • Jen Smith Says:

        I am unfamiliar with the He/Nastia story.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Which one? He beat Nastia on a tie break and Nastia whined like a two year old bad mouthing the Chinese girls on talk shows. Than her father ran around yelling about the Austrailian judge robbing his baby of a gold medal.

        Just for added fun Nastia congratulated the bars medalist and spelled He’s name wrong. Not a big deal but we know she did it on purpose.lol

  3. JAS4 Says:

    Interesting article about the new code

    • Catherine Says:

      Yes it will hugely penalise falls. And sloppy form. Maroney stands to win with possibly higher margins when landing vaults- though scoring will be much lower next quad.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Supposedly vault under new code will be calculated as

      DVT1+DVT2/2 +10.00
      VT1ex deductions + VT2 ex deduction= FS

      I sound such a nerd but i cant wait until they finalize everything.

      GTT hopefully UB will benefit but it sounds like FX will be scored higher.

      • Catherine Says:

        I HOPE fx has a hot mess choreography deduction built in. All I have seen is that they are not allowed one lunge back on landing and a bunch of deductions for pauses, lack of expression etc…see if they are actually enforced. I hope FIG are pissed at Gabby’s NCAA choreo, the leap whoring, and the fact that only one or two routines could actually be described as beautiful. Leaps out of passes is being kept, but the leap has to be a B or higher which makes it less likely. Uneven bars is supposed to get rid of the pirouette combo bonus. Hopefully all of this is finalised and a big enforcement on awful choreo.

      • Catherine Says:

        I mean ARE allowed one lunge back.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Lol I definitely want to see deductions for gymnast with no rhythm.the one thing i like about FX is the gracefulness and and style. Not the jerky seizure moves I see now. its why i loved Ana Porgas on floor. She got into the music and didn’t rush the routine.

  4. The Dude Says:

    I have a bad feeling about the rest of the Fab 5 who are competing (other than Gabby). REALLY want Aly to win a floor medal. Keep thinking she’ll fuck up again and won’t.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Shut up. You sound like me and since my Olympics has sucked the big one so far I am thinking you might have hit the proverbial nail on the head as they say.

      Damn it, all these episodes of Veronica Mars to avoid the Olympics has made me start talking like her. I LOVE YOU LOGAN!

      Okay where was I, oh yea, YOU SUCK 🙂

      Here it is. This thing is going down, worse case scenario. Gabby gets two medals on bars and beam and Aly steps OOB for 4th place in floor finals. I also have Aly nailing beam perfectly only getting screwed in favor of Gabby winning gold. If that happens boy will I have some one liners on how bad our beam medalists (minus the Miller) suck.

      I guess it all depends on who wins bars and beam. If a Romanian or anyone not a Russian wins beam you can hand Afan or Mustafina the gold on floor. I am still counting on my, lets save the Olympics Beth Tweddle moment for bars.

      I am afraid the Chinese are being punished for 08 and are going to literally get screwed out of a beam medal. Also a bars medal.

      WORST OLYMPICS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and now I have to go watch mean Veronica dump Logan for sleeping with Madison Sincalir when they were broken up and this was the beginning of the end for my favorite teenage drama couple since the show was cancelled and we got no 4th season. I blame this on YOU Gabby Douglas………………

      • The Dude Says:

        I actually wouldn’t care if Gabby or anyone won gold for beam, I just want Aly to get a medal. Hey, they can go 1 and 2 for USA, can’t they?

        Jordyn already has a beautiful sweet redemption and sportsmanship story that people WILL remember whether she medals in floor or not (though it would be awesome if she did). Did you not see her cheer her ass off for both Teams and AA for both Gabby AND Aly? People are going to eat that shit up and I am one of them. 🙂 She’ll be fine no matter what happens.

        Nonetheless Aly deserves an individual medal more than anyone on the Fab 5. Though I am concerned about her not getting that last layout at the end of the first tumbling pass, she has nonetheless still gotten above a 15 since quals without it. She can still win. Anyone know if she still working on that since the AA? I can’t imagine her taking 5 days off.

      • Alexander Says:

        He Kexin qualified second and Yao Jinnnans scores have literally been about a point higher than what they were last year, so I feel the judges aren’t gonna lowball China on bars (although they totally lowballed Qiushuang except in the AA). I feel more like they’re gonna screw them out of a beam medal. Douglas should not get a 15.5 where Sui Lu sits on 15.3. Douglas probably won’t medal on bars though. Her scores have been lower than Yao, He, Musty, Komova and Tweddle in every part of the competition.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That’s cute. You think these judges know their ass from their elbow. Gabby is last on bars. If they want her to have a medal, she will.

  5. nero Says:

    I love how Maroney gets deducted .3 for landing OOB and Paseka basically gets deducted .4 for landing on the judges. The amanar will be 6.3 which is stupid. So we’re punishing the nations who saw the writing on the wall and have amanars coming out of their ears, USA, but it’s perfectly ok to have countries who can score many 16s on bars??

    Find a way to make the scores on each event spread even, don’t cave in to the whiny coaches who complain the amanar is too big of an advantage. I hope Mckayla goes for the triple and says “You can take away my amanar but you can’t take away my FREEDOM!!”

    I wonder how many more tiebreaks we’ll have. We have 7 more events and tiebreaks have factored into the first 3 of 7. So mathematically we’ll have 3 more

    I bet Tweddle gets slapped to 2nd because of a tiebreak, Horton loses to Zou Kai on high bar because of a tiebreak and Jordyn misses a medal completely on floor from the tiebreak

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The real issue is why the hell does everything keep ending up in a tie?????????? Is this fixed before hand because some of this is very suspicious

      • JAS4 Says:

        The judges are making it clear who is favored and who is not I thought in TF Gabby was finally getting the correct scores on bars only for them to over score her in the AA Russia has been getting gifts on BB and VT and Romania on Floor and BB so who knows how the rest of the event finals will turn out lol

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Unless Mckayla stays on for rio and i hope she does just to see her do a TTY,who else in the world, USA included can nail an amanar perfectly with the execution mckayla has?

      • JAS4 Says:

      • Catherine Says:

        YES! I suppose she can’t exactly say ‘I plan to debut it at 2013 worlds’ because that would not come across well. It’s obvious she can do more than a 2.5 but to hear her say ‘I know that I can do it, I know I can do more than 2.5’ is awesome.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Good i hope she polishes her bars and beam, tweaks her floor exercise, and nails that TTY at worlds next year.

      • Kazic Says:

        It’s obvious that she can do more than she’s currently throwing in competition. Can’t wait to see a Maroney!

    • Catherine Says:

      AHA I have finally found the reason why the judges don’t care about Paseka coming off the mat: They can’t deduct for it, they can only deduct for an INITIAL out of bounds, not an OOB that comes after. FIG rules, more bullshit everyday. It should be: offline or step onto the red: 0.1 Land on red: 0.3 come off the mat entirely! 0.5 It doesn’t change the fact that she got gifted an 0.7 in being given it as an amanar at all http://i1248.photobucket.com/albums/hh484/mushroomhedgehog1/Pasekaamanar.jpg
      There’s also complaints about her second vault being credited as laidout- lots of people think it wasn’t. I was impressed with her second vault and didn’t notice.

      Also yes, the tiebreakers are a joke. Just give them a medal!

  6. mim Says:

    if beth tweddle and he kexin don’t get a medal for bars i think my already broken heart won’t be able to handle it.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    Gabby is going up last on bars why do I have the feeling the judges will give her just what she needs to be on the podium

  8. Hannah Says:

    Come on Beth! I feel like everyone I root for does not win ;( did not watch aa, and now I can’t watch vault, please let the rest be good😉

  9. Exgymgurl Says:

    After junior nationals way back when she was atbkylas gym still they said shed be training a triple twisting yurchenko…. Doesn’t surprise me, question is does she have it or did she before She was with her current coaches

  10. sainabou nyang Says:

    So to torture myself I’m watching VT finals. Just saw ellie black vault and omg i wish i had covered my eyes dor her first vault.

    • mim Says:

      it was horrendous to watch😦

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Watching chuso second vault oh my god its a wonder she didnt fuck.up jer knee.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Love how after mckayla sits her vault the camera goes to her teammates in the crowd and only Jordyn and kyla react to the fall.

      • Catherine Says:

        Really? maybe Gabby and Aly couldn’t process it it time to be shown on camera…can’t imagine they were in any way not surprised. Twitter is exploding in anger at the commentary.of Mckayla’s vault..how bad is it? They constantly go mental when she vaults, they better NOT have shafter her or called her a brat..

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        These Olympics suck for me too. Can’t believe the “head case” hasn’t fucked up yet every “rock ” on the team has in some way got disappointment. Jordyn no AA. Aly no medal in AA cuz she messed up beam. McKayla sitting second vault. Kyla no event finals. Mckayla’s is the worst of all because hers should have been in the bag. She pulled a Cheng fei from Beijing. Garghhhjjggg oh ya and NBC sucks most of all.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Gabby and aly had no expression. They were so chill.
        Haven’t viewed twitter,but mr samuel L jackson is on a role with his gymnastics commentary.

        mckayla hugged everyone except paseka.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Is it me or do you see a changing of the guard type of thing. Aly and Gabby seem to be getting a long better and poor Jordyn seems on the outside looking in.; Oh teenage drama.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Probably the media pitting Jordyns being left out of the AA on Aly is having an effect on Jordyns and aly’s friendship. That’s why I don’t buy the whole BFF thing. These girls compete against each other at the end of the day and at a tourney such as the Olympics anything can go down. Who knows though I just hope both of them can get redemption somehow.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never bought it. I think Mckayla and Kyla are rekindling a friendship they had as kids but the rest is pure media fabrication. They are teenage girls.lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What did Jackson say?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Also while Mckayla was processing her loss her teammates were happily chatting with Kate Middleton.

      • mim Says:

        i think the jordyn/mckayla friendship seems to be pretty genuine. im not sure why but maybe because they aren’t direct competitors (not like jordyn/aly for the AA). mckayla’s the one who supposedly gave jordyn her massive pep talk after quals and helped her re-focus, jordyn at least had the heart to tweet mckayla her congrats after the vault finals while the others were swooning over kate middleton (can’t blame them though). i agree that mckayla/kyla are picking up where they left off after being friends as kids but i think that’s nice!

        i still have that sad image of jordyn crying and basically hugging herself after quals and no-one was comforting her. maybe they just save all of that for behind the scenes?

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Mr Jackson confused Mckayla with Paseka referring to her has a drunk russian babe who took another fall. i don’t know why NBc doesnt replace al with him.

  11. nero Says:

    I just hope the media doesn’t come between these girls. Gabby will be whisked away which is understandable because of her win. But I don’t know how many times these girls can read how bitchy they are to each other and how fake they seem to one another and how X gymnast is mean to Y gymnast and they’re a clique with bitch faces

    I hope they can handle it. All 5 seem like good friends and the 4 seem like great friends

    I always thought it would be great to be an Olympic gymnast, but seeing all the hate Mckayla has gotten today everything from her ‘failing’ to her hair, to how she looks. It’s like high school times a billion. I’m sure these girls avoid the gymnternet as much as possible, but I’m a curious person I would probably want to read what people said about me

    How great would it be for Jordyn and Mckayla to go to Rio and have their respective ‘redemption’s’ I know it wont happen but that would make London worth it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No offense but moral high ground doesn’t work when you hang out here LMAO.

      I thought the world loved peppy Mckayla. If they run away because she didn’t win she is better off without the bandwagon.

      • mim Says:

        it’s a much healthier state of mind to be in when you have no favourites haha.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Thats what I said about about Kyla. Her not having a lot of the media on her is great.

      • Kazic Says:

        I love Mckayla. I have since I first saw her compete a few years ago. It’s her attitude that makes me laugh. She’s slightly arrogant, but in this disarming way where you can see she doesn’t take herself too seriously. And the shit she says…it’s gold lol.

        Kyla’s the one to watch in all this, I’m telling you. She’s just biding her time.

    • mim Says:

      mckayla has always been my favourite. i can’t handle reading anything bad about her so im avoiding the gym-ternet except for this blog, ha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am so glad I have never been there. Loving no gymnast keeps me sane of course there is all this hate I have,……..

      • mim Says:

        replied in the wrong spot, dammit ha.
        i agree it’s a much healthier state of mind to be in when you have no favourites haha.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Whenever someone constantly says wer bff’s or shes my besr friend I question it. I always figured they all like each other but outside of camp and competition I doubt they all hang out together. Kyla and mac i agree are rekindling their friendship which is good.

  12. Gymnerd Says:

    Yeah, I’ve been amazed at how quickly the ‘net has turned on McKayla. Anyone been to GGMB to see what’s happening there?

    • (@lygill) Says:

      tumblr still pretty much loves her and are basically saying sandra didn’t deserve her gold. dunno what those from ggmb are saying though

  13. sainabou nyang Says:

    Another quote from Mr. Jackson:

    GB screwed again by anothe pommelfuqqin Judge WTF?

  14. kittykat Says:

    GUYS, I just had a thought
    what if…………………
    gabby wins beam gold?

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I forgot what is Gabbys D score on beam?

      I say this cautiously but beam might be the one event she might not medal. Knowing Romania I have a feeling catalina will nail her routine. Same for sui li.

      • nero Says:

        I wouldn’t say that. She has a 6.5 d score and got a 15.5 in AA, if she hits like she did there she’ll probably get that score. Plus I think she goes in one of the last spots.

        What can Sui Li top out at 15.8? Then probably Ponor, Komova has a good shot for a medal also. Aly goes last but she has been getting low 15s

        I would say Gabby has a good shot to medal and Aly only if people mess up

  15. HPP Says:

    I don’t know how I’ll cope if Beth doesn’t win. I’ve wanted it for her for years. I’m so nervous. Don’t know how she does it lol

  16. mim Says:

    this is going to be a good final, i can’t pick who will get the medals!
    hoping for beth and he kexin to be the top 2! really reaaaally hoping for beth, would just be amazing for her.

  17. mim Says:

    he kexin 15.933! great routine.

  18. sainabou nyang Says:

    15.933 for he. 8.833 in execution. Judges are not playing around. These girls better rock it.

  19. mim Says:

    vika hit the low bar and didn’t stick the dismount.. 15.666. looks devoed.

  20. mim Says:

    beth’s routine was insane, shame about the landing but still really solid.

  21. mim Says:

    really really good routine from musty! im sensing gold…

    • mim Says:

      16.133 for musty!!! good girl.

      if gabby de-medals beth i’ll be royally pissed off.

    • Lauren Says:

      MUSTY ROCKED IT!!! I am totally solid with these standings based on how the routines actually went. And, I’ll be honest, I’m a Musty fan. And from my angle (not the best on this feed), she killed it.

      • mim Says:

        lauren i like her too🙂 she’s so much more likeable than komova to me.

      • Kazic Says:

        I like Komova better than Mustafina, but she’s grown on me during this Olympics. I think her injury has made her more…approachable. She did a great job though, and deserves a gold medal. All her hard work is paying off.

  22. Biyatch Says:

    Wonder if gabby is gonna throw anything crazy to try to get in the medals. i like the podium as it is.

  23. Cristan Says:

    Gabby fucked up.

  24. Biyatch Says:

    1. musty
    2. he
    3. beth

    • Biyatch Says:

      gabby 8th

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Damn what was Gabby score. Where did she fuck up.

      Go musty, although im glad beth finally got a medal.

      • mim Says:

        14.9 for gabby.. she messed up her handstand and took an extra swing to make up for it. lost momentum.. and then a small extra step on landing.

        but still a smile and a hug from chow, bless him.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Wow that’s not like gabby. It sounds like fab five are losing gas and making uncharacteristic mistakes.

      • mim Says:

        she didn’t look too heartbroken actually. chow’s probably managed expectations well for this final but you’re right, gabby’s been solid on bars so it’s a bit surprising!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Did she at least hug her competitors and congratulate them?

  25. Cristan Says:

    Mustafina – 1st
    Kexin – 2nd
    Tweddle – 3rd

  26. mim Says:

    gabby’s leo means business.
    good attempt to her but I LOVE the top 3! so happy.

  27. H Says:

    Great routine from Musty.
    So happy that Beth at least medal!🙂

  28. nero Says:

    It was always going to be easier for Gabby to win a beam medal than bars. Even if she hit she wasn’t getting 15.8+

    Oh Beth Beth Beth. She would have won if it if she would have stuck the dismount, she’s done it before. Actually I can’t remember her landing it that badly before

    Good final, a lot of suspense. I’m happy for Mustafina, she’s a great fighter and tore her ACL, what, a year and half ago?? Plus she was THE BEST today

    I’m sorry but I can’t root for HKX. Even with the step Tweddle should have been 2nd. If Jordyn’s bars are labored so are hers. And that dead hang….ugh. Plus I can’t look at this result knowing in 20 or 30 years they’ll have their medals stripped away. She seems sweet and I know it’s not her fault but it’s probably only a matter of time

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Somewhere nastia must be laughing. Finally a Russian beat He.

      • mim Says:

        she’ll laugh until someone reminds her of her performance at trials…😛

    • Kazic Says:

      I can’t wait for the Chinese medals to be stripped lol. It’s why i haven’t been mad that they’ve often been underscored at this Olympics. They deserve it.

  29. mim Says:

    john geddert really doesn’t like komova methinks haha. gotta love his subtle comments about others. this time complaing about the “pouting” lol.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Over at AJ they have Komova ready to slit her her own wrists.

      • mim Says:

        oh thats awful, but what is AJ please enlighten me!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Auntjoyce is another gymnastics blog. She/he can be outrageous at time but also funny. Kind of like spanny tampsons blog.

      • Kazic Says:

        I feel bad for Vika. It’s just not been her day…week…year(s)…ever? lol. She seems like a nice kid.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        She has a little svetlana in her but I like her as well. I agree this Olympics wasn’t what she hoped it would be but she should be habby that shes going home with olympic medals.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It is the Russian way to look un-happy. Every Russian I know looks like that. I guess people would rather they look happy but if that isn’t your personality why should you act happy? That seems phony to me.

      • Kazic Says:

        Musty looked happy. In fact, that’s the biggest smile I have ever seen from her in competition. When she grinned to the camera, I almost fell out of my chair, haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She won, no need not to be happy.lol

        I hope Komova wins beam so she can smile. This Olympics sucks for her and Jordyn who at least got a gold

      • Kazic Says:

        She’s usually pretty reserved no matter what, at least when she’s in a competition. Ocassionally she lets the mask crack, but I’ve never seen her drop it all together. Of course, it’s a gold medal, dancing isn’t out of order for such a feet (see serena williams for proof).

        Me too. Komova needs something to be happy about, though 2 silvers for most people would be plenty.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I see it differently. You come into the Olympics as the shining hope and all you can get is silver? I can see why she isn’t happy.

      • Kazic Says:

        Good point. I love her, I just hope she doesn’t let the pressure wreck her.

      • mim Says:

        when komova’s on she’s ON but she’s a little inconsistent.. she must put a ton of pressure on herself to win as she misses out so much. but she shouldn’t have screwed up bars last night. sucks for her to always come so close though, that must be hard for her. maybe she’ll get a beam gold!

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      He thinks that mackayla was underscored on vault.

      I have a feeling that after the Olympics we wont be hearing to much from john geddert for a while.

      • Kazic Says:

        You can’t get gold with a fall. Sad but true.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The man is quickly becoming a tool

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        GTT lol I agree he is now starting to get annoying. Makes you wonder if Geddert has any other athlete at his gym that can be put into competition next year.

  30. Biyatch Says:

    Alright. Aly needs to bring it tomorrow. Full difficulty on floor and hit all her beam connections.

    • Catherine Says:

      Tough job with Sandra, Catalina and Afan able to post higher scores on her (though that floor final is flat to me with no Iordache) and with Sui Lu, Ponor, Afan, Komova and sadly..Gabby on beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Lets hope they spread the wealth here on beam because every Country winning is best for the sport which means it is time for Sui Li to hit the ************************* out of her beam routine and be rewarded for it. I am not holding my breath

      • Catherine Says:

        Ideal podium: Lu, Ponor, Afan/Komova. Vika needs a pick-me-up but the other two are too good. Ideal podum achieved today at last..although I’m saddened at who posted the highest beam score, I think they will all be scored fairly or inflated in proportion like today’s. Hopefully.

      • Kazic Says:

        I really hope Aly can do it. The judges owe her one IMO -_-

      • Catherine Says:

        She could medal in floor I think, but beam would be very tough. I don’t like this idea of the judges giving pity scores because they owe someone..like when they tried sooo hard to give Sveta the gold in 2004 AA. I’m hoping for more fair scores all around, good job on bars today.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I really hope the scoring is good tomorrow although it may be too much to ask for two days in a row lol

  31. mim Says:

    i love how excited the crowd is for beth’s bronze. the aussie media have been a-holes and getting mad at all our athletes for getting silver (basically to their faces immediately after each competition) instead of gold.

    really happy for beth (and musty and he)! hope aly and jordyn bring it tomorrow but with the only decent aussie competing and as i love afan’s routine more than anyone else’s i’ll have mixed feelings about who i want to win.

  32. Jenna (@evrlngwatrfalls) Says:

    Lol on Twitter Nastia couldn’t even get He Kexin’s name right. Said “He Xien”

  33. JAS4 Says:

    I actually think this time the Judges actually got it right for once Beth’s routine was awesome but the dismount cost her but Mustafina, He Kexin, and Beth all did really well! I was hoping Betg would win gold but I’m glad she got a medal!

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      This is one event final i can happily watch in peace. NBC better not cut anything out. I even want to see koko’s routine. Accordingly to Blythe at the examiner she actually stuck the routine.

      • Catherine Says:

        Koko’s was really good, but her releases were pretty flat. Good lines and energy I thought. Elizabeth Seitz was also a pleasure to watch.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        NBC will show the winners, Komova messing up and Gabby and it will take all of 5 minutes to show. I would not get your hopes up

      • Catherine Says:

        But don’t forget you can always use an IP shield and watch the FULL eurosports coverage or BBC. Eurosports have everything archived🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My computer hates me or I would try. Someday it will all be on youtube and I am passed the point of wanting to watch any of this anymore. I am kind of gutted that Beth did not win gold. It was the one thing that needed to happen and it didn’t. I hope she now gets some credit from her Country. She was ignored last time. There was an article

      • Kazic Says:

        The crowd gave her major love for the bronze. I too am disappointed. It was supposed to be her moment. I am glad for Aliya though. I can’t imagine what it means for her to come back from an injury that can end a career, and having people say she’s not quite as good as she used to be… Then to win Gold. I can’t be mad at her.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yeah it gives you lots of banner ads and pop ups so probably wise not to try. Well rags like the Daily Mail (national enquirer style) probably snubbed her last time but I’m very exposed to British media here next door to it and there was a good outpouring of sympathy for her ending in fourth and a hope she would continue. This time around she will be a bit lumped in to PH and the TF bronze but hopefully she can stand alone too. The media is very see-saw, they’ll latch onto her. the DM had an article on McKayla TF vault only to tear strips off her, only post the grim-faced podium photos and call her a spoiled brat yesterday. Still, they like home victories.

  34. Kazic Says:

    And South Korea runs off with the men’s Vault gold. Hey look, something I expected to occur ACTUALLY happened 0_0

  35. Alexander Says:

    INCREDIBLY HAPPY with podium.
    One irk though, there’s no way Yao Jinnan’s E score should have been so close to Beths. Even besides the dismount, every one of Beths pirouettes was frankly pretty crap, Yao Jinnan literally hit a perfect routine.

    Still stoked for Beth to get her first Olympic medal, stoked for the comeback (and GOLD!!!) for Mustafina, who has become very endearing these Olympics.

    However, I’m most stoked for He to prove everyone – who decided that because she fell twice in competition that she would never be capable of hitting a bar routine ever again – wrong.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am glad He hit, I wish she would have won if anyone was going to win not being Beth.

  36. Jenna (@evrlngwatrfalls) Says:

    “All the little Chinese gymnasts run around smiling when they mess up, acting happy and I always get the impression it is beat into them from a young age to do that. Imagine living in that kind of Society and than realize He could go home and be beat by her coach for not winning because that is what a Communist Country is.”

    Look, the Chinese coaches don’t beat their gymnasts. Period. And there’s a different between cruelty and Communism, I’m sorry. One does not necessitate the other. I definitely don’t agree with Communism or a lot of the things China has done/doing, but I hate how everyone makes cruelty charges for everything, anything China does, no matter what. Like there hasn’t been plenty of abuse in “free countries” either. Those emotions those gymnastics have, happy or sad, are just as real as everyone else’s. Don’t just make empty assumptions.

    Sorry not to get bent out of shape, it’s just one of my gripes with the sports community in general.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I know people that have lived in China and will disagree with you about the way it is to live there. I am sorry you don’t agree but I am allowed my opinion and I do not trust the people in charge. I don’t want to hear the BS that I am a China hater either because I have always been a huge fan of their gymnasts and that fact that they could be beat if they don’t win is a possibility being they have no rights in their Country.

      • Jenna (@evrlngwatrfalls) Says:

        Okay I’m not calling you a China hater by any means, and sorry if my last post offended you. I was just ranting and didn’t even look the post over. I guess we’re both entitled to our opinions. I do agree with the rest of your post though – even if there are abuses (and I’m 50/50 with the age thing), people shouldn’t be hating on the girls themselves. They are blameless. I do admit that China has done some horrible things to their citizens in the past and present. Let’s let this rest. It’s obviously a sore spot for both of us (and probably the entire world haha).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My point is that everyone blames He for being allegedly “under age” yet they don’t harass her wins as much as they do with soemone like Gutsu. I agree it is not fair. I hope Sui wins beam tomorrow and I hate her going first/

      • Jenna (@evrlngwatrfalls) Says:

        Yeah I should have learned by now that gymnastics is never fair. Kind of makes me wonder why I still watch it so much because it’s basically setting me up for disappointment/anger 90% of the time. I hope Sui wins too, especially because she didn’t make floor finals, but I’m nervous. The judges better not screw around with scoring, but I know better than to think that will actually happen.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        These judges have plain sucked. Giving Gabby a 15.5 in the AA means these judges cannot be trusted.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Why didn’t sui make floor? I only have NBC coverage and they are anti China…. feck.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Plus that was so 5 days ago. This freaking competition is taking too long

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        and another thing. Poor gymnasts from 1992 had to compete all their event finals in one day. All these spoiled brats today get like 5 days off between competing.

Leave a Reply

