I love Andy Memmel

He hasn’t sold out to the Kelloggs tour of Champions. I love this bitter article. NBC is so clueless. They should have played up the Jordyn was screwed angle. It would have been a ratings winner.

26 Responses to “I love Andy Memmel”

  1. Another Gym Mom Says:

    Lived in Wisconsin for 20 years. Andy and his entire family are the real deal.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I love how mad he is. i wish he would speak out more. Chellsie got her Kelloggs deal. They can'[t take it back now it’s time for heads to roll. Marta’s head specifically🙂

      • Casc Says:

        It is so great that finally somebody (the Memmel Team) screwed usagym, at last. And I thought that Andy Memmel has to be a great guy and also a great father 2 months ago already, remember what he said about this whole thing with petition etc.?

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Can’t wait for Geddert to get on this train…sadly, probably more people will take note and listen if the male coaches speak up (as opposed to the female gymnasts/athletes who “complain” if they’re “losers.”)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      When you have a gymnast I guess you have to shut up but Andy doesn’t have a gymnast anymore:)

  3. gymglitterxx Says:

    GTT a little of topic but I’ve been wondering if you think Carly or Khorkina deserved the all around gold?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m not GTT but I think Carly deserved it. That’s little ‘ol me though. Khorkina probably got robbed in 2000 with that whole vault debacle.

    • Dee Says:

      I’m not GTT either, LOL, but Carly deserved it…although I was pulling hard for Khorkina. I always loved her gymnastics, I was not really a Carly fan. But Carly had a great day and proved that it really was hers.

      • Catherine Says:

        Khorkina was well overscored. She was past her best in 2004, it’s like they were trying to make up for 2000 by gifting her the gold, but weren’t able to pull if off because she wasn’t good enough and Carly rocked it.

  4. mim Says:

    does he mean communist like “communist style” or does he actually mean dictatorship (because that’s what it sounds like to me.. the karolyis are the all-powerful don’t-mess-with-them dictators).

    either way it’s good to see someone speaking out if it’s as bad as people say it is.

    maybe someone should ship the karolyi’s to australia for a bit. at least we might get some more decent gymnasts!

  5. JAS4 Says:

    I think Andy Memmel should be the new president or team coordinator of USAG!

  6. JAS4 Says:

    GTT I think you should find Andy Memmel’s email and see if he wants to tell all lol!

  7. Casc Says:

    By the way, Jordyn is trending today even on… filestube. The only thing you can find there about her is her floor music. But I think everyone knows that it’s a “Wild Dance” by ukrainian artist Ruslana (this songs actually won an Eurovision award few years ago).
    (Sorry for my “mousewriting” but unfortunately I can’t write with a right hand and can’t use mouse with a left hand, LOL.

    • Casc Says:

      http://i50.tinypic.com/211vy3d.jpg (Now I know that [img] doesn’t work in wordpress comments, maybe pure html code does?)

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Jordyn needs to just be jordyn today period. The FIG judges have a chance to fix this and they will. Im fairly certain USA wins a team gold as long as they all hit better than prelims. I want it now for Jordyn, not for Marta not for Gabby but for Jordyn and Aly and Kyla and even Mannoying.

      • Casc Says:

        Why you don’t like McKayla? I think she is very smart; she does basically one event, but it is enough to get her on the team, just in case there won’t be other medals, and selections comitee can’t allow that. And by doing one event she is able to get two golds, both in team and vault, and it would be hard to beat for anyone to get more than two gold medal;s im gymnastics. Maybe Aly can get gold on floor and any medal on beam, but that’s it. Gold on bars should go to Tweddle (that routine is sick), gold on beam will go to China or Romania and gold in AA probably to Komova, since rules already eliminated her potential challenger (ok, maybe Aly can do this, but she would have to another great day, what’s the chance.). So Mckayla can be the biggest winner in the end, and if they get gold today, she will be only two vaults away of double gold. I hope she doesn’t rertire immediately, I don’t think it worked out for 2008 Olympians very good.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yeah I have to say McKayla is up there with the most likeable gymnasts this quad. Refreshing and original in interviews, good personality, exceptional on one event, possibly an AAer if they can fix her bars in the future, artistic dance and so so likely to throw a TTY in the future. I love her.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I like McKayla a lot too🙂 Amazing vaulter, original and sassy in interviews (without coming off as arrogant IMO.)

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I love Mckayla too (no surprise I said that). The only reason I can think she turns some people off is her regal bearing and that way she is always looking down slightly. It gives the impression to some people she is standoffish but she really is not at all. She definitely has a great personality, gives great interviews, and IMO has Hollywood looks. I also agree she probably is the only gymnast we have who is going to get an individual gold.

        BTW, did you see that clip they ran of her on NBC the other night where she talked about growing up best friends with Kyla? It was funny when they showed home videos of her in the gym with Kyla when they were about six. She was looking slighty down just like she does now.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        And if Mckayla can just get that guy Morgenstein as her agent, she is on her way!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Totally Terri, Morgenstein is her golden ticket🙂 He will make her a household name in no time!😉

  8. Luckystar Says:

    The American TF Leo’s aren’t my favorite, but they are not hot pink so I’m happy.

  9. Luckystar Says:

    The Canadian commentator made a bad joke about renaming the North Greenwich Arena the North Greenwich Theater because of all the drama *eye roll*

    The girls are KILLING their amanars. Even Gabby did awesome!!

  10. gymnastwannabe Says:

    I think Geddert should team up with Memmel. In a bit of a passive aggressive way, he stands up to her in his blogs and sounds like he tries to advocate for his athlete. I wonder if the other coaches do this,too? I think Geddert really cares for the athletes, like Memmel. He knows they need a balance of hard work, play, and rest.

  11. tulip Says:

    Andy and Chellsie- please please please write a book! Expose USAG, FIG, judging, the politics, everything… and tell us what it’s like to be the coach of a classy World champion!

Leave a Reply

