Waiting for Sunday

Sorry for the lack of updates but I am on vacation the next two weeks so my boss made sure I did all the work I would have been doing before hand. You suck boss.

I am working on the twitter approval. I plan on replying to all the requests so please be patient if you don’t get an e-mail back or approved right away.

I technically have to work Sunday but when I originally agreed to do it I thought I would only be missing mens prelims but it turns out it is womens prelims so I will be calling in sick. There will be live blogging if I can get my butt out of bed at 10 am:)

Off to see what I missed and thanks to everyone that joined twitter. Remember if you want to join you have to leave a reply here with the information and send me any e-mail at the_real_gymtruthteller@yahoo.com I’ll get back to you as soon as I can:)


and my new e-mail is,



So I have been catching up on the Podium training from either today or yesterday. I am not sure. I so far have seen Vault and Bars They still work at this link. Beam and floor have been removed.

The US women were on the Today show today. I have not watched that yet but here is the video I just watched it. I’ll keep quiet on my opinion of it. Lets just say someone needs to teach Mckayla and Gabby a little humility. I hope it doesn’t come by way of a silver medal.

Gymnastike is telling us who the best tumbler is. Do you agree? I have to watch to find out.

The men have their line up. Horton and Mikulak are not doing AA. I guess that is a way to make sure your two “it” gymnasts get to do the AA. This article insists it is all about team but give me a break, IT’S PRELIMS, it really makes no difference who is doing it in the prelims for a team medal. I don’t care enough about the men to care but it just seems unfair that Sam Mikulak isn’t doing the AA.

Horton is doing Pommels?

PH: Horton, Mikulak, Leyva, Orozco
RG: Dalton, Leyva, Orozco, Horton
VT: Leyva, Orozco, Mikulak, Dalton
PB: Mikulak, Horton, Orozco, Leyva
HB: Mikulak, Orozco, Horton, Leyva
FX: Orozco, Leyva, Mikulak, Dalton


Jordyn’s mom has a blog.
It is fun to read.

More podium training info.

Geddert has a new blog. The girls and Marta decide the leotards? GOD HELP US. NO PINK

Ice bathing, the new it thing?
Lordy lord.

Tags: , , , ,

32 Responses to “Waiting for Sunday”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ugh it’s going to be 7 a.m. my time on the West Coast…hrm. I might have to watch it later but I’ll catch the goods on this blog I’m guessing.🙂

    • gymglitterxx Says:

      Are ya’ll watching the livestream or regular broadcast? I can’t get the livestream because I don’t know my freaking dish password

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Can’t you call them up and tell them you lost it? maybe they can reset.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      10 am is too early for me. I have to set my alarm. I just realized I am going to have to get up early during my vacation and I am not happy about that at all.

      If it turns out I am not here for live blogging, I over slept:)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      My husband thinks I’m obsessed enough as it is so I may as well have to wait until it’s on the TV (regular broadcast). GTT where are you going on vacation? Why can’t you call the shots on when you get up?😉

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am going no where on my vacation. I need to sleep. I can’t call the shots because all the gymnastics takes place during the AM. THEY RUINED MY VACATION:)

      • JAS4 Says:

        I have decided th Marta must have been in
        charge of the gymnastics schedule and that’s why it’s like that lol

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I am going to attempt to watch live but it may be from my phone so I don’t know how well I will be able to see everything lol

    • Dee Says:

      I might download that app and then try to watch from work this week. There Is no way I’ll make it all week without something being spoiled if I wait until the evening…hopefully it works on the phone.

  3. Dee Says:

    I can’t stop rewinding the Mr Bean/Chariots of Fire segment of the opening ceremonies. Please someone else tell me they know what I am talking about. I can’t stop laughing at the ending and the note that sounded like a fart!

    • missy Says:

      I love Mr Bean!

    • nero Says:

      That was great. The opening was the best part, going from agricultural to industrial. I thought that was really cool and the music was great and intense. After that, except for the Mr. Bean part, I thought it really went downhill.

      I was captivated by the first part and as it went on longer I found myself not really paying attention. Overall though I thought it was good.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The Mr. Bean part was funny and overall not a bad opening ceremony. I thought the whole gag of Daniel Craig and the “Queen” supposedly sky diving into the arena was pretty stupid though.

      • Dee Says:

        Oh Lordy I know…I called my gram and asked if she would jump like the Queen and she said “that was ridiculous!” (they are roughly the same age)

    • Gymbee Says:

      Loved that, I laughed so hard throughout the whole thing!

  4. nero Says:

    Ok peeps, men’s gymnastics starts tomorrow at 10:30 EST, 8:30 here ugh. I’ll be up for it because hey it’s the Olympics! Will I be alone??

    Also the great battle of Lochte v Phelps is tomorrow at 12:30 my time, really looking forward to that

    IDK if it does your time automatically but this thing is going to be my savior for the next few weeks

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nope. I will probably be out of bed b y 3 eastern time.lol V=A=C=A=T=I=O=N

    • Dee Says:

      Im getting up to watch online. I think I’ll join the twitter train, too, so maybe I can keep up with those who are watching!

  5. tulip Says:

    I love it that you’re calling in! I would do the same. I’m taking vacation this week because I am an Olympics junkie.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I always work sick so I can call in healthy and have a long weekend:) or in this case a longer vacation

    • Gymbee Says:

      Same, I’m taking vacation for the days of Womens Team and AA🙂 Glad you’re all junkies like me! Finally someone who understands haha.

  6. Catherine Says:

    I don’t have to get up early because it’s in my timezone muhahaha payback for all that 2-4AM Trials and Nationals watching. Smug gloating aside, I CAN’T WAIT! I think I’ll watch all subdivisions, 3-5 are the most interesting of course- but there are some beautiful routines in 1 and 2 as well. Subdivision 1 starts at 4:30AM east coast time by the way.

    Not watching men’s but looking on twitter, China are having a bit of a disaster and GB have beat them! It would be so amazing if they could get on the podium. Kieran Behan, the Irish gymnast with the amazing backstory (READ IT!!!) unfortunately had a stumble and fall on floor, which he was almost certain to qualify to the EF for if he had stayed clean. Gutted for him😦

  7. Alex Says:

    I apologize if someone before me posted this (I didn’t see it, but I could have missed it), here is the line up for team prelims: http://www.gymnastike.org/article/13634-Womens-Qualifications-SCHEDULE-and-DRAW

  8. Gymbee Says:

    Love the BBC commentary. The lady (Christine?) said “internally in the USA the gymansts are always scored high, so it’s always a bit of a disappointment for them when they compete internationally. In the UK we tend to score lower, but at least here they are realistic”.

    WHY the over-scoring Marta, when you know those scores aren’t realistic?

    • nero Says:

      I’m so glad I have expat shield so I can watch the bbc commentary also! It’s not just the USA though, Russia has some bonus system at their internal meets. The US guys have a stupid bonus system also

      I love the Olympics. Watching gymnastics on my computer and Brazil v GB soccer on my tv!!!

      All these Japanese errors just make me believe they’re going to hit hit hit in TF. I think the USA guys could give them a run for their money though!

    • nero Says:

      Ha Brazil v New Zealand. The top of my tv cut off the top name. GO NZ!!!

  9. Dee Says:

    I’m going to freak out. Direct TV, I hate you. NBC, I also hate you for making me have the stupid Direct TV password…cant watch it on my phone, cant watch it on here and now I’m on hold waiting to get the damn password. The end result is worth it: gymnastics!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      So I guess people like me who are going to wait until tomorrow evening to watch prelims on TV are going to have to avoid looking at this blog, because there are just too many of
      you who are going to see it live and want to talk about it, right? For me that’s going to be tough. I’ve become a complete junky for this blog!

  10. nero Says:

    Hey Gymbee do you know if BBC archives their footage like NBC? I would like to watch it live on NBC and then later go back and watch BBC.

    But if they don’t then I would just reverse, watch BBC live and go back and watch NBC

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    China and Japan… Kind of having a men’s meltdown

    • nero Says:

      They’re imploding! Still expect Japan to win though.

      Horton really isn’t justifying his place on the team here after trials, meanwhile cutie Sam is

Leave a Reply

