This cover kind of pisses me off and not just because it had Queen Gabby in the middle instead of the World AA Champion that lead her team to Gold at Worlds in 2011. It pisses me off because when the Mag 7 won they had plans to just put Kerri on the cover until the bombing not giving credit to the entire team. Those girls were robbed of a chance at the cover even though overall as a group they were more accomplished then this group.That was after the Olympics, before they were most likely never even considered for the cover.

Back in 2001-2002 every single team in the NFL that appeared on the cover lost their playoff game. The Sport Illustrated jinx started that year for me.

I am glad the girls got the cover but I think of all the gymnasts that have never been given a Sport Illustrated cover who deserved one and then I think that this is the team they decide to celebrate? Just seems ridiculoous.


53 Responses to “JINX”

  1. Gigi Says:

    There goes the gold for sure.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Of course Gabby is front and center she is Marta’s new Nastia lol

    Maybe that’s why Marta feels the need to boost Gabby’s scores because she almost quit gymnastics a few months before the Olympics lol (someone please let me know what she actually said in the video won’t work from my phone)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am calling lie on that. Gabby didn’t almost quit anything. It makes a better story.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Of course lol Marta wants Gabby’s story plastered everywhere hoping to boost her scores with the judges if they “like her story” lol that’s probably also why she is trying to put Jordyn earlier in the line ups than Gabby to boost her scores ahead of Jordyn even though Jordyn has had the consistency Marta would probably love to have Gabby and Aly in the AA if she could since there her favorites

    • Anonymous Says:

      Ok I get that Gabby is Marta’s new Nastia but I think the photographer put Gabby in the middle because Gabby is 4’11” and Aly & Jordyn are 5’2″

      • Anonymous Says:

        on another note… why is Gabby the media darling anyways!? I think she is annoying in interviews and she always sounds like she is trying too hard

  3. Catherine Says:

    I’m not reading anything sinister into Gabby’s placement. Sure it’s the centre but it also means the picture is symmetrical and balanced, the tiny pixie in between the two eh muscley ones, and then the ‘international look’ two below. The other option would be the three of them with Jordyn and Aly above or below but maybe this one seemed to ‘pop’ more. Maybe it is putting the media darling in the best spot, or just symmetry.

    I’ve never heard of this jinx before but I’m very much inclined to scoff. It’s all I’m hearing today, but somebody managed to point out that maybe the Olympic preview doesn’t fall victim because the last two featured Michael Phelps.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      The SI jinx goes back as far as I can remember watching sports. It’s probably explainable as just a matter of odds (you just always remember the teams or athletes that bombed after appearing on the cover as opposed to those that didn’t) but it sure has seemed there was a jinx at times. It was a whole lot bigger when I first started becoming aware of sports in the late 70’s/early 80’s as a young child because SI itself was a whole lot bigger. SI seems largely irrelevant now with so much sports coverage on TV and the Internet and everything.

    • nero Says:

      Yeah, and Michael Jordan was on SI almost 50 times! He sure did fine for himself.

      Plus these are girls, maybe they’ll be impervious to said ‘curse’

      It’s probably more mental for people. Like if you’re on the cover then you start psyching yourself out and believe that you’re going to do bad because you were on the cover. It’s not a curse it’s yourself for thinking you’re going to be bad, therefore you are bad

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LMAO, You think SI gives a shit about international look , let alone even knows WTF that means.lol

      The jinx has been around for years and if you had heard about it you would know it is always meant as a joke.

      • Catherine Says:

        Ha no but they have a very similar slight build so they go together very well, they were clearly thinking about height/build. Should have just said lean! There are loads of people freaking out about the jinx, it’s hard to tell when it’s the first I’ve heard of it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        How have you never heard of the SI Cover jinx. It’s freaking legendary.lol

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I agree Kyla and Mckayla do have similar body types but their bodies don’t look so slight to me. I guess in comparison to Jordyn and Aly.

        BTW, I’ve seen a couple of different websites that list Mckayla’s weight as 160 lbs. That is hilarious. Maybe on Jupiter!

      • Catherine Says:

        I’ve never even seen SI itself, I’d say that goes a long way! I have heard of it, but only in the context of it being an honour to be on the cover..not the jinx ha. Well slight as in not much to spare, not as in skinny. Haha yes that stems from a yahoo profile of McKayla, reckon they got the 0 and 6 the wrong way around, she’s probably 106.

      • Anonymous Says:

        The official oly list of athletes has McKayla at 102.

  4. terrigymfan Says:

    At least women’s gymnastics is finally getting its due by having its athletes as oppose to those from another sport featured on the cover of the preview edition. I would have barfed if they had put the lastest “dream team” basketball team on the cover.

  5. gymglitterxx Says:

    I agree, putting Gabby in the middle is so unfair and they just soooooo blatantly put the only black one in the center of attention! I certainly don’t have anything against minorities but they shouldn’t get attention over someone else (such as Wieber) who has better performances SOLELY for being a minority. But yes the media is going to eat this up and if Gabby wins AA (doubtful if the judges are even the slightest bit fair) her head is going to explode. But yeah I think she is the first black gymnast since Dawes (is Tasha black??) and she is the only one verified on twitter too I think.

    Get used to the wrong person often getting all the attention though. Everyone remembers Lolo Jones for crashing in ’08, but does anyone even remember who was the gold medalist in the hurdles? No.

    • Catherine Says:

      Well she would have stood out regardless really. She has the highest difficulty on the team and is a big threat for AA. Absolutely, she’s a headcase but you do have to acknowledge she stands a very good chance IF she doesn’t mess up. Also, it makes the photo symmetrical.

    • Gymbee Says:

      USAG tweeted that all the Olympians are verified on twitter I think.

  6. nero Says:


    That pic of Jordyn and Gabby is pretty cute. I’m not going to buy it so I need a place where I can stand and read it like a loser. Barnes and Noble? That’s like 25 mins away. Is SI normally at the grocery store? I never pay attention to their mags

    • Dee Says:

      Gah. I never see SI at the grocery store around my house, I usually find it in B&N or any other store like that with a huge magazine display.

      That picture of Jordyn and Gabby is adorable!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        When I was a kid SI was such a big deal. We had a subscription and I couldn’t wait to read it, although it was pretty rare that there was anything about gymnastics in it. Today with the Internet and blogs and all that I can’t bother with SI, although it is nice to see really nice glossy hardcopy photos every now and then, I agree that the pic of Jordyn and Gabby is adorable. Also the pic of Jordyn’s hand and wrist is interesting. Makes you realize just how tough that sport is on a girl’s body. Of course I hardly have to tell you that Dee!

      • Dee Says:

        LOL truth! I love photos of wrapped hands/chalking up grips…what a nerd i am hahah. Inspirational in a way.

        My husband’s dad gets SI and ESPN magazine, so as soon as I got to their house last weekend I ripped through The Body Issue. My husband kept asking what article I was “reading”. He caught me gawking at Lleyva in all his glory and rolled his eyes and walked away.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Hah. Of course I caught my husband gawking at ASac when she appeared nude in that ESPN magazine issue awhile back. He hardly even knew who ASac was but suddenly she was his favorite gymnast!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Of course I made sure I got an eyeful of the guys. Being a runner I am partial to the lean, slim runner type bodies, so I especially liked Ryan Hall. He’s just absolutely adorable.

      • Dee Says:

        LOL “suddenly she was his favorite gymnast”

        you run? i admire and am jealous of runners. i gasp and wheeze the entire time. i can do short distances, but not long ones. do you do marathons? my one friend is super into it, she’s been trying triathalons now…she started as a runner and now she is super lady!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I ran cross country and track in high school and also swam competitively. I also enjoyed playing skill sports suc as softball and tennis. I competed on club teams in college. Since then I have mainly run and swam to stay in shape. I’ve run a few marathons just to say I did it but am certainly not a serious marathoner.

        I have always envied you gymnasts. I have always had more of a skinny runners body. I learned to do cartwheels as a kid and finally, after a lot of falling on my ass. learned to do a front flip in the air. I decided to quit while I was ahead. The idea of turning flips of a balance beam scares me to death to even think about!

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    I think the jinx was on the second they won team gold at Worlds the year before the Olympics…the third time in a row. Silver, Silver, _____????

    • Dee Says:

      Yea, the SI cover jinx is not helping them any, but…I cringed a little when they won World gold thinking of the “world gold the year before the olympics” pattern that we have seen for the past few cycles!

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think the jinx is on period…. Did Romania ever win team gold withe the Karolyis in charge at the Olympics? no… We’re the Karolyis in charge in 1996? No, MLT had that team…..they had Kerri and Dom M MLT had Amanda and Jaycee Steve Nunno had Shannon…. the Karolyis are known for silver and bronze in the team competition… With Romania under B+B taking gold or Russia taking gold or China in. 2008…. We are one injury away from Ali on bars in team finals…. Marta has broken EBee…. Who will she break next?… Anna Li can take Kyla’s spot and Kyla could do AA in prelims…. And Sarah Finnegan is our backup? If EBee is hurt it totally would have made sense to put ASac as an alternate, and I’d be replacing EBee Now….

  9. Biyatch Says:

    Does anyone else think Aly and Jordyn’s legs look photoshopped. Like a lot.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Do you mean less muscular or “slimmer” than they actually are? It kind of looks that way to me because they always seemed so much more muscular than the other girls but in this pic all their legs look pretty much rhe same in terms of being muscular.

    • Dee Says:

      I think Aly, Jordyn, McKayla and Kyla all appear to have the same set of legs, actually….so yea I think they actually all were photoshopped…crazy!

  10. Kel Says:

    I don’t mind the placement. I do think it draws some attention to Gabby, but I think it would have looked weird to have Jordyn in the middle and Gabby on the end due to their body shapes/height. I do worry about what all the hype will do to these girls…hope it doesn’t go to their heads. They all retweeted the cover. I get these girls are favorites if they all hit, but that is a BIG if. Preliminaries will be very interesting…it will be great to see everyone’s routines. I just hope Marta doesn’t favor Gabby to the point where she overlooks her consistency issues for team finals. I hope she is smart where she places her and what events she places her on in finals. Gabby’s difficulty score is higher than Kyla’s for beam, but I would still put Kyla on beam over Gabby.

    • nero Says:

      Kyla will definitely go on beam instead of Gabby. Gabby had a higher score in prelims at worlds than Sabrina on beam and they went with Sabrina. Gabby might have proved herself on vault, bars and floor but I really don’t think she has warranted herself a beam spot

      We don’t know how picky the judges are going to be, Kyla’s D score is about 4 tenths lower than the other girls but I can see her score being very very close to what the others get.

      And there is no doubt in my mind that any of this has gone to the girls’ heads (except for one…) Jo, Aly, Mckayla and Kyla don’t seem cocky or overconfident at all. It’s the media that keeps saying they are going to win. Geddert was very clear to point out that they all know they haven’t earned anything yet

      I’m sure they know they are the favorites but I have not seen anything from any of the girls that they are counting the gold medal before they earn it.

  11. sarah Says:

    i’m betting on Douglas to completely crash at the olympics, The last month, they have put the most attention on her over jordyn, which is great for jordyn, shes been able to get away from the public eyen a little bit more, and now has more determination then before to show she really is the best usa gymnast.
    While Gabbys going have so much pressure and just going to headcase, she does that most the time under pressure, and what it more pressure then the biggest meet in the world, being plasted all over the world after winning olympic trials.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I think that’s why Marta wanted her to be behind day one of trials because when she was on top at Nationals on Day one then day two she fell on beam so Marta wanted to make sure she didn’t have the pressure from day one at trials this time but by over scoring her she is just risking her cracking under pressure

      • Another Gym Mom Says:

        I agree about SI cover. GTT, didn’t they put Kristie Phillips on the cover in the mid-80s? The Gabby placement doesn’t bother me – I think (the photo shoot director) was probably looking for symmetry and it is very appealing to the eye. That’s all. The color and the proportion is right on. Gotta admit, it looks good.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is so racist (not your comments) the whole idea that Gabby was put in the middle because she is black.lol

        I don’t care what her color is, if she was purple polka dots and green stripes she still would have been in the middle. The media is creating her thanks to Marta overscoring her.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think it would have looked just as well with maybe Gabby, Jordyn, Kyla on top and Aly and McKayla on the bottom or pretty much any variation of that but I seriously think since Marta couldn’t have Nastia on the team she has decided to turn Gabby into her new Nastia

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Another Gym Mom, the infamous “the Next Mary Lou” cover with Kristie was in Sep. 1986. She won aa at Nationals in the 1987 so I think it is hard to attribute her downfall to the SI jinx. Can you imagine what a downfall she had though in that year leading up to the Olympics? Winning aa at Nationals and then a year later not even making the Olympic travelling squad. There have been other “it” girls who have fallen and fallen quickly — Vanessa Atler being a big one — but I still say Kristie was the all-time queen of that.

  12. alex Says:

    I hate those leos. The rhinestone pattern makes it look like rib cages. Ew.

  13. Dee Says:

    Forget all this SI cover noise, check this out!

    Oh god I love the olympic year.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Brandon isn’t an Olympian.lol

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Did he look that way just from training as a gymnast or has he been doing bodybuilding on top? He looks gross to me. I like like seeing muscles and great abs and all that come from getting in shape from the sport itself. Never was turned on by body builders.

  14. Gigi Says:

    Do you agree with SI predictions for the medal counts? Team: USA/Romania/Russia; AA: Wieber/Douglas/Komova; Vault: Maroney/Izbasa/Chusovitina; UB: Komova/Qiushuang/Douglas; BB: Lu/Ponor/Iordache; FE: Iordache/Raisman/Mitchel.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No, Beth Tweddle is winning bars unless the judges cheat for the Russians. Beth deserves this.

      • Gigi Says:

        I love Beth. She’s been around forever. I was re-watching the Visa Championships and listening to all the Gabby-gab and I just have this sinking feeling that she won’t be able to close the deal. I don’t know if nerves will get to her or what, but I do not see her finishing second in AA.

  15. Katie Says:

    I just think it’s funny that they wanted the leotards used for the Olympics secret until the reveal at the Olympics, but they wore the Team Finals leos on this cover..lol

  16. Gigi Says:

    I think, in reality, they put Gabby in the middle because it just looked better and more balanced. I think to put Gabby off to the side would actually be more distracting. With her in the middle, you do focus on her first, but than drawl your eye outwards. JMO.

Leave a Reply

