Camp article and pictures

An article about camp hell from Time Magazine

and some pictures from facebook. because we always need to see posters of Shawn and Nastia. How would we survive an Olympics without looking at them?


99 Responses to “Camp article and pictures”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I love how they mention Dom and Marta’s response to her accusations where she doesn’t deny them but yet they don’t question it at all lol

  2. elitefan Says:

    “Hungarian-inflected English” ?

    • Casc Says:

      “But for Karolyi, part of the large Hungarian population living in Romania’s central Transylvania”

      Martha Karolyi was/is a citizen of Romania, but she is from Hungarian minority. I think it makes it easier to understand why they emigrated. There are a lot of sitiuations like this in Europe. Romania was run by very bad kind of communists (for example, thet allowed their citizens to have electricity only 3 hours a day, and they were living for years like this), co no wonder why some of them (especially minorities, which are always in dangerous position when people are unhappy) decided to run away (literally, calling this an “emigration” is a big understatment in lot of cases). And when comunists rule was over, they were all hanged on the streets (Yes, this it was end of XX century!) – that shows how people were pissed off by their rule. I think is good to know some background history, hope nobody got bored (to death)🙂

      • elitefan Says:

        I guess I shouldn’t comment before reading the whole article haha…definitely interesting to know the backstory!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        From everything I’ve heard Bela did not defect to escape Communist oppression but for the more mundane reason that the powers-that-be in Romania were wresting control of his program away from him and he didn’t like that. He was fine with Communism (and the perks that came with being a big shot in the Communist system) until people started taking his power away.

        Everybody knows I am know fan of the Karolyis and how they treated their gymnasts but I do like to give credit where credit is due, and there are two things positive I can say about Bela (this applies to Marta as wel). First, I admire the way he came into this country with a can-do, “I am going to succeed and nobody is going to say I am not” attitude. That’s the American Way in my opinion and I admire him for that. Second, he does deserve a lot of credit for the establishment of the semi-centralized training system. I don’t think it would be good if we just had gymnasts being trained by individual coaches only getting together as a group when named to teams for the Olympics, Worlds, or other international events. That is too ad hoc and unstructured IMO to compete effectively against the Russians, Romanians, and the other international powerhouses.

        It’s not the concept of a semi-centralized system I have a problem with it’s who they have running it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally agree Teri. I just saw a post under the article on Marta/Bela of a mom saying how her daughter attended a camp there and Bela showed her daughter a lot of attention and how he is so great and “I can’t wait to go back! I am sending my second daughter there as well!” Ugh. I wouldn’t put my kid within a 10 foot radius of that man. He’s a power-hungry force that will stop at nothing to up his own gains.

        Did anyone see that Nastia/Marta lovefest video? Anyone notice how creepy Bela was just standing behind them looking at them? It was creepy. It was like he wanted to be part of it since the camera was there, but didn’t know how to interject/interfere with that situation.

        There’s a reason why the Karolyis won’t retire…they crave power. They love it. They would take more if they could, I swear. Funny too how the article emphasizes their quest for “young” – can only be because they are so easy to manipulate and coerce. Yet Marta now only wants to focus on the “older” elites, so that’s a bit odd. Whatever. In a way, I would only hope Team USA comes home empty handed so USAG would have no choice but to send the Karolyis away from this sport for good.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I did notice Bela standing behind them in that lovefest video. I swear the man never saw a camera he didn’t love. What did Bela ever have to do with Nastia anyway? He hasn’t had an official role in anything since the 2000 Olympic team fiasco. Marta acting lovey-dovey with Nastia is sickening but at least she did have a relationship with the girl.

    • MacStabby Says:

      Ha! I read that as “infected.” Derp.

  3. nero Says:

    Jesus I CAN’T with people constantly asking where Gabby is whenever the other four are pictured together

    First there was the whole ‘ice-bucket’ fiasco with the 4 of them. People accused them of having a clique, excluding Gabby and being bitchy mean girls.

    Only to see a pic later that reveals A) Only 4 could fit in the ice bath and B) Gabby was in the same room the whole time

    IDK why I go on there, I think I’m a glutton for punishment. I was reading the comments under the post to vote for Jordyn for athlete of the month and 98% of the comments were ‘why isn’t Gabby nominated’ ‘forget Jordyn I’m #teamgabby’ ‘why are they signaling out Jordyn? This is going to divide the team!!!’

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      People are f*cking nimrods and have nothing better to do with their lives…same people are probably saying Kyla shouldn’t be on the team, she’s boring, her gymnastics sucks, and Nastia should have made it. Meh. I have to avoid FB until the E4Y people are gone. Idiots.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I don’t understand what the big deal is so what if they all aren’t in the pictures all the time there were pictures on twitter of McKayla,Gabby, and Anna does that mean they hate everyone else….No and so what if they aren’t best friends with Gabby they seem like they are friends and like each other and Gabby if BFFs with Anna why doesn’t anyone assume they are the ones that don’t socialize with everyone else lol

      • nero Says:

        Did you read some of the comments over on AJ or twitter? These people are accusing 4 teenage girls of destroying the team bond and saying that they wont win with a divided team. aksjdksajksfjas seriously, all 8 girls seem to get along fine

        Yeah, there was a pic of Anna, Gabby, Sarah and Ebee and OF COURSE no one was whining where Aly and Jordyn are.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I want to go and whine hahaha. If you see anyone go “OMG WHERE ARE ALY AND JORDYN! Gabby and Anna are so meaaan!” thats me having fun :-p

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I just don’t understand how people can just say this stuff and take themselves seriously…”they are going to ruin the team.” OMG. They should have nothing to say unless they are ON THE DAMN TEAM. They have no clue how it really is – a picture is what, a second in time? I love how everyone goes all apesh*t over a few pictures and try to call out a clique. Honestly it’s so “high school.”

        The only time I was wondering something was up was after the Trials Day 2 and Jordyn, Aly, Bross, and McKayla were all talking to themselves over something. Most likely it was how sad for Sabrina she wouldn’t be making the team. I think these girls are genuinely normal and nice (for once) and all get along great. They don’t “all” have to be BFFs, but at least they seem to make a great team and know how to compete together.

        And nobody was crying so much last quad when it appeared that SJ was the one being excluded. Geez.

      • Aerial Says:

        Tweens drive me crazy and it is so hard to share social media with them, especially about things we care fiercely about. End of story!! I can’t even let myself read the dumb comments anywhere but on limited sites these days without having to check my blood pressure. Glad I’m not alone.

      • Dee Says:

        Sanity: there WERE people on facebook saying “Nastia should have made it” and “Why was Shawn not picked!”…and they were ADULTS, not tweens!!! Kills me. I stopped going on the USAG facebook. I cant imagine what it would be like to be the media person for them that handles their social networking…I would jump out the window right about now.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Dee – yeah I know they were saying that! I saw it. I was trying to say that these people are likely the same that are saying “OMG, the team is soooo cliquey WHERE IS GABBY!??? #teamgabby”…blah blah.

        I used to go on the FB site for a nice argument or two with Mary Margaret (I don’t know why I wasted time on her) but now I’m just not going on there at all. People are such idiots. They obviously don’t follow gymnastics because if they did, they wouldn’t say Nastia should have made the team because well obviously we all know the reason. Yet the sad thing is – she was pretty much a lock if she had hit that bar set.

        Yeah my blood pressure rises thinking about it.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I’ve gotten to the point this is about the only site where I enjoy going. AJ is worth a look every now and then just because so much info is put out on that sight you get a good nugget every now and then. BTW, I just got banned from the new gymnastics gossip board. I joined just to see what it was about but knew I wouldn’t last. That Abomb really is a mean, trash-talking, foul-mouthed lunatic just like everybody said. I couldn’t help calling him out on something he kept saying and sure enough I was immediately banned, and called a “K. . .nt” in the process!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What’s the site for that gossip board? I want to log on🙂 Tee hee heee….

      • terrigymfan Says:

      • Gymbee Says:

        What is AJ’s site?

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Aunt Joyce’s Ice Cream Stand

      • Aerial Says:

        I just read through that Terri😦 Too bad a different opinion diplomatically stated resulted in that.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Oh, good God. Do they still spell everything with a “K” and think it’s cute?

      • Dee Says:

        On the facebook today someone commented about there being no Nastia or Shawn and someone finally said “no, they are not on the team. Get over it”


    • sarah Says:

      I know! i cant remember where i read it but they were going on about who should be team captian, most said Raisman (which i’d agree with) A few for Maroney and Wieber. But there were so many comments that it should be Gabby!
      Seriously? Its not like she dependable, or really leadership material.

      • nero Says:

        Ugh. I’ve read a few articles saying how Gabby is going to ‘LEAD the usa to London and team gold’ I’m sitting here like bitch she aint leading anybody! Jo is doing all 4 and Aly will most likely be captain. Aly has a much calmer demeanor about her, I can see her keeping everybody’s head/emotions in check through each rotation

      • sarah Says:

        God, i cant wait to see Gabbys scores at the olympics. See how different they are.
        I do want her to do well, but im thinking she will fall off beam at least once. Take a huge step after her amanar. Despite the fact Aly sucks at bars, i think she might get 2nd AA over Douglas.

    • Gymbee Says:

      God I know! I saw another photo of the Jordyn, Kyla, Aly and McKayla stretching together on the floor, and people immediately go “OMG where’s Gabby!? they are so mean to her, this will divide the team!”

      someone did suggest she was going potty, but then USAG said she was in the training hall or something.

      I don’t know why people are like that. Maybe Gabby really is anti-social and loaths hanging out with people haha.

  4. Catherine Says:

    This OMG CLIQUE stuff makes me rage all over the place. Newsflash: Anna Li posted a photo of her, Gabby and McKayla..together! Could this mean that ‘the trio’ aren’t plotting to sabotage Gabby? I wonder..

    Anyway, the girls all look healthy and there’s not much time left to break them…they’re leaving tomorrow! The Chinese WAG and MAG teams are training about 2 hours from me…how I wish USA would train about eh 20 minutes from me…

  5. doughnut sundae Says:

    Well, the Russian girls are in London. Try as they might, Alexander Alexandrov and Andrei Rodionenko could not keep Aliya from the ginormous Pepto Arena.😀

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      Whoops. I misread Queen Elizabeth. Too excited, I guess.😕 The men’s and women’s teams are packing for London – not there yet. According to Russian Sports Daily, they will depart in three days.

  6. Biyatch Says:

    Geddert just posted his latest blog:

    For the prelims he confirms they are using three all-arounders and then the other two gymnasts on two events each. Not sure this is anything of a surprise.

    He talks about not being pleased where Jordyn is in the vault and beam lineup. I really can’t imagine the scenario where Jordyn isn’t second to last on vault. You would think it would be Aly, Gabby, Jordyn, McKayla with only Aly and Gabby being interchangeable. Gabby with the potential to be cleaner yet land on her ass vs. Aly’s messy vault but consistency.

    Beam I can see how it would get messier in prelims. The leadoff is interesting because you would probably want to put Gabby up first but if she head cases how will if effect the other girls. Kyla is solid and clean if not spectacular. Jordyn has been a bit off but has proven her place (and has a beam world medal). Aly is solid and difficult but not the cleanest. I would probably assume they’d put up Kyla, Gabby, Jordyn, Aly. I can’t see Geddert really objecting to this lineup so my guess is Marta wanted to put Gabby anchor to “take the pressure off” which means Jordyn is up 2nd and not getting a great lead up.

    I want the olympics to start already!

    • Catherine Says:

      Interesting! best part is how he mangled Terin’s name…Taryn Umphrey! Ha Taryn is McKayla’s sister’s name…

    • nero Says:

      I love reading his blogs, it gives us an inside look at training and preparing for the Olympics that we normally wouldn’t. Meanwhile people are complaining about Geddert

      I’m thinking they want Jordyn to vault before Gabby in prelims. It is probably Aly, Jo, Gabby, Mckayla. We all know, for the most part, scores tend to rise as you go down the lineup. So maybe he thinks she is going to get low-balled in prelims that will affect not only team USA’s score but her AA ranking as well? Prelim scores at worlds last year were BRUTAL, Mckayla got a 15.5 for her amanar!

      I’m really on the fence with who should go first on vault. If we’re going by potential score it should probably go Gabby, Jo, Mckayla. But do we really want Gabby to be the very first person on the very first event? (If they go into TF ranked first)

      I have no clue about beam. Putting Aly up first is a good idea because she’s a rock, or do you put her last to try to max out her score??

      I wonder what movie they went to see?!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I was also surprised they were having one of the Karolyis camp sessions this week. What a treat for those campers to get glimpses of the stars!

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think I would put Aly and Jordyn last or next to last on every event except Aly(VT,Bars) and Jordyn(bars) the only event I would put Gabby last on is bars if someone were needed to pull out good routines and try we’re the last to go I’d trust Aly, Jordyn, Kyla, McKayla before Gabby

      • JAS4 Says:

        I also imagine Marta wants Gabby later in the line ups so she can help boost Gabby’s scores to be higher than Jordyn’s and she probably would love if Aly were to happen to beat Jordyn so she could have both of her favorites in the AA

      • terrigymfan Says:

        It would be funny if it turned out Aly, Jordyn, Kyla, and Mckayla went to one movie while Gabby and the others went to another. That would make for some Internet chatter wouldn’t it? LOL

      • Kel Says:

        I wonder if Jordyn is going before Gabby on vault and beam? I can’t see any other reason why he wouldn’t like where she was being placed on vault and beam. I just hope that Marta doesn’t use Gabby on beam in team finals. She has the potential to score big, but always messes up in competition. I hope Marta isn’t so in love with Gabby that she looks past her consistency issues. Personally, I’d love to see Aly and Jordyn qualify for AA.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Very interesting blog. I like Geddert, especially the way he advocates the girls getting appropriate rest. It’s amazing isn’t it how they are waiting to the last minute to say who the team coaches are going to be. Can you imagine any other sport where you are not told you are going to be the coach of a team that will be in something as important as the Olympics until less than two weeks before the competition starts?

      • nero Says:

        To be fair I don’t think the ‘head coach’ is really that big of a deal. The girl’s coaches can rotate throughout the meet, they just need one man and one woman coach at all times.

        In Beijing Chow was head coach but Mihai was there during vault, Valeri for bars and Chow for beam and floor

        I would imagine Akopyan would be there for vault, Chow for bars and Geddert for beam/floor.

  7. Biyatch Says:

    Geddert is head coach

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Was that announced awhile back or just tonight? I’m confused.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Just announced tonight

    • nero Says:

      Baha I’m dying over people freaking out about it. Saying he’s not a team player, wont pay attention to the other girls. He was head coach for worlds! That seemed to work out pretty well

      Plus, like I mentioned above, it’s not that big of a deal. The coaches will rotate in and out throughout the meet

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Does he get to make major decisions such as which gymnasts will be in each event for prelims and finals and the rotation order, or does Marta retain that control?

      • JAS4 Says:

        Not sure but I’m guessing Marta is still in control of that lol

      • nero Says:

        “There were a couple of line up spots that were debatable. In these cases we discuss the options and go with a tentative line up while waiting to see how training and verifications go. We will set the final line up prior to departure for London which unless there is a major issue is the line up that will be used for competition”

        Sounds like it’s collaborative.

        I wonder if he just means the prelims lineup? Because we know Aly and Jo will go on floor but I think it’s a toss up between Gabby and Mckayla. I can’t imagine they would say Gabby is first on floor, only to get to London and see Mckayla outscore her during prelims.

    • Biyatch Says:

      Wonder if no announcement about the assistant coach means Martha is doing it ala 2008.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Wouldn’t surprise me at all lol I’m surprised she didn’t name herself head coach lol

      • nero Says:

        My money is on Kyla’s female coach. I think that would be good for Kyla to have one of her coaches there throughout

  8. Catherine Says:

    …and he’s team coach! Sure he comes across a little bit obnoxious at times but I think he’s a great coach. Although, Chow’s smile seems to make all non-podium footage better, so I will miss that..

  9. JAS4 Says:

    They announced Kyla’s coach Jenny Zhang will be the female coach

  10. JAS4 Says:

    No word on Team Captain yet but I imagine it would be Aly unless Marta decides to make Gabby TC since she seems to be Marta’s new Nastia lol does Marta choose TC or does the team vote?

  11. Gymnerd Says:

    From the “Time” article: “Within two years, under Bela and Martha’s coaching, Retton, an alternate to the 1984 team, became the first U.S. Olympic champion in the all-around competition.”

    That’s gotta be a typo…didn’t Retton win the trials that year?

  12. Catherine Says:

    Rumour is Ebee is injured, source is GGMB pasted into IG though. If true, it’s crap to lose the back-up that can be used anywhere and has the best amanar bar one.

    • Dee Says:

      Great. I hope that’s not true. I guess it was smart to choose 3 alternates because if we only had two we would be screwed right now.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      If Ebee is injured, can they sub reserve athletes? Meaning can they get ASac to come take her place? Hahahaha I know, start slamming me now. I still think ASac should have been alternate over Lee. Only because Lee is just in there as a figurehead – that spot was intended for Nastia or Kyla, and Marta will never use Lee.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Based on the rules I remember reading, it is too late to designate a “replacement” alternate for Ebee. I am afraid we are now down to just two alternates. And I agree that the reality is we are down to one, and that is Sarah. The problem is that if one of the primaries gets hurt, you have to replace her with a particular alternate for all purposes. You can’t say, for example, that you will sub it Anna for the injured athlete on bars and Sarah for all other events. I’ve always understood that Anna is a bars specialist but not much on the other events. Tell me which of our primaries, if she got hurt, you would sub Anna in for instead of Sarah? Wouldn’t that leave us exposed in the events that athlete was going to compete in other than bars? Maybe Kyla I guess since she is going to do bars and beam. Still, it seems you would used Sarah even for that situation.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think it could possibly mean having to use Kyla, Aly, McKayla or even Gabby on some events that they wouldn’t normally be used on

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly this is why I felt that Anna’s selection was very risky. Marta was never planning on using her; she only chose her for political reasons (to show that a bars specialist alternate was always in the mix, when in reality the only bars specialist she was planning on taking was Nastia). So now, just for the sake of speculation:

        Jordyn gets injured – Sarah has to sub for her beam and floor; Aly will sub for her vault (or Kyla, who might score better doing a DTY vault with near-perfect execution) and Aly will likely also have to sub for bars (yikes, Russia will be handed a nice “gimme” there).

        Aly gets injured – Sarah will be subbing her beam and floor (which actually might produce better results if she’s “on”); vault and bars will be OK.

        Gabby gets injured – here’s where it gets interesting. I think again the best play would be have Sarah sub for beam and floor (might benefit USA if they don’t have to use Maroney on floor, depending on her consistency); Aly or Kyla sub for vault, and Aly will have to do bars (another gimme for Russia, but Sarah’s floor/beam will hopefully make up for lack of execution on Aly’s bars).

        Kyla gets injured – same scenario as if Gabby gets injured pretty much.

        Maroney gets injured – again, Sarah to come in and do floor (maybe beam but I doubt Marta would chance replacing Aly since she’s a lock for consistency) and have Aly or Kyla take the vault. They lose out on Maroney’s extra few tenths but could make it up with Sarah’s floor (somewhat) and possibly beam if she’s making her connections. …what did Sarah score on beam in other international events, since all US events pretty much don’t count?

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Great analysis Sandy. You should have been coach — or better yet National Team Coordinator — because you’ve thought all this through! But seriously I always had reservations about having Anna as an alternate for this very reason.

        Poor Sarah! Can you imagine the pressure that is going to be on that girl if she has to go in? We will have absolutely no room for error and she will have to come through (as will all the remaining members of the team). The bad thing is the alternates will not even train with the team once they go to England. They are training and living in Birmingham. It is really hard to stay mentally focused in your training when you are off by yourself and you don’t know if it really for anything.

  13. Dee Says:

    Those leos look like giant, glittery ribcages!
    Oh well, at least they are not pink.

  14. terrigymfan Says:

    They have that superhero costume look kind of like spiderman. The latest trend of course. Like some new college football team unis I see.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I hope this year’s leos have more “US flag” propaganda on them…I was kind of disappointed in Beijing’s leos – in fact, I thought they were ugly (the team final leos especially). Anyone else think so? I just thought they were hideous.

      I actually liked the team leos in 2004 and even 1996 – I just like seeing the dang US flag, is that so weird? Romania always does a good job of representing their national colors (even though their leos are cut REALLY high on the leg). And some sparkle is OK, but when it’s like BLING bedazzled out it’s a bit distracting. Anyway. That’s my personal take on leos.

      The ones the girls are wearing on this magazine are “ok” – I like the fact that it’s a solid color (and red NOT #hotpink) but the rib cage thing is a bit weird. I agree. It’s like seeing an exo-skeleton.

      • Dee Says:

        I loved the 1996 team finals leo. Alpha Factor is near where I grew up and I went to the factory once and saw the prototypes. The stars were heavily embroidered, like an actual flag…they were seriously works of art. I know I just outed myself as a huge nerd saying that…but they were absolutely beautiful up close and in person.

        I like “flag” leos, too, which is why I typically like GB’s leos the best. I think in a TEAM event, the leo should clearly depict where the athletes are from!

  15. nero Says:

    Rebecca is on the tour. The base salary is $100,000!!!

    So, USAG, I’ve never done gymnastics before but I’ll like move mats and stuff for $25,000!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      That make her decision to turn pro a little smarter. Her window of opportunity to capitalize on her gymnastics “fame” is going to be pretty small so she needs to take advantage of it while she can. College can wait.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I will totally get out there and dance around and do some cartwheels for 100k lol

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      This is the sort of thing that has me scratching my head and wondering, “Why?”

      Let’s do the math.

      2,500 x 40 = 100,000

      That’s about $2,500 per show, which is so far beneath the fair market value for services rendered it’s laughable. I think the fair market would be seven to thirteen times that, about $16,300 to $32,700 per show. This base salary would be more in line with all the effort, time and risk these girls have undertaken to get to this point in their career (i.e., to market the sport).

      Twenty years ago, bribing senior national team members with a hundred grand for a 34 city tour was laughable; and when the Magnificent Seven struck gold, it was hilarious. Consequently, compensation for the 1992 World Gold Tour was measured – at least in Kerri Strug’s case – with seven digits.

      If Team USA can pull it out this year, the signing bonus for 2012 WAG Olympians should be north of a million dollars – that’s the freebee for walking in and breathing on the contract, not the base salary (652K to 1.3M) or commission. Child athletes should not be taken advantage of physically, mentally or monetarily.

  16. Catherine Says:

    I know college in America costs a bomb but surely that would cover her fees for the duration? Nice to have that while she decides her future anyway.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Depends on which college she goes too but of she goes to maybe a state university or something she should be able to afford it

      • Catherine Says:

        Ah right. Wow, crazy that it might not be enough!

      • JAS4 Says:

        A small private college here in SC five years ago was 9,000 a semester for tuition so 72,000 in college not to mention tuition goes up every year

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Private college tuition fees, books, and room and board generally can run you in the neighborhood of $55,000 to $60,000 a year. I know because we are already starting to look into all that with our oldest even though we a still a few years away. I’d say the typical good state university is about half that. That’s unless you can get some financial aid of course.

      • Catherine Says:

        Wow. I was just thinking about fees alone really. I’ve heard about how important scholarships are, have a few relatives living in US. Here fees are about $1600 a year for all universities, and there is uproar about the increase. It was $600 when I started out 5 years ago. Private colleges are higher, but they are not near as academic and respected, and are pretty rare. Accom would be anything from $4000 a year upwards. I actually commuted to my uni so couldn’t put a total cost on it.

      • Catherine Says:

        That sounds odd, should have mentioned that no tuition fees are paid for universities and colleges. The Irish government pays them, and for all EU students. It is still a lot less though, arts would be about $7000 and medicine about $11,500.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The figured I mentioned are for the really prestigious private colleges like Harvard, Yale, Stanford etc. but almost all of them are really expensive.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Same in my situation. As a non-EU student in Great Britain, I paid around $15,000 a year for tuition only.

        I hope Rebecca has some money from previous endorsements etc she has done – also I think $100,000 seems too little for a 40 show tour?

  17. H Says:

    Heard that Jo needs to “slim down”. I do not understand that Martha (?) need to add that now, just before the games. I mean, the pressure is enough as it it or what?

    • JAS4 Says:

      Marta probably wants to starve her out of the AA to make room for Gabby and Aly but seriously Jordyn looks fine she is not built like 08 Nastia! Marta is being ridiculous!

      • Catherine Says:

        It’s another GGMB rumour, the one that also states Ebee is injured. No confirmation on either really. How can she get rid of absolute muscle? Luckily Geddert seems to speak up and actually be listened to, can’t see him standing for that.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I’ve never been on GGMB but maybe now that there site is having issues they’ve decided to make things up to stir things up a bit lol

      • nero Says:

        Wouldn’t surprise me. Mckayla tweeted a pic of them all after their last workout before leaving. They all ‘seemed’ to be in good spirits.

        Plus I agree with Catherine. There is no way Geddert is going to let Jordyn be forced on a crash diet of cottage cheese and tears to lose 10 pounds before the Olympics.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I don’t worry about Marta’s wrath on Jordyn too much because I think Geddert tries to protect her as much as possible

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Is GGMB that same board that I just got banned from ( If so I wouldn’t trust anything they have to say. I also can’t seem to find any confirmation of Ebee getting injured so that is probably BS.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yep they are the same

      • terrigymfan Says:

        As a liitle clarification. during the short time I was on there I thought there were some pretty good discussions going on, and a lot of useful information being hared, by the various members. The problem is this Abomb character who is lurking in the background and who suddenly will jumped into a conversation, make outrageous and totally unsupported statements about people and issues, typically using vulgar language, and then try to bully everybody into acquiescing to his views. He obviously has admin rights on the site because he immediately bans anyone who challenges him. He claims he has all this “inside” info on gymnasts and former gymnasts. I suspect he is lying or at least exaggerating severely, but if he really is hanging out at gymnastics events and the hotels where people are staying, like he suggests, it’s kind of scary. He seems like a lunatic to me and downright dangerous.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Sounds like a creeper/stalker to me!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is what GGMB does. Their group stalks the gymnasts at the hotel bar and tells them how great they are. It works. Feed the athletes ego.

    • Ness Says:

      I am not worried about Jordyn at all. John knows whats best for her and will not take any shit from Martha.

  18. H Says:

    Does it exist a gymnastic fanclub in US where constructive opinions are available to different main coaches? We have that in football over here. And it has often been proven useful to have input/reflection from educated fans that watch it from the outside.

Leave a Reply

