Things that make me laugh

I am bored, gymnastics is dead until we start the arrivals and this quote made me laugh so I am sharing it with you.

Lebron James is kind of an idiot and he made a comment that the 2012 Mens Olympic basketball team was better than the 1992 Mens Olympic team which we all know is freaking ridiculous so my boy ex- Larry Bird had a funny quote that I had to share with you.

” When asked if the 2012 club could pull the upset, Bird said, “They probably could. I haven’t played in 20 years and we’re all old now.”


11 Responses to “Things that make me laugh”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    You would think Lebron would know better than to say things like that lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Lebron has turned into such an idiot. I don’t expect anything out of him
      I loved Birds answer.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        GTT, I used to love cheering for the Celtics back in the 80’s when they had Bird, Parrish, Dennis Johnson, McHale, and everybody. One of my fondest memories as a child was when we happened to be in Boston during the 1986 finals between Boston and Houston. It was a day between home games for Boston and we were near the old Boston Garden. On a lark my dad snuck into the arena with me while the clean up crew was working. We just walked up into the seat and sat there for about 45 minutes taking in the atmosphere. The place was just like I imagined it from TV. Everything straight up and down and made entirely of wood – floors, seats, everything. (I am amazed the place never burned down.) The funny thing was the crews had put out mouse traps everywhere. There was literally thousands of them. The place must have been completely infested with vermin from all the popcorn and everything that had fallen through the seats over the years.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You just got kudos points for not saying Danny Ainge because I would seriously have thrown my drink at the computer screen if I had seen that

        I was a huge fan back in the day but I have no use for that team anymore.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        How come I suspected you were not a Danny Ainge fan. LOL

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He is the most evil man that has ever walked this earth. There are a lot of us Ainge haters out there believe me.

  2. nero Says:

    I want them to win, but I’m not going to cheer for them. God I cannot stomach ESPNs constant jock riding of the USA basketball team. We watch basketball for 8 months every single year WE DON’T NEED MORE. They are the best, they probably will win, it’s not that big of a deal

    In semi related news I was listening to a radio show and they were doing medal predictions and predicted GB to get bronze in basketball and bronze in men’s gymnastics team final! And everyone thought us Americans were biased bitches!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I agree Nero. I like NBA basketball (although my husband likes it better) but have no interest in seeing some group of NBA all-stars playing in the Olympics beating up on amateur teams. Quite frankly I have no interest in almost any of these Olympic sports where players are highly-paid professional athletes in sports with their own major championship event, such as the NBA finals, which will always be more significant and prestigious than the Olympics. Are they having Olympic tennis? How stupid is it to see professional tennis players in what amounts to be exhibition matches a month after Wimbleton? They were even talking about having Olympic golf at one point. (Sorry, but give me the Masters, U.S. Open, British Open, and PGA over the Olympics anytime). It also is annoying the way these highly-paid professional athletes typically do not stay in the Olympic village. IMO there presence is just out-of-synch with what the Olympics is traditionally about.

      Actually, the only Olympic sport that falls into this category which I do enjoy in Olympic hockey. Even though the teams are made up of NHL players there still seems to be the fun national pride and team camraderie aspect of it.

      • nero Says:

        I would love for basketball to be college kids. Hell even high school kids would probably make it into the medal round.

        I’m not watching ESPN during the Olympics. They are going to be all over the basketball team their first three or four games when they win 456-7 while ignoring the epic battle that is about to go down in gymnastics.

        I can see it now- The gold medal is won by the USA by .00001 after every single team fought tooth and nail and the American girls clawed their way to the top. Meanwhile USA basketball beats Togo by a thousand

        ESPN covers basketball for 9 hours straight and USAG is mentioned in passing

  3. Gymbee Says:

    Hahaha love that quote!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      The Larry Bird quote is funny. I’ve heard versions of it before. A few years ago a reporter asked a PGA player how Byron Nelson would do if he were playing on the tour today. The player responded, “I think he would just barely make the cut.” The reporter looked surprised. The player then said, “but you have to remember the man is ninety-something years old.”

Leave a Reply

