Lets plan the 2012 Olympics

Okay peeps we need to make this blog pop during the Olympics so I need your help in that.

I am on vacation July 30th – August 11th so I will be here for all the fun and I just want to know what we can do to make this easiest for each other.

Should I start a chat room and we can comment live while we watch? or do you like everything going through the live blogging?

I plan on watching it all live through NBC’s website.

The only problem I see is that I kind of have a baseball game on July 31st and I have the best seats I have ever had so I am not giving them up. I will miss team finals. I usually get home by 11.30.

So what would you like? A chat room? Live Blogging? Let me know:)

P.S.- I have internet access at the Fens but it doesn’t always work so I might need someone to send me some text message during the team finals. Anyone willing to do that? I would love to do it through twitter but like I said, internet access is limited. So I was planning on buying a cell phone for that night (throw away)

What do you all want to do?

31 Responses to “Lets plan the 2012 Olympics”

  1. hclovespink Says:

    I love your live blogging, I am in Canada west side not sure if i will see it as the same time as in USA or not!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I can do both, live blogging and a chat but I will call this, one vote for live blogging:)

    • Gymnerd Says:

      I vote for the live blogging, right here on the board. “564 comments,” whatever!

  2. gymglitterxx Says:

    Chat room please! I like the live blogs too but chat rooms are easier to all communicate with eachother than comments I feel. Also i will be watching live and would be glad to message or call you while you are at the game.

  3. nero Says:

    You guys are braver than me. I’ll be such a pent up ball of nerves and glued to the TV that I wont be able to type on my computer! I’ll like reading your comments afterwards though!!

    • Aerial Says:

      Same. I feel like I can’t look away or be distracted! I always check in afterward, though.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Same here. I get in a room by myself with no distractions. Hubby and kids are told to take a hike. I can hardly take my eyes off the tube during commercials much less look at comments appearing on my smartphone. I love reading the comments afterwards too.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    Either would be fine with me and I am going to
    try to watch live but not 100% sure and also there is a text plus app(I know they have it for IPhone but probably for others too) that you can get that gives you a different number to text with an when your done you can delete the app but like the live blogging but the chat or twitter(we all know I’m a twitter junky anyways lol) if possible would be good too!

  5. kate r Says:

    at some point I would like to discuss Terin Humphreys. Is she overly enthusiastic with eye make up or what?

  6. catherine Says:

    Yay you’re watching live, I was afraid of being a loner because im in Londons timezone and everyone else waiting for the tape delay. I vote for chatroom because I think a liveblog would have too many comments so it would be messy.

  7. Dee Says:

    i’m not going on the internet or my phone that day until after i watch it on tv…so comments are good for me, however, if you do a chat room i might just cave and join in.

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m with Nero…can’t type and watch at the same time, so I’m voting for blogging. If you do a chat room though I would love for us to somehow be able to come back later and see the discussion…

    Guys what are we going to do after the Olympics are over? Go into some sort of state of depression?

    • Dee Says:

      lol i will be in a total depression!
      dont know how i’ll make it through the day at this desk without having something to come on here and obsess about.

    • Melissa Says:

      I vote for live blogging. Chat rooms are fun but it’s hilarious to go back and catch up on comments from people! I also don’t mind texting you. I know I’m not a regular “poster” but I’m on here daily like a crazy person making sure I don’t miss a thing!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      OMG, to think this is going to all be over in about three weeks! I guess if my hubby can survive the end of college football season I will survive this. The difference is he only has to wait about 3 weeks before there is National Signing Day talk, then spring season, etc. We are going to have a seriously big lull.

      I know this is not much but at least the Kellogg tour will be this fall, It think it comes to Dallas in October and you can rest assured I will be there with entire family in tow.

      • Aerial Says:

        Haha… I’m going too! Not to Dallas, to Detroit (I’m from Ontario) and even though I hate costumey schmalz in dark lighting, as well as seeing them perform back handsprings to mad applause, the athletes involved make an impressive “roster” so I’m stoked!! I wonder if SJ will be there… NL, of course, is confirmed.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    I saw this on AJ blog:

    14.450 on bars. Please note that Chelle Stack is judging bars. Martha HATED Chelle until she became her pawn on the judging panel. Pawn may be too kind of a word. She is her flat out bitch like Officer Humphrey.

    Is that true? Teri – you’re friends with Chelle right?

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Chelle judged beam and vault at Trials not bars, so right there it tells you someone didn’t to their homework. In any event, As far as the suggestion she is Marta’s “pawn,” the only thing she has ever told me is she tries to do the best she can to be as fair as possible. She is my friend so I certainly believe her, especially since that is consistent with everything else I know about her. Personally I would like to see what actual evidence someone has that she or any other particular judge is biased or intentionally favoring this gymnast or that gymnast, or is taking “orders” from someone on what scores to give. It’s easy enough to toss out an allegation like that on the Internet without any evidence to back it up.

      Having said that, I think there is no doubt Marta exercises an unhealthy influence over everydody in USA Gymnastics to some degree, including the judges. She makes it known the type of gymnasts and skill sets she thinks should be scored high and the types and skill sets that ahould be scored lower. Everybody also knows who her favorites are at the moment. Given her power I don’t see how that doesn’t have some subtle influence over their decision making on the subconscious level. It is human nature.

  10. Gymbee Says:

    I will be watching live, and I give a vote for live blogging! I will comment/read during the “dull” moments (like when they show some French girls beam or something).

  11. Catherine Says:

    Actually, I change my vote to live blogging. I just copped I will be watching on TV, not the internet and I don’t think I’ll want any distractions except food! So will be commenting between sessions, not during..

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Live Blogging.

  13. Kel Says:

    Live blogging!!!

  14. elitefan Says:

    I also vote for live blogging, as the comments/entries are easier to read after the fact. I have an advanced cardiac life support training exam the day after AA finals so will have to watch those the next day — will NBC keep the full-length competitions online after the fact, does anyone know??

  15. JAS4 Says:

    There is an NBC Olympics Live Extra app you can download and I think you can watch everything live but not 100% sure

Leave a Reply

