Inspired

I can’t remember the last time I felt this way after watching anyone in gymnastics. Can you?

Michelle needs to come back for 2014.

Tags:

54 Responses to “Inspired”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Yeah I agree she needs to comeback in 2014!

  2. Catherine Says:

    She’s amazing. Gymnastics-wise, maybe Cheng Fei’s 2004 floor or 2008 TF FX? Can’t think of others…

  3. rhodanyc Says:

    Not quite Kwan-level inspired, but for me it was any of Lilia P’s routines from 1996 (particularly her compulsory floor – divine) or Miller’s gold-winning beam from that same year. That is until Nunno douched up my TV screen immediately after; then I just felt rage.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      lol Poor Nunno. So much hate. He gets the credit for Shannon’s early success but the time 94 came around he gets all the blame for over using her and injuring her beyond repair.

      • rhodanyc Says:

        Haha, So true. And I give Peggy Liddick all the blame for all the white poofy scrunchies.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’ve yet to come across a gymnast who makes me feel the way she does. I watched this video and tears came to my eyes. I don’t think any gymnast has done that for me….not even my all-time fav, Shannon!

  5. Catherine Says:

    Chellsie Memmel 08 Trials floor was awesome. I think the emotion in a legend proving themselves has to be there for it to be really inspiring and this fits the bill.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It doesn’t compare IMO but Chellsie hitting that floor routine was pretty inspiring for her. She had been through so much. It would have been nice to see her get her healthy shot at an Olympics.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yep it’d be tough to get something truly on that level. Probably due to the limited longevity gymnasts have.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Actually I somewhat take back what I said before…the reason I’m such a Shawn fan was largely because of her floor routine in the AA final at the Beijing Olympics. I didn’t know what was going on in her head – had no clue if she bothered to look at the score or what (she later says in her book apparently that she just “knew” at that point there was no way she would win gold), but she just NAILED that floor routine. It was so excellent. Every landing was perfect. I couldn’t help but think “if only…if only” because I really felt she was underscored in her bars and beam (if my memory serves me correct). Nastia had ended her floor routine but I felt mostly nothing – just like “wow, I’m sure that did it for her, I guess she’s the gold medalist.” …Even though I was a bit surprised because her floor wasn’t as difficult as Shawn’s. Then that Chinese girl came on and got a crap score because her floor wasn’t that difficult (it was well executed) – so I was wondering how Nastia had such a good score but she didn’t…anyway.

        So when Shawn busted into tears after she finished I nearly lost it. That’s actually why I loved her – she did a kick ass job when she didn’t even have to because it was already lost. I guess the same could be said about Kerri – she nailed her vault and she didn’t have to. But she made an impression. If the other girls on that ’96 team were pissed about it, so be it – they still are gold medal winners. If it were them they’d be doing the same thing (going for that second vault) so they just probably wish it were them instead. Although Shannon got an individual gold on beam and Kerri had to settle with just a team medal because after that she was injured. So Shannon can resent all she wants but she is still the most decorated US female gymnast.

        Going back to Shawn – I loved how she competed. She always hit pretty much, and it was almost as if the more pressure the better. Now, THAT’S what I call amazing. This quad, the only girls that really do well under pressure are Jordyn (who doesn’t get as much media attention as she should considering she’s a world champ, I’m still trying to put my finger on why this is) and Aly (who also gets ignored pretty much).

        I like it when emotion is conveyed – look at Michelle, you couldn’t help but feel what she was feeling when she performed. Most gymnasts these days are like robots, which is probably what Marta likes but overall it makes the whole thing seem impersonal. They win and it’s like, yay. In Jordyn’s career, the one moment I was ever drawn to her was when she actually cried after she found out she was the world champ.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Found this on youtube Might not be Kwan level but pretty good moments

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not for me. The skating of Kwan helps build to the end.

        To young for Nadia. Kim , never a fan. Khorkina had won bars before in 96, Vera, anh, Beth, maybe. I was happy when she won. Will be even happier if she wins in London but not the same, MLR, HA, Nope. Gutsu the cheater MY ASS. Now I am bored.:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        The Gutsu thing just makes me angry. That was Shannon’s gold. Those Romanian tactics…no wonder Marta is the way she is.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Me too.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Wasn’t Marta actually a gymnast in Romania at one time? I don’t think she was elite though it would be hilarious to see some video of Marta doing gymnastics

      • terrigymfan Says:

        It would be even funnier seeing one of Bela. He took a gymnastics class in college and flunked it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have always wondered about that…what are Marta and Bela’s accolades in gymnastics? They are only really known as coaches and nothing else. Not that to be a good coach you had to have been great at the sport, but it would be interesting to know what they were like “before” they became dominant in the gymnastics coaching world.

        I still don’t understand if they loved the sport so, why do they abuse its athletes? So sad and tragic.

    • The GYM JUICE Says:

      If BETH TWEDDLE finally wins an Olympic medal in her home country for London 2012, I will have tears to top this Kwan routine!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I want Beth to win and I will be thrilled if she does. Just not Kwan thrilled

  6. Lauren H Says:

    I had chills the entire last minute! It’s so hard for me to watch Kwan because no figure skater (or athlete really) has come close to her magic since she retired in 2006. There were a few short programs of Sasha Cohen’s I loved, Yu-Na Kim in Vancouver was beautiful, and Ashley Wagner’s free skate this year was a masterpiece, but none of them are Michelle.

    The fact that Kwan’s 2004 long program was more difficult than the every long program competed this year at the 2012 Worlds for figure skating is pathetic. Kwan needs to come out of retirement for LIFE right NOW.

  7. TCO Says:

    No skating.

  8. terrigymfan Says:

    Hi everybody. Continuing with Dom’s book. A lot is pretty boring to me. Gets interesting when she discusses dealing with Marta and USAGymnastics when she tried to come back in 2006. i’m with my family on a four-day getaway so only have my iPhone. I’ll try to give a lengthier review Tuesday,

  9. JAS4 Says:

    I think the Team and AA battles should be pretty interesting in London

  10. brainy Says:

    …Unrelated question…does anyone have recent info on Mckayla Maroney’s injury?

  11. Anthony Says:

    Cheng Fei’s 2004 FX. Most beautiful choreography and presence out on the floor.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I wish she had done better in vault EF and floor EF in Beijing. As it is though her bronze on vault was a gift. ASac got royally screwed.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not by the rules she didn’t. Cheng had a higher start value. Just proves this code is stupid.

      • JAS4 Says:

        They really need to do something about the code before next quad because it’s crazy that knee busting Amanars can score higher than nice clean DTYs

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wouldn’t worry about it. They can fix scores when they like the gymnast. Just ask Nastia and her scoring over a 15 with a 1.5 at the Olympics in spite of the fact she had no distance or height,

      • JAS4 Says:

        True! Lol I went and watched Shawn and Nastia in the AA finals again the other day neither of them were perfect but I still can’t see how she beat Shawn notice how in one of those interviews awhile back Shawn said she realized she couldn’t win gold right before floor but she wanted to prove she deserved it or something like that lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shawn messed up the Amanar big time. If she had hit that I would be calling the fix is in. Nastia was overscored on floor and bars so blatantly I think Shawn realized she had no shot.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think Nastia was going to win no matter what unless Shawn had and absolutely perfect performance and I’m sure Marta probably tortured her at camp to make sure that didn’t happen lol but I think if things were scored properly the end results would have been a lot closer even if Nastia would have one it would have been by a few tenths

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A lot of US gym fans whine about Mustafina getting ridiculous scores when her execution is so bad yet they love Nastia and ignore the fact that Shawns execution was light years ahead of everything Nastia did. Shawn’s jumps were the exception but if Nastia had been scored correctly on her form issues especially on bars the results might have been different.

        Someone wrote on a message board once that the tricksters always beat out the lyrical gymnasts in Olympic AA’s except when it came to Nastia and her so called artistry was and is a complete myth.

        If Nastia wasn’t a Russian I believe that would have happened. The Soviets are usually fixing these competition in favor of the Gutsu’s of the world. Nastia being Russian vs the all American kid when they had no one with a chance of winning is why Nastia won and would have won regardless of what Shawn had done.

        Reminds me of the story that some Russian skating person (I forget who) that it didn’t matter who won the 98 ice skating because the Russians had no one with a real chance. Whoever gave the bottle of Whiskey to the Russian judge is how they would vote. Guess Callahan sent the whiskey.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah that wouldn’t surprise me at all! Lol and as for her artistry I just don’t see it I think it’s mostly just because she had the body type of an Artistic gymnast so she had the long lines that Marta and her puppets are always talking about but she didn’t seem very Artistic to me I think it all has to do with her body type because she was tall and extremely thin even if Shawn had been very artistic and had great leaps no one would be calling her artistic because she doesn’t have the “long lines”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree. She has long lines due to her body type. Her form sucks but no one ever posts the pictures when they look like shit. Not of Nastia anyway

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know – even when amanars are done like slop, they tend to score higher than clean DTY’s. I also kind of prefer old school method where they had to vault twice – and take the average of the two…but I wouldn’t be in favor of that with this code of course.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I need to revisit that…why the hell was SJ so far behind Nastia by the time they got to floor in the AA at the Olympics? I didn’t remember Nastia received a 15+ with a 1.5. That’s ridiculous! You would never see that today. Shawn had an amanar and Nastia had a 1.5…yet how did they score SJ on her amanar?

        Yet the Russians are all worried now that Mustafina/Komova don’t have the 2.5 yet they have a clean 2.0…

        Something’s not right.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I just re-watched Shawn’s vault…she actually got a decent score. 15.875…So it must’ve been someone else was really over-scored for her not to have had a decent cushion in the lead-off. At this point (in ’08) I had no idea what an amanar was vs. the 1.5…now I do. So, how the hell did Nastia make up for that? These days a good 1.5 probably wouldn’t fetch near the 15’s…more like a 14.8 at the most, if Kyla’s perfectly-executed DTY got a 15.1…

        So Shawn should have been near a full point ahead at this point (in front of Nastia).

        AND…it’s not like Shawn is an “Aly” in UB, and Shawn’s difficulty should have more than made up in beam and floor. I seem to remember that Nastia was overscored in beam and floor, and Shawn was underscored in beam and bars.

        I’m almost wondering if Shawn didn’t get screwed here.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think Shawn did got 15.850 in the AA on vault. She underrotated and still got credit for the Amanar but she probably should not have. Doesn’t explain away the shit Nastia did on floor and bars.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Shawn and Nastia videos from the AA final and scores
        Vault:
        NL:

        Score: 15.025

        SJ:

        Score: 15.875

        Beam:
        NL:

        Score: 16.125

        SJ:

        Score: 16.050

        Uneven Bars:
        NL:

        Score:16.650

        SJ:

        Score: 15.275

        Floor:
        NL:

        Score: 15.525

        SJ:

        Score: 15.525
        Please tell me how Nastia got the same score as Shawn on floor

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Are you trying to make me sick before bed time??? Huh, huh:)

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol!

        Yang Yilin all around 2008:
        Vault:

        Score: 15.175

        Beam:

        (I think this is from TF couldn’t find AA)
        Score: 15.750

        Bars:

        Score: 16.725

        Floor:

        Score: 15.000

        And someone please tell me how Nastia’s 1.5 scored almost as high as a nice DTY from YY?

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I don’t care if Nastia did stick the landing like GTT said it didn’t have much height or distance!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah no way in hell should Nastia’s floor should have equaled SJ’s; SJ’s floor was SPECTACULAR and her difficulty was way higher (same with the beam in terms of difficulty). I’m surprised they gave the gold to SJ for BB then in Event Finals when Nastia supposedly beat SJ on beam as well. I don’t remember SJ faltering or having any wobbles on beam during the AA.

        So it’s true: Nastia was totally overscored. At least on floor and vault – maybe even beam. That sucks. And yeah, how did Yang’s DTY come that close to Nastia’s 1.5??? The fix was in all right…I remember I thought Yang’s beam was way overscored too. Maybe they wanted SJ to be so disheartened by the time she got to floor she’d mess up and end up getting bronze.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Wouldn’t surprise me lol Shawn did have some wobbles on beam but so did Nastia and Shawn had a higher sv and Shawn’s floor and vault were better than Nastia’s the only place she had an advantage was her over scored bars

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have not watched those routines in 4 years but I am pretty sure Shawn had one bobble on beam in the AA but I honestly hate that boring AA and refuse to watch it again. Talk about the weakest AA in the history of Olympic AA. One of one person was winning that if she didn’t fall and that is what happened.

        I can see this happening to Jordyn this year. Extra tenth for Komova’s alleged artistry that she hasn’t had since she was a junior.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree I could see that happening to Jordyn even if she is close to perfect as long as Komova and maybe Mustafina don’t fall they will win

      • JAS4 Says:

        Someone please help Mustafina’s twisting form her legs were so crossed on that pass they looked like a helicopter

      • JAS4 Says:

        Thoughts on this?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So basically, if you win AA gold at the Olympics you’re pretty much better than anyone else, no matter what your past accomplishments show.

        In this light, Sarah Hughes and Tara Lipinski are better than Michelle Kwan. Uh-huh.

        I love how Shannon’s name isn’t even bolded. And even though Shannon Miller’s career lasted ALMOST A DECADE, which is UNHEARD OF in gymnastics, somehow she’s trumped by Nastia, who’s never even won the AA World championship ONCE. I think Shannon did this what, twice??

        And Kim Zmeskal isn’t even ON THE LIST despite being the first AA World Champion, ever?!

        Or Memmel – who was only the third woman ever to do so?

        Same with Sloan – although I don’t know if that even counts.

        Or even ASac, who’s now the top decorated for World medals (OK, even though this stat sucks for reasons we know of, she still should be on this list if McNamara can make it – who is she, anyways?! We care she got a perfect 10 at a boycotted Olympics held in the US???)

        Hatch, Chow, McNamara, and Dawes shouldn’t even be on this list.OK, maybe Dawes since she “did” make it to three Olympics. Somehow. And Strug gets way too much credit for that damn vault.

        Obviously this author doesn’t know sh*t about gymnastics.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Someone from USAG must have written this lol and the only reason Shannon and Shawn are probably on their list is to throw people off on who wrote it lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He put Annia Hatch on the list.lol That just proves he is a complete fucking idiot.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I’m kind of surprised Dom M. Wasn’t on this bogus list lol

Leave a Reply

