Top 100 Olympic Moments

We were wrong. The June 18th was the womens soccer team not the Mag 7. That was a picture of the Mag 7.lol I don’t care what they say. I should not be shocked. You didn’t expect ESPN to give credit to the whole team did you?

Like ESPN’s stupid list this one has some doozies.

Look here for the list

They have little pictures of the remaining moments and June 18th is the Mag 7. So who is that in the faded picture on July 12th? First I thought it was Dawes. Then Moceanu and then Miller and explain to me why the 1984 team is ahead of the 96 womens win when the freaking women beat real teams?

Help me out on that July picture. It is most likely Kerri and the vault getting their own credit and someone decided the whole team deserved some props?

Don’t look later in the pix. They have annoying people.

You tell me? July 12th

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mustfina leads Russian cup.
The Finals will get its own blog.Komova fell and has a new 7.0 start value on bars. Damn you Komova, That is Beth Tweddles bars gold biatch:)

Tags: , , , ,

72 Responses to “Top 100 Olympic Moments”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I really hope Tweedle gets gold on bars but I will be happy if she medals though but isn’t Beth capable of above a 7.0 start value like a 7.2 or something?

    • Dee Says:

      I want Tweddle to medal on bars, any medal, any color…but I would be over the moon if she got gold. She has such a good chance. I thought Beth had a 7-something bars, too (or used to before her surgery).

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah it seems like at one of the meets before her surgery she was doing bars with over a 7.0 start value I hope she has it back by the Olympics

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She does have a 7.0 start value but unfortunately, so does Komova. And Komova swings better and has that “style” or whatever that gets rewarded over gymnasts like Tweddle.

        I’m hoping the judges favor Tweddle in London like they did with He in Beijing and she gets that gold. I’d totally cry out of sheer happiness for her after she got royally screwed in Beijing.

        I also hope Maroney gets her deserved vault gold and Sui Lu or Mustafina or Ponor wins BB…FX is a crap shot, but I don’t see Aly winning gold because she’ll get deducted big time for form issues.

      • Dee Says:

        I dont have a favorite “famous” gymnastics moment (there are too many to pick just one), but if Ponor wins beam in London I think that might be it for me. I used to watch her golden routine from 2004 over and over in college on youtube…and it would be amazing if she won again.

        Yea…I see Aly on the podium but not at the top for FX.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I LOVE Ponor. Something about her. She’s so fierce. Now you convinced me to watch her BB 2004 routine again. 🙂

  2. terrigymfan Says:

    GTT, how can you tell the June 18 picture is the Mag 7? I can’t make out what that picture is about at all.

    I’m guessing the July 12 picture is Kerri Strug. I am pretty sure it is the uniform they were wearing when she did her famous vault. I don’t think it is Dawes. I also don’t think Shannon because her chin is a little more angular. Could be Moceanu but I think more likely Kerri.

    • Dee Says:

      The flowers…every picture of the girls on the podium has the sunflowers. It has to be them

      July 12th is Kerri. It’s just the top part of the picture of her on one leg.

  3. terrigymfan Says:

    I love doing a little detective work. If you do a YouTube search of Kerri’s 1996 vaults in the team final, you can pause the video right before she starts and see a pretty good view of her ear. I think it is the same as the fade July 12 photo. Also is the same uniform.

  4. Lauren H Says:

    July 12th is Kerri Strug. I’m pretty sure it’s a shot of her torso from when she raises her arms above her head to salute right after her one footed landing.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    That’s totally Kerri Strug landing that second vault in ’96. I knew it the second I saw it. I’ve seen that vault many times… 🙂

  6. terrigymfan Says:

    One thing I found odd in Dom’s new book is she said she later learned that her two falls on vault just before Kerri’s didn’t really hurt the team because they would have won gold anyway — presumably even if Kerri had not stuck the landing on her second vault. That didn’t make sense to me. I thought Kerri had to stick that second landing for the US to win gold.

    • Dee Says:

      Yea…that’s been the rumor for a while, the fact that Kerri didnt even need to do the second vault. When she got up from the first one she thought they needed one more good score, so she went for it again. I believe Kerri explains it a little more in her book “Diary of Dreams” published over a decade ago. As a kid, I kept it in my gym bag and my copy is literally falling apart, I’ve read it that many times. I loved it…just a suggestion in case you never read it!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Thanks for the suggestion. I’m starting to get a nice list of books to read.

        I am definitely going to look a little more into the idea that Kerri Strug did not need to stick that second landing. The commentators kept saying she needed a 9.493 on her vault for the US to win the gold. She only received 9.162 on her first vault so she had to stick the second landing for the US to win gold. So if this rumor is true the announcers had it all wrong at the time.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Okay. I just went and check the final team scores. The US scored 389.225. Russia finished second with 388.404. That’s a difference of 0.821. Dom scored 9.200 on her vault. Those scores did not count. Let’s say Kerri did not stick that second vault and had scored below 9.200, meaning her scores would have been tossed out and Dom’s 9.200 counted instead. The overall US score would have been 0.512 less, meaning the final US score would have been 388.713, still quite a bit ahead of the final Russian score. That means it is true that the US would have won gold even if Kerri did not stick that second vault (or another way of looking at it is that Dom’s two falls did not kill the US’s gold chances even if Kerri did not come through).

        The announcers must have been saying tha, at the time of Kerri’s vault, a 9.493 was necessary to guarantee a gold even if the Russian gymnasts who had not finished all scored perfect 10s, which of course was did not happen.

      • Dee Says:

        By what I remember, Kerri could see the Russian’s scores on FX and thought that she needed to vault again. I’m guessing the other girls were too focused on watching what was going to happen and didnt calculate the scoring…but even if the did I’m not sure if Bela would have told her to scratch the second vault. It probably had something to do with not wanting to be remembered for winning gold after falling 3x in a row on the last event.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Oh Terri. You believed the announcers.lol NEVER believe them. They are clueless

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I actually came across that fact a long time ago – that Kerri didn’t need to land that vault for USA to win gold. I’m sure Team USA hates the fact she basically took all of their credit at the Olympics, but that’s what the media LIVES for – that kind of “it all comes down to this moment” crap.

        Most people at this point don’t even know that fact. They just think “Oh Kerri – she’s the one that landed that vault and saved the day!”

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Yes, silly little naive me. LOL One things for sure, the announcers never mentioned anything about this at the time. NBC was more than happy to leave the impression she had to make that vault. But as the saying goes, never let the facts get in the way of a good story!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Regarding Dee’s comment, though, I would imagine Kerri and probably the rest of the US team were not aware of exactly where the team stood and therefore Kerri believed she needed to do that second vault. So it was still a courageous act on her part. Now if she has been perpetuating the myth that she in fact had to make it, that is another story. Has she actually been doing that, or is more that some of the others on the team are ticked that the myth exists and their team performance has been overshadowed by it?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I cannot stand Kerri but I never actually heard her try and take credit for the win but I can see how that impression could be seen. It was all about Kerri and the media made it all about her. The girls did get the shaft. Kerri also did not tour with them and used the lame excuse about school.

        There are all kinds of rumors that when Kerri went to UCLA she turned the girls on the gymnastics team in for doing things like drinking and partying. It was a big reason she changed schools.

        Anyone one of those gymnasts would have taken that second vault. I also love how the media claims she did the vault on a badly sprinaed ankle. She tweaked it on her first vault and did the real damage on the second vault.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Sad for Cheng Fei

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That sucks.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I didn’t know that about Kerri GTT. Maybe that’s why she’s working for the Justice Department now.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Cheng Fei seemed to be on the verge of injuring something…I saw in interview a few months ago and she was constantly afraid of injuring her Achilles. I think she knew it was going to happen, the only question was “when.”

        I didn’t think she had much of a chance to make London anyways. Although China really does need good vaulters. At this point they will really be relying on their beam/bars.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Gabby’s ESPN blog she says she is going to try to correct her mistakes so she can get the top spot I’m sure if Marta has her way that’s exactly what will happen

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Jordyn is getting ignored. This won’t go over well with her fan base.

        I don’t care who it offends the only reason half these people like Gabby is because she is black. She is different in a sport that gets only attention every 4 years. I liken this to Linsanity in basketball. He did a good job for awhile but if he was black he would be just another NBA player. It’s about the only time I have every agreed with Amare Stoudamire. He made the comments and got hell for it but it is true.

        I want to know what personality people see. I find her very phony and attention driven.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah at first she came across as a nice girl but now it seems like lately she’s becoming more and more cocky I will have to read it again to be sure but I don’t think she mentioned once about doing her best to help the team or anything of that nature like you here most of the other girls do I might be wrong but I haven’t heard any of the other girls talking about getting the number one spot they just say they’d be happy to make the team I don’t dislike Gabby’s gymnastics I just think it’s over hyped her floor in particular I don’t think it would score that well internationally because of the Choreography I have seen NCAA routines with much better Choreography and yes her bars are good but I don’t think they’d beat Mustafina, Komova, or Tweedle unless they had mistakes her beam is good when she hits an her vault has decent form except she usually has that big step

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I guess now that Shawn is no longer blogging Gabby gets this spot? Not sure. I was kind of bored by the article. I’d rather not hear from them since they should be TRAINING.

        I kind of agree about the whole black thing. It’s why a lot of people like Obama.

        I actually really love Gabby’s gymnastics and think she has some great potential. When I first saw her on bars I thought “ooh I like her”…she has those quick muscle fibers or whatever that makes her bars exciting but her floor …not so much.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think that Gabby could potentially be one of those gymnast who does better with age like ASac I think as she gets a little older and more mature it could really help her gymnastics

      • Dee Says:

        GTT, you are right…Kerri never tried to take the credit for the win…she has always said she just did what any gymnast was trained to do and that any gymnast in her situation would have gone for that second vault. It went beyond the gold that day for her, I think, it was all about doing what she was trained to do, which is hit her routines.

        If other members of the Mag 7 are peeved at her for appearing to “take the credit”…I’m sure if they were in her place they all would have allowed the media attention, too. I like Shannon, but if it was her that did that vault, can you imagine how she would still talk about it today!?!?

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I just looked at Kerri Strug’s wikipedia article. It’s a fairly nauseating over-the-top pro-Kerri version of what happened. It’s also outrageously long and detailed for an athlete who was pretty so-so as far as accomplishments. I have nothing against Keri myself but her wikipedia article is too much.

  7. Gymsurfer Says:

    For Terrigymfan – Kerri’s book is actually called “Landing on My Feet” and the subtitle is A Diary of Dreams (just so you can find it more easily)…I’ve got it memorized too. In Shannon Miller’s “Winning Every Day” she also says Kerri didn’t need to do the second vault. I think all the Mag 7 are pissed at Kerri for making it sound like there would have been no gold without her…

    • Dee Says:

      yea, that is the title! my copy is at my parents house..i havent actually looked at it in years.

      i never read “winning every day”. what does she say about kerri not needing to do the second vault?

    • Gymsurfer Says:

      Shannon says the media made it sound like Kerri had to do the vault, when in fact “Kerri did that second vault not knowing what the rest of us knew – that we’d won the team gold.” She writes politely about it, but you can sense her pissed-offness.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kerri might not have taken the credit but she doesn’t exactly go out of her way to associate herself with the group either. There is also behind the scenes stuff that we will never be told about so maybe something did happen that just isn’t advertised

  8. elitefan Says:

    http://www.editgrid.com/user/falconpilot5/Olympic_Team_Possibilities_-_03

    Someone’s been doing some serious spread-sheeting for the potential olympic combos…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Only problem with that is none of the US gymnasts are getting these scores.lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly…in fact the “low’s” are probably the most likely scores at the Olympics…I doubt anyone will get over a 15 on floor and I highly doubt that Gabby will get much more than a 15.3 on UB.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aly scored over a 15 in event finals. All the winners did. I think by the time the event finals happens scores will go up.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OK she might get a 15 but no way 15.8.

  9. TrishaG Says:

    As far as Kerri Strug’s vault, it’s a pretty well known fact that she didn’t need to do the second vault for the team to win the gold after all. IIRC, this was said during the AA and/or EF coverage in Atlanta even. What people forget is the timing when it happened. Russia was on floor and those routines take longer than vault. They hadn’t finished their rotation yet. I believe the commentators mentioned the average score that the Russians needed on floor and it was possible, but highly unlikely. I don’t know how long she had to decide if she would vault again or not, but I don’t think they had long once the first vault score was posted. When you go back and watch the final rotation (which I did a couple of weeks ago), it all happens really fast. I don’t think there was enough time for people to stop and think and calculate whether or not she needed to go.

    Beyond all of that, Kerri wanted to compete in the AA and was duking it out for the third spot with Dominique Moceanu. She vaulted again for the team, but she also vaulted again for herself. If she landed it, the third spot was hers. Four years earlier in Barcelona, the Team Final ended with US on vault and Kim Zmeskal narrowly beat her for the third AA spot. She was that much more motivated to make sure history didn’t repeat itself.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I forgot about this. She did vault for herself to do the AA and even admitted it.n I had totally forgot about that.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Of course when talking about giving someone dirty looks Nastia would be in the picture too

    • terrigymfan Says:

      It’s interesting that you say NBC said the US would have won the gold anyway, but it sounds like they didn’t do it until the next night. By then the myth was ingrained and no amount of correcting the record will change things. I bet the vast majority of people believe she had to make that second vault for the US to win gold just like I did until yesterday.

      I still am amazed at the wealth of information the readers of this blog have.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    Too bad she’s not more consistantly and better on the rest of the events

  11. JAS4 Says:

    More about code being too difficult

  12. terrigymfan Says:

    Dom has a couple of pages near the end of her book with a very well articulated indictment of the Karolyis, the absurd, completely subjective way the Olympic and other teams are selected, and the whole idea of giving total and complete control to one person. It says exactly what we’ve been saying in a very concise and powerful way. Now I know Dom didn’t actually write it (she had ghost writers) but it does reflect her thoughts. I know Dom may be an attention seeker but I am glad there is at least one person with personal and direct knowledge of this who has stepped up and said this publicly and in writing.

    Dom says a lot of insiders have come up to her and said they agree with her and have thanked her. She says they can’t afford to come out publicly because they fear retaliation from Marta. I would give anything to know who they were.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Probably pretty much everyone the Karolyis have abused or screwed over throughout the years probably people like the Memmels, possibly Shawn, gymnast from the 80s and 90s it’s probably a pretty long list I’m sure Chellsie would love to speak out but can’t because she’s afraid she and her Dad and his gym would be shunned in the gymnastics community

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Terri would love to hear more about those pages where Dom talks about the selection process…

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Like the earlier part of the book where she discusses her time with the Karolyis, the book became much more interesting for me when she discusses her comeback attempt in 2005 and 2006. It sounds very similar to what happened to Chelsie Memmel. Dom says she was told that her petition to compete in Nationals in 2006 would be granted so long as she was granted the right to attend a training camp at the Karolyi Ranch and competed in one event at Classics. Her description of calling up Marta to ask if her application to attend the camp was approved is really funny. She says Marta kept asking her, “Now which Olympics was it that you were in?” Dom says it was a typical mind game Marta was playing to put her in her place. She also says Marta and Bela wouldn’t even acknowledge her existence at the camp. Anyway, she says she did exactly what USA Gymnastics required of her to have her petition to attend Nationals granted, including competing in Classics, but a committee headed by Marta denied her petition, afterwards saying she needed to score 28.0 at two events at Classics, criteria never provided to Dom. She says Kim Zmeskal Burdette voted to deny her petition (along with Mara and Steve Ribalki) even though Kim never saw her at the camp or at Classics.

      I found Dom’s story about Marta and Bela snubbing her at camp pretty believable, since it is so consistent with everything we know about those two. Dom says she performed well at the camp, which is something that may or may not be true and almost impossible to verify either way. The story about how USA Gymnastics/Marta playing favorites and changing the criteria at will does ring true and sounds so familiar. Chelsie and Andy?

      Regardless of where you stand on Dom, there are a couple of pages near the end of the book that summarize in a very clear and powerful way the same things a lot of us have been saying on this blog, including (1) that it is crazy for USA Gymnastics to have allowed itself to become dominated and controlled by a single individual, (2) no Olympic sport has such vague and undefined criteria for what it takes to qualify of Olympic or World teams, and (3) we should go back to the “tried and true” method of picking teams based on scores and Nationals and Trials, with the limited ability of gymnasts to petition their way onto these teams if they were hurt. It’s too bad this is not being said by someone who has a little more credibility than Dom, but at least it is being said by someone.

      Having read Dom’s book, and having gone back and read about some of her attention-seeking antics the last few years, here is where I stand on Dom (I realize not everyone is going to agree with this.) First, you don’t have to be a psychologist to know why she seeks attention so much and craves positive feedback and adolation from her fans. She did not get any of this growing up from her father and mother. Her father was a horrendous bully and near-psychopath who abused her. Her mother was passive and easily-intimidated and clearly incapable of protecting Dom from her abusive father. The fact that she spent a significant period of time with the Karolyis did not help things. While I am just as annoyed as the next person over people who always seem to be seeking attention and over-hyping everything, I have come to the conclusion that Dom is not a mean-spirited person. In fact, she doesn’t criticize many people in her book other than the Karolyis (well-deserved in my view) and her father (again well-deserved). I have known a number of people like Dom. One minute you are wanting to be around them because they are fun and interesting, while the next minute you are rolling your eyes at some immature antic on their part. But when they are basically nice people and are not pretentious and arrogant, which I believe is the case with Dom, you give them a lot of slack. And at least in the case of Dom she is not just another cliche-saying gymnast kissing Marta’s ass.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Sorry, please ignore previous post. It could off part of my comment. Here is the full comment:

      I finished up Dom’s book over the weekend. As I mentioned I found some parts boring, mostly all the parts not directly related to USA Gymnastics or her experiences with coaches. The parts where her dad takes her money, builds a gym, she has to sue to be emancipated, her dad tries to hire a hit man to kill her coach and one of her business partners, her meeting and falling in love with Mike Canales, even her relationship with her newly-discovered. – these were really not that interesting to me. However, I am about eight years older than Dom, so she really was not in the age group where she would have been one of my “sports idols” growing up. I am sure people who were big fans of Dom or are more age-contemporaries of her might find those sections very interesting. She certainly seems to have had a much crazier life than the average gymnast or average person for that matter. She even says she dabbled a lot in recreational drugs (Ecstasy and marijuana I think) for a period.

      Like the earlier part of the book where she discusses her time with the Karolyis, the book became much more interesting for me when she discusses her comeback attempt in 2005 and 2006. It sounds very similar to what happened to Chelsie Memmel. Dom says she was told that her petition to compete in Nationals in 2006 would be granted so long as she was granted the right to attend a training camp at the Karolyi Ranch and competed in one event at Classics. Her description of calling up Marta to ask if her application to attend the camp was approved is really funny. She says Marta kept asking her, “Now which Olympics was it that you were in?” Dom says it was a typical mind game Marta was playing to put her in her place. She also says Marta and Bela wouldn’t even acknowledge her existence at the camp. Anyway, she says she did exactly what USA Gymnastics required of her to have her petition to attend Nationals granted, including competing in Classics, but a committee headed by Marta denied her petition, afterwards saying she needed to score 28.0 at two events at Classics, criteria never provided to Dom. She says Kim Zmeskal Burdette voted to deny her petition (along with Mara and Steve Ribalki) even though Kim never saw her at the camp or at Classics.

      I found Dom’s story about Marta and Bela snubbing her at camp pretty believable, since it is so consistent with everything we know about those two. Dom says she performed well at the camp, which is something that may or may not be true and almost impossible to verify either way. The story about how USA Gymnastics/Marta playing favorites and changing the criteria at will does ring true and sounds so familiar. Chelsie and Andy?

      Regardless of where you stand on Dom, there are a couple of pages near the end of the book that summarize in a very clear and powerful way the same things a lot of us have been saying on this blog, including (1) that it is crazy for USA Gymnastics to have allowed itself to become dominated and controlled by a single individual, (2) no Olympic sport has such vague and undefined criteria for what it takes to qualify of Olympic or World teams, and (3) we should go back to the “tried and true” method of picking teams based on scores and Nationals and Trials, with the limited ability of gymnasts to petition their way onto these teams if they were hurt. It’s too bad this is not being said by someone who has a little more credibility than Dom, but at least it is being said by someone.

      Having read Dom’s book, and having gone back and read about some of her attention-seeking antics the last few years, here is where I stand on Dom (I realize not everyone is going to agree with this.) First, you don’t have to be a psychologist to know why she seeks attention so much and craves positive feedback and adolation from her fans. She did not get any of this growing up from her father and mother. Her father was a horrendous bully and near-psychopath who abused her. Her mother was passive and easily-intimidated and clearly incapable of protecting Dom from her abusive father. The fact that she spent a significant period of time with the Karolyis did not help things. While I am just as annoyed as the next person over people who always seem to be seeking attention and over-hyping everything, I have come to the conclusion that Dom is not a mean-spirited person. In fact, she doesn’t criticize many people in her book other than the Karolyis (well-deserved in my view) and her father (again well-deserved). I have known a number of people like Dom. One minute you are wanting to be around them because they are fun and interesting, while the next minute you are rolling your eyes at some immature antic on their part. But when they are basically nice people and are not pretentious and arrogant, which I believe is the case with Dom, you give them a lot of slack. And at least in the case of Dom she is not just another cliche-saying gymnast kissing Marta’s ass.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks Terri very interesting…I’m disappointed that Kim Zmeskal is so intertwined with the Marta fan club. It makes me lose some respect for her. I understand that she’s super involved in the sport and she needs to “appease” to the “leader” of the gang (which it almost sounds like it is), but at some point enough should be enough. She could probably get a good backing and assist in getting rid of the Karolyi’s for good. They need to be banned from this sport. I don’t care how many medals are won, it’s just not right that these girls – who work so HARD all their lives and have helped the sport become what it is – are treated this way.

        Seriously, to ask someone “what Olympics were you at again, dear?”…I’d be so tempted to answer “um, the ONLY ONE where the US won the team GOLD? Ring any bells, you moron?!”

        I’m sorry, but gymnasts shouldn’t need to be “put in their place” after all of the hard work they have dedicated to their sport. If anyone needs to be put in their rightful place it’s the Karolyi’s!

      • JAS4 Says:

        Why didn’t Marta ask Nastia what Olympics she went to when she decided to announce her comeback only a few months ago oh wait it’s cause she’s her favorite

      • terrigymfan Says:

        It’s funny Sandy when you say you would have been attempted to say, “um, the ONLY ONE where the US won the team GOLD? Ring any bells, you moron?!” Dom say in her book she thought about saying something almost like that at the time. I think she says in her book she thought about saying something like, “Hello, the only one you ever coached to a gold medal. Does the Magnificent Seven ring a bell?” Of course she didn’t actually say anything because she wanted to be accepted into the camp. Wouldn’t you just love to have been listening in on that conversation? LOL

        As far as Kim goes, I’ve mentioned before that I know a couple of moms here in the Dallas area whose daughters attend Texas Dreams, Kim’s gym, and they have nothing but good things to say about Kim. I am sure Kim is a good person. It is probably one of those “you gotta do what you gotta do” things. If Kim were to somehow replace Marta, I am sure she wouldn’t rule things with an iron fist like Marta’s. Kim would definitely be better than Valerie. The last thing I want to see is another cold-blooded product of the old Communist Block regime running USA Gymnastics.

  13. terrigymfan Says:

    I’m afraid Andy has already screwed himself with the things he said. Chellsie though doesn’t want to cut off all ties to the sport and people she has known and loved her whole life, so she is choosing to hold her tongue. I can’t say I blame her and wouldn’t do the same if I were in her position. In fact, I think most of the gymnasts/former gymnasts who want to remain involved in the sport take this tactic – keep their mouth shut but do not actively support Marta. Now there are some who openly kiss her ass. I am starting to think Kim Zmeskal Burdette might be one of them. I hope not because I always liked Kim but I am starting to get a bad vibe about her. She seems like she is on a lot of committees with Marta and always votes for whatever Marta wants. I think Kim is setting herself up for some bigger role in USAGymnastics and the National Training System.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I think Kim wants to be next in line for Marta’s job I think she will end up being the one in charge of the junior national team girls since Marta wants to focus on the seniors she is probably hoping to beat Valeri out for Marta’s job if she eventually does retire

      • Catherine Says:

        This was dismissed as rubbish by Kim, examiner quick hits of nationals day 2 had a very quick word with them.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        A llot of people in sports dismiss as “speculation” rumors of a new job right up to the moment they accept it. We shall have to wait and see.

        I hope I am misreading things with Kim. I said I always liked her. Maybe it’s just guilt by association.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The world doesn’t need a US filled with mini ZAmeskals. Maybe her consistency but certainly not her bars

  14. Catherine Says:

    In Russian news…Komova landed her bars dismount in EF and then fell backwards! Paseka sat both her amanar AND DTY, which opens up the door for Pavlova, who had a pretty decent vault score. What I am most excited about is that Anna Myzdrikova competed! Not much of a hope as her scores were low, but still, her old floor is my favourite ever.

    Komova and Gabby will have a great time seeing who can stay on the beam! I’m assuming the bars fall was a total fluke, but she has fallen off beam a good bit this year..

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah the Russians are kind of iffy right now. Not sure what’s going on. I know they’ll probably get their sh*t together by London but I don’t think they need to “force” these amanars…they have enough on bars to cover the difference – more than enough. It will come down to floor and beam (my prediction) and I have a bad feeling they’ll use Gabby for floor…and then USA will end up with another silver, at best.

  15. JAS4 Says:

    The juniors also don’t need Valeri because I’m afraid they’d end up like Bross too injured for the next Olympics

Leave a Reply

