2012 Nationals Wrap up. Day 1

Blog was formally called, 2012 Nationals . Live Blogging.

Nationals Wrap up

Jordyn Wieber and Gabby Douglas are tied for the lead and the world is pretending that this isn’t a travesty. Name the message board and no one seems to care that Gabby was so overscored so badly it makes Dominique Moceanu scoring a 9.950 with a step on her landing on vault at the 95 World team Trials pail in comparison. This borders Tatiana Gutsu’s vault score of 9.950 in the AA at the Olympics with the pre flight and feet apart. That looks legit.

We will start the wrap up of the Nastia Liukin National Championships with the tank job she called a bar routine. She was messy, missed every handstand, screwed up her pak big time and quit on her landing but it is okay, Nastia has time. She has only been doing bars for over a week. I don’t think I have ever heard Nastia makes excuses for being that bad.

Jordyn hit all four of her routines and ended up tied with Gabby who took steps on every landing on floor and bobbled through her beam routine not to mention took a step to the side on her underrotated vault. Yet she somehow tied Jordyn. I just want it known that in the middle of Jordyn’s floor routine I CALLED IT. She would get a 1`5.250 to tie Gabby for the lead. Can I call this or what?

Gabby is going to have to fall to not win this thing.

Jordyn Wieber should be come a Shannon Miller fan. Welcome to her life. All Shannon did was outscore Dominique Dawes on almost every event at Nationals only to be lowballed so the favorite gymnast of USA-Gymnastics could win. Too bad she almost always screwed up.

Jordyn was pissed during the interview and I don’t blame her. Way to treat your world Champion.

Aly hit her routines except bars where she was very messy but she stayed on. My girl Kyla Ross had the best score on bars ahead of Gabby but the broadcast never mentioned that. Kyla messed up floor out of bounds but nailed her beam routine with two very small balance checks to finish 4th. She is very lucky the line judge didn’t seem to notice her 3rd OOB.

What else? Bross hit bars but was her messy self and then she tanked beam with a fall on the Patterson. She stayed on but it was very messy with many missed connections.

We got to see Elizabeth Price on vault and she scored a 14.9 something on bars. If she keeps this up I see her as the alternate.

Sarah Finnegan hit beam with missed connections but still got the value for them. She had the best beam score of the night.

Last but not least Bridget Sloan hit bars. It made me smile so she of course tanked beam and floor. Well she hit floor but had messy landing from what I could see.

What did I come away with at these Nationals? Besides the bar judges this Championship is a joke. These judges need to be fired. The end.

Gabby was off on almost all her handstand which is why her bars were low.


Nastia has several big sloppy mess ups in hr warm up and she showed no dismount. Kyla screwed up an Amanar and might being doing a DTY.

Gymnastics is trying to kill everyone. I’ll be back during each commercial break.

Nastia quit her bar routine. No dismount and big mistake on her pak as well as many form errors. I’ll let you know it if matters when the score comes up. It is sure taking long enough. 13.050 WOW, I was nervous for her the whole time and you know my feelings on her. Nastia is going to nail beam, watch,lol She is not happy.

Lock kneed Amanar for Jordyn.

They skipped Kyla. She did the DTY for a 15.100

Becca was very sloppy on bars but she stayed on. Can’t believe they skipped Kyla on vault.

Aly nailed floor.

Gabby’s score was not that great for Nationals but good enough. I was honestly so freaked up after Nastia’s bars that I couldn’t even pay attention long enough to Gabby to notice details except her routine seemed slow.

I like Sabrina’s leotard.

As happy as I am that Nastia messed up and quit on her routine I can’t even gloat. I was beyond nervous after watching her warm up I don’t know how she wasn’t nervous.

If she messes up beam big time does she get her petition to Nationals approved? I am hoping she pulls out and goes away but we all know I never get what I want.

I can’t believe they skipped Kyla on vault. I hate Gabby’s leotard. Oh a Memmel mention. Memmel looks pissed.lol

Love how Gabby could care less about Nastia being there even though she talked to her.

Gabby being Gabby means mess ups dumbass’s.lol

Nastia had better connections on beam but that was not exactly 100% connected. No credit for the switch ring. That was not even close to in degree.

They are trying to jinx Jordyn. SHIT UP ELFI and Tim

15.100 for Nastia, Please. 9.0 execution. I no longer feel bad she screwed up bars “gift”

Gabby had a few bobbles on beam but she stayed on. Good for her.

Aly short on her Amanar but not by that much.

YAY KYLA. She hit bars and nailed her dismount.

Becca missed dismount on her ass. Miss connections and was very messy.

Kyla got a 15.500 on bars, YES

Alicia hit her vault but it was piked.

COME ON BRIDGET SLOAN. SHE HIT. Yes, yes, GO Uneven bar people:)

Mckayla did okay on floor. Her 3rd pass was short and messy. She needs to burn that leo.

Sloan was robbed on bars. That was better then the crap Bross did.

Nastia screws up bars so now we pretend her beam matetrs Tim and Elfi. God I hate them.

How is Gabby a lock on bars when KYLA BEAT HER SCORE?

Now Gabby is a lock on vault?” I can’t believe these people are lying.

Kyla scored better then Gabby right? Or did I miss this happening? Dream it maybe?

Sloan does no full routines during podium on bars and nails her competition routine and they are still talking about Nastia who never showed a dismount and screwed up? Logic of our announcers.lol

Gabby stood up floor but had bobbles on all landings but the last one. Jordyn was shaky on beam but she stayed on. Aly messed up bars but she stayed on. It was Aly.

Kyla hit beam. Two small bobble checks and a hop on her ladndng but spare me Tim. That was very good.

Gabby was overscored on floor. Over a 15 for that? Give me a break.

Mckayla hit her Amanar with a step. Not perfect but typical Mckayla.

Kyla was lowballed on beam. Typical.

They skipped Sloan on beam and she must have messed up. Only a the 13.850. They are keeping Nastia in this with that ridiculous beam score because she messed up bars. Why am I NOT surprised?

The only person left on beam that can better Nastia is Alicia. I don;t even know if I want that to happen. Kyla will get screwed.

Kyla into the lead, yes. She won’t stay there but this is good so far. Lets hope she upgraded that floor to a 5.9.

I have been ignoring Sarah Finnegan and I apologize but she has been not impressive so far. Not bad but no impressive.

Jordyn will be in the lead after floor if she hits. Kyla needs to outscore Gabby by 3 or 4 tenths and we know Marta will make that happen.

What will Gabby vault? Amanar or DTY. I say she goes for the Amanar.

Why are they bitching about Becca not being an AA er when they made her quit floor and vault?

More Nastia talk. Smart to quit your bar routine? Nice.

Now we are pretending beam matters. She needs more time OMFG Tim, SHUT UP

Kyla stepped out of bounds twice. Three times and she did not upgrade. Urgh, It’s okay Kyla she is ALWAYS better on night two.

Ha Aly got a 15.2 on beam.lol

Gabby stepped over the line on vault but that will oustcore Kyla on floor.

Kyla got a 14.050 on floor and it says only 1 tenth deduction.

My feed is cutting out. Bridget stayed on floor from what I saw but the landings were frozen for me every time but the first one.

Alicia nailed beam. Best beam routine of the night. 15.200

Lets stop pretending we are cheering Jetter.lol
They skipped Anna Li on bars. 15.150 with a 6.7 start value.

Finnegan stayed on beam but she had some missed connections. Not bad for her. 15.350 way too high. They continue to give her the Mccool connections she will not get in london. Thank God Kyla had the best bar routine tonight and was underscored on beam.

The overscoring of Gabby disgusts me. If she stays up she will be in the top 2. It’s seriously screwy.

I am calling it now. Jordyn will get a 15.250 and tie Gabby for the lead.

I TOLD YOU SO. I CALLED IT. The fix is in for Gabby. I am so done with this sport.

195 Responses to “2012 Nationals Wrap up. Day 1”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    i think Nastia is pissed

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    OMG Nastia f*cked it up…and Gabby followed it with one of the best routines I’ve seen, ever.

    And OMG Jordyn nearly tore her ACL on that vault. Scary!

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    By the Chellsie rule she doesn’t advance… 13.05…. That’s another petition if she does 5.7 SV and 7.305 execution…GGOOOO BROSS!!!!!

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Shell need a 17 on beam?

  5. Exgymgurl Says:

    Bross 15.02 bars

  6. meow Says:

    Aly was so amazing just now……best floor I’ve seen this whole quadrennium…

  7. JAS4 Says:

    what did Gabby score on bars and Good for Kyla iver a 15 with a DTY

  8. Melissa Says:

    Omg I’m not home so I can’t watch!! Refreshing this page from my phone like every 5 seconds like a crazy person! Please keep the updates coming! Thank you!! Anyway you can post video? I know that’s probably annoying….

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Gabby’s bar score (15.45) seems a bit low considering it was better than Classics and she got like a 15.7 there. Oh well. I’m so glad she came right on after Nastia and KILLED it. By the Chellsie rule Nastia needs to be OUT.

      Damn I gotta go to swim practice…I want to stay and watch but I can’t. Hopefully they’ll have it up to watch later!😦

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t have any video but the posting will continue until wordpress screws up. It kind of likes to do that in love blogging.

  9. Gymbee Says:

    Go Aly! Oh god I was nervous for Nastia. I was holding my breath, I did not want her to go into that dismount and break her neck.

    My heart is still pounding after Jordyns vault. I think my heart skipped a bit in sheer terror.

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    OMG Chellsie in a suit on beam with a front row look at nastias warm up AWESOMENESS

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    Andrea Joyce wanted to see Chellsie compete…

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    I bet that’s so annoying for Nastia major fail on bars and then seeing Chellsie as the aux judge for beam

  13. JAS4 Says:

    Chellsie is probably thinking yeah USAG I bet you wish you hadnt screwed me now!

  14. Sofia Says:

    Gosh, this just reminds me of how much Nastia does NOT deserve to take a place on this five woman team away from a more deserving gymnast!! Nastia, bow out gracefully!! You aren’t in ANY
    condition…funny that happens when you only train for six months!

  15. rjjohns5 Says:

    Im shocked to see Memmel is TIMING beam! She should be rocking beam. Marta sucks. Nastia’s bar routine was exactly the same as her touch only Valeri wasnt there to save her Pak salto…

  16. Exgymgurl Says:

    Tim saying Nastia goes to trials….Gag on peptobismal leos

  17. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think we have a wogaless Olympic team…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It’s only night one. Night two and we might be able to say that. Bross gets in the 14’s internationally when she falls. Marta obviously does not want her on this team

  18. Exgymgurl Says:

    Anna Li 11.5 on beam??? That’s a major low score

  19. Exgymgurl Says:

    Go Bridget Sloan!!!!! Gamer!!!!

  20. Exgymgurl Says:

    I said it before tim

  21. JAS4 Says:

    go bridget!!!!

  22. Exgymgurl Says:

    Bross bars + beam outscores nastias bars + beam

  23. Exgymgurl Says:

    Sloan on bars 15.1 awesomeness

  24. Exgymgurl Says:

    Marta- is there any way I can take Nastia to trials without Bross?
    Terin- but Rebecca scored higher
    Marta oh right dang…

  25. Gymbee Says:

    WHY is Bross sticking with the Patterson?! I just don’t get it. With how this is going WOGA won’t have any Olympians this time around.

    Haha Alicia going for a second vault for whatever reason. Like a boss. Mihai looked pretty pissed.

    I love Bridget Sloan! How awesome was that bar routine! I loved seeing Marta’s face right after, she seemed kinda hmmm.

    • Aerial Says:

      I am furious about the Patterson. It’s another Atler/Comaneci. Everyone knows she can’t land it, the commentators say she’s botched it all week. Give the kid a chance!! Give her a freaking double back!

      Shocked Alicia got highest score on beam. She did well but her feet and lack of artistry jump out at me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Finnegan outscore her with a 15.350 but Alicia hit beam pretty well.

        Valeri will not take the Patterson out because he wants his daughter on the team NOT Becca

      • Lauren H Says:

        Becca should just throw a double back to spite Valeri. She’s got to be able to do one…

      • kittykat Says:

        I’m fuming over the patterson, I only just got to watch Becca’s beam and that dismount is another freaking injury waiting to happen. CHANGE IT GODAMNIT VALERI, I know you refuse to upgrade her bars to leave room for Nastia, but have it in your heart to save the poor girl from another injury which will be more than likely career ending. Please get a new coach Becca

      • Gymbee Says:

        Since he refuses to take it out, I almost think at this point she should take responsibility for her own health, since apparently her coach won’t. She’s gonna blow out her knees on that thing, legs she’s going to have to walk on till she’s 90.

  26. kittykat Says:

    Heard that Price stuck a double double, hit floor and got 14.55?? I HATE some of these scores, especially Sloan’s bars. So robbed

  27. casey Says:

    hhaha love it, i really hope nastia doesn’t move on – karma is a bitch!

  28. JAS4 Says:

    yeah bridget definitely better than bross guess they want to make it look like someone from woga is in the mix

    • Lauren H Says:

      Bridget hit the low bar but I can’t remember on what, so that’s probably why her score is a bit low. Besides that, her routine was beautiful!

      • Aerial Says:

        What was with hitting the low bar tonight? It was weird… but I figure Sunday those that faltered will come back with a vengeance to prove… unfortunately Nastia too.

  29. Exgymgurl Says:

    Gabbys toe oob

  30. Exgymgurl Says:

    I guess I imagined that

  31. Exgymgurl Says:

    15.1 for Kyla on beam… Lowballed!!!

  32. Exgymgurl Says:

    Ross beats gabby bars and beam…,, Her vault is higher than Gabbys floor…. Hmmmm …. Nice

  33. Exgymgurl Says:

    Ross has beat gabby Nastia and Bross on bars and beam… And probably Anna Li should be enough to be an olympian is she continues

  34. Exgymgurl Says:

    Sloan also is beating Nastia Li and Bross on bars and beam

  35. Exgymgurl Says:

    Kyla Ross leading AA after 3 going into floor with Wieber, Raisman to beam, gabby to vault…at least they stopped talking about Nastia for ebee

  36. Exgymgurl Says:

    Kyla can totally beat Jordyn….. I believe the camp rumors now….

  37. Exgymgurl Says:

    Kyla won’t get screwed… Alicia can’t do bars I hope she kills nastias score 14 to trials ….6 after the top 8

  38. JAS4 Says:

    I hope Bridget can do well on floor!

  39. Biyatch Says:

    Without even going into the 4th rotation I want to change my team prediction. Weiber, Raisman, Ross, Maroney and Douglas. Same team as worlds last year just sub Ross for Vega. The extra amanar should make up for having to put Jordyn up first on bars.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That is my team too. Finnegan might be my new alternate but I am waiting til after Nationals to decide that.

  40. Exgymgurl Says:

    Anna Li must have missed bars but they didn’t show it… Kyla wins bars for the night

    • Lauren H Says:

      Anna actually hit bars. I’m not sure why her score was so low…maybe she hit the bar??

      • Aerial Says:

        Was shocked she hit (she definitely didn’t hit beam.) Figured she botched it again when they didn’t show it. But 15.1… good for her!

  41. Biyatch Says:

    I feel like there should be an odds betting site for the chances that Gabby is able to repeat Sunday. Watching her I can’t help but feel like the beam fall or the vault crash are inevitable.

    How long until Nastia’s “shoulder injury” flairs up?

  42. Exgymgurl Says:

    15.25 took the lead not tied it…. If Kyla does an amanar as well as Raisman on Saturday she’s number 2 or 3 plus high score on bars…nuff said… If I’m Nastia I don’t compete that bar routine Saturday….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It tied it. Nastia said this is the first week she has done bars. Two weeks before Trials?

    • Biyatch Says:

      Kyla got a 15.1 on her DTY and is currently .9 behind Gabby/Jordyn and .45 back from Aly. With how we’ve seen her amanar I’m not sure how much of that deficit she’ll be able to makeup if everything else remains the same.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She can improve by 4 or 5 tenths at the most. AND WHY HASN’T SHE UPGRADED FLOOR?

      • Lauren H Says:

        I don’t get it!! A 1 1/2 thru to a double full…really?!? I’m sorry, but a double full should never be a pass as a senior. There’s no way she can’t add an extra half twist on that. SO frustrating…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I do not understand why she is keeping that floor. It makes no sense unless Marta is making her.

  43. Gymbee Says:

    Did Nastia just say “I really only started doing bar routines about a week ago” …. “gotta start somewhere” ? Hahaha.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She is full of it. I love how she says she will upgrade like fucking up the easier routine doesn’t matter. She made excuses for her bad routine and I lostall respect I had for her and that was negative infinity.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Now we know why valeri was PUSHING her around on her giants… Because she can’t do them I bet night 2 is worse or she injuries out because of her shoulder…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If she messes up bars on night two I think she would be smart to end this but her ego won’t let her.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I know (hope?) she is just making excuses with comments like that, but it just comes off as completely idiotic. It’s the only word I can think of, I’m so puzzled by it.

  44. Exgymgurl Says:

    If Kyla keeps beating gabby on bars and is the top bar worker and an AA gymnast how can they not take her?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She needs to hit floor or she won’t be doing it at the Olympics.

    • Lauren H Says:

      In a perfect world, she’d already be named to the team, but I’m already setting myself up for her to not be named.

      IMO, she is the best bars and beam worker in the US. I can confidently say that now having seen her compete in person. She’s absolutely gorgeous to watch.

  45. JAS4 Says:

    now the Gabby vs Jordyn rivalry is going to be played up times 1000 way worse than after American Cup and of course Nastia gets first interview lol and for the record I thought Jordyn’s floor should have been a tenth or two higher! I don’t see Gabby getting those scores especially on floor internationally but this is International scoring it’s Marta scoring and I loved Alicia’s beam really hope she gets the front handspring double and has a floor!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby was a mess on floor and beam and she had both feet out of bounds on the Amanar. How she scored a near perfect Jordyn is Marta fixing this competition .
      Jordyn looked pissed at the end. She can see what is going on and I don’t think she and Gabby was BFF’s.

      Steve Penny hugging Gabby at the end sealed the deal for me. This is fixed.

      If Gabby hits she will be overscored. There is no way she gets any of these scores in London accept bars and she must have clearly missed something for Kyla to beat her. I’ll watch it later for nit pick.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I thought gabby had a toe OOB on pass one or 2… Or I imagined it but seriously wrong….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t remember but the overscoring she got is pissing me off.

      • Lauren H Says:

        I couldn’t believe Kyla overscored Gabby either. I mean, I’m glad it happened because it boosts Kyla’s Olympic chances, but still boggles the mind because of how far up Marta’s @ss Gabby is. I’m surprised the score wasn’t changed.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kyla has only one issue on bars, Her Van leuen(sp) has form issues. the rest is beautiful. Gabby must have missed some handstands.

        I am just curious what the real score would have been for Nastia on bars.

      • Aerial Says:

        Everyone at Chow’s must hate hearing Gabby’s floor music a million times a day. That would drive anyone insane and they must hear it in their dreams/nightmares. The crowd likes hearing it once and clapping along but already I dread it.

  46. Biyatch Says:

    Another random comment. WTF is going on with the hair on these girls? Nastia and McKayla… blah. Gabby’s weave… Aly was a little better with the slick she showed at Classics but the frizz couldn’t be controlled.

    • Gymbee Says:

      They’re loving the ponytail tucked in under their elastic. At least Alicia had nice hair today. Aly and her frizz makes me laugh.

    • MacStabby Says:

      I thought the SAME THING! MacKayla’s is at least controlled and smooth. Nastia looks like a stripper on her way to a step class.

  47. Alex Says:

    Jordyn looks PISSED

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I would be pissed too. She nailed everything but beam where she was pretty solid and she still tied Gabby. I would be pissed too.

      Take those 4 routines and put them in front of real judges and Jordyn is ahead by 8 tenths. Gabby’s landings on floor will kill her if the judges at the Olympics are as nit picky as they were last year at worlds.

      • Alex Says:

        Oh, I agree. That was definitely not all on the up-and-up…. as much as I love this sport, I hate times like these when it’s clearly biased. I have to say that, love her or hate her, I do feel kind of defeated on Nastia’s behalf. If I had been in her position, after bars I would have gone home. Kudos to the girl for bringing it on beam, but I don’t know how she can be ready. Just watch me eat my words….but it just doesn’t seem possible. I do feel bad for Bross. There’s just really no shot. At least it doesn’t seem like it. I wish they would change her dismount….surely it makes more sense to lose a bit on DV if she’s not giving away over a point in execution? I mean, if it were hit-or-miss I could understand the risk…but she NEVER makes it. 😦

      • kittykat Says:

        HOLY MOLY, Jordyn NAILED THE SHIT out of floor, best routine I’ve ever seen her do. Sorry for the capslock, but I felt it was required. Never got the hype about Douglas with the exception of her bars, seriously pissed off for Jordyn right now. But still, that floor, BAM, take that Marta and your fixing-for-the-headcase ways

  48. JAS4 Says:

    she is probably thinking if we were in front of non Marta judges there is no way you’d be tied with me lol I don’t think she likes the whole rivalry thing with Gabby

  49. Exgymgurl Says:

    Jordyn needs to emerge and do better. Marta likes the whole Nastia shawn / Patterson Muppets thing…. Ali will out score gabby internationally in a heart beat as will Kyla… And Marta will be so surprised.

  50. Exgymgurl Says:

    How does Nastia improve that? She ran out of gas to get through a full bars routine….Nastia and valeri have been messing with Bross on beam something’s totally off her face was swollen big time…

    • The GYM JUICE Says:

      I didn’t notice the swollen face but yeah Valeri should NEVER have let her do that Patterson again. Clearly she can’t handle it and I was very shocked that she went for it tonight. Crazy stuff happening at WOGA. I am wondering where is Yevgeny during all of this?/

  51. Alex Says:

    Also, question. So it seems unlikely that Bross will make this team at all. Do you guys think she’ll stick around for Worlds, or do you think she will retire?

  52. casey Says:

    i noticed her face being swollen too! im not a bross fan but that poor girl has been strung along by the liukin mafia

    • Me:) (@BessieMooFan) Says:

      Oh and Casey I totally agree about Rebecca. What the hell is she thinking continuing to train with Valeri when he obviously only cares about Nastia? I wonder why Yevgeny Marchenko can’t coach her while Valeri focuses on Nastia??????

  53. Me:) (@BessieMooFan) Says:

    Hey guys gymtrutheller inspired me LOL so I started a blog, tell me what y’all think http://gymjuice.blogspot.com/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Welcome to the bloggerSphere.:) Gabby was overscored.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Gabby seems like a nice enough girl and all but I wonder if she is buying into the whole I deserved these inflated scores like Nastia? But yeah the only big mistake Jordyn had was vault but Gabby messed up too

  54. sanitynmotion Says:

    Seriously. I like Gabby but enough already. Marta is only shooting herself in the foot with those inflated scores. You’d think she’d be smarter than this…is she trying to up Gabby’s confidence or something? This is totally stupid. If I were Jordyn I’d be LIVID.

  55. Aerial Says:

    Found myself cheering more for Maroney than anyone. Improve bars on Sunday and I think she is bettering her chance!

  56. Alex Says:

    I think Jordyn WAS livid. She couldn’t even play nice for the cameras, and I don’t blame her one bit. In fact, the fact that she had bitch-face on made me like her more.πŸ™‚

  57. Christina Says:

    Okay, gymtruthteller I am agreeing with you more & moreπŸ˜› biggest problem of the night was Gabby & her inflated scores… & also Sarah Finnegan’s beam, I preferred Kyla’s & Alicia’s. This team is going to be so weird- still hoping for an ’08 girl on the team though!!! Maybe ASac? I love her & her determination, and her and Bridget were so cute because they were so happy- thoughts?

    • Alex Says:

      They were very cute. I totally agree– I had a moment of, “aww, wouldn’t it be great if they were on the team together again?!” And then I rejoined reality.πŸ™‚

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I thought Alicia had the best routine of the night. Kyla had a step on her dismount on floor but I thought her score should have been hire

    • Lauren H Says:

      The only reason Sarah scored higher than Kyla and Alicia (who were the best beamers of the night) is because of her SV. She has 5 tenths on Alicia, and I’m not sure how much on Kyla. Sarah’s execution was lower than Alicia’s, but I thought Alicia got robbed on her execution. I don’t see how they took a full point off, she was ROCK solid.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I remember Sarah missing some connections but she still got her full start value. Sadly she messed up floor and her bars is useless. I think she will be the alternate

      • JAS4 Says:

        I kind of think that if Nastia doesn’t think she can hit bars by finals or misses in finals she might bow out do to shoulder injury then again I could totally see her going to trials lol

  58. Alex Says:

    OK, one more thought– do you think Gabby knows she was over scored? Jordyn sure seemed to. Do you think Gabby gets it?

  59. terrigymfan Says:

    What did everyone think of the story of Dom’s sister on 20/20?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Didn’t watch it. I dvr’d it. Will watch tomorrow.

      They made it seem like it was gym related. No one cares other wise

      • terrigymfan Says:

        It wasn’t gym related but a very interesting story. Not sad at all. The sister has actually led a very good life. I have a little more respect for Dom. I at least do not blame her for wanting to tell this story. I definitely am going to read the book to get more details.

    • Gymsurfer Says:

      I was totally shocked. Her dad is SUCH a scumbag – between hitting Dom, then hiring a hit man to kill her coach, and then forcing the mom to get rid of the kid. I am with you Terrigymfan, I was very interested and will read her book. I always liked Dom. She’s had a tough childhood.

      • JAS4 Says:

        John Geddert calls Dom out at first I thought he was calling Shawn too til I read tha last part

      • JAS4 Says:

        He probably just earned bonus points with Marta lol

        Russian stuff

      • terrigymfan Says:

        They didn’t get into her having to deal with the Karolyis, but when you add them into having to deal with her dad, I’m surprised she has any sanity left at all. Her sister’s adoption parents are real saints, aren’t they? I so admire people like that.

    • Aerial Says:

      I was actually pretty disappointed by this broadcast. I have been defending Dom partially because she will bring to light all the scandals with petitions and selecting the team, which is timely and an issue right now that all fans want to change. However, I felt so badly for her sister and it seemed Dom capitalized on finally revealing her other sister right before the book sales and during Nationals. She’s known about this since her first pregnancy…. why wasn’t it a joyful discovery and announcement years ago when promotion wasn’t an issue? Does she really care about this person? Hmmn.
      Well, luckily I have preordered this book too and while my stomach is turning a little about Dom’s tactics, I shall read it when it arrives and try to do a lil more research on the topic.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I was only disappointed because it was part of a 20/20 episode filled with generally superficial pieces all-around.

        As far as Dom’s timing, it is suspect but every single one of these gym books seem to come out right around the Olympics. I think the publishers are insisting on it. I am at least going to reserve judgment on Dom until I read the book. I confess though that I have not been following her antics the last few years like many of you have so I might be a little naive still.

      • The GYM JUICE Says:

        Here is what I think of the Dominique secret sister thing, let me know if ya’ll agree. http://gymjuice.blogspot.com/2012/06/dominique-moceanu-has-secret-sister.html

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I did wonder how Dom didn’t know her mom was pregnant. Maybe she will explain in her book. I can’t believe she would make the whole thing up. That would be just stupid since surely such a fraud would be exposed.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I was wondering the same, about how Dom didn’t realise. But then I thought if they had an ultrasound scan and realised the baby didn’t have legs, and decided to put her up for adoption they must’ve played down the pregnancy and not talked about it. And I guess Dom was busy in the gym. I was 8 when my little brother was born, and I can only remember snippets of my mom actually being pregnant. Kids forget these things easily.

        Pretty crazy story though. Why didn’t she tell before, this just reeks of publicity-hunger. Hahaha Gedderts comment, love him!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Before last night I thought Dom’s sister probably had severe medical issues and Dom was taking advantage of her sad situation to grab publicity and make money. Now I realize her sister, while she has to legs, is really a very strong, intelligient person and very independent and healthy. Dom is certainly not taking advantage of her. The sister seems to be entirely on board with Dom telling the story in the book. Granted, Dom (and the sister too apparently) chose to reveal the story in a book, which will obviously make them money, but somehow that doesn’t bother me much. Everybody who writes a book nowadays always seems to reveal some big secret in it to help it sell. It’s the American way.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s nice that her sister had a great life but it doesn’t change Dominique’s intentions one bit. Anything for some TV time

  60. Kel Says:

    I am a Jordyn fan and I know a lot of people may disagree with me, but I don’t think she hit 4 routines tonight. Her vault was scary and she had so many balance checks on beam. I do think Gabby was overscored on floor, but I looked at their levels of difficulty and saw that Gabby has 4 tenths more difficulty than Jordyn, so I can kind of see why they are tied at this point.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Jordyn has issues with her beam connections but stiff legging her vault doesn’t compare to Gabby falling off to tHE side. I think she was over both lines which should have been a bigger deduction.

      Gabby was all over the place on floor taking steps on every landing and her beam is full of issues.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Gabby was completely stepping off the landing mat… That should be an extra deduction.

      • Kel Says:

        Good point. But…I do think Gabby was underscored on bars. What do you think about her bar routine? I liked her routine better than Kyla’s and with the overall 4 tenths difficulty she just didn’t need to be as good as Jordyn to be able to tie with her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have to watch Gabby on bars again. My guess is she was late on her handstands. She does this a lot. Her beam anf floor were so messy her scores literally make no sense.

    • gymtruthteller Says:


      Ooops sorry about the capitals.lol

  61. Kel Says:

    If Nastia does the same type of bars routine on Sunday, there is NO WAY she should be permitted to go to Trials. Not when Gabby and Kyla can do bars with Jordyn as the 3rd bar worker.

  62. nero Says:

    Geddert and Jordyn are playing this smart, saying he only wants her at 80% and she was pretty damn impressive for only 80%. Her vault landing TERRIFIED me, take the step girl no need to stick the thing right now #TeamJordyn

    Gabby is great on bars and I think she’ll vault in TF but I really don’t like her floor. A lot of people are hoping Gabby beats Jordyn here, at Trials and the Olympics because she’s more artistic. I don’t see it #TeamJordyn

    Maroney was great tonight but why she does that third pass is beyond me, just do a double tuck or 2.5 twist

    Aly, rock, haters gonna hate

    Kyla, awesome bars, awesome beam, terrible floor

    And that’s MY Olympic team

    Alicia was super impressive after only 8 months. Way to not let an injury be the end of you Alicia! Bridget says don’t forget about me bitches!

    I thought Nastia did ok, her bars were crap but beam was good. She better hit bars Sunday


    • Lauren H Says:

      Nero, this is a great post!

      I have complete faith in Geddert…he knows what he’s doing. Jordyn should be peaking at the Olympics, not Visas.

      I sat along the vault tonight, and when Jordyn landed that Amanar I almost has a heart attack! Her attempts during warm-ups were way better, but every one had her typical step to the right. She must have been going for a stick during the competition.

      Gabby is amazing on bars, but I reeeeeeally don’t like her floor routine. Her dancing is so spastic and makes no sense with the music. Jordyn is way more artistic.

      And I really hate to say this, but after tonight I have no hope for Bross anymore. There’s no way she has a chance in hell to make the Olympic team. My heart breaks for her. 😦

      • JAS4 Says:

        I do feel bad for Bross if she’d change the Patterson dismount and was still doing floor she’d have a much better chance

    • terrigymfan Says:

      What kind of an excuse is it to say you only started doing bars a week ago? We are a barely month and a half away from the Ilympics? She should have been doing bars months ago. She is completely out of shape. Marta keep acting like its not Natasia’s fault at all that she is so far behind on bars. It’s an absurdity she uis even in the discussion.

      • Kel Says:

        Great post! I don’t see how 3 weeks before Trials will help her get in shape. She was so out of breath just after warming up. I can’t believe it when she actually admitted to only doing bars for the past week!!!

    • Kel Says:

      Good points…I definitely think the Olympic team will be Ross, Wieber, Raisman, Maroney, and Douglas. They all did enough tonight to show they belong on the team. It’s nice to know they are not peaking just yet either. Shawn Johnson made a great comment in an article recently about how mentally and physically exhausted they all were by the time the Olympics came around in 2008.

  63. Lauren H Says:

    I know GTT was giving Valeri sh!t for spotting Nasita on everything while basically ignoring Becca on bars, but I understand now…Becca can do bars just fine on her own, Nastia CAN’T.

    During the warm-ups on bars, I knew there was NO way Nastia was going to be able to pull off her routine. Valeri helped her on EVERY one of her pak attempts, basically catching her as she grabbed the low bar, holding her a second, before letting her continue on. To call what he does “spotting” is incorrect…he’s literally doing the skills with her. He pushes her on her giants too. People rip on Aly for how crappy her bars are, but at least she can do a routine without assistance!!

    To be honest, I’m surprised Nastia’s routine wasn’t worst. I was honestly scared for her throughout the whole routine. I really thought she was going to fall and hurt herself.

    Now, I’m not a scoring expert, but how the heck is her bar routine’s SV 5.7 with a front layout dismount?!

    • Sofia Says:

      …and, if, by some miracle, Nastia could pull out the stamina by trials to finish a bar set that barely makes the cut, numbers-wise…what will her “old” body have to go through in order to achieve that? Seems to me, she would be yet another gymnast who barely pulls themselves together to MAKE the team, and has nothing left to compete ON the team…another over use injury, waiting to happen?? She looks slim,. but not the least bit athletic anymore, she doesn’t seem to have the (forgive a Martaism) sturdiness to endure the rigors of this level of training. Why take her at all?? Only comfort is that whoever is the alternate, might actually get to compete.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I could see Marta putting Nastia on the team for hype then expecting her to bow out before the Olympics “due to injury” and let one of the alternates compete but then I could totally see Nastia refusing to now out then we have Nastia Marta lol
        I also wonder if perhaps Jordyn has a few more upgrades to show at trials or the Olympics nothing major but a few tenths here and there

  64. nero Says:

    Ok I just watched some Gabby interviews and there’s something, I can’t really put my finger on it, something I’m not liking

    Hmmm she seems really confident which is fine, she’s going to London we all better get used to it, but it’s borderline cocky. She seems different, a little annoying, which is why I started to not like Shawn after 2007, she became annoying. Gabby’s interviews seem very ME ME ME

    And if you go watch Jordyn, Aly, Mckayla they’re constantly talking about the team, the other girls etc.

    Anyone else feel this way or am I just being a bitch tonight?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      USA-Gym is feeding her ego by giving her these scores. She will be McCooled during the Olympics especially on beam and floor.

    • Kel Says:

      I was thinking the same thing about watching her interview backstage!!! There is just something about her I don’t quite like. I really like Jordyn, Aly, and Kyla. I feel neutral about Mckayla. Not a fan of Gabby’s, but I’ll take her over Nastia on bars any day!

      • JAS4 Says:

        I’m usually pretty neutral on Gabby but maybe she has been buying into the USAG hype Marta has probably told her all kinds of great things I don’t get the impression that Jordyn is a Marta favorite though so she is desperate for one of her favorites to beat her

    • Biyatch Says:

      Im convinced its the weave.

  65. terrigymfan Says:

    One thing I know is that the judges who are assigned to work these meets do not know which events they will judge until at most a day or so before the competition. For example the judges will not know which event (bars, vault, floor, or beam) they will work Sunday until some time tomorrow. I bet Marta is already trying to figure out which judges to assign to which event to achieve her goals Sunday.

  66. brainy Says:

    Thinking that the judges are baking Gabby’s meltdown on Sunday into her scores tonight. Also that they know Kyla is a 2nd night gymnast. I predict AA order Jordyn-Aly/Kyla-Gabby/Elizabeth Price.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kyla is very much better on the second day and you could be right.

      Kyla had two very small balance checks on beam and a step on her dismount. She has perfect leaps I don’t know how anyone could call her overscored on beam. She needs to fix that floor or she will not be doing AA at the olympics. That would be a travesty.

  67. nero Says:

    Ok last comment for me……

    I AM DISAPPOINTED IN THE LACK OF FLUFFS!!!! I love the fluffs, all the drama, the slow motion to super dramatic music, zooming in on the girls faces, I LIVE for that shit.

    We better get good ones Sunday, I don’t care how overdone and over dramatic they are.

    And I’m calling it now, 60% of the ‘filler’ time will be talking to/about Shawn, I think I’m gonna hurl

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It will be all about Nastia. Here is to another disaster bars routine

    • Aerial Says:

      Their version of fluffs was showing Nastia’s routines repeatedly. Her bars 3 times and beam twice. Even my DH didn’t get the diva treatment, especially after the awful bars… so unfair to show that a million times and neglect other routines. Nastia’s head is gonna blow up any second now.

  68. Shawn Fan! Says:

    McKayla Maroney’s 3.5 first pass…almost stuck landing was AMAZING! anyone else feel she was underscored on floor? all her passes were clean except the 3rd, and she never stepped out?!?

    Anyone feel Aly was overscored, like, ALL NIGHT! I point specifically to her bars and beam?!?!?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly’s bars were worse then usual and her beam was overscored. I agree but not to the point where her placement would have been different.

    • Aerial Says:

      It’s no surprise I’m a huge Maroney fan and despite being ‘meh’ on her music, I love her presentation and that first pass was some sweet stuff! I’m not great about code stuff anymore but always hope she will score well on the other events.

      My husband said (re: Aly Raisins), “She really doesn’t do things nicely does she? She does big things but doesn’t look very nice.” Hahaha. I hadn’t even told him to dislike her.

  69. Shawn Fan! Says:

    Jordyn was way off on beam…missed connections…balance checks…..lifts leg up (more than once) for landings…….
    sorry – just watching the videos now coz I just got home y’all!!

    Have yet to watch Gabby routines, but I think Jordyn should be pissed coz she was off tonight, not coz Gabby was overscored over her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby had more issues than Jordyn. Watch Gabby on vault

      • Jeco Says:

        Ok, so you GTT, you are now my new favorite read!! I love how you say exactly what many of us are thinking!! It’s refreshing to call it as it is; if it looks like shit, smells like shit, it most likely IS shit!! Baby’s form drives me crazy, Ali is a mess, and Jordan is wound up so tight she is ready to snap…look at execution scores; Kyla outscores them all!! You are one of the few who see this girls potential and thank god some one d

      • Shawn Fan! Says:

        they were both sketchy on vault.

        Worst part of the whole thing – Ross time and time again being shafted by the commentators! And that bit where they were putting up names on that board? reminded me of two special children with extra chromosomes playing during recess!

  70. Macky Says:

    Why do you guys think Gaby is “the chosen one?”

    I don’t get it. Kyla is def much better than her but she does not get as much attention.

    I really hope jordyn wins visas.. I can see gabby’s ego exploding if she wins… She seems like the type who would let fame get to her head. Hope I’m wrong.

    • Lauren H Says:

      Gabby must kiss Marta’s butt…that’s the only thing that makes sense. Kyla is def much better, but judging by her interviews, I don’t see her kissing anyone’s butt, and that’s probably why I like her. LOL

  71. nero Says:

    ok last LAST comment, I swear! I have to get up early tomorrow

    What the balls was up with the sound system? Everyone’s floor music sounded like it was repeating in weird places.

    Ok, see everyone Sunday or possibly tomorrow for the boysπŸ˜‰

    • Jeco Says:

      I meant Gaby’s form, not Baby’s form drives me crazy .. Damned spell check!!

    • Aerial Says:

      Totally agree about the music Nero! It was the WORST during Gabby’s spastic music… awful!

  72. Shawn Fan! Says:

    Let’s hear it for Sarah Finnegan and Elizabeth Price as well! Some of their routines were great.

  73. Brit Says:

    Kyla mentions that she, MARTA, and her coaches decided she should downgrade her vault. Was it that inconsistent during training this week?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      When Kyla hits Floor she can compete. Marta doesn’t want that.She wants Gabby to have that second AA spot

      • JAS4 Says:

        I know Aly is one of Marta’s favorites but I wonder if she’s noticed yet that Marta is willing to screw her over for Gabby

    • Lauren H Says:

      From what I saw yesterday in the warm-ups before the competition, she wasn’t close to hitting her Amanar, so the downgrade to a DTY was smart. From the quick hits I’ve read of her training, she wasn’t hitting it then either.

      • JAS4 Says:

        She still did really well with the DTY though scoring over a 15 with it

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It might not be worth the risk to do the Amanar. Kyla always scores over a 15 with her dty. She can hit that Amanar. I think her nerves got the betetr of her. I hope she nails it day 2.
        She needs to shut up Tim and Elfi

  74. JAS4 Says:

    Already only talking about Gabby vs Jordyn and Nastia lol sounds like this was straight from Marta’s mouth

  75. Gymsurfer Says:

    Unrelated to Visa but pertaining to gymnastics – did anyone catch the Nastia interview on CNN last night AND Dominique Moceanu on 20/20 – oh my god what a shocker about Moceanu – who knows what I am talking about? I don’t know I should ruin it for anyone who wants to read the book, but wow. Just wow.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Please ruin it!πŸ™‚ Is there more than the whole secret sister thing?

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      Gymbee’s right. After a SPOILER ALERT, spill the beans!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I think Gymsurfer is just talking about the 20/20 interview. There was nothing more than just the secret sister except also mention what jerk dad she had. The story about the sister is quite unbelievable though – no legs but really has led a very fulfilled and wonderful life to this point. Its ironic that her dad really did her a favor by putting her up for adoption since she did not have to be around him growing up.

        Nothing about the Karolyis in the interview. I’m hoping there is a lot in the book about that.

  76. missy Says:

    I still don’t get it why Chellsie can’t have the extra time needed to prepare while other people are given that 😦 Is it too much to ask that they be fair and consistent when applying these so-called rules??

    • Aerial Says:

      Heartbreaking to see her there timing routines. So many thoughts about that yet not sure how to express them.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I know😦 At this point I wouldn’t be surprised if the Olympics gets moved to September so that Nastia can have another month to prepare “cause she only had, like, a few months! because of her shoulder injury!” (Nastia-fans on fb)

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      When cameras turned to reveal one of the nation’s most decorated gymnasts – an Olympic contender a couple of weeks ago – standing there holding a stopwatch, whose heart didn’t melt? And everyone from Marta to the coaches to teammates had to ignore her because she was a judge.

      “So Nastia,” Andrea Joyce should have begun in the Day 1 wrap-up interview, “what was it like going to the balance beam after a surprising uneven bar performance, knowing one of its judges could beat you?”

      Chellsie’s problem is bureaucratic, something the British rhythmics know all too well.πŸ˜‰

  77. missy Says:

    btw, is the interview they did at the end of the competition with Aly/Jo/gabby posted on youtube or somewhere?

  78. JAS4 Says:

    Video of Bridget interview

  79. casey Says:


    she has such an attitude, i hope it comes back to bite her in the ass

    • Shawn Fan! Says:

      nastia’s meltdown on bars and sulking afterwards was quite entertaining.

      someone from her PR needs to remind her that being a hot pink champion is not just about winning…..its about sportsmanship as well. Yes, we get you are all about rising above and how being down pumps you up to work harder and all that crap, but how bout a little class!

      Jordyn wishing all her competitors good luck prior to the start of day 1: pure class.

      • brainy Says:

        I like Jordyn as a person — she is very competitive, which is which a type of motivation you need absolutely at this level. Also at the 2012 Worlds did anyone else see Jordyn hug/congratulate Komova after Vic’s FX & before AA results were posted? With that gesture Jordyn proved she is generous & a good sport.

        The other gymnast I like is Kyla. On Friday she congratulated Bridget Sloan (another good one!) after B’s 15.1 bar routine. It proves that you can be both a fierce competitor and a lovely young woman.

  80. Monica Says:

    Wow, your level of Gabby hateration knows no bounds it seems. So when it’s time for the Olympics, are you going to be willing/capable of cheering for this 15 year old girl (whom you clearly cannot stand), when she’s representing Team USA. Or are you just going to root for the other 4, plus alternate?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Who says I have to root for the US? I have free will and will root for the best gymnast to win. The best team to win etc….

      I don’t hate anyone in gymnastics. I don’t like Gabby and her attitude but I don’t like Alicia and her attitude either but she killed beam and deserved a higher score. I can differate the gymnast from their personality.

  81. sarah Says:

    Finally someone who agrees Gabby is so badly overscored. I mean she got 61.050 day 2. Yet the highest score shes gotten internationally with unbiased judges is 57.6.
    Gabby genrally freakes out at least once a competition when they giving her high scores, what do they thinks ganna happen at the olympics when she gets accurate scores!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      It’ll be a wake up call for sure at the Olympics…not sure what Marta’s goal was there with Gabby’s scores. I think she’s just trying to screw over Kyla for that AA spot because if Gabby was scored correctly I’m sure Kyla would have beaten her.

      But I’m still thinking Kyla deserves this because she doesn’t upgrade her floor, despite all signs pointing to this will be the thing that screws her over, so there ya go.

      • JAS4 Says:

        If I were Marta I would just have Gabby focus on Bars and being prepared to back up on the other events if needed to have less risk of her having a meltdown at the Olympics I’m afraid if Marta keeps over inflating her scores and putting lots of pressure on her she is due for a meltdown at the Olympics which I hope wouldn’t happen but it’s a possibility I have a feeling Marta will fix the scores at trials to make sure Gabby gets the number one AA spot

      • sarah Says:

        yeah id put gabby on bars for finals
        and the rest of the events in preluims (where they have four competing)

Leave a Reply

