Mens Prelims and Marta admits she is a cheater

It should actually say, Marta admits she is a cheater again. I am surprised Nastia didn’t go straight to Trials.

Love how she says she hasn’t watched Bridget Sloan but mentions Nastia in every other comment telling us how committed she is to gymnastics.


Live quick hits with Videos at Gymnastike.

I really wish scores would be updated and not periodically placed in after a half hour but Gymnastike is awesome for doing this.

Scores Thanks to commenter Byatch for the link.

73 Responses to “Mens Prelims and Marta admits she is a cheater”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Does USAG have the live scoring link on their website?

  2. MacStabby Says:

    Ugh, I was irritated as I read that. I want our team to have great bars routines, if possible. I’ll start something on fire if Nastia’s “very good” bars routine beats out someone’s awesome one.

    • JAS4 Says:

      If Gabby and Kyla do what they are capable of on bars with no major mistakes and Nastia out scores them then we know Marta has been talking to the judges again lol

    • Shawn Fan! Says:

      Ugh, and to think Marta may stick around after 2012. The only favor that woman has done to USA gymnastics is getting rid of that spiked bleach blonde hairdo she had going on in the early 90’s.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She’s totally staying on. I hope she stays on and ends up having to be fired for malpractice or something. I can’t wait until someone legit calls her out and exposes her.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    Marta a cheater? She would do no such thing! She’s honest Marta lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Are you sayings she did not chop down that cherry

      • JAS4 Says:

        Do they have Cherry trees in Romania lol?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Good question. I have no clue. Probably

      • JAS4 Says:

        I thinks it’s just bats and vampires and the occasional gymnast

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        LOL, Don’t forget the Vampires

      • JAS4 Says:

        Wonder which category Marta is in? Bat, Vampire, gymnast lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Vampire. No Soul:)

      • terrigymfan Says:

        She also sucks the blood out of everyone she is around, especially gymnasts.

        Remember the old actor Bela Lagosi who played Dracula? Interesting that the name is so similar to Bela Karolyi. And I think there was a movie called “Bride of Dracula.”

        So there you have it, Bela and Marta Karolyi — Dracula and Bride of Dracula!

  4. Biyatch Says:

  5. JAS4 Says:

    Memo to USA women- screw the Amanar learn this

    • nero Says:

      Haha I love watching the guys. After Maroney lands her second vault in EF I want that to be her reaction because no other bitch would be able to touch her and she knows it!

      • Shawn Fan! Says:

        heehee….I love watching the guys as well….not really for the gymnastics tho❤ Sam Mikulak❤

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I wish the women would have more of those types of reactions…I think they would make fans quicker that way.🙂 He deserves to be proud of himself he’s worked DAMN hard all his life…

  6. JAS4 Says:

    How is it that I haven’t seen this before?
    Note to Marta- don’t piss of ASac

    • Rhanda Says:

      I remember that. It was when she was at Brown and it was some drunken party and that guy was apparently screaming “I want to be punched by an Olympian!” So Asac punched him. Ha ha.

      • Casc Says:

        Well, if she did hit him for real, then it could be really painful. She is the type of a girl that nobody would like to be punched by.

  7. Gymbee Says:

    God Marta. From Bridget she expects her to show she’s ready for trials, but nastia can get up there and just waltz around, long as she’s on the podium it doesn’t matter.

    How much do you bet she’ll make Bela in charge of the “baby girls” so that she can still be in control (and rack in more money from USAG.)

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I just realized my reply to Gymbee’s comment wound up at the bottom of the page. Anyway the rumor is Kim Zmeskal will be put in charge of the “baby girls.”

  8. Dee Says:

    Kerri Strug’s new son in People magazine. I wonder who sent them the USAG onesie LOL

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    Article in Dallas Morning News about Natasia. Nastia and Marta are quoted.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    Dom’s big secret revealed

    • Dee Says:

      So I ordered the book for nothing?

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Is Dom a publicity hound or what? To think she tries to promote her 20-20 interview and her book by teasing everybody (“I am going to be announcing a bombshell”) with a story that really is a trajedy for her sister who was given up for adoption.

      I have to say that I have mixed feelings about Dom. She obviously has emotional issues stemming from her upbring in a dysfunctional family. As a result she has a lot of chara cter traits I do not admire – always wanting to play the “victim,” always wanting to draw attention to herself, always over-hyping everything, etc. On the other hand she makes life interesting in the world of gymnastics and really does tell some truths about the gymnastics world that few others involved ingymnastics are not willing to tell. She also is a huge critic of the Karolyis and I am 100% in agreement with her on that. I guess all-in-all I am glad she is on the scene even though I roll my eyes at so much of what she says and does.

      • Dee Says:

        Woah. I just read the article. How many more “secrets” is she going to have?

        I guess I’ll DVR 20/20 tonight.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree it’s kind of disturbing what a publicity hound she is…it’s like she’s so desperate it’s pathetic. But Terri you’re also right: she calls out the Karolyi’s for who they are – if only she could appear more “credible” in other instances maybe people would take her more seriously as it comes to the Karolyi’s. We all know Zemeskal will never say anything because she’s still heavily involved in the politics of it all.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        There are a lot of former Karolyi gymnasts who still make their livelihood from gymnastics who simply cannot afford to express their true feelings about the Karolyis because Marta literally controls and dominates everything in USA Gymnastics. Dom has chosen to cut the umbilical cord from USA Gymnastics and make her living from external sources so she can afford to be the critic. I for one cannot criticize those who remain involved in USA gymnastics (coaches, judges, etc.) and choose to remain silent. For most of them it is their passion and livelihood. We all have to eat. I know I am not going to openly criticize a boss of mine at work even if he or she is a buffoon. I am not stupid.

        Regarding Kim Zmeskal, I have always liked her but did not like it when she openly took Bela and Marta’s side a few years ago when Dom criticized the verbal and training abuse the Karolyis’ gymnasts had to endure back in the 1980s and 1990s. I think this was about the same time that a former Romanian gymnast (I forget her name) said that Bela and Marta actually beat their gymnasts back in Romania. (I have no doubt that is true especially since Geza Pozar, who was the Karolyis choreographer at the time and later in the US, confirmed it. Bela and Marta knew they could never get away with that in the US so they mainly stuck to verbal and training abuse). However, I believe Kim has a naturally stoic and grinder-type personality who is going to be loyal to her former coaches or other authority figures pretty much no matter what. In other words I don’t think Kim was being disengenuous – she was just expressing her honest belief about the Karolyis.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Lord. There’s always something with Dom isn’t there? I don’t know why she has to go on 20/20 and talk about that, 4 years after she found out? Also, WHO cares? Yes it’s sad and blabla, but it’s also personal, not in the public interest I wouldn’t think. She is just soooo hungry. Seems like she can’t stand that every 4 years, the focus is on the current batch of gymnasts and not on her anymore, so she has to come up with a new “scandal”. Wonder what it’ll be in 2016. Good thing she has 4 more years to cook something up.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Bummer. I wanted it to be Marta having an affair with her

  11. terrigymfan Says:

    Rumor has it it will be Kim Zmeskal.

  12. Aerial Says:

    I’m assuming the interview will be more about her secret than her own and Memmel-gate type scandals. I was hoping for the latter, if not to promote herself, but to keep USAG and the selection crap in the limelight as Nationals and Trials are upon us.

    PS. I finished Shawn’s book. It was an easy, charming read, not bad and not super impressive, but decent for her age and purpose of the book. Not sure if there was enough new or shocking to write a review, but I can still summarize a few things I hadn’t known before or that were slightly gossipy (though she purposely is not negative or a complainer) or a few reactions I had, if anyone cares, so that if you read that plus know her accomplishments will not feel you missed anything by not reading it, haha. Let me know!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      YES Aerial please write everything and anything. I just read on one of SJ’s obnoxious “20 questions” twitter feed that in the last few chapters she “really pours her heart out”…is that true? And does she talk about her boyfriend? I mean, if you’re promoting a book about “love”…yeah I’m super curious, so please provide all the details.🙂

      I also read the excerpt and kind of found it interesting that Marta actually told the girls who would be on the ’08 team in a cafeteria before making it public.

      • Aerial Says:

        Okay🙂 I will wait to hear from GTT about where is appropriate to post it!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      It’s going to be a great evening isn’t it? First watch Nationals from 7-9 (central) on and then follow it with Dom’s interview on 20/20. My husband is taking my daughter’s out for the evening. Me — I’m curling up in front of my computer and then the TV!

      • Aerial Says:

        You married a great one, especially for a gymnastics fan!😉

        Yup… great night ahead. DH got a cord to go from the laptop to bigscreen so we (well, I) can watch the Universal stream on TV. Then Moceanu’s interview, plus at 9pm on Piers Morgan are 4 “prominent” athletes including Nastia and Shawn. (May have been taped before her retirement.) (Which who knows when that really was, lol.) Can’t wait!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Thanks Aerial. I didn’t know about Piers Morgan. Thanks goodness for DVRs.

        The only problem is keeping my mind on work the rest of the afternoon!

      • Dee Says:

        I will be doing the exact same LOL
        We are all sooo interesting on Friday nights!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Some people would say we need to get a life! LOL

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah me too! I’m fixing dinner early tonight and getting my children ready for bed and then watching gymnastics lol

      • Gymbee Says:

        I am ready to stay up during the night here in London ha! I do feel very alone as the lone gym geek in my life, so I am beyond happy to have all of you guys to discuss with🙂

    • Dee Says:

      rawwr i didnt get mine yet…come on amazon!!

    • JAS4 Says:

      Does she talk about her break up or anything like that lol

  13. tulip Says:

    Well it’s official. None of the rules and regulations matter. It’s all Marta, all the time. Reading between the lines, I won’t be surprised if Nastia is on the team, McKayla can forget it because she “only” is good for one event (unlike Nastia who is good for… no events), and Steve Penny must have demanded no questions about Chellsie.

    Marta is going nowhere, she has no qualms about making things up as she goes, and I wish USA Gymnastics would have a mutiny and overthrow the dictators Karolyi. Penny is just their puppet. .

  14. terrigymfan Says:

    Quick question: Does a gymnast have to compete in all four events in the Olympicteam qualifying round to be eligible to compete in the individual all-around final? I assume the answer is yes but am having trouble finding verification on the Internet. I do know that only the top 24, and wo from each country, from the team qualifier can compete in the individual all-around final.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I’m pretty sure they do because I think on here there were some post about Marta possibly screwing Kyla out of a chance at the AA by not using her floor in prelims I think they should let all the gymnast who want to do AA compete all routines even if they don’t count towards the team that way someone like Kyla won’t get screwed

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah I believe to qualify for the AA you must place top two in your country in quals…so Marta can have up to three girls “duke it out” during quals for those top two AA spots. I’m assuming she’ll have Jordyn and Aly get the top two but I hope she gives Kyla a fair shot. I even think Douglas could be more legit than Aly. Aly seems to have a knack for screwing up bars royally in AA and not being able to make podium. The only way she’ll make podium is if other people make mistakes. You’d think you’d want two people for USA going for AA that could genuinely make podium without having to count on other’s mistakes – and that’s Kyla and Jordyn.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The one thing Mikayla has going for her is she seems to be almost a shoe-in for a gold medal in the vault. Other than Jordan possibly winning a gold medal in all-around (and she is no shoe-in), which other US gymnast has a decent shot to when an individual gold medal? So I’m thinking Marta will lean toward Mikayla even if it doesn’t make a lot of sense from a team scoring standpoint.

  15. JAS4 Says:

    I’m hoping Amelia can make top three by finals!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Thanks JAS! It looks like this next quad will be relatively weak in UB too…it also looks like Katelyn had a bad day – what happened to her vault/beam?

      • JAS4 Says:

        I’m not a hundred percent sure but from what I saw on twitter I think she only vaulted a FTY and she fell on her layout full series on beam

  16. JAS4 Says:

    Way to go Penny that’s totally what the petition was all about

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      This is just starting to make me more mad by the minute. Chellsie totally sold out or she is being gifted for playing the fool.

      What the hell is an auxiliary judge?

      • JAS4 Says:

        And maybe she’s an auxiliary judge because she refuses to go along with Marta scoring lol

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Brevet judges along with certification have to get volunteer credit at big meets aux judges are either scorekeepers, timers or line judges. It’s good if she wants this that they are helping her.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Good for her, but I agree with GTT, it has an after taste of a buy-out to get her to leave in peace. I’d love it if she judged the seniors and gave Nastia a bad score hihi.

  17. Exgymgurl Says:

    Wow… That was some petition…..imagine your first outing as a Brevet judge at nationals…. And that’s a good paycheck for the weekend too :-)…..

  18. Exgymgurl Says:

    $350 per day paycheck plus expenses and meals….. Not bad….

  19. sanitynmotion Says:

    Kyla almost injured herself warming up her amanar. Looks like she’ll be doing a DTY tonight. Not good, Kyla – especially if you haven’t upgraded your floor. I have a bad feeling about this.

  20. JAS4 Says:

    i have a feeling even if she did have floor upgrades if knee is tweeked she might not do them tonight

  21. JAS4 Says:

    i have already seen Nastia like 10 times lol

Leave a Reply

