Bought and sold.

sell out

I had all the respect in the world for Chellsie Memmel, until about 5 minutes ago.

Looks like we now can guess why she decided not to fight USA-Gymnastics for a shot at Nationals. She could have filed a grievance like Dumbo, Dominique Moceanu did but she chose to take the harassment of Steve Penny lying down.

As someone who spent a hell of a lot of time spreading the word of the petition I kind of feel like I wasted my time but I honestly cannot blame Chellsie for looking towards her future over a shot at competing at Nationals only to be low balled because they never wanted her there in the first place.

Yea it won’t work USA-gymnastics because I am still not wasting money on that tour:) If someone wants to give me a ticket so I can make fun of the tour on this blog I’ll send you the address:)

32 Responses to “Bought and sold.”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    They probably told her if she tried to fight them
    She’d just be over ruled anyways but I was all for continuing to email penny and all but if she has sold out there’s no point in that anymore

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      There is still a point to e-mailing Steve. I will never let him forget. We can organize a mass yearly e-mail to remind

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol wonder if He’d ever actually reply lol probably not he seems to think fans are beneath he and Marta lol

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    I’m glad she’s on tour. It’s more than she would have had without the petition. The fans get to see her gymnastics and so what she makes $$ . She probably wasn’t going to the Olympics

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I feel better now. She gets richer on my damn work:) I am totally just

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    And I think under the circumstances it’s not selling out its choosing wisely. And it’s her way of saying thank you to the fans. Honestly, I didn’t think they’d put her on tour. This is way more than we had a week ago, and will probably be followed by Penny’s post apocolympic resignation.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nah it’s selling out but I hope it is for a lot of money.:)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Think of it this way: had there not been such a grievance with denying her petition I’m sure USAG would NOT have offered her a spot on their tour.

      Part of me wonders though – is she scared to continue on with life without gymnastics? If I were her I’d just say EFF you Steve Penny and go to some college – then be a judge, and get in Marta’s face/expose her when she tried to tell me HOW to judge certain individuals.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    I like the term apoc-Olympic… It describes what happens to USAG in London

  5. K Says:

    I wonder if she decided to lay down and take it, because she wants to coach in the future? Maybe she doesn’t want to piss off the wrong people.

    I understand where you’re coming from though!

  6. Aerial Says:

    She always wanted to be on the tour some I’m glad she gets something that makes her happy. Penny’s comments about it make me want to puke though. “She can be recognized for her huge contributions for our program”… on a MIOBI-style gala in bad costumes?? What about competing at Nationals if she’s so valuable and deserving of respect? But whatever.

    And GTT, don’t forget I’m here for ya. I got tickets to the tour from my hubby for my bday (he will be bummed to realize it’s not an actual competition) and though I hate smarmy shiz I would like to see the current girls again (coming from near Toronto to Detroit since otherwise nothing is ever close enough.) So you can save your pennies and morality and just like SJs book you can live vicariously through my thoughtlets.

  7. Casc Says:

    What if… team fails at the Olympics, then on a post-Olympic tour Chellsie will be in a great shape and everyone will ask “Why the hell we didn’t send her to London?”

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That’s what I’d do if I were Chellsie. Instead of doing back tucks, I’d be doing triple twists and double layouts.

      The tour looks so boring. Like, “let’s put on ugly ballerina gear and ‘dance’ around the beam!”

  8. S Says:

    I really don’t think she is “selling out”. She clearly said in an interview that she was trying to get on the tour. She is at the end of her gymnastics career and the tour is a fantastic place to showcase her talent in front of her fans when she couldn’t do it at nationals. What Scumbag Steve did was terrible, but at least this is giving her a nice close to the fantastic career she has had.

  9. Alex Says:

    Well, I hope that the uproar on her behalf got her more money. I hope that USAG was like, “Aw, crap….we’d better buy her off so we can look a little bit better….” I hope that’s how it happened and they really had to make a solid offer to get her to participate. In my dreams, anyway.🙂

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Chellsie has Cheryl Slade as her agent. This is the same woman that got Shawn Johnson a million plus for DWTS the first time around. Trust me she got a lucrative deal. Plus Shwan was talking about wanting to do the tour. Even though there was no ink, my guess is Shawn out Chellsie in and she knew what they were offering Shawn, she knew that they needed to do something to get this issue off the table…… They were in a great position to negotiate for Chellsie

  10. Dee Says:

    I saw this when I woke up and knew by the time I got to work it would be a blog entry🙂

    I am a tad unhappy about this…and I agree with the “selling out”.

    However…someone, whether it be Penny or Memmel, was smart about this. I bet people now flock to this tour in droves. People love drama, and she is the center of a gym drama right now. I wouldn’t be surprised if all these shows sell out now.

  11. Aerial Says:

    PS. Just wanted to inform y’all that my SJ book arrived today! I will get on my homework tonight, though it’s definitely anti-climatic at this point, and don’t know yet the timeframe as to when she stopped writing it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      When you are done with your homework assignment I will post it to the blog if you like.

      Moceanu’s big secret is family related in her book which means her father probably had an affair with Marta. Big

      • Aerial Says:

        That one arrives next week. I’m sure I’ll be done SJ shortly, especially as I have the next 2 days off work.

        Don’t forget Moceanu is on 20/20 Friday evening. I know you aren’t a fan but just had to mention it. I don’t think she’s the main interview, so I don’t expect a blowout of epic proportions, but it’s great that SOMEONE gymnastics-related is on a primetime interview show at all. Maybe in the future others would be. So apparently the family thing is the main point of the TV interview. I don’t when she filmed it.

        I will send you the assignment but if others online read it all tonight and share all the good stuff by tmrw, it might be old news. But I shall🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have it dvr’d since I have to know before hand if it is worth my time to watch her self promote.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Aerial you should flip to the back or seek out “retirement” to see if she actually talks about it.🙂

      I will look forward to that blog.

      Moceanu’s family is old news. Yawn. She won what, one team Olympic medal. I’m over it.

      • Aerial Says:

        I just checked if there was an index just for you🙂 Nope but apparently there is an online discussion guide should I choose to get involved. Haha. Nah, I would rather discuss it here and then move on with all the shiz yet to come in the next few weeks.
        I wonder if the book (since the first thing it promotes is being about LOVE) mentions her boyfriend ending things. Probably not, who’d want to admit that? I’m so ridiculous, I should still be subscribing to Teen Beat. More to come.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe my library will have it. I am not spending money for

  12. Aerial Says:

    I’m halfway done. I spent most of my day off so far getting my nails done and going shopping with a friend. So far Shawn has just “lost” (but really won) the silver medal to Nastia in Beiijing. I forgot/didn’t realize she’d been beating her for almost two years and won Nationals and Olympic trials beforehand. I will be done tomorrow before prelims start and the author is waving pompoms in the stand while sipping a Coca Cola rather than competing.
    I’m finding her parents quite impressive in this book. Too bad they are currently missing following the women’s AA in Beiijing.

Leave a Reply

