Beth Tweddle

Beth Tweddle’s new UB routine. A lot messy but she has given herself plenty of time this time to fix the mess.

Watch Beth carry the Olympic Torch


7 Responses to “Beth Tweddle”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I don’t think she was doing the full difficulty she is capable of or either she missed some stuff because it said her d score was 6.6 but a few months ago there was a video of her doing a 7.0 routine but she may be working her way back up to it after having to be out for her knee surgery for a short period but I think if she clean it up some and gets the d score back closer to 7.0 then I think she has the potential to medal in London on Bars (which I really hope she does)🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That could be why the routine was messy. It isn’t the one she has been training.

      She is winning Gold if she stays on bars in London because that is what we call, home court advantage. Known this time as, Home Podium advantage:)

      That is what I am hopeing. No Nastia, beth on bars and Kyla on beam and I will be happy with anyone of the favorites winning the AA (Jordyn, Aliya or Viktoria. Though I am holding out hope for Jiang Yuyuan)

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think if Kyla has some serious floor upgrades and office she starts landing her Amanar better she could be in the AA medals mix as well

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yes – home court advantage. Exactly why He Kexing won in ’08. Honestly like I said in a previous post I don’t think Nastia OR He should have won the gold…anyways.

        I saw a previous routine (pre-injury) where Beth’s D value was 7.0 – and yes she will need that in order to defeat Komova or Mustafina. I don’t think the judges will be as easy on her in London as they were on He in Beijing. I just think there’s a lot of bias towards the Russians in general and their form is (so far) way better. I don’t think Beth hit one handstand here so she really needs to work on that. I know she has a harder dismount that she’s capable of too – she adds on another half twist from the one she does here. I do hope she wins GOLD in London on this event though – she deserves it. And after what they did to her in Beijing…

        I have a bad feeling that Kyla will not be upgrading her floor. We should have/would have seen it already, no? Even in podium? She seems too content with what she’s doing. I hope Marta is not behind this (I can see her telling her coaches to just focus on execution, not the D values and then making sure Kyla gets screwed over in favor of Nastia).

        If Nastia makes the team (thereby screwing someone else over so she can continue to market Subway sandwiches) I can’t lie: I will be secretly hoping the Russians/Romanians take gold and silver for team. I hope any of the favorites win the AA too – secretly I’m gunning for Mustafina, then Jordyn…I really wasn’t a fan of Komova’s attitude at the 2011 worlds and she doesn’t have that “grit” that the others do. It would be cool if an underdog got the AA gold though. Like Kyla. I’m hoping Marta doesn’t screw her over.

  2. nero Says:

    OK so I’m bored and looked up the draw lineup for event finals. These are the order the girls will compete based on the place they qualify
    VT-7 6 8 5 4 3 1 2 Good news for Maroney if she makes the team

    Bars-2 3 7 4 1 5 8 6 Bad news for one of Tweddle, Mustafina or Komova who will most likely qualify in the second or third spot, but He Kexin did win last time going first

    Beam-1 7 4 8 6 3 2 5 Who knows, each team has 3-4 good beamers I think this final will be close

    Floor-4 6 1 7 5 3 8 2 Aly better hope someone beats her qualifying score, I can see her taking it if she goes last

    The US is in subdivision 3 with Canada, Great Britain and France and go in Olympic order

    China and Russia are in subdivision 4, China starts on beam Russia on floor. Romania in subdivision 5 and start on floor.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m going to call this one for floor: whoever qualifies second or third will win, as long as they don’t have any major mistakes. If I were Aly I’d take a couple extra unnecessary “steps” in qualifying. Whoever qualifies as first will barely make the podium. Just saying. The judges ALWAYS hold out their scores during the first few routines. We saw this in last year’s worlds…and even in the 2008 Olympics, the person who went last got the gold medal, even though it wasn’t necessarily the BEST routine.

      The beam draw sucks too. You’d want to qualify 2nd or 3rd there as well.

      Maroney better make that team over Nastia.

  3. Dee Says:

    I won’t be able to watch the UB final without having a nervous breakdown.

Leave a Reply

