New Sports Illustrated cover



42 Responses to “New Sports Illustrated cover”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Is this for real? I sure hope so!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Jas, My crappy paint work looks real to

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol guess I was just hoping it would be true lol but you know USAG/KGB probably controls sports illustrated too lol

  2. Alex Says:

    I wish. Only I’d change the headline to, “Scandal in Women’s Gymnastics!”

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Sinc when is Chellsie repped by Cheryl aka Shawn’s and Gabbys agent?

    I didn’t realize but it looks like since 2008…..

  4. TerriGymFan Says:

    So this is a fake! Damn

  5. Thegirl Says:

    LMAO! Very nice😀

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    @usagym begin here go into retirement at our discretion lol…. What a cool tweet…may email just that to Steve Penney… They took Chellsies quotes to other people and put them in their AP press release and the statement on their site… What total idiots… I’ve been out of pocket petition is almost at 3K

  7. JAS4 Says:

    These are some pictures that I thought you might could use or edit for the sports illustrated covers

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thanks Jas . I really need to get one of those programs to do this. Now I just use paint

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am working on a marta one but I can’t get it right so I quit. I’ll work on it tomorrow

  8. Aerial Says:

    Love em.
    I wish someone had forced Penny to respond to the 2 jrs. who made it through to Nats this year specifically (who are nobodies and obviously no further meets this year unlike the srs) in those articles. He got very lucky with the statements he gave and what he chose to talk about.
    The top cover is great… I’d love for things to keep going and him to explain the reasoning for each “subjective” qualification. I think that’s fair to the athletes, being their governing body and something huge like the Olympics.

  9. Sofia Says:

    This is great, but honestly, I wish it were true! I would love for this to blow up into an unavoidable story that the kiss asses at USA gym. would have to address fairly. Chelsie, bless her heart is the perfect catalyst for change because she herself is above reproach, has never been the least bit dramatic (in fact, quite the opposite), and is such a treasure…but i can’t help thinking of the genuine pain this is causing her and her Dad who by all accounts are good decent people….

  10. Dee Says:

    By what I’ve learned about Penny, he has no background in gymnastics. This is just a butt-kissing president/CEO position for him…which is why I am not surprised at all in his non-emotional response to all of this. If he was a former gymnast, it could be different.(Am I right? I thought I read somewhere that he is strictly corporate…not anything gym related?)

    • terrigymfan Says:

      He sounds like some of the execs in the company I work for (which obviously I am not going to mention by name. LOL). It is amazing how he thought he could call up Andy and Chellsie and make insulting suggestions to them and they would just go along. A lot of these types delude themselves into thinking they can buffalo anyone just because they can do that to the butt kissers who hang around them all the time. Reminds me of these CEOs who insist in appearing in their company ads. They think the general public is going to be “mesmerized” by them just because their employees act like they are swallowing their bullshit.

      Dee, did you go on your honeymoon? How are you liking married life? Knowing you you got in some gym time on your honeymoon.

      • Dee Says:

        LOL I tried but they charge extra to work out here at this beach hotel…married life is good but I keep sneaking away to check on gym drama! Thanks for asking🙂 back to real life soon…noooo.

        It would be interesting to have more background on penny. Peeves me that he probably has no real gym experience.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I envy you so much Dee. What I would do to be at a beach resort right now. Don’t worry about getting out of shape. Apparently you can stay out of the gym for years and come back right away without a sweat. Just ask Nastia.

        Yes, if only Penny had the caring and warm personality of Marta or Valerie! LOL Seriously, I agree it would be better if USA Gymnastic execs were former gymanasts so they understand what these girls go through. I think it is possible for a non-gymnast with the right experience and attitude (that means a little heart) to be successul as a USA Gymnastics exec but it is more difficult.

      • Dee Says:

        A hahahha @ the nastia correlation to me being on vacation. I officially am no longer worried LOL I’ll work out next year! Hahahaha

  11. Biyatch Says:

    Shawn officially out

  12. elitefan Says:

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    Now they could bump Chellsie in as an alternate…. LOL

  14. Exgymgurl Says:

    And doesn’t Shawn start on bars with Nastia?

  15. Gymbee Says:

    Saw it coming – Shawn Johnson finally admits it. She announces retirement!

  16. Kel Says:

    Sad to say, but I have lost some respect for Shawn Johnson. It seems pretty clear that she knew for some time (at least the last few weeks) that she wasn’t going to be able to make a comeback. Why was she misleading everyone with all of the Olympic media coverage and saying in interviews that training was going good? I believe her comeback was sincere in the beginning, but somewhere along the way it was no longer sincere.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I agree. May 27th she said the plan is to compete at Nationals – I don’t think she decided in one week that her knee couldn’t take it!

      Also appearing at GMC with all the “real” olympic hopefuls. A bit of a fraud.

      Totally I believe her comeback was legit, then she realised her knee can’t take it, but kept up the illusion for $$$.

  17. Kel Says:

    Here’s to the Olympic team being made up of girls who have never had the chance to realize their Olympic dreams! That means no Nastia!!! I hate to say this, but I really hope she falls off the bars and beam at Nationals. I don’t wish injury upon her, just an epic fail🙂

  18. JAS4 Says:

    I think when Chow started saying in interviews a month or two ago that she might not be ready I think she knew then that she wasn’t going to Nationals I wish she hadn’t led people on but I kind of wonder if she hadn’t planned to do some watered down beam routine at nationals to say she tried but USAG said don’t bother or perhaps she knew a few months ago that she just physically wasn’t going to make it and no matter what she did and she wouldn’t be able to beat any of the younger girls and no matter what she did she’d wouldn’t be chosen over Nastia but either way I wish she would have told people sooner but I don’t know if I completely buy the whole knee thing I’m sure it was a factor but wouldn’t it still be hard for her to do DWTS with her knee? I wonder if at the last camp she went to before Jeselo and Pacific Rims that maybe Marta and USAG just went ahead and told her to retire because it wasn’t going to happen I’m sure Penny is hoping this story will make everyone forget about Chellsie

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I tend to give Shawn the benefit of the doubt. I don’t think she waited in order to mislead people or squeeze in a few more endorsement dollars. Rather, I think it is just so hard for these great athletes to finally give it up when their whole life has been gymnastics up to that point. They want to hold out hope to the bitter end that they can do it one more time. I also wouldn’t doubt that in the last few days she was “encouraged” to retire by Marta/Penny as part of their attempt to deflect attention from their fiasco in handling the Chelsie Memmel situation.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I wonder if she has a chapter about retirement in her book that’s due to come out on tuesday… Just seems like the timing of her announcing retirement 2 days before her book is due, which is 2 days before nationals is a bit to coincidental to be a coincidence.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I kind of find it hard to believe that she could show up to Nationals and at least do what she did last year on two events and she has made it known that she wants to do DWTS and all that dancing would probably be pretty rough on her knee. I really wonder if USAG hasn’t been putting pressure on her to retire USAG has made it pretty clear there is only one 08 girls they really want on the team and if that’s the case I’m sure Shawn knew it. It seems like USAG was thrilled for Shawn’s comeback til Nastia announced hers. It’s probably more complicated than we know lol! I think ASac and Sloan and Bross are probably next on their list if ASac still had floor she stood a chance of her and Nastia being on the team together but I think it will be “Nastia leads the Newbies”

      • Casc Says:

        Well, they may try to sell it in the media as “Nastia leads the Newbies”, but I don’t think people will buy it, because princess was out for long time and people do recognize Aly and Jordyn by now. Especially after last World’s. I feel like although younger girls do respect Nastia as a Olympic Champion, they may not exactly like her, because they don’t really think like she is “one f them” and pink leotards won’t change anything.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I’ll bet her announcement was moved up a day or two (she probably was going to announce on day 1 of nationals) but then USAG wanted the Chellsie story to be moved to a backburner, right and quick, before nationals could begin.

        I hope for Shawn’s sake that there is not a chapter about retirement in her book…then it’d be even weirder – she knew about this then for how long?

        I hope Shawn gets the co-hosting privileges that would have gone to Nastia had Nastia not decided to come back. And I really honestly now hope Nastia does not make that team. I’ll be heartbroken for the girl that gets screwed over in her place (Kyla, Douglas, Maroney)…

  19. exgymgurl Says:

    “At the 2004 Olympic trials, Patterson had two uncharacteristic falls on balance beam over the course of two days, dropping her to third place. Although she did not earn an automatic Olympic berth at this competition, her successful performances at the training camp following trials were more than enough to place her on the team.”

Leave a Reply

