Help get Chellsie Memmel to Nationals- Update

E-Mail Steve Penny and let him know how you feel,

Someone started a petition. It looks like there is only ten signatures. If that is the case SHAME ON YOU PEOPLE. Get your butts in gear.


This petition jumped from 15 to 146 in only 8 hours. Any petition under 1000 will do no good so get your friends to sign it and keep up the facebook and twitter comments as well as the e-mail to Steve Penny.

So far the only gymnasts names I have seen are Josh Dixon and Vanessa Atler.


Phone: 317-237-5050

Send a tweet to @USAGym

Write on their usa-gymnastics facebook page

Hell here is the list, e-mail everyone

These pictures were put up at IG Magazine and they bring the point home (sorry can’t get them to work) and while I don’t condone gymnasts getting free passes on their past accomplishments, Chellsie competed last year. She nearly won a silver medal in the AA and she has saved USA-Gymnastics so many times in the past something pet Nastia never did.

Here is one of the pictures

89 Responses to “Help get Chellsie Memmel to Nationals- Update”

  1. hannah Says:

    i emailed him!🙂

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I think we should spread the word on twitter and make them listen everyone is tired of corrupt gymnastics!

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Spelling penny’s last name 7366 gets you to a press one for Steve penny in case you left a voicemail on the general extension

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Call the sponsors too, secret , proctor and gamble, visa let them know they’re sponsoring a fraud

  5. Gymbee Says:

    I emailed him and tweeted @USAGym

  6. Jessica Says:

    Okay, for just conversation’s sake here…why do we want Chellsie potentially on the Olympic team? She has a great gymnastics victory history….but….history has also not been kind to her with injuries at the absolute worst time. And now with a reduced team, I don’t know that she is worth the gamble. Do we as fans want to see her get there and get injured and then have only 4 gymnast take up the slack? I don’t think so.
    Now, don’t ge me wrong, I think she a great gymnast and was screwed by this decision. BUT, perhaps getting to nationals and trials would just be prolonging the hurt for her in the long run.
    I read the statement last night and was initially pissed. Then I really started to think about it. This poor girl has been through the ringer already and, to quote the obvious, “the USA field is deep” crap…Chellsie is done.And that’s sad, really. There are just too many other healthy and talented gymnasts gunning for those 5 spots.
    So, while I understand the outrage and wanting to give her another shot, I personally think that she should re-examine her gymnastics career. I don’t think her health could take another 4 years for the next olympics and with each passing year and the juniors coming up, the chance is she will never make another olympic team.
    Gonna go hide under my computer desk now. Please don’t hate on me too badly!

    • K Says:

      I don’t think it’s the fact that people want her on the team definitely, I think it’s the principal of it all.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yep, I agree. Personally I wouldn’t want her on the Olympic team, but it’s just unfair that it seems the rules are bent (or followed) for the others, but the same rules aren’t applied in her case.

  7. LG Says:

    Thank you I’m writing him now. What else can we do? she has earned the right that to compete at Nationals.

  8. LG Says:

    Also be reminded that Chellsie was named to the original Pan Am 2011 team. And that IS an automatic Qualify to Nationals. She was replaced by another athlete when she withdrew, as was Sacramone before worlds, but ASac got a pass to Nationals. Chellsie is legally by the by laws of USA Gymnastics entitled to compete at Naitonals. If we could spread that word, I think it would have a big effect.

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      Just because you are nominated for a position does not mean you will get it.😉 Chellsie withdrew her bid for the Pan Am team and was replaced by a reserve, not an alternate.

      “Should a team member be removed or withdrawn, the replacement athlete will be selected from among the pool of replacement athletes based upon the needs of the team.” – USA Gymnastics Athlete Selection Procedures for 2011 Pan American Games

      You can nominate any number of qualifying athletes to a team, and add/remove them as often as you like – provided your roster does not exceed the maximum number of team members and alternates allowed. But you’ll need to submit a definitive roster at some point before the competition begins. This list, not a nomination, is what solidifies membership.

      In Alicia’s case her injury happened too close to the roster deadline – 24 hours before TQ – to replace her with an outsider, a non-traveling alternate, so she became a bona fide team member.

  9. thegirl Says:

    I figured I’d give it a try….

    Spread it everywhere……

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    According to Moceanu she could file a grievance….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Moceanu needs to STFU and stop harssing gymnasts on twitter. She isn’t doing anything for Chellsie she is doing it to sell her book.

      Fans need to get their butts in gear and complain. You have until Tuesday because the Holiday will be over.

      If people forget about it now it will do no good.

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    International assignment… She was assigned to 2011 panams….. She could have shown up for one camp in 2012 and also been eligible… Nastia should not have had to petition either they don’t know their own rules

    • JAS4 Says:

      Of course they don’t those are just for looks they much prefer to just make their rules up as they go to benfit those who suck up and screw those who don’t lol

  12. JAS4 Says:

    If Memmel ever decides to write a tell all book about gymnastics that is one book I’d buy!

    • Aerial Says:

      I think she’s too nice to. Her sportspersonship and how humble she is, is half the reason people like her so much (at least I think.) She never self-promotes.

  13. nina Says:

    i’m from morocco and i just signed i’m spreading the word in africa

  14. JAS4 Says:

    Does anyone know if Nationals will be on tv ( somewhere other than universal sports)? Or will we have to watch it online

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It is always on NBC

      • JAS4 Says:

        Thanks! And I’m glad it’s on a channel I actually get! Lol I watched classics online and it only froze up a couple of times so not too bad but I still prefer to watch it on tv I really hope all the attention about Memmel will force someone at USA gymnastics to step up and do something about it! So what if she didn’t want to go to the Corrupt Karolyi Ranch to be tortured into further injury it’s not right for Marta to get away with purposely sabotaging Memmel

  15. JAS4 Says:

    Video of Marta interview she said she’d loose sleep at night if she didn’t do the right thing yeah that’s why she told Memmel to compete beam when her floor and bars were better

  16. Exgymgurl Says:

    Keep posting the petition link to gymnastics boards comments…hello Wisconsin? Sign!!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A few people posted it on facebook and that is when it started to take off but overall it isn’t enough.

      I heard a rumor that a certain ex gymnast (guy) has plans to cause an uproar but I don’t know how legit that is.

      Everyone was up in arms for 10 minutes. It’s been pretty ignored all day.

  17. nero Says:

    The only thing that petition is good for is to show Chellsie how many people support her

    There is NO way Martha and the selection committee are going to let fans start dictating and overruling their decisions

    • JAS4 Says:

      Maybe it will show the people who aren’t already aware how corrupt USA Gymnastics is

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I don’t understand this: Nastia has not verified bars, has not attended camps, and yet people on Facebook are claiming otherwise. If Nastia had scored less than 14.0 Marta would have had no other choice but to allow both her and Chellsie to compete. Now that Chellsie screwed up Marta can eliminate one while keeping the other – what Marta wants, Marta gets.

      I still don’t understand how Nastia is able to compete bars when she hasn’t shown anything but a few skills (if that), has NOT verified them, and most definitely has not gone to camp! I think she went to maybe “one” right after announcing her comeback but didn’t do much, and then was immediately reinstated on the national team.

      It’s so obviously bullshit I don’t know how people can’t see otherwise.

  18. LG Says:

    Gymtruthteller. I’m so…enraged over this issue and am interested in helping with it in any way and collaborating. I’m talking to a few sports news outlets about doing a story on it. Would like to get the petition into the hands of the Wisconsin papers as well. If you care to partner on it, shoot me an email at

    Also, wrote to Gary Warren who is the Director at the training center, asking for their support to re consider her, he wrote me back very quickly and said he was passing along my email to the selection committee.

    Let’s get this party started.

    • Aerial Says:

      Woot woot! good for you. Keep us updated and if we can help.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I already sent e-mails to two papers last night asking for help. I will look up some more starting with my hometown papers. We are big in all sports here.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I emailed one of the local news channels here and I’m going to email a few more

  19. Exgymgurl Says:

    What’s Gary warrens email?

  20. Exgymgurl Says:

    We need to get to Pam Anderson if anyone has a connection she should remember Chellsie from helping moving bhardwaj

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      LOL Pam Anderson! OMG funny. Only these days let’s have Britney Spears do it.

  21. K Says:

    I just wanted to say that you guys are doing a great job. At the very least, Chellsie will know that she was loved and appreciated by her fans.

  22. Thegirl Says:

    So far I’m impressed, I didn’t think the petition was going to take off like it has….please keep getting everyone you can to sign, while I am off to buy more printer paper so I can print it all off when it’s ready. Thanks for helping you guys🙂

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      I may be able to figure out how to Efax it to them. let their machine handle that…. But if you want to print and deliver your call. Start a kick starter to raise $$ for it and I’ll chip in for your supplies….

  23. exgymgurl Says:

    Last year Shawn Johnson failed to meet the 28.0 two-event qualification score to Nationals but had her petition accepted

    Another good point from the couch gymnast!!!!

  24. Exgymgurl Says:

    ” I just found out that Juniors Lacy Dagen and Ashley Foss were put through to Championships without receiving the qualifying score of 52.5. Neither of the two have ever qualified to Championships before. Although the two are beautiful gymnasts, please, tell me why the selection committee will bend the official rules for 2 juniors, but not bend the unofficial rules (meaning getting a 14.0) for a former World Champion.”

    From bekahs

  25. Exgymgurl Says:

    848 on the petition!,,

  26. sanitynmotion Says:

    So there is a lot of arguing going on on the USA Gymnastics FB page; I need to stop joining in. People are idiots. I understand Chellsie didn’t make the 14 score, but there are so many examples of that happening and petitions being accepted anyways…plus the blatant bias towards Nastia and her unverified bar routine. How come she can not do bars at Classics, skip camps, and then get a by for it at nationals? Unlike Chellsie she wasn’t competing last year!

    Oh well I need to wash my hands of it. I hope Chellsie at least gets a sense that people understand the blatant bias on behalf of Marta and I’m hoping if Team USA does NOT get that gold medal in London…Marta (and all of her cronies) get the axe.

  27. Exgymgurl Says:

    The controversy will force them to address it. If nothing else it’s complete and total inconsistency. Dominique Moceanu has a blog on tumblr about it that seems half way intelligent.

  28. Exgymgurl Says:

    Even if the Nastia Gestapo is discussing Chellsie and not her glorious comeback… Usagymnastics has lost the story they’ve lost the team they’ve lost their luster the selection process shrouded in inconsistent secrecy… Marta about as much cried over this as she does over Jana Bieger…… If they are going nuts there is a reason they are scared. Chellsie beat Nastia in 2005 at worlds… What are they afraid of ? This whole thing smells of fear…. Let Casey Jo Magee go as well if she petitioned until the petition process is clarified and not based on Marta gets what Marta wants

  29. Exgymgurl Says:

    Dom dropped her audio recording of her secret grievance committee from 2006 on YouTube….

    Helping or hurting Chellsie? I’m going to link the petition to this video

  30. Exgymgurl Says:

    I can’t believe they recorded this…… WOW!!!

  31. Exgymgurl Says:

    You can go on YouTube comment and link the petition… My YouTube account won’t let me login

  32. Exgymgurl Says:

    Please someone login to YouTube and link the petition I’m out and can’t do it on my phone

  33. Exgymgurl Says:

    100 hits in an hour… She must have sent a press release

  34. JAS4 Says:

    Even Catalina Ponor heard about it and agrees about Marta! Lol this has my personal twitter hope no one here is a stalker lol

  35. Exgymgurl Says:

    You can’t see her tweets unless you are on her list they are private, I saw some responses To her indicating this opinion…

    • JAS4 Says:

      Yeah it was a twitter conversation between Ponor and one of the gymnastics blogs because Ponor was asking what was going on and they told her then I mentioned about Marta telling her to only compete beam and she tweeted back saying Marta was the reason I can take a screen shot of the convo with my phone but I don’t know how to upload it here. GTT if you would like I can email it to you if you can post an email address

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don;’t care if they are private I would love to read them. Thanks

      • JAS4 Says:

        I just sent the screen shots

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        True though belu and Bitang probably hate the Karolyis…. And Romania needs her so she’s probably okay…. Love Catalina love Izbasa… And you know the whole team knows in Romania now….

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Love Ponor. Would be curious as well! I signed the petition.

      • K Says:

        I am so nosey! What did the tweets say?!? lol jk…sorta

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nothing really. Ponor just asked questions and the twitter answered her.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I’m sure the Romanian coaches are loving it lol I really hope everyone’s support will help give Memmel her Chance at Nationals and if it doesn’t I hope that at the very least it will put pressure on USA Gymnastics to clean house around there

  36. Exgymgurl Says:

    I saw the twitter response when I was looking at something different. Let’s not throw Ponor under the bus if her tweets are private

  37. nero Says:

    Dear God anybody but Moceanu, she is not doing any of this for Chellsie she’s doing it for herself. I refuse to watch/read her videos, tumblr or blog or whatever the hell she has and give her more hits. It’s repulsive

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree. She is only looking out for herself. If it helps Chellsie I will look the other way but Moceanu does not deserve the credit for this petition. Whoever started it does and the facebook pages that posted the link that got this petition hopping.

      The petition was going no where until those facebook pages posted the link but the original person that came up with the idea gets a huge thumbs up.

  38. JAS4 Says:

    Speaking of Dom here’s the link for some conversation between her and Spanny

    • JAS4 Says:

      Valeri interview

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ah, Valeri. Bross has basically knocked herself out with the decision to keep that Patterson. I can’t imagine Marta even wanting to take that chance at the Olympics.

        Anyone feel that Aly and Jordyn were underscored given their difficulty level – how could they be “only” one tenth of a point higher than Nastia’s watered-down beam score? And Kyla…she made some mistakes/bobbles but stayed on. Yet Tim Dagget was calling it “horrific” or something like that. WTF?

        And I actually thought Gabby was pretty impressive on beam. One major mistake but an easy fix; the rest of that routine (including her leaps) were great. Nastia had one or two leaps where it didn’t look like she even went 180 and Tim was drooling about her “gorgeous lines” – what a crock of sh*t.

        I also felt Aly was a bit overscored on her amanar (very sloppy in the air after the second turn) and way overscored on bars – her form was such crap throughout the routine. I thought her bars at her last meet (was it Jesolo?) were actually a bit better. I still think she deserves a spot on the team though.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree with you about Aly on bars. It is a mess and there has to be minimum 2 point deduction on that routine. That leaves her at 14 for a minimum

        I have no hope for the judges at the Olympics.

        The only thing in her floor routine that makes me ill is the triple. The Dos Santos is well done.

        Nastia got the benefit from the judges and she was out scored by Aly ON BEAM. That says a lot about these judges.

        Kyla needs to upgrade the floor but Tim was talking her down the entire meet as he did the last two meets she competed at.

        Kyla just needs to make this team. She is going to score better with the international judges. Her beam routine would have been higher if the real judges got ahold of it.

      • doughnut sundae Says:

        Given that coaches put more effort into their athlete’s success than they do, Valeri, having brought enough athletes to practically staff an Olympic team, was a very busy man.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He is an idiot. CHANGE THE PATTERSON DISMOUNT. It is that simple.

        God I wish USA-Gymnastics would say something about Chellsie so I could blog again. I am not writing about anything else until they rule, my way of course:)

      • JAS4 Says:

        I would much rather her do a simple double tuck than the Patterson dismount or maybe a twisting dismount pretty much anything but that lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think USA Gymnastics is just waiting for it to all die down so they don’t have to say anything. It’ll come up again though in two weeks when Chellsie isn’t competing. Sigh.

        It would be interesting if other former national team gymnasts said something…or even signed the petition. That is, anyone but those with the name of Dominique.

        What does Tim have against Kyla? I don’t get it. She’s a beautiful gymnast. I hope she gets her amanar together and some upgrades on floor. And possibly an upgrade on her beam dismount if she wants a chance at any individual medals.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Who is Spanny Tampson? And why was my last post not posted? I went on another rant…hrm. Maybe I had a cuss word and it went to spam.

      • JAS4 Says:

        She has a gymnastics blog on twitter her stuff is usually pretty sarcastic and funny

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I will look in spam. A lot of stuff has ended up there lately. NEXT TIME, Let me know and I will c heck it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There is nothing in spam. WordPress being wordpress.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hrm. I went on a rant about Classics. I’ll rewrite it again later maybe. I’ve been arguing on the USA Gymnastics FB page with people so that took up some of my energy as of late (when I really should be working). I’m not going to do it anymore though since no use in arguing with idiots as to the politics embedded in the decisions of USAG/Marta.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I found it and approved it. It was way don in the spam folder.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Spanny is not my type of blog. I know others like her but her whole blog is about that stupid MIOBI show that I don’t watch so that could be why she bored me.

      She is a very talented writer I just wish she would blog about gymnastics.

Leave a Reply

