A new feature on this blog

I have started a new feature on this blog. I am going to call it, SHUT UP Shannon.

Every time she says something that annoys me I am going to put it here.

She was a great gymnast. I will defend her wins to death but as a person she makes me want to vomit. How is she so damn perky ALL THE TIME?

Why did Nastia have to kiss her ass on twitter? Maybe if she didn’t we wouldn’t have to hear about her every time Miller brings up London. (I know, AA Gold medalist. Blah, Blah, Blah)

I actually don’t think Miller mentions her because of the ass kissing. I think Shannon is just so damn positive all the time she just can’t not get excited about shit like this.


22 Responses to “A new feature on this blog”

  1. kitty Says:

    gymtruthteller, have you seen the catfight on twitter between bekah and “theworldgymnast”? you should check it out, it’s absolutely hysterical

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A Cat fight, fun. No I have not. I will look at it later. What is it about?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      OK kitty – YOU should post this cat fight.🙂 Hahahahaha

      • Kittykat Says:

        Haha okay I’m not sure if that’s directed at my name or if I’m being misconceived as kitty from IG (it’s what I usually use on the web-didnt think that one through) cos I’m not!🙂 might alter the name just to make sure😉

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I saw Bekah post something about another blog copying her stuff but I didn’t know who it was I will have to check it out lol

  3. kitty Says:

    Screencaps of the conversation are here.
    It’s vastly amusing!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Those screen caps are too small for me but I read it myself. (Thanks for posting them ) I am pretty sure Bekah was accused of stealing Spanny’s stuff when she first started her blog (I have only read Spanny once or twice so I don’t know what Bekah stole from her) Kind of ironic. Stealing is bad, please. Only if you get caught:)

      • kitty Says:

        Yeah, it is quite ironic. When I first read Bekah’s blog, a lot of things she posted were VERY similar to some of Spanny’s work. However, Spanny didn’t throw a shitfit and become a keyboard warrior😛

  4. Aerial Says:

    I have never been able to stand her personality. Yes, she has and always had my respect as an athlete. But I also can’t stand her face now. I think she is like a white member of the surgery-obsessed Jackson family. You know what I’m trying to say. I also feel like everything she writes and says seems forced, although I agree she likely is a very genuine and positive person. I don’t really know what the purpose of this post is. Now I’ll go watch the video. (Yup, responded before watching, clearly time for bed.)

    • Aerial Says:

      Okay, currently watching it. I’m reminded of her very weird earlier endorsements about Nastia while ignoring Shawn’s comeback… while Shawn was actually still public about her training. I do think there’s a USAG conspiracy there and some weird prompted mutual endorsements going on between the two. But I’m happy if she has opportunities and is excited about what she does. She’s earned that!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am being sarcastic about telling her to shut up but happy people kind of make me want to smack them. It would make a great defense don’t you think?

      Sorry judge but I am a half full kind of girl and Shannon smiling through everything kind of makes me want to scream:)

  5. terrigymfan Says:

    GTT — What did you think of MLR? That fake looking smile of hers used to drive me crazy!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I didn’t mind Mary Lou until recently. As a gymnast the one hit wonder was a wreck (accept on vault where she was great) but I tend to just forget she exists unless it’s an Olympic year:)

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I can’t blame Shannon for being excited about life – she DID survive cancer…she probably has a whole new lease on things we don’t have any concept of. The “honeymoon” phase will end in a few years I’m sure.

    Shannon is the reason why I am an avid gymnastics fan. I don’t know why. I used to pretend to be her (yes, I was very young) and had her floor choreo memorized and would run around my living room with my best friend (wearing tin things in my hair and lots of white scrunchies)…so she’s like one of my childhood icons. She was the ultimate underdog in 92 and was never fully appreciated for what she did, even though in my opinion she’s the best female all around gymnast the US had in the 90s. She’s the reason why I wanted so badly to do a back walk-over, and then I taught myself how to do it (yes this was very exciting for me…sad but true). I was never a gymnast but she made me appreciate the sport, so for that reason – I do love her. I think it’s weird she got plastic surgery but I guess I kind of can’t fault her for that – people do what they do, especially when they’re in a media spotlight.

    As for Mary Lou, she is only still famous because she has that “media” look…her smile and “bubbly” personality. It’s kind of like why Shawn Johnson will probably have more longevity in being a famous gymnast than Nastia will. I never watched Mary Lou compete really (I started following gymnastics with Miller) but I still think to this day that Miler’s vault in ’92 deserved a 10.0 way more than Mary Lou’s vault in ’88…

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Sandy, a minor point but Mary Lou’s vault was in ’84. Actually it’s pretty significant since the Soviet’s and all the Eastern European countries except Romania boycotted that Olympics. Plus there was some serious home cooking going on in that Olympics since it was in LA. (Hey, please don’t shoot me for saying that – I’m as patriotic as the next person but the truth is the truth.) The judges were handing out 10.0’s like candy at that Olympics. Mary Lou was getting 10.0’s on vault even though she was taking steps on her landings. I always thought she was overrated and a bit of a manufactured media phenom really.

      The Mary Lou phenomen actually created a bit of problem for the US gymnasts that followed her, especially the 1988 team. A lot gymnasts were told or thought they could be “the next Mary Lou.” If that meant winning gold in the Olympic AA or even in an individual event (or even a silver medal really) that was a completely unrealistic expectation. There was no way American gymnasts were prepared at that point to go head-to-head with the Soviet and Romanian stars. Everybody talks about all the next “Mary Lous” of the late 80s who didn’t make it. The reality in my view is that even Mary Lou wouldn’t have been “ Mary Lou” if she had competed in a non-boycotted Olympics, especially one held outside the US. As it was the 1988 team finished fourth just behind the East Germans, and would have finished third (earning a bronze) but for a controversial ½ point deduction when Rhonda Faehn stayed on the platform while Kelly Garrison-Steves performed (a Bela screwup in my view for not educating his gymnasts on the rules).

      Shannon Miller though was the real deal. In 1992 the US still wasn’t prepared to compete head on as a team with the former Soviet team (by that time called the Unified Team) or Romania. The US only won a bronze metal but Shannon turned in a great individual performance, winning several medals and almost winning the gold in AA. I’ve recently watch some YouTube clips of her and just cannot believe how good she was. Of course her performance in 1996 only cemented her legend as far as I’m concerned.

      I for one do not have a problem with Shannon’s personality. I have always found her to be very gracious and not the least bit pretentious or bragadocious about her accomplishments (even though, unlike some other gymnasts we know, actually has the accomplishments to back up a little bragging). I know she tends to always sound upbeat and “bubbly” but I really think that’s just her natural personality. I don’t think she is forcing things. Her plastic surgery is a bit annoying but I’ll give her some slack on that since it is about the only thing I can find fault with in her.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Sorry about the ’80’s mistake. I was born in the 80’s and didn’t pay attention to gymnastics then…so I was just assuming I knew what year it was.

        I TOTALLY agree with you though on the whole Mary Lou thing. Couldn’t have said it any better. Same with Shannon.

  7. terrigymfan Says:

    My “coming of age” of awareness of the Olympics was in 1984 when I was 11 so I have an advantage on you in remembering what went on with that Olympics — whoops, I’m giving away my age here. LOL

  8. Gymsurfer Says:

    This is my first comment here. I was just wondering if anyone has read Shannon’s book “Winning Every Day”? She wrote it right after the 1996 Olympics when she still had her old face. What is so strange is that the book is filled with mentions of God and Christian Science, in which she talks about being perfect in God’s image and not believing in surgery (not plastic surgery, but surgery for broken bones!) because God is supposed to be your only healer. So if she believes that how do she justify redoing her entire face? I do think she looks good and not too plastic but I can’t reconcile it with her professed beliefs in her book. Of course, the bigger question is why did she get cancer treatment if God cures all..but I sure am glad she did.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Those were her childhood opinions. She is an adult and like all women has the right to change her mind.

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    I haven’t read her book but need to check it out. Didn’t she get a screw placed in her elbow or something about 3 months prior to the 1992 Olympics? I think I read somewhere that her family decided to have the surgery even though it they were not following the strict Christian Science belief against it.

    Having said that — and hopefully without spawning a religious v. nonreligious debate — I have always admired Shannon for having a strong faith in God and not being afraid to express her views on that without being holier-than-thou about it. I for one hope she hasn’t changed on that fundamental issue. Maybe she is just no longer a Christian Scientist, or is a Christian Scientist who doesn’t subscribe to the “no surgery” aspect of it (if there is such a thing).

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I idolized Shannon – yeah she had a screw in her elbow. She had it done right before the games in ’92 and had the option to let it heal naturally but she would have missed out on the Olympics with her arm in a cast…so she opted for the surgery. Obviously she made a wise decision.🙂

Leave a Reply

