While I was sleeping

Secret Classic start lists. Everyone starts on their best event.

Shannon Miller will be working for Yahoo at the Olympics. She gets one day off.

ME, ME, ME, ME, I, I, I, I. She is the female version of Paul Pierce.

Message to gymnasts. STAY OFF THE INTERNET

17 Responses to “While I was sleeping”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    So is it official Nastia is definitely doing just beam?

    • gym1002 Says:


    • nero Says:

      Most are doing 1-2

      I wonder about gymnasts like Vega, Sloan and Finnegan. It might actually be in their benefit to do all around. If they hit all 4 here, then nats then trials that is a pretty big statement

      *Eagerly anticipating another Chellsie BAMF moment*

      • JAS4 Says:

        If Shawn is indeed out then I’m pulling for Memmel I would love to see her make the team!

      • Sandy Says:

        If Shawn is out I’m hoping it’s just the crop of younger girls. Memmel got her Olympics – I honestly don’t know how she’d fit in with Team USA unless she got her bars back, and then she’d also have to have a solid floor. I’m not sure, can Memmel do a UB routine with a D value higher than 6.5?

        Although I have to say I really love Memmel’s guts. I love how she doesn’t do things the way everyone else does and basically doesn’t play the Karolyi games. I think though this time around that will go against her; Marta will not take her on this team – the best she can probably get is alternate.

  2. john Says:

    Nastia only doing beam for Classics but will be training Bars as well… She’ll debut her UB set at Nationals…

  3. Amy Says:

    Oh please please PLEASE if Nastia has a big break/fall on BB, can you please caption the video under “Nastia’s Big Moment” or something to that effect?? I hate how other bloggers have made fun of Memmel, Johnson, etc., but slobber all over Nastia.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nastia has made a career of kissing the right butts. No one can make fun of her on GGMB for that very reason.On IG those are just uneducated gym fans that refuse to acknowledge her faults. Even smart ones like Nastiafan101 are biased beyond belief.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Dominique Dawes used to have the job with Yahoo the last two quads….. Makes me laugh shannon got that dom and her non moving botoxed face must really be crying now

      • terri3975 Says:

        I’m telling you, you need to check out Dom’s wikipedia article, but also if you have a couple of spare hours to read. I think the one on WWII is shorter. Here is an example of the nauseating detail to which we are treated:

        “On October 28, 2010, Dawes began working for Yahoo Weekend News and CFI’s investigative arm IIG to investigate Power Balance Bracelets for their claim that they improve balance, flexibility and strength. She states “The fact is, all athletes know that nothing can replace good old-fashioned hard work – practice, practice, practice…Can a silicone wristband with a hologram sticker really give you an added edge?” In the trial four bracelets were taped so no participant knew if the bracelet they were wearing contained the Power Balance hologram. One bracelet was the control with no hologram, another contained only a PEZ candy. From Wendy Hughes report “The claim was that if the hologram worked, the speed of the participants would increase, and it would show on the graph. But it didn’t. Out of 64 heats, 16 participants using 4 bracelets in 4 random heats, the results were almost flat. The main result was that if there was any change, the familiarity with the course caused a slight increase in efficiency. The Pez didn’t make a difference either.” Dawes’s conclusion is that superstition makes the Power Bracelet work.”

        Did we really need to know that?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That’s funny – the one on the US tax code is probably shorter, too! So I’m guessing she actually supported that Wikipedia thing herself. That’s kind of…pathetic.

  4. terri3975 Says:

    I have to laugh at title “Secret U.S. Classic.” I know of course “Secret” refers to the sponsor, Secret Deodorant, but I could help but think to myself, “Those folks at USA Gymnastics sure are brazen — holding another closed door secret session and then having the nerve to actually call it that.”

    • Gymbee Says:

      That is what I thought for the longest time!! I live in the UK, and we don’t have Secret deodorant here. I thought no media or public was allowed at this thing haha.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah it sounds like something completely different than what it is lol

      • terri3975 Says:

        Gymbee, what do you folks in the UK think of Rebecca Tunney’s chances? I saw her on beam at the American Cup. I know she struggled that day and really felt for her. I’ve seen other clips of her though and think she has a lot of talent. The NBC announcers were complete jerks — they really piled on when she was obviously having difficulties and were heartless and cruel. I’m really hoping she has a great Olympics.

  5. Exgymgurl Says:

    ASac is not at secret classics on the start lists, I only noticed when I looked at an article that said Sloan Memmel and linking were the only 08 gymnasts scheduled to compete. Linking is what IPad morphed Liukin into LOL

Leave a Reply

