Pac Rim Podium Training vidoes


Watch Kyla clear the Russians sitting on the sidelines

woo who.

Nice job by Jordyn

Tags: , , , ,

71 Responses to “Pac Rim Podium Training vidoes”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Wow Kyla’s Amanar in the air looks better than everyone’s except maybe Maroney and all she had to do if fix that step on landing! She got even more height than Gabby’s Amanar did
    I really hope Kyla wins Pacific Rims and puts a stop to the whole Jordyn/Gabby rivalry thing that has been plastered everywhere lately lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      So do I.

    • Nay Says:

      I really hope Kyla looks stronger than she did in Podium, she almost didnt look herself to me. was it just me? I feel like she used to look SO much stronger. I wonder to if Marta made her change things or hold back and so its causing a distraction of sort for her. idk, w/e it is I’ve been waiting and waiting and waiting (haha) for the Kyla showcase so we’ll seeeee🙂

      As an aside, Jordyn looked nervy on both bars and beam which could totally open the door for both Kyla and Gabby which would be funny if the rivarly switched to them. USA always needs a story, so if its no Jo and Gabs, it will be Gabs and Kyla or Kyla and Jo.. never know.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah it will be interesting to see how it plays out!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am kind of shocked that we have no upgrades AT ALL except on bars where it is minimal.

        Marta has to have made her take things out because if her coach did NO upgrades besides a small upgrade on bars then they should be fired for insubordination. It is criminal not to upgrade.

        Why even send her here with no upgrades?

      • JAS4 Says:

        Unless its part of the “Marta makes room for Nastia” or one of her other favorites scam I just hope she isn’t making Kyla leave out the upgrades to make sure she doesn’t beat Jordyn or Gabby so she can keep their rivalry going or say Kyla didn’t do well enough make way for
        Nastia or some other ridiculousness!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I can’t see Kyla’s coach sitting back and letting Marta play these games. Then again Shawn took out her move on beam because Marta said.

        I think Kyla’s coach has a brain and sitting back and doing nothing cannot be it.

        Maybe she will throw something in the real competition and Marta wanted to keep it out during podium. It better be something or Kyla with no upgrades is not going to be on any Olympic team. At least not in the AA.

      • JAS4 Says:

        She could be keeping the upgrades out to keep her healthy or as a surprise but with her it wouldn’t surprise me if she has altererior motives I could see her making Kyla leave upgrades out to make her look not as good as Gabby or Jordyn or to make excuses that she doesn’t do well in international meets or something but even if that is the case I would love to see Kyla win Classics and Nationals when it’s her coaches call about the upgrades lol

  2. Aerial Says:

    I’m pretty unfamiliar with Ross so have been looking forward to seeing updated vids and how she stacks up against the others. Not sure why but I was picturing a wicked toe point (obviously wrong on that vision.) Looking fwd to seeing more of her so I can, of course, form my opinions haha.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She was a little messy here. She is not usually so wishy washy with the form. I will give her until the real competition to correct that.

      GGMB says that routine is a 6.2. I suspect she will connect something to the dismount for some kind of bonus close to the Olympics.

      The double layout is probably being upgraded too. It was way too effortless not to be upgraded.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The routine Ross did does not look complete to me. I get the impression she had/has more upgrades but Marta is not letting her compete them. Somethings look lost in that routine like her transitition to the low bar and her dismount.

      Maybe it’s me.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Marta is probably not having her show everything to keep her healthy or a surprise then again it could be so she won’t beat Jordyn or Gabby so she can keep their rivalry going lol but hopefully it’s one of the first two reasons and hopefully Kyla will win🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It will be another case like Miller. Send her over seas thinking she won’t score well instead winning and making USA-Gym look like the incompetent idiots they are.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I think Kyla would score well in front of international judges and I like Gabby’s bars and vault and all but I agree with you that she might not score as well on floor and beam outside of the US

  3. Biyatch Says:

    Maroney seems to lose some of her value to Team USA with everyone under the sun throwing an Amanar. If it does come down between her and Aly you would think (although you never know) they would do with Aly’s more dependable floor and beam.

    What’s the dish on Kyla’s floor? Don’t think that anyone would want to throw Gabby’s floor up in a TF so it would seem like the US would need another solid floor worker.

    • Shawn Fan! Says:

      Am I in the minority to actually like Gabby Gab’ster’s floor routine? I think it’s upbeat, has a good flow, and her leaps/jumps are amazing. I think she waits a bit long sometimes to start her tumbling passes, but overall I liked it more than the ‘special olympics’ floor routine nastia had in ’08……just basically her prancing around faux-ballet style and looking like a borg drone.

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    Is PacRims all team? Or is there individual AA and event finals? Just curious that is watered down. I’m trying to pull Kylas bars from last years nationals, but thats a standard NCAA dismount she’s throwing, she’s short two of her normal skills although I cant remember which ones.

    • JAS4 Says:

      I just hope maybe she watered it down for
      Podium training cause if she does that I
      Competition that could keep her out of the AA since there’s only two per country

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    A few things about Gabby re the olympics
    1. Her dad has done 3 tours in Afghanistan so its a feel good olympic story.

    2. She has confidence that she can beat Jordyn, I’m wondering what that will do to settle her nerves, she’s seen the numbers and maybe having the faith and belief in herself carries her to be more consistent and to be better. That and Chow, Shawn seems naturally nervous, and he seems to just get her in a zone. I’m wondering if he’s not having the same effect on Gabby now that he’s had her for a full year. I honestly think of the elite coach choices, for her it needed to be either Chow or Geddert and I think her parents made the right choice. It’s seemingly a great fit.

    All joking aside I dont care about the rivalries, I would just assume see Marta take the best 4 scoring AA gymnasts and then have one choice of a 5th to round out 3 up 3 count. This quad is so deep more than one olympic caliber gymnast isn’t going to be on that team. I could see that one being Kyla, Gabby, Aly, McKayla, Sloan, Johnson, Bross, Li, Jetter, Caquatto (s), ASac, or Memmel. Im not going to even list anyone that hasn’t put up routines in the last year. Of the first year seniors I think Kyla has the best shot and the rest of them should train with 2016 in mind, so they can be on the team with Skyler Memmel.

    Do your best ladies, every turn, every skill, every routine from here on in counts.

  6. JAS4 Says:

    If everyone’s routines are watered down some then I know it’s just to keep them healthy or a surprise but if its only Kyla’s routines that are watered down then I worry that Marta is doing it to keep her from beating Jordyn or Gabby do
    She can say Kyla didn’t do as well as them or to keep the Jordyn/Gabby rivalry going

  7. nero Says:

    The girls are looking great, I love Jordyn’ s new beam combos and Kyla looks solid. I really really hope they are going to change their dismounts. Double layouts for them are too easy, surely they both could add a twist? And Kyla is still doing a double tuck off beam.

  8. annonymous Says:

    I’m sure we wont see all the upgrades here. They have to leave some air of mystery or else the entire world will copy/know what tricks we have…so I”m not surprised that a lot of dismounts,etc seem incomplete.

    Go Kyla! Please put an end to this Gabby stuff.

  9. JAS4 Says:
    Another scandal in the gymnastics world

    • annonymous Says:

      Somewhat pointless article, although it was interesting. Why couldn’t they point out what the issue was?! Wonder what the errors were. If it is something about how Komova should have “won” I will vomit all over myself.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah that’s what. Was wondering too lol but if it were that I’m sure it would be plastered everywhere lol I’m guessing maybe that it had to do with gymnast that weren’t in the top three AA or on events and didn’t affect the teams. But them again who knows maybe it did affect some of the top three scores or or team scores and they just don’t want a big scandal before the Olympics

    • annonymous Says:

      Honestly at this point, what would it matter? How could they go up to Wieber and say, hey give back your medal? Even if that is what it is they should just leave it alone, unless a judge or two was outright cheating. Or who knows, maybe China once again forgot the age rule.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah that’s probably why they aren’t giving any specifics chances are its probably something involving no one in the top three AA or events or teams so it really wouldn’t matter anyways lol

    • exgymgurl Says:

      This is probably some silly thing on the mens side… in any case they can’t change AA or even the event finals because of the Paul Hamm arguement, in other words if your coach doesnt protest judging and scoring in a correct and timely manner and you make a decision you don’t have to do as much in the next event or in the same event because your lead is somewhat secure, they can’t change the outcome at this point.

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      Two WAG judges are being investigated for impropriety. But the FIG has no intention of making restitution for the injured party(s). Results and medals will not be revised, nor will the judges’ qualification process change for the Olympics – odd details where inaction seems to completely nullify the action that precipitated it.

      A Conspiracy Theory

      Komova agreed to a flogging in Tokyo, provided Jordyn becomes the iceberg that sinks America’s Titanic in London. But that Dewitt girl has started the season competing and, damn it, if she isn’t doing it again this week. Obviously Vika’s coaches are worried the American might injure herself before the Games begin (and renege on the deal). Marta was supposed to keep her rested and rusty, like Nastia.

      It was a deal endorsed by national team coaches from two nations, a contract judges helped to facilitate. Everybody is in on this, well except for two squealers who wanted out and have now kissed their tenures goodbye. With the bejesus scared out of the rest, all are reunited in their resolve to put the Americans through a communist’s blender.

      Somebody – anybody – save the baby, Kalya Ross! Get her off that sinking ship!

      A More Plausible Reality

      Bias was not only for sale but ON SALE.

      • doughnut sundae Says:

        Sorry. I meant ‘Kyla’. It was a childish spelling error.

  10. Aerial Says:

    Okay, I watched Kyla’s beam and saw ‘the spark’ more. Her feet there were far better than on bars, IMO, but her feet also look taped. I love how she finished her pirouette, arms high and toes at the knee, and her form on tumbling was clean and precise.

    I was a little surprised at all of Hundley’s tricks. She reminds me of a bigger Tia Orlando from a distance (just physically) and in photos it appeared she was dwarfing Jordyn Weiber in size so I was curious what the girl was all about, knowing Marta likes em little and pretty prior to breaking them in half. So I know she might have been a package deal with Priessman (whom I’m more familiar with) but their skills were very similar. She also looks a lot different in a leo than street clothes, in a good way (wish I could say the same for myself, it’s the other way around haha). I know gymnasts are actually smurfs in real life, even the muscular ones, but Hundley was looking almost Canadian in the first photos put up recently.

    So all in all, I’m REALLY interested to see how they all do tomorrow though admittedly I’m more interested in some of the girls at Jesolo, and also to hear coming down their crackpipe an update from USAG on the other girls at camp that went back home empty handed after camp.

  11. JAS4 Says:
    Doesn’t look like the Queen is quiting just yet

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      What she says vs what she does. She is training but the first chance she got to get some air time she went.

  12. Aerial Says:

    ■ She HOPES to first compete in the Secret Classic in Chicago at the end of May

    Yikes, that’s brutal. My worry about her snapping into shape in the final month and being named to the team after only competing at Trials rears its ugly head again.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Yeah that’s what I’m afraid of too because I have a feeling that if she can put together anything what so ever on bars Marta will take her and someone will get screwed out of a spot and I think Bross deserves a shot a the team but if she needs something more than yurechenko full because if you had two girls hurt like in 08 and couldn’t use them for vault and had to use a FTY then that would put a dent in the score I think with a five member team everyone needs to be able to put up a good score on any event if needed like at least a solid well scoring DTY on Vault and 6.0 D scores or higher on the other events

      • Sandy Says:

        Bross will get the DTY back if she wants any chance at all in the all around. She knows that. If she wants to make that team, she’ll have it.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I think she will have a better chance if she gets a DTY and gets a solid floor she just needs to be careful not over work herself do she doesn’t get injured

      • Sandy Says:

        Yeah…personally though I somewhat hope Bross doesn’t make the team, only because I hate her gymnastics. My “dream” team would be: Ross, Weiber, Douglas, Johnson, and Raisman/Maroney…

        But I think Bross does have a good chance overall if Marta can count on her for bars and floor and potentially beam. She has (sadly) a better chance than Johnson at this point.

        Speaking of which, does anyone know why Johnson didn’t get an assignment? I have NO CLUE how she did at camp.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree with your team Bross is ok but I’ve never seen what all the hype was about but I am wondering what happened with Johnson as well

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My dream team is your team but I would rather have Maroney over Douglas. My team has no chance of happening but if I could chose a team with no regard to team line ups or medals those are the 5 gymnasts I would want on my team.

        Good thing I am not in

      • doughnut sundae Says:

        Trust me. Rebecca is in. Marta is not in the habit of telling Valeri Liukin ‘no’; and Valeri is not in the habit of hearing it. If all she is able to do is hobble around in a leg brace and butter up bars for teammates (like Mustafina did at the 2011 Moscow World Cup), this WOGAette is going to the Olympics.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Unless there is room for only WOGA girl on the team and if Nastia wants to go then Bross can forget it because the Queen always gets her way

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wonder if Rebecca’s father see’s the writing on the wall?

      • JAS4 Says:

        Probably not I’m sure Marta and Valeri have assured him there will be room for both of them on the team and even if he doesn’t buy it it’s still probably too late to jump ship to another gym now that would only anger them or they just plan to overwork Bross now so there will be room for Nastia later

      • doughnut sundae Says:

        Of course Mr. Bross sees the writing on the wall! He is dreading the day his daughter returns home from London all blinged-out with a British accent.

        (According to Nastia, Valeri’s time at the gym is bookended by two future Olympians: Rebecca and Katelyn. That’s it. Daddy’s little girl is right where she wants to be – out of the looop.)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wish I had your optimism she would go away. Far, far away.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Is that like the HOPES program for pre-juniors? I thought Nastia should have aged out of that by now LOL

  13. Aerial Says:

    Last summer at championships, I expected nothing from Johnson but respected the fact she put herself out there and competed. That took guts (take notes, Nastia.) She’s continued to train and rehab. Every time I see a photo of her, she looks in better and better shape – girl is ripped. I hear her routines have come a long way. So I have NO idea why she still isn’t being selected. I thought her routines last year were pretty fantastic for her situation and comeback, so wtf is up now? Why did they send half the girls they did, to Jesolo? They can’t have all hit camp better than Shawn. And half of them don’t need that critical international competition experience. Wouldn’t we have heard whispers of her falling, etc. a la Bross if she had? Shouldn’t she at least be given a chance to compete internationally and get out those jitters, in case she’s on the team? They also have to remember, if half her superiors break, she needs to be in. Potential alternates should be competing now.

    Unless Johnson is actually doing WELL… like a few more upgrades and if she hits, they want her… so quietly sent her back for a few more months of getting even closer to her former self.

    I have no idea what I’m talking about. But interested in any one elses opinions. We are far too smart to just believe they’re priming a select group of five or six since we know there’s always one, if not more, devastating injuries and letdowns in the final half year. Knock wood it doesn’t happen, but we know the history!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Marta does not want Shawn on this team. Shawn will need to kick ass without the special benefit Nastia will get from the judges. Her not being named to the Jeselo team is because Marta never wanted her back.

      That is my opinion. If Marta really wanted Shawn she would have been the alternate at last years worlds.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I think Marta is trying to keep Johnson and the other 08 girls in the dark to make sure if anyone of the 08 girls makes it on the team it’s Nastia

    • doughnut sundae Says:

      When I landed a summer job as a lab tech at a chemical company, the closest I had ever been to chemistry was the lingering smell of formaldehyde on whatever we happened to be butchering that day in Biology class. The senior managers of that department were all chemists and engineers, and would have never have scanned my resume – not that I would have submitted it mind you – let alone hire me. But they had no choice. The company’s CEO pinned me for the job (he and my dad are friends). The bureaucracy that applied to everyone else did not apply to me.

      I think Shawn is in a similar situation. The powers that be (who want celebrity athletes in their Olympic spectacle) are the IOC’s, FIG’s and USAG’s bosses. They are the ones who are making the decisions. And when it comes to a bread and butter sport like women’s artistic gymnastics, leaving one of the world’s most recognizable celebrity athletes at home is out of the question.

      Shawn has circumvented the selection process and Marta’s sometimes nefarious opinion. America’s national team coach cannot keep her out of the Olympics, but she can try to steer her away from just about everything else.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Unless she is trying to keep Shawn sidelined and make her lose endorsements then make Nastia look good at the last minute and try to get her on the team

      • Sandy Says:

        THANK you for saying that doughnut. I really feel that in this type of sport (people only care about it every four years), there’s going to be a LOT of pressure on Marta to bring someone like Shawn on her team. People know Shawn’s on a comeback trail. Nike is aggressively promoting her (and her stretching habits and what not, blah blah…but I digress). She has a book coming out, she’s featured in the Nike training videos, she blogs for ESPN, she has millions of twitter followers, and even last year at nationals she’d walk out and you could just hear the audience roaring for her…even for her two watered-down events. Meanwhile, Weiber would show up and it’d be “silent.” Even the correspondent at the American Cup said something like “while Weiber will never be the ‘it’ girl for US gymnastics, she can be counted on to compete and hit when it counts.” Sorry, but Shawn remains gymnastics’ “it” girl – even Nastia is relatively unknown compared to her. A lot of people even think Shawn won the AA gold in ’08 because she’s routinely marketed as an “Olympic gold medalist” – most people don’t remember it was the gold medal on beam, and that was it. Shows how short-term peoples’ memories are.

        Anyways, that being said, if Shawn comes back and hits routines at trials and nationals and is then not selected, MANY PEOPLE WILL BE UPSET. Nike is probably the largest sports promoter in the world, and they have a huge backing with the Olympics. They tend to only market the “Olympic darling” athletes. Shawn is expected to make these games – if Marta does her cheating scam crap on the most marketed gymnast since Mary Lou Retton, sh*t will hit the fan.

      • doughnut sundae Says:

        America’s national team coordinator is an employee of USA Gymnastics, meaning that she has a boss whose orders must be diligently followed. Comcast/NBC is, for all intents and purposes, the majority stockholder. And they love Shawn.

        Guess where America’s darling is gonna be?

        A classic scene from ‘A Few Good Men’ provides a bit of clarity, I think, into what’s going on…

        [Lt. Kaffee:] A moment ago you said that you ordered Marta to order her troops not to touch Shawn.

        [NBC] That’s right.

        And Marta was clear on what you wanted?


        Any chance Marta ignored the order?

        Ignored the order?

        Any chance she just forgot about it?


        Any chance Marta left your office and said, “NBC is wrong”?


        When Marta spoke to the platoon at the Ranch and ordered them not to touch Shawn, any chance they ignored her?

        Have you ever spent time in an infantry unit, son?

        No sir.

        Ever served in a forward area?

        No sir.

        Ever put your life in another man’s hands, and ask him to put his life in yours?

        No sir.

        We follow orders, son. We follow orders or careers die. It’s that simple. Are we clear?

        Yes sir.

        ARE WE CLEAR?


  14. nero Says:

    So I’ve been thinking how much of a travesty it would be if Maroney won’t even get the chance to go vault for Olympic gold if she doesn’t make the team

    What if all world medalists get to go to the Olympics even if they don’t make their team. Maroney could go, still represent USA but her scores in prelims would not count towards the team total and she would be in the stands during TF. She would just vault in EF

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The really crappy part is if she was competing for Zimbabwe she would already be an Olympian.

    • Jen Says:

      Yes. This. 1000xs this. A world gold medal the year prior to the Olympics should qualify you to the Olympics, no matter what country you represent. If you’re chosen to rep. your nation’s team, great, if not, you get to go and compete on your event.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I agree they should at least get to go to even if they don’t make the team! Or if they would go back to a seven member team which makes room for event specialist

  15. JAS4 Says:

    So I have to say I really like Kyla’s new phantom of the opera floor music🙂

    • Aerial Says:

      Too bad her movement to it is brutal… talk about poor use of dramatic music! With a better choreographer and her form, that kid could have a brilliant floor routine.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hate to agree with you but who ever choreographed it did a horrible job. I love the music but the dance does not even go with it.

        I do not understand the lack of upgrades. IMO Marta made her take some stuff out and that is why it looks so disorganized. Marta makes a habit of taking things out of gymnasts routines.

        There is no way Kyla did not upgrade that double tuck.This has Marta written all over it.

      • Sandy Says:

        Why does Marta do that? Encourage downgrades???? Makes no sense. She trying to hide stuff?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Who knows. She was known in her coaching days to encourage the least amount of difficulty out of a ten to get the maximum points which is what cost Kim Zmeskal in 1992.

        She has her pet gymnasts in Jordyn and Gabby so Kyla beating them does her no good.

        I can’t fathom Ross not having an upgrades except one on bars in an Olympic year. It makes no sense. Unless her coaches are stupid. They are not.

        It might be March but come on.

      • JAS4 Says:

        If Kyla almost beat Jordyn at camp awhile back then she must have upgrades Marta just doesn’t want her to beat Jordyn or Gabby so she can keep Kyla on the back burner so she put her on the Olympic team if she wants to or screw her over just as easily

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is my guess. Marta would never have Kyla almost beat Jordyn at her stupid camp without any upgrades. Which is why her not using the upgrades here pisses me off.

        Maybe she is trying to hide her but that doesn’t help Kyla.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think Marta knows Kyla is good she just doesn’t want the rest of the world to know that way if she decides she wants Kyla on the team she can put her on there but if she doesn’t she can screw her over and most people that only watch gymnastics every four years would never know because if Kyla won a major competition then she would be Pressured to take her but if she doesn’t then she can do whatever she wants as usual

      • Sandy Says:

        Kyla will definitely be needed for her bars/beam and backup on vault (assuming Raisman, Maroney/Douglas, and Weiber make the team)…Raisman and Maroney suck at bars. Might even be a good idea to leave Weiber off of that 3 up 3 count list. Douglas and Kyla and either Bross or Johnson – my vote goes to Johnson based on what I’ve stated above (Bross is not really consistent and her “artistry” sucks)…I wasn’t impressed at all with Kyla’s floor but if it was downgraded here that’s why. Also not really sure why her beam dismount is a double tuck. That seems a tad too NCAA for me. That’s not going to help her, and neither will that floor routine. Just sayin.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I just hope Marta doesn’t screw Kyla or Shawn out of a spot on the team!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I love the music but I am not too sure of this cut.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah if the music were cut a little better and the
        Routine better choreographed and If Marta left it alone then it would be a great floor

      • Aerial Says:

        I just re-watched it… I hate the crescendoes of the song being used by Kyla to reach the floor and do a needle scale, or roll around on the floor hiding her face. This kid has talent, extension, great form, flexibility… and the music is calling for great, dynamic dancing and movement. It requires some legit dance training and dramatic portrayal.
        It’s a really hard piece to choreograph to (I remember my competitive dance days, doing a number to this piece and it seemed ballet, jazz, lyrical at the time – nothing really fit. The dance sucked in hindsight but at least our costumes and the popularity of the song carried us along somewhat.)
        I digress… Kyla also needs to express something on her face when performing on floor. Her face looks dead, which makes everything seem the more awkward. Maybe the awards at camp each month need a bit of updating… strength and physical abilities are just part of the equation. Not that Kyla isn’t doing a great job – it’s just there could be so much more in that routine and I believe she’s capable of it.

Leave a Reply

