USA-gymnastics’ Clusterfuck

Before I start my blog about Alicia’s injury I have to give credit to Julia for the word Clusterfuck. It was too awesome a word not to use as the title for this blog. Julia made the comment on this blog I wrote a different day.

Second I want to give credit to exgymgurl for noticing that Shawn Johnson was not on twitter for two days. Elitegymnast wrote a blog about it and gave me credit so I want the credit to be given to my best poster, exgymgurl.

Okay back to Alicia. She injured herself on floor during some practice. Something to her Achilles. USA-gymnastics is keeping everything quiet.

I honestly don’t think losing Alicia is a big deal. The fact is Sabrina and Gabby need to step up and do their job. They are here for a reason. A reason none of us can figure out. A reason only inside Marta’s clusterfucked-up mind. A reason I don’t think I will ever understand but a reason none the less.

When all was said and done the only event Alicia was really going to be used for in team finals was vault. Maybe beam depending on how everyone did in prelims. Everyone claims she is a leader but the fact is she can still lead. She just can’t compete.

I will never celebrate Alicia’s injury but one thing I am happy about is she now won’t be the US gymnast with the most medals at Worlds. She will stayed tied with the troll and Shannon Miller. Than again, you never know if they will still consider her part of the team and give her a medal. I don’t know the rules on this.

I do feel a little bit bad for Alicia but then I don’t. Alicia spends more time in Denver with her third string boyfriend then she spends training and it caught up to her.

This should be a lesson to Marta. You cannot take a one event gymnast to worlds. It’s stupid and irresponsible. Now the US has to count on a team full of gymnasts that have never competed under this pressure.
Aly was at worlds last year but she apparently is injured too.

Perhaps my last and biggest complaint is the whereabouts of Shawn Johnson. I don’t follow her on twitter so the news about her being gone for two days was huge. The info about Anna being hurt was known by this time so the whole world speculated that she was on her way to Japan. So far that doesn’t seem to be true. I mean common sense is not Marta’s strong point but knowing how she likes to kill gymnasts how clusterfucked was her mind not to have Shawn near by?

You do realize we have to count on Sabrina Vega for bars and Gabby Douglas for beam in prelims. God help us that Gabby actually hits and Marta put her in team finals. That is a disaster waiting to happen.

Shawn should be in Japan and she should be competing. If you ask me she should have been the real alternate ahead of Sabrina who just really has no place on this team even if she does hit.

Today has been an exhausting day and I have almost been in tears several times but nothing can get me down today because it’s banner night baby and even though I am extremely bitter that I can’t be there in person (tickets sold out in 3 damn minutes) I am celebrating.

(will insert picture here after 7.30 pm:)

Oh look, the long awaited banner:)


The only thing better than a Stanley cup is a Yankee loss. Ahaha. Well not better but still so good, so good, so good, so good.

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “USA-gymnastics’ Clusterfuck”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    Go bruins and shawn j is back on twitter on thw 3rd so she was never in japan….gordie howe is there for all of us

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am so annoyed I am not at the garden tonight. Tickets were gone in 3 minutes. I watched it though. Teared up twice.

      Shawn should be in Japan. Marta screwed this up royally.

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    And acc to usa gymnastics ali raisman leads us off on bar prelims… Otta keep the scores nice and low;)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly scored over 14 last year the one time she hit bars. I read the line up and none of that makes sense. I love the hiding of Gabby on beam. the US is really screwed if they need to count her score and anyone implodes in front of her. She will melt faster then butter.

  3. Viola Roadkill Says:

    In far more serious news, Maria Livchikova has injured her ACL on VT and now Ukraine may not even qualify to the Olympics.

  4. gymtruthteller Says:

    I heard that after Viola. That is really tough for them.

  5. Julia Says:

    I’m so glad you liked clusterfuck!🙂

    I think you’re right that Alicia probably wouldn’t have competed more than 2 events (I would have stuck her on beam over Maroney and Douglas in TF), and that she can still contribute leadership from the sidelines. I also agree that this shows, once again, why taking a 1 event gymnast is such a risk. They should have had Shawn on the first flight out once it looked like Anna was in trouble. Talk about fucking amateur hour.

    I think TF might still work out for Team USA, but prelims is going to be a nightmare. Maroney AND Douglas AND Vega doing AA? Eeeeek.

    And now I guess Maroney’s got the vault title sown up, unless she hurts her back again.

  6. gymtruthteller Says:

    I didn’t like clusterfuck. I loved it:)

    Gabby and Sabrina are the scary ones to me. Halloween on steroids. What scares me even more is those two hitting in prelims so they are used for finals and then they fall apart.

    • Julia Says:

      For real. Or they could be a Mattie Larson, and NOT hit in prelims and still go up for finals.

      Oh USA.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta will never allow that to happen I love how she blamed it on the other coaches.

  7. TCO Says:

    Shawn should have been on the team ahead of Li. Vega is the perfect alternate. For sure, Shawn should have been headed west as soon as Li was hurt. Marta screwed the pooch on that. If the team still wins, great. But they are bailing Marta out. No way, we are better with 5 man team than 6. Shawn could be TF helpful in both beam and bars.

Leave a Reply

