The World team. MY opinion.

I don’t like this team. I think it is crazy, ridiculous and an accident waiting to happen. That being said I see where Marta is going with it. She really had no choice.

Where do I start. Oh I know where to start. Anna Li. Having her on this team is a colossal waste of space. Not falling off bars is not hitting. It doesn’t matter how well she hits at worlds, she has no shot at a 5 member team at the Olympics. Not unless every bar worker breaks an arm. That is actually possible.

She can’t back us up on any other event because she isn’t competing them. She trains beam and is as bad as Gabby Douglas yet she will most likely be used in prelims at worlds on this event. Personally I would rather give Gabby a chance at beam even if she is a head case at that event. I believe prelims is 6-5-4

Gabby Douglas, she hit at camp. I can’t even complain even though she scares me. I think Marta is using this as a test event for Gabby. Hit and you are in the mix. Fall and you are in Siberia with Mattie Larsen.

Jordyn, Mckayla, Alicia and Aly were locks. No complaints here.

Now the others…

Shawn Johnson- All leaked info said Shawn was hitting and looking better then she did at Nationals. The problem is her start values are too low on any event but beam. I don’t understand why her coach refuses to upgrade that bar routine. Shawn is the only gymnast competing today that has the form of the 90’s on bars. Feet together. Legs together and straight. No leg separations. There is no way she should not be pushed on that event. There were only rumors that she didn’t compete floor at camp but who knows how true that is.

A non traveling alternate is pretty good for her on 8 months of training.

Chellsie Memmel- should have stayed home. Rumors have her at camp doing only bits and pieces of her UB routine. I also think I read somewhere that she did the full routine at camp during the final competition. Frankly that isn’t good enough.

If she wasn’t ready she should have stayed home. Instead she wasted her time and Marta’s time. That will not bold well for her concerning next year. There is no way Marta is taking a gymnast that falls a part at every competition to an Olympics where only 5 members are on a team. I love Chellsie. She is a rock star even with her form issues I would love nothing more than to see her on that Olympic team but I just don’t see it happening. Perhaps if she competes next year and stays healthy the entire time Marta will give her a shot.

Bridget Sloan- No info was leaked about Bridget at camp. The only thing I heard was she did more then just bars. Making the Pan Am team means she did something. Sounds to me like she is being punished ala Tasha Schwikert in 2004 when she did badly at Nationals and Trials but nailed camp and was told by Marta if she had done better at Nationals she would have been on the team. Completely forgetting the fact the whole point is to hit when it matters which is what Tasha did but was not rewarded for.

If I decided the line ups they would be as followed.


Gabby, Aly, Jordyn, Mckayla, Alicia

I put Alicia last because she has earned the right over the last 5 years. Team finals is a whole other discussion.


Anna, Mckayla, Aly, Gabby, Jordyn

If Anna is so great she should set the line up for bigger scores. This is probably not something anyone but I would do. Regardless I still would put Jordyn up last. This kid is going to be used on every event in prelims and team finals. She deserves some benefit.


Alicia, Gabby, Mckayla, Aly, Jordyn

Alicia starting first and being consistent calms down Gabby and Mckayla.


Mckayla, Gabby, Alicia, Jordyn, Aly

Gabby or Mckayla can be switched. Most people will put Jordyn last but I would give that opportunity.


VT: Jordyn, Alicia, Mckayla
UB: Gabby, Anna, Jordyn
BB: Alicia, Aly, Jordyn
FL: ????, Aly, Jordyn

Who ever scores the best in prelims should compete here. My guess is will be Mckayla.

What do you think?

10 Responses to “The World team. MY opinion.”

  1. rob Says:

    i almost peed my pants when you said Siberia like Mattie Larsen…lol

  2. TCO Says:

    Can’t wait.

  3. TCO Says:

    I would do a more standard order for prelims though.

  4. dd Says:

    Might as well do something drastic. Marta already is pushing it expecting Gabby and Anna to both hit.

  5. exgymgurll Says:

    Olympic Team next year is chosen right after trials, because of the USOC deadline. Maybe its like a nomitive team but if Chellsie makes it through nationals, and trials, and is kicking ass, they should name her. She wont have to qual at classics, I bet you anything shawn’s sprained ankle keeps her out of classics, and sloan injures herself too…its a meaningless meet, no one cares, and theyd be MUCH better off resting and waiting for the 2012 cycle

  6. exgymgurll Says:

    I meant Shawns ankle keeps her out of Pan Ams

  7. TCO Says:

    I think Shawn should go to Pan Ams. She needs to get into the swing of things.

  8. exgymgurll Says:

    Chellsie actually did just have surgery…

  9. exgymgurll Says:

    Okay so 2 veterans and all the others on the world team are new to Sr worlds??? I dont know why I didnt see this sooner….2007 Alicia and Nastia were the only 2 with experience, and 2011 Alicia and Ali are the only 2 and Jordyn Wieber is the new Shawn Johnson. The rest of the people are random fall outs…. like Sam Peszeck except without a mom that works for USA Gymnastics

    This is like 2007 all over again….. and no freak outs I think Nastia is only training for the skating and gymnastics craptacular she’s doing

  10. gymtruthteller Says:

    She better be training just for that stupid show because NO Nastia is allowed on my tv during the Olympics. A universal rule:)

Leave a Reply

