FU Nationals. I won in spite you hyping up ……. …..

In honor of Nationals being the next few days I have decided to review past Nationals and what went on leading up to them. Just don’t expect me to sit through some of this shit because I already watched it once.

Today’s FU Nationals. I won in spite of you hyping up another gymnast is…. Kristen Maloney. 1998 National Champion.

Vanessa Atler over hype was disgusting at this point in time. Dominique Moceanu and Kim Zmeskal were in the middle of attempting comebacks and Kristen Maloney was virtually ignored during this broadcast but she quietly just kept on doing her thing and winning.



Day One:
Uneven Bars
Balance Beam

Day 2:
Uneven Bars
Balance Beam


I think I messed up day 1 and two broadcasts below so just follow the links to see Nationals in order. Sorry bout that.

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8


4 Responses to “FU Nationals. I won in spite you hyping up ……. …..”

  1. exgymgurll Says:

    Kristen was a workhorse gymnast, not particularly pretty, not flashy and she didnt have a website like Vanessa Atler did…she always did her job.

  2. gymtruthteller Says:

    I tried sitting through those Nationals while setting up this blog and I felt sick to my stomach watching it so I stopped. There was some ugly gymnastics during that broadcast.

    I was glad Kristen won because Atler was so obnoxious during those days.

  3. James Says:

    That 97-00 period of womens gymnastics is bizarre. I have always thought it was worthy of a book but I know there’s not enough people interested in that era to warrant one. While I was a fan of Vanessa, I agree that the hype train was out of control at that point. The Kim Zmeskal comeback was worthy of a lot more attention than the media gave it. I felt sorry for her. Moceanu story interesting as well and Maloney was firing on all cylinders. Like you said though, it was just Atler, Atler, Atler Atler….

    I liked how when the whole world besides Vanessa’s mom saw the fall of Vanessa happening, part of the mag 7 made comebacks because they knew there was a vacuum to fill..

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That group of girls were a bunch of spoiled brats that thought the rules didn’t apply to them and that they were owed something. Their coaches were the same way like Kelli Hill. They thought they were as good as the Mag 7 but never even came close to proving ti unless it was a US meet or an international competition with 2 US judges.

Leave a Reply

