I have a confession to make

This is a confession. I feel like now 11 years later I can finally admit it without feeling like a failure as a gymnastics fan. So here we go. My confession is that I love Simona Amanar and I always have.

That’s right I loved her in 1995 when I first saw her at worlds on floor. I don’t care if she is about artistic as a pirate dancing to Bach I still liked her.

I loved her even more in 1996 when she nearly beat that pouting whiner Lilia Podkopayeva and if it wasn’t for a missing C on floor she just might have done it.

I loved her slightly less in 2000 but I still loved her the same because Simona Amanar was badass. She first introduced us to the 2.5 twisting Yurchenko that should have saved us from Nastia as the AA Champion 8 years later but damn Shawn Johnson for screwing that up.

Simona was a class act. She was more then willing to refuse that AA Gold medal because she felt it belonged to her teammate Andreea Raducan but she accepted it because it would still be bringing it home to her Country. Her teammates would have done the same thing. Lu Xuan also said she would not have accepted it. Just imagine if that medal had been refused all the way down to number 13 and right now we would be calling Elise Ray the Olympic AA champion. I shutter the thought.

Mostly I love Simona Amanar for two reasons. One: because she never came across as the A-Typical bitter bitch Romanian every time she lost. Lavinia Milosovici I am talking about you. and TWO: She introduced me to this floor music that I still love today. I find myself singing it at the most random times and every time I hear it at a baseball game or in a commercial I find myself thinking of Simona with a smile on my face.

Tags: ,

18 Responses to “I have a confession to make”

  1. exgymgurll Says:

    and who can forget little Dom’s devil went down to georgia floor routine that year….dom so should have won just for picking the right music LMFAO

  2. exgymgurll Says:

    And no worries about Elise Ray Im sure Khorkina in 11th would have accepted a medal🙂

  3. gymtruthteller Says:

    I totally forgot about her.lol We know she would have accepted itl Good catch.

  4. exgymgurll Says:

    And if Khorkina would have re-vaulted she would have been even further up the list aren’t you relieved Elise Ray didnt become Nastia….oh wait…

  5. Sarah! Says:

    Yeah, that’s funny – there’s no way in hell the medal would have got past Khorkina. But what a dismal depressing thought if Elise would have had it HANDED to her.

    As to Simona, I’m in total agreement. Simona was a great gymnast and a great competitor. She was a hair away from Lilia, and Gina was a thinner hair away, and Milo was there too. Crybaby Lilia was the best that night, but if you put her career stats against any of the Three Musketeers, there’s no contest.

    Simona in Sydney had her hands full trying to lead a team in a way I don’t think she really wanted to do. But she was awesome, and she showed so much character by NEVER considering herself the gold-medalist.

    The interview you posted here is great. She had tons of class as a gymnast and she has tons of class now.


  6. gymtruthteller Says:

    I cannot stand Milo. Most overrated gymnast of all time. I never minded Gina. She was consistent Belu just ruined her but Milo never deserved a medal she won yet she acted like every time she lost she was robbed.
    She killed me with the “I never considered Shannon a rival” until 1994 BS. I mean how many times does someone have to beat you before you realize she was competition? I hate cocky ass Nastia types.

    exgymgurl, lol Stupid Svetlana:)

    • Sarah! Says:

      Boginkaya was the most overrated. If Bogi kept every gift the judges ever gave her she could start a fucking orphanage.

      Milo could only be second-most at best.


  7. exgymgurll Says:

    Hell to the yes Stupid Sveta god bless her but she should have assumed when she missed her vault that the imperfection was in the vault setting not in her attempt she should have caught it in warmups … and then hell to the yes assume everyone in the competition besides you is either underage or on drugs and revault damit we didnt see zamo fold it in when she KNEW her vault was meaningless… get up and do it Svetlana redo your vault dont let your mistakes get you down…blame the height of the vault or the bars separation or everyone else being underage/ eventually high on cold medicine…If she was really confident and just blamed faulty equipment she would HAVE that gold

  8. Evelyn Says:

    Wow dont people get so angry on these things… chill out people!! All of the girls mentioned have worked their asses off through the years and were phenomenal athletes! Sure we all have our favourites but don’t be such nasty haters!

  9. gymtruthteller Says:

    Sarah not even close. I could debate Milo winning every single medal especially her gold medals. Thank God I have better things to do though:)

    Evelyn this is a blog to discuss the sport. Thanks for your comments but seriously. We know the gymnasts work hard but that doesn’t make them saints. Doesn’t make the nice people.

    • Sarah! Says:

      I think I have a “thing” for Bogi like you do for Milo. It’s true – Milo was given many benefits of the doubt in scoring, but I think Bogi’s scores were in place MANY times before she ever touched the apparatus.

      That comment from that person about “nasty haters” – those are the type of people who don’t get a blog where people simply write what they feel. Those people are used to the benign, predictable sites that praise Americans just because they’re Americans.

      You said “Doesn’t make them nice people.” So true. Just because a girl is a great athlete doesn’t mean she’s not a dumbass (Shawn) or a bitch (Bross, probably).


  10. GGMBFacts Says:

    To shay

  11. gymtruthteller Says:

    Sarah a bitch? never. I however am one.

    • Sarah! Says:

      I said Rebecca was “probably” a bitch. I guess I’m going to have to write more about her and try to piss even more people off.


  12. jazz Says:

    It seems to be a little bitchy here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JF7nfBlA6NE

    and Sacramone… speechless.

  13. gymtruthteller Says:

    US gymnasts seem to think they deserve to win if they hit. In Bross’s case she said she was still happy she won an AA medal after she fell so she even thinks she deserves to win when she doesn’t hit.

  14. jazz Says:

    That’s what i hate this code. A gymnast can win with two or more falls because of the difficulty. In Sydney, maybe Khorkina would have won gold with that vault and the fall on ub. Raducan would have been second, Simona third; she would have refused the medal and then all the way down to the 13th place with Elise Ray, the silver medalist. lol

Leave a Reply

