Nominee for Sportsperson of the year : Kyla Ross

Nominee for Sportsperson of the year :  Kyla Ross

The title says it all. Silver Lining. Silver at Nationals. Silver at worlds.

7 Responses to “Nominee for Sportsperson of the year : Kyla Ross”

  1. Karlie Says:

    All of the silvers! :D

    But seriously, Kyla had a fantastic year, and basically went out and proved all of the naysayers wrong by nabbing silvers everywhere (plus a berth in the floor final…even if it was because of McKayla’s time deduction, who would have predicted it?). She also genuinely seems really nice and humble, as does her coach. Major props to Kyla.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Yeah, I really like her. I hope she can stick around for at least another 2 years.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I was glad Kyla did so well at nationals and I hope she upgrades more for next year so she can keep up with others who will likely have upgrades

  4. Catherine Says:

    Can’t speak for other naysayers but my naysaying was that she could not properly fight for gold. I did not think she was the best option for an AAer but others fell by the wayside and Kyla proved me wrong there.

    • Karlie Says:

      I was wrong. I didn’t think she could medal in the AA with her d-score, but a lot of the other contenders with higher D-scores fell/faltered, and she didn’t; her consistency won out in the end. I was expecting some combination of Biles/Mustafina/Iordache for AA with Ross or Jinnan possibly replacing Iordache. Also never in a million years did I think she would beat Mustafina on bars, regardless of circumstance. I know I wasn’t alone on these – I didn’t actually say it to anyone but that is definitely what I thought would happen. Regardless of whether it was “because” others were having trouble, she proved my expectations (and likely those of many others) completely wrong, so I give her props for that. I may not be the biggest fan of her gymnastics, but I have a lot of respect for her as an athlete and as a competitor, and I’m really happy for her.

      Whether she can stay competitive without upgrading remains to be seen. I’d bet on “probably not,” but then, given the above paragraph, I don’t really have room to make predictions on Kyla’s future success. :)

      Also I love the purple leo on her. That is all.

  5. Karlie Says:

    Clarification: by “stay competitive” I meant on the Worlds stage. I have no doubt that she’ll continue to be an asset to the US, if only for her bars/beam ability.

  6. mim Says:

    plus she rocked red lipstick like no other!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

