Nominee for Sportsperson of the year : Bridget Sloan

First year as a College gymnast after a very disappointing end to her Elite career Bridget made the most of her freshman year helping the Gators win their first National title. She also won the AA and Beam title which helped her win the Honda Award for gymnastics.

I look forward to Bridget erasing Courtney Kupets from the College Gymnastics record books:)

She also did this says Wikipedia

In 2013, at her first NCAA Championship with the Florida team, Sloan captured the All-Around title with a score of 39.600.[18] She then led her team to their first NCAA Championship title, scoring 39.75 all-around.[19] In event finals, Bridget also won the beam title.[20] Bridget is an 8 time All-American, (First Team in All- Around, Bars, Beam and Floor at NCAA Championship competition and First Team for All Around, Bars and Beam and Second Team in Vault in the first National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches (NACGC) All-America regular-season awards)[21] On 29 April Sloan was named as the 2013 recipient of the Honda Award (only the 4th Freshman in the Awards 37 year history and the 2nd consecutive Florida Freshman to win the award)[22]

18 Responses to “Nominee for Sportsperson of the year : Bridget Sloan”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I hope Bridget continues to do well this coming season!

  2. JAS4 Says:

    If she hadn’t been injured at trials I think she could been an alternate for her bars

  3. Akshay Says:

    Not a Kupets fan, GTT?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No. I hated her when she was elite (as a gymnast) than when she said she didn’t know what the American cup I was like what a dumb bitch.lol

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    Maybe Bridget will start using ginormous grips in her quest to overtake Kupets…..

  5. Tortuga Says:

    I have to say, being Bridget Sloan sounds like a blast right now. My boyfriend and I were just talking about this the other day lol. And speaking of the end of Bridget’s elite career I’ve been watching old broadcasts on YouTube and I remember Nastia was on the selection committee in 2011 and was at nationals watching when Bross had her knee injury on vault and went down to the floor right after it happened and I had a thought. I know it’s mean but I feel like that was the moment she told Valerie “I’m definitely coming back now.” because she wouldn’t have been overshadowed by Bross anymore.

  6. Catherine Says:

    Sloan was so impressive this year. Looking forward to seeing her again, and maybe a little more difficulty in her floor. She basically carried her team on her back, even though they have a lot of talent, which is amazing for a new kid.

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      I think Sloan gave Florida the confidence that they could win the championship. It was great to watch last year. I think Rhonda is doing a good job at pacing her too after all the injuries she had the last few years she was elite. I would love it if she added her pike full in to floor. That thing was beautiful

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    Sloan was so good on bars, why didn’t she win that? Sorry I don’t follow college.

    And what did Kupets do in college? (Again, don’t follow it lol). Was she really “that” great? I liked Kupets’ bars but the rest of her gymnastics was kind of ‘meh.’ I preferred Terin Humphrey and Courtney McCool’s gymnastics.

    • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

      Kupets is a bit of a legend in the NCAA. She won the AA at the Championships every year she was competing and won 9 individual titles which was the record. She got a 39.9 in the AA as a senior which is just insanity, haha.

      Bridget didn’t win bars because she had a step on the dismount.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Bummer – I forget in college it’s like a travesty to take a step, right? Because your skills are watered down enough as it is. That’s pretty impressive to win the AA all four years in a row like that; doesn’t sound like she’ll come off the charts easily. :)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Did she win it every year? I thought she lost one year or was injured.

      • Catherine Says:

        She won 3 years. She was injured in 2008 and didn’t compete. Kupets was a hit and stick machine in college. Just brilliant to watch. I believe she holds records other than for University of Georgia. Basically the best college gymnast so far, at least of the last 20 years anyway.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Or most overscored College gymnast of all time. Foe me personally I don’t call hitting easy routines brilliant.

      • Catherine Says:

        Briliant to watch. Part of that was definitely her confidence, pretty magnetic.

      • Catherine Says:

        VaZam could be the most overscored, or a strong contender.

      • sj0126 (@sj0126) Says:

        Every routine in NCAA is watered down if you compare it to elite level routines though. Competing that consistently for that long is always very impressive.

        I agree that Zam was overscored. I don’t like Kupets was though. Her routines were basically perfect which is just nuts.

  8. CMR Says:

    I can’t believe Bridget Sloan is only 21. I guess seeing her pal around with A-Sac always makes me think she’s older.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

