While I was sleeping, The Superbowl Edition

I suggest we take all Superbowl talk and discuss it away from this blog. I am anti SB this year because I am still mAd. (Damn you Gabby Douglas)

 

So if you want to discuss the SB go somewhere else. Unless the Niners win , then you can discuss it because beating us due to our ineptness is much different then beating us because we forgot to show up and got our butts handed to us on a silver platter by a bunch of whiny douche bags. I am also a form believer in murderers not winning SB’s. I still can’t believe the media promote’s this man

 

Aly Raisman has a prediction. She says Niners but she isn’t rooting for anyone.

ALY RAISMAN, Olympic gymnast: 49ers, 31-28. I don’t root for anyone that beats the Patriots, which both teams did, but I think it will be a close game

Jordyn Wieber also picks the Niners. She is picture number 59 out of 60.

Jordyn Wieber, Olympic gymnast — 49ers, 34-24 — I predict that the San Francisco 49ers will win the Super Bowl this year because they have more passion and focus than the Baltimore Ravens.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Georgia beat Alabama in College gymnastics. I love the extra tenths Georgia gets when they compete at home. Utah’s Cortie Lothrop tore her ACL and will be having surgery sometime tomorrow or Monday.

Bridget Sloan won her first AA on Friday night. Here are the scores.

123 Responses to “While I was sleeping, The Superbowl Edition”

  1. Kazic Says:

    *takes off Ravens hat and sweatshirt and goes elsewhere* :p I’ll tell you though, the best part about dating someone foreign is the uniquely American celebrations like the super bowl. It baffles my poor boy when we go to bars and I’m high fiving random strangers when a team we’re both rooting for scores or makes a particularly great play hahaha. SB is like my favorite event to watch in a bar.

    GTT like anyone else you are entitled to your opinion but no one knows what went down between Ray Lewis and those guys that night except him and Jesus. I’m not saying he didn’t do it I’m just saying we don’t know either way.

    Aly says 49ers because she’s probably bitter too. Haha.

    Question: according to twitter Andreea Raducan is in the States. Anyone know why?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I quoted why Aly has her reasoning. She doesn’t root for teams that beat her team, both teams beat them so if she was really bitter she would have picked no one.

      Please spare me the Ray is innocent BS. There are so many classy talents the NFL could promote but they chose a man everyone knows bought people off to get away with a murder charge. He admitted he lied to the cops and then the only name in the whole thing got away with the murder charge because he blamed the two other no name people he was with. He threw away evidence for christ sakes.

      I have more sympathy for A-Rod then Lewis and I am a much bigger fan of baseball then football.

      • Kazic Says:

        Well what I meant was that the Ravens beat them in the game that really mattered. So she wouldn’t pick them. I understand what you meant though.

        I didn’t say he’s innocent. The said we weren’t there so we don’t know.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wasn’t in Hawaii when the Japanese bombed pearl harbor but we know what happened. He admitted he mislead police. Innocent people don’t lie to the police. and destroy evidence.

        This is why I said NO DISCUSSING THE SUPERBOWL.lol

      • Kazic Says:

        Lolol ok GTT truce.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t do truces. I do Abomb like mentality NO SUPERBOWL TALK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I should take my own advice.lol

      • Kazic Says:

        I mean truce on ray lewis lol. I wasn’t really talking about the super bowl. You already know my views on the Patriots haha.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Raducan has been promoting the english version of her book…. Thats why shes been in the states. I hope it blows up on amazon ;-)

      • Kazic Says:

        I’ll have to take a look at it. I heard that she was at an NCAA gym meet lol so I am sure that was an experience for her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She needs to come to Boston. Let me know if you hear she will be here.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Raducan has a FB page that has told us where she will be I think it would be awesome if Sarah! became her agent

      • Catherine Says:

        Apparently she had a WTF look on fer face during floor rotations. It was UCLA-Stanford, she’s lucky it wasn’t LSU, bit of a shock. Danusia has a picture with her ‘she remembers me’- not sure from what?

      • Kazic Says:

        Catherine I heard about that. I hope a picture surfaces.

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    I am hoping shes in los angeles getting some major press for this book. It sounds like she has no REAL promotion in the states

    • Kazic Says:

      I think she was at the UCLA meet tonight. I heard a joke that she was probably horrified by the floor routines.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        UCLA means that someone in LA has probably picked her up so hopefully she can get some publicity. She did a good article on the couch gymnast.

      • Kazic Says:

        Didn’t see that I will go read it. I know gymcastic is interviewing her soon.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ok what’s the Ray Lewis story? I’m all for the Niners…I don’t like liars period.

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    The UCLA meet was at stanford though, not at UCLA…

  5. JAS4 Says:

    Anyone know when the camp is this month when Marta will pick who is replacing Elizabeth at the American Cup? We need some inside camp info lol!

    • mimi Says:

      i know, right? so hanging out for camp info!

      no superbowl talk from me. i dont even know what the superbowl is except that it’s a huge sporting even of some description. lol.

      • GymMom Says:

        Ha ha funny!

      • Catherine Says:

        Lol me neither. I couldn’t even swear what sport is actually played there. My boyfriend and his siblings used to have a tradition of staying up and watching it and then missing school the next day. Just because it was a major fun event to watch with no insider info, not because they were fans.

    • gingercrush Says:

      Martha told them they were all fat and how dare they have periods.

      • Case Says:

        Well that’s standard at all camps. We’re interested in news beyond the obvious. :)

        Ray Lewis is super gross. 6 kids by 4 wives + 2 shady murders + 1 rediculous game dance + 233456434 insincere religious pregame pep talks = super gross.

      • Kazic Says:

        2 murders? Oh you mean the two guys, not two separate incidents. I was confused for a moment there.

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    Theres an interview that Christa Tanella did about the coaching change at Georgia. On Georgiadogs.com. Its actually very candid. She has hit personal bests this season on all of her events under Durante. If Danna can find the consistency this team has lacked ( Shaylas scores have been much better as well, and apparently Jay Clark did not fix an issue with beam connections not being credited hello Geddert anyone?) maybe Georgia will contend at SECs. I know they are generally overscored at home, but Bama counted a 9.6 because of two errors. I also think having Noel Couch back on two events was helpful. Also Christa looks thinner and a lot more fit Shayla even looks thinner and stronger than last season. I love me some gymdogs and hesitate to be happy beating bama at home. But its a start.

    I remember Suzanne Yoculan commenting on a Kupets beam routine near the beginning of the season that they had to fix connections because of a scoring issue. I wonder if Jay forgot he had to do Suzannes job at times once she was gone. This is a very easy fix that all the coaches go through once the routines are flushed out on the score sheets. It kind of makes you wonder what Jay was doing.

  7. exgymgurl Says:

    https://www.facebook.com/AndreeaRaducanOfficial

    This is the best source for where Raducan is going to be… oldschool….

  8. Guest Says:

    Here is Shawn’s pick and her appearance in celebrity beach bowl.

    http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-fan-pass/0ap2000000134362/NFL-Fan-Pass-Red-carpet-Super-Bowl-predictions

    http://www.justjaredjr.com/2013/02/03/shawn-johnson-blue-team-wins-directv-celebrity-beach-bowl-2013/

    • GymMom Says:

      Shawn looks chubby in this photo. She talks about working out & then she is eating some kind of sausage? Look at the size of her arms???

    • Guest Says:

      But I think she still looks fit and healthy at celebrity beach bowl. GymMom you may be a bit sensitive.

      http://www.justjaredjr.com/photo-gallery/530195/shawn-johnson-directv-celeb-bowl-05/

      • GymMom Says:

        Look at the size of her legs!!

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Sorry gymmom a size 2 is not fat… Shawn is not fat except in your imagination

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Shawn’s hips and legs look like all muscle to me. They are just big and powerful not fat. What’s the difference between her legs and Jordyn Wieber’s except Jo is a little taller? I don’t think anyone would say Jo is fat just because she has big powerful legs.

      • GymMom Says:

        When Shawn lost weight, she didn’t have those huge legs & arms. The reason I keep talking about her weight, is because she is always bragging…about everything! McKayla posts photos of herself but she doesn’t come across as conceited and self-absorbed & she’s alot younger than Shawn! Shawn is a fame-whore who will glom onto anyone or anything to try & stay relevant! She used to be sweet and down to earth. One minute she’s a desperate groupie at the XGames in Aspen & the next minute she’s acting like Kelly Rowlands & Serena Williams are her BFFs??? Poor Jeanette Jenkins…trainer to the stars in Hollywood! Shawn has latched on and won’t let go! She’s like their annoying little sister who wants to tag along everywhere they go! Shawn wasn’t sitting with Jeanette at the game last night! She ditched Shawn. Shawn talked about her “new friends” during the game. Shawn is a user and a name-dropper! When she quits using the term…”you better do this” when she tweets to her followers when she wants them to do something, that will be a good day too! I’m sick of Shawn! Everyone she gloms onto has a profession/career. What is hers? She needs to learn some humility!

      • GymMom Says:

        By the way, Jo is in complete proportion and doesn’t have HUGE arms! Jo has some class & is tending to her business, not flitting around the country like a lunatic, along with Aly & Kyla. McKayla is in Hollywood which suits her. Gabby & Shawn are willy nilly searching out more attention. Jo and Shawn are built completely different. Jo doesn’t look like an overweight chipmunk with crooked eyebrows & an overbite!

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Your obviously entitled to your opinion GymMom. I guess one person’s tea is another’s poison but Shawn doesn’t bother me at all. She’s having a good time while she can and I can’t blame her for that. Shawn always struck me as a bit insecure and wanting affection but a lot of people are like that. Maybe she exaggerates her celebrity connections but she doesn’t seem mean or a backstabber which is why I like her. She posts a lot of photos but I don’t see it as showing off but rather pleasing her fans just as McKayla does.

        As far as her body is concerned, Shawn is short and stocky even by elite gymnast standards. I just can’t see her ever looking “slim” unless she stops working out, goes on a starvation diet, and loses all her muscle mass. Who wants to see that? I’d rather see someone who is fit and in shape and happy rather than forcing her body into a mold it isn’t designed for. She might have been able to pull that off at 16 but those days are long past.

        As far as her “chipmonk” face, she can’t do a lot about that. Personally, I think it makes her cute and endearing.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think Shawn looks really fit. She doesn’t have to be a size -0 to be fit and healthy. She got muscles, which IMO is much nicer than looking like a twig.

        To me it seems like Shawn is trying to “find herself” in lack of a better term, and her agent is probably getting her all the sports related appearances to keep her relevant within the broader field of “sports”. I guess if she doesn’t lobby to put herself out there now, thats it. No chance in getting back to the limelight.
        My guess is Shawn will end up as some vague B-list sports reporter/personality that people will sort of remember did something in sports, but not really what.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Shawn is wearing a LOT of makeup. Maybe it’s just me.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah tons! Especially for a celebrity football game. I remember at trials (or was it nationals) when they interviewed her, and I was shocked at how old she looked, as in how bad her skin looked.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        YES I was thinking the same thing about how old she looked during that interview you are talking about. It almost looked like she spent too much time in a tanning salon, and she was what, only 19 and already had crow’s feet!

        And I was mad because she had just announced her retirement but it looked like she’d been out of the gym for months, despite her “can’t wait to show my floor routine” crap. I’m still (and probably always will be) pissed at her for that. You should never lead your fans on.

        She can be a “sports promoter” all she wants but that only gets you so far as a female. I’m just saying. She doesn’t have the sex appeal of other pro female athletes (who have since retired, even) and she was hugely popular with the younger crowd who no longer are paying as much attention to her because their attention is now directed towards the Fierce Five.

        Given she has no sex appeal (even though she is pretty in the standard sense) I don’t see this sort of thing lasting long for her. If she chooses a “Jillian Michaels” route she still has plenty of competition to face, and better-looking competition at that. Being marketable as a female athlete does require a certain body type/sex appeal, and while she is healthy and all she does not have that body type. Even Amanda Beard, who had the body type and all was only able to market herself so much before people eventually looked in the other direction.

        She could choose to go the Shannon Miller route (being an announcer and all that) but I get the feeling that unlike Shannon Miller, Shawn wants to be in FRONT of the camera. She has decent media training when it comes to answering questions about herself but for whatever reason I don’t take her seriously when it comes to other things. I’d much rather see ASac go the Shannon Miller route than Shawn. Shawn’s personality gets old after a while, whereas ASac knows how to keep things interesting.

        Anyways that’s my two cents about Shawn. I still proclaim she’s going to have an inner crisis sooner or later.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree. I think now she can still just barely cling onto the “cute” image, the tiny one that giggles a lot. Not so much in another few years, then its just going to be creepy, Mary Lou Retton-y.
        I think, if she wants to hold onto the spotlight, she needs to transition into an adult woman somehow.

        Its a harsh industry, isnt it!

      • GymMom Says:

        Where did you get the idea that Shawn is a size 2??? I have almost the exact same body type as Shawn but my legs & arms are half the size of hers. i DO work out but I am gluten-free and I seriously limit my intake or sugar, including drinking little to no alcohol. She’s eating & drinking too much, then working out like a maniac. It’s not an attractive body that results. She yo yo’s with her food…having meals prepared & delivered to her to eating alligator sausage & a HUGE cup of something last night. The artificial sweeteners have been shown to cause weight gain too. Diet Coke is popular with the crowd that is her age.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shawn is not a size 2 but she isn’t as fat as you make her out to be either.lol

      • exgymgurl Says:

        wow gym mom are you around her watching what she eats and looking at the size of her clothes? Her costumes and DWTS stuff that she consigned was all size 0 /2 . Im sorry if you think she looks big but youre wrong. Jordyn at times looks like she has huge arms, all of the gymnasts do. I know you have an opinion about Shawn and thats great. I’m 5’8″ and wear a size 2 which is a LOT harder than being a size 2 and being Shawns size. I know skinny when I see it, and if you compare Shawn to Reese Witherspoon who is also tiny (even though shes just had a child) and normally a 00 Shawn is about a size 2. Its not my fault you think you have the same body type as shawn and arent a size 2. She looks skinnier than most of the other women in those pictures. Shes short and petite and its tough to look long and lean when you are as short as she is. She will be a size 2 and never look like Nastia as a size 2.

        BTW next time you follow her around why not publish a food diary??? Seriously she eats very well, does the limited calorie pre-made meals, and people like Denise Austin and Jillian Anderson have made their living as fitness consultants for a LONG time. Trust me Shawn will also if thats what she wants. You really hate on her a lot without a lot of information. If she wasnt a Nike size XS which is a 0-2 they wouldnt have her as an endorser…. trust me I know things…. so just cause you arent a size 0-2 doesnt mean she isnt

      • GymMom Says:

        Shawn is always tweeting about what she is eating. She endorsed that fresh food delivery service during DWTS. By the way, Shawn has gained weight since DWTS. I actually am a size 0. I am ALOT older than Shawn too. You must be close to Shawn if you know what size her DWTS costumes were. If Shawn wasn’t always bragging, I might feel differently. Oh and by the way, I recently saw Shawn at Trader Joes, and there was no mistaking her weight gain. Regarding Nike…until recently they sponsored the cheat Lance Armstrong & were one of the last sponsors to dump him, so they proved they will stick with losers for awhile.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        LOL touche, gymmom…do you live in Iowa? Or did you see her when she was in California?

      • Guest Says:

        Shawn looks good in this photoshoot with Derek for OK Magazine (Or someone would say it is photoshop-ed). It shows the side of maturity of Shawn as well. Although her bodytype is not as skinny as the size-0 models, it is hard to say she’s overweight and unhealthy.

      • Guest Says:

        I forgot giving the link.

        http://www.purederekhough.com/2012/12/13/derek-hough-and-shawn-johnson-feature-in-ok-magazine/

    • Catherine Says:

      Wow. Why would she want to be a size 0/2? Striving to be that is unhealthy, obviously if its natural that’s fine. Those sizes are very hard to find here, especially 0. I am 5’3, 120lb and a US size 6. And I am far from fat. Calling out Shawn essentially for having a stocky frame and therefore not being a 0 is such crap. I know she is short so has to watch herself more than most, but she always looks healthy, fit and glowing. Id be pissed if she started starving herself to make other people happy.

      • GymMom Says:

        I don’t care what size Shawn is, however she holds herself out as a paragon of fitness? She fancies herself some kind of role model? Part of fitness is eating healthy. I remember after she gained all that weight, she was out promoting things like Lunchables, which are one of the most unhealthy food products marketed to kids. High fat and sugar content. At the same time she was espousing healthy eating and fitness. How would you feel about someone like Jillian Michaels promoting McDonalds? Same thing goes for Shawn. I think her agent is trying to squeeze every last fee out of Shawn & since Shawn turned 18, she appears to be calling the shots, not her parents. Seeing Shawn in Trader Joes at Christmas time, I was shocked at how she looked…similar to how she looked during the tour in 2008….overweight. She has the means and connections to healthy foods and top notch fitness professionals! IF she can’t do it with all her resources, what hope does anyone else have?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think her point is don’t promote yourself a certain way because you are going to be criticized if you do and you don’t look the part.

        Would you buy it if I started a Nastia and Gabby fan twitter? I didn’t think so.lol

        Shawn does promote herself a certain way and while I think calling her fat is ridiculous she is not in great enough shape to tell everyone else she is.

        My two cents, back to the infighting:)

      • GymMom Says:

        Catherine you sound in perfect proportion. I always hated being so short! I have to have my clothes altered…even the petite sizes. By the way did you know most people alter their photos before posting them on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook & Tumbler? They stretch them & edit them. Seeing Shawn in person, there’s a reason she is wearing a big coat, a large jersey etc in her photos. Oh & those leggings look terrible on anyone who has thicker short legs, with or without a large top? Same goes for skinny jeans! Boot-cut jeans that are tailored would look much better than those leggings. In a sporting event, even longer shorts look better than those tight leggings. Shawn isn’t alone in wrongly wearing leggings! It’s a huge problem.

      • Catherine Says:

        I’m kind of expecting Shawn to settle down and stop promoting crap. I can’t blame her for making the most of opportunities that come her way. I think because she is so young she gets away with it (in my view) and the fact that she DOES look fit and healthy. Not a sculpted masterpiece, but still healthy and not overweight by any means. If she was even 5 years older I’d be like YAWN get a real job. But she’s still adjusting, or maybe just trying to rack up a heap of money for college. I do think it’s wrong to criticise her for her weight or for weight gain- I get that she’s putting herself out there for criticism- but even so. If she was 20 stone it would be like..LOL. Or that stupid bitch in England who promoted her super healthy diet which worked wonders look-at-me-now!- and then it turned out had her stomach stapled to begin with. I’m only 4 years older than Shawn, but I feel sooo much wiser etc. in that space of time, a much bigger change in any other 4 years I’ve gone through. That’s why I don’t really mind what she does at the moment.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        LMAO at the thought of GTT operating a Nastia/Gabby fan site. That would be like GymMom being Shawn’s publicist:):)

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    Regardless of whether Ray Lewis actually stabbed those two guys he participated in a cover up and has a pretty scummy personal life. So he’s no role model in my book. But nonetheless I’m rooting for the Ravens just because I hate the 49’ers as any self-respecting Cowboys fan does. Sorry Sanity, no offense.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      lol no offense here Terri. Kind of bummed the murder guy took a win but happy for Flacco; he kind of deserved it after such a good year. I root for the Vikings anyways on top of it all so the Niners were only preferred because they happen to be in my State. :)

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I have to say that was a great game. I thought SF was going to win it in the end. As much as I hate to admit it they got screwed. It looked like pass interference/holding on that one play in the end zone.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Screwed big time but it wasn’t the only questionable call in the game.

        It was clear all post season the Ray Lewis show was who the NFL wanted to win this. Why they promote that man makes no sense.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        There were a lot of missed opportunities on the SF side. If SF would have won just think of all the complainers about that power outage, lol.

      • Kazic Says:

        Sanity that’s the precise reason I am glad sf didn’t win. If not for the black out, it would have been a blow out lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is not necessarily true. Every team makes a run. The Patriots were winning by something like 21 in their first SB win and the Rams came back.

        SF lost that SB. They only showed up for half the 3rd quarter and some of the 4th. Imagine what they would have done if they had shown up.

        You never actually come out and say what team you root for. Why is that?????

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I’m sure there will be all sorts of conspiracy theories about the power outage — from an SF fan did it to the network did it to squeeze in a few more commercials.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Kazic: your statement should be the Superbowl statement of the year: “If not for the black out, it would have been a blow out.”

        My boss was saying she thinks some tech nerd in Silicon Valley figured out how to hack into the grid and give the 49’ers a run for their money, lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nope. Peyton Manning was mad he didn’t make the SB so he cut the wires.

        I love how you people don’t listen to me when I say NO SUPERBOWL TALK.lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Who, me? I was rooting for the Niners but I had a feeling the Ravens would win. The football teams I really root for are Kansas City (I know, I know…don’t ask) and the VIKINGS.

        I would like the Pats better without Brady, even though he is talented. I just don’t like him. I hate the Steelers. And Michael Vick.

        As for baseball I don’t even know if I should go there. I like the Twins and the Angels (I know you hate the Angels). I hate the Yankees so we can call that part even.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That question was to Kaz not you:) She does nothing but make fun of the Patriots but still has yet to tell me which team she supports in the NFL.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I’m guessing Falcons. Maybe Redskins. Just a hunch.

      • Kazic Says:

        GTT I have told you, on that one blog you did on favorite sports. Terri has it mostly right but add the Panthers to that list. I believe SF only showed up in the 3rd quarter because of the blackout. It killed the momentum and acted as a reset button for them.

        Sanity I think momma Kapernick took a pair of shearers to the power cord lolol. Either that or Beyoncé did it.

        How do you guys feel about her halftime show btw? I wasn’t that impressed, until Kelly and Michelle popped up (literally). That was the only part I loved.

      • GymMom Says:

        I liked the part where Michele & Kelly popped up too.

      • Kazic Says:

        Gymmom are you a Destiny’s Child fan? Lol because that would be awesome.

  10. Biyatch Says:

    Aly’s second episode of her youtube show came out today… it was sponsored by Subway. I wonder if this could be the unannounced big news that she talked about in an interview. It would probs mean that Ice Queen Nastia is getting the boot (as she should.)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      What is her show about? I’m glad about anything that concerns replacing Nastia with the new regime…

  11. sainabou nyang Says:

    Anyone else watch Florida vs Auburn on Espn?
    Kytra Hunter had a good night. Bridget Sloan is still going strong, but I can’t with the floor routines. Particularly when the teammates are dancing along to the routine and don’t have rhythm.

    • Catherine Says:

      I still find that okay, as I’m fairly new to NCAA. Bridget’s floor is great. My favourites on floor though are Danusia Francis and Olivia Courtney. Oh and Llomincia!

    • Lis Says:

      I wish I’d seen it! Too bad I was spending THE WHOLE DAY working on an assignment for a professor who didn’t give us all the information…

  12. sportsfan Says:

    I spotted Dawes doing a TV spot tonight promoting exercise for kids tonight. I didn’t realize, but she is co-chair of the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition along with Saints QB Drew Brees.

  13. exgymgurl Says:

    And BTW McKayla is very arrogant…. and doesnt back it up when it counts. She is a one trick phony with vault and a face who hasnt improved her difficulty I dont think shes taken one acting class yet she seems to think shes going to be a famous actress…. ( can you say Tara Lipinski) Shawn actually was on the Secret Life of the American Teenager as a pregnant girl not just as a cocky teen…. shes not world class but she never claimed to be.

    And no I dont like Jordyn. I respect how she handled herself in London, but I always thought her gymnastics lacked fluidity and was the same year after year with little improvement. Aly worked very hard to improve herself and earned her spot ahead of both Gabby and Jo. Jordyn was injured and doing less difficulty. She and her parents should have discussed her uncredited beam connections with Geddert and the Brevet judges and fixed the issue instead of approaching it with the arrogance that they did. Jordyn did little to nothing to improve between 2010 and 2012. The others just caught up to her.

    I dont think Jordyn looks good most of the time or carries herself any better or worse than Shawn. Jordyn has also obviously hit puberty and is fighting the body changes, much like Alicia did, and time will tell if she is able to continue and improve.

    Shawn can do whatever she wants and you dont have to like it. I find her to be an annoying mouse. Her form reminded me of Tara Lipinski when she was competing. Her amanar with the step to the side was atrocious. Her bars routine was difficult because she had a hard dismount….She had two or three things tumbling wise she did very well that translated across all four events, but there was no breadth to her gymnastics. However all that being said there was a time she was extremely overweight. GO to Sarah!s sight where there are a ton of pics and parodies about her breaking the beam. But now compared to those pics, or her first time on DWTS, shes is not even close to being overwieght……I dont see how you can call her fat when she is well under a size 6….. and I think it sets a bad precedent for young girls who may look at her and feel badly about themselves when she is already so thin and fit….

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I guess I got lost as to how this turned into a “who looks better, Jo or Shawn” discussion – and then have a “Mckayla is also cocky” on the side. lol.

      I agree with many points here though – McKayla loves herself, yes. But at least she’s not mean to anyone. Yet. She actually seems to care about people that are not herself despite all of her selfies on Instagram. If she ever tries to steal limelight that shouldn’t be hers (a la Nastia) I’ll get on the “dislike” bandwagon but for now I’m rooting for a McKayla comeback. She had a lot of potential as an All Arounder if she worked on some stuff. She could be better than Aly come 2016 if she gets through puberty and becomes more consistent. That’s a LOT to ask in gymnastics though. I guess I’ll just be happy if I can see her do a TTY vault.

      Shawn and Jo are very different people and I think it’s sad to criticize either for their weight. It would be such a struggle to go from being a gymnast (working out ALL the time pretty much) to being somewhat “normal” and seeing how your body handles it. When Shawn stopped training the first time I’m sure she was like “whoa, where did THIS come from?” but since then she’s had to figure out how to eat right and exercise in order to keep a trim figure. And she is trim. I wouldn’t call her skinny or even slender; she’s fit and she’s small (petite) so even 3 lbs here and there will look like much more. Like I said I’m sure she struggles every day with it. Do I think Shawn will be the next fitness guru/promoter? No. I said that before though; she doesn’t have that “sell” factor that makes her marketable. People need to look at her and say to themselves “I want to look like THAT.” I just don’t see that going anywhere with Shawn. Jillian Michaels and that other lady you mentioned – totally. Who wouldn’t want to look like that…anyways I digress.

      I never thought Jo gained a lot of weight considering she was living more “normally.” I thought she held it off a lot better than Shawn did, but like I said before I wouldn’t criticize her for it either way. I liked Jo as a competitor more than her gymnastics, and I completely agree with you exgymgurl that she and her coach sat on the sidelines in a total mode of complacency whereas everyone around them was constantly upping the bar…I felt like Jo had accomplished so much in such a short amount of time (at 13 she had the same difficulty as she does now) that her coach just got complacent and didn’t think he needed to attempt more with her. I guess he learned his lesson but man, how stupid that was. I felt bad for Jo because she’s young and had put her career in his hands for so long, what would cause her (or her family for that matter) to doubt him…I wonder what their true feelings are about him now.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I agree with you Sainabou about McKayla. I haven’t heard her claim she is a great actress. Sure she wants to be one some day but what’s wrong with having that as a goal? IMO she is not going to get there doing bit parts on Heart of Dixie. She is going to have to take serious acting lessons probably at NYU or UCLA or somewhere, but I haven’t heard her say she is not willing to pay her dues. Time will tell if she is willing to do that. Right now she is just having fun. I don’t consider it arrogant to do be doing things a lot of us would have done if we had had that opportunity at the age.

        As far as all her Instagram/Twitter posts, I do think a couple of her pictures have been in questionable taste – particularly that one where she is in a black dress posed like a vamp showing off her boobs – but all in all I am okay with it. Her fans love all the Instagram pics/updates. I personally thought it was a stroke of genius when she posted that little video clip of her and her mom “lost” in the DFW airport while on their way to the Metroplex Challenge. It was cute and all the girls at the Metroplex Challenge who were looking at their smartphones while waiting to meet her ate it up. McKayla has looks and charisma galore and is a natural at connecting with her fans. I’ve always thought she’s the only gymnast I’ve ever seen who has real, or at least potentially real, star quality outside of the gymnastics world. And, as you point out, she is not mean or condescending towards others, which makes her okay in my book.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mckayla is very full of herself but you never hear her saying bad things about anyone else. Being confident even if it isn’t warranted is not the worst thing she could be.

      • GymMom Says:

        Shawn IS an annoying mouse! Ha ha Good one to whomever posted that. I have seen Shawn when she was fit after the Olympics and she looked fantastic. Shawn wants people to buy the Nike Fuel bracelets, the work-out gear and videos but like a previous person posted, who wants to look like Shawn Johnson? Her promotion of any products depends upon her credibility and likeability…neither of which she possesses. Jeannette Jenkins is probably being paid by Shawn to. “train her.” Jeannette’s reputation is on the line when Shawn keeps tweeting about it. Most women don’t aspire to have huge legs and arms from a workout! Shawn no doubt eats unhealthy at home. She tweets about baking cookies and ordering pizza when she’s home. When you’re 4’10” tall, you can’t afford to be eating too many cookies or too many slices of pizza? I know this because I watch my food intake, knowing how easily weight goes on someone who is 4’11”, which is how tall I am. I gained 50 lbs during my first pregnancy and 35 lbs during my 2nd pregnancy. It took me a year to lose the pregnancy weight. My doctor said I gained alot because my body fat was low Pre-pregnancy. It was so HARD to lose the weight but I did it the right way…including working out. Last night during the Super Bowl party we were at, I drank Perrier Water with Lemon & I ate fresh organic veggies w/dip. Everyone else ate wings, chili, chips, Doritos etc and they drank ALOT of alcohol. No judgement from me. I know I can’t do that without gaining weight. I’m 53 so my metabolism is slower now, even though I work out. It’s all about dedication to health & fitness.

      • mimi Says:

        i dont know GTT, your comment about justifying confidence is interesting. you dont think mckayla’s confidence isn’t warranted? she’s got a team gold, she’s pretty, she seems awfully nice to other people, she has the most mainstream success of at the FF.. what’s not to be confident about? who is to judge why someone/anyone should be confident? i mean, you could make the argument, that say, nastia of all people SHOULD be confident given all her medals but almost everyone doesn’t like her, lol.

        i think if anyone if confident regardless of why, good on them! even if i dont really like them lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Her confidence is way too high for what she accomplished. One vault, while beautiful and getting silver when everyone knows if she stood up she was winning Gold. Sorry but she has no reason to think she is all that. For a regular person she accomplished a lot but as far as gymnastics goes she was and is capable of so much more.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree with you there. In fact I think it’s a bit embarrassing you can win the silver after sitting down on your ass. Vault is based off of the two exercises and a fall is a fall no matter what. I guess they fixed the code to avoid this in the future? I would hope so. It’s happened twice in a row in the Olympics; Cheng Fei in ’08 and now Maroney.

        Maroney has always walked around like a cockhead. That’s the best way I can describe it. She oozes confidence no matter what, but I remember even when I first saw her I thought to myself “that girl thinks she’s some hott shit.” Even all of her pictures she has that look on her face like “I’m da shit.” I’ve gotten used to it though and figure it’s just her. But still – GTT you make a good point that her confidence is overkill for a one-trick pony (and one that was unable to fulfill her Olympic expectations). Sorry to Maroney fans (I like her too so don’t get me wrong) but she epic failed by landing on her butt. If she had so much confidence she should have at least put it to her feet, which is what she did most of the time in practice I’m sure.

        And I still didn’t like how she treated the Russian girl after, but at least she apologized for it.

      • Kazic Says:

        You all know I adore Mack. She is just verself assured imo it’s not really cockiness. Everyone I have ever heard relate a story about meeting her talks about how nice she is. The instagraming is a little much, but her mother’s job is supposed to be to police that kinda thing. She’s always nice to fans, she never says anything bad about other people, and as someone else mentioned I have never heard her say she isn’t willing to pay her dues to reach her goals (acting in this case). I don’t find her confidence overrated at all. Though everyone talks just about her vault she’s not a one trick pony by any means. The only event she really needs work on is bars (like most of team usa lol).

        Sanity 8 agree with you I don’t think her attitude is a front I think that’s just who she is. I really believe the incident with Masha Paseka was not intentional. Either way, as you mentioned, she did apologize. Not a big fan of Paseka anyway. I didn’t like how she handled the aftermath of the whole thing either. In the end their kids, give them a little room to be morons imo.

  14. GymMom Says:

    Thanks for clarifying what my point is GTT! ;)

    I hope I’m not fighting with anyone on here? I am quite opinionated! Ha ha. What 53 yr old grandmother isn’t opinionated? Shawn was blasted mercilessly on the Des Moines Register message boards after the tour in 2008. I didn’t agree with that at all. But now I understand what they were talking about? I think Shawn is the ONLY person in the history of DWTS to gain weight when she was on the show in 2009? This past season she gained a little bit too, but not as much.

    In reading her sometime boyfriend’s twitter occasionally, it’s obvious she is doing things to try and get his attention too. I am shocked he didn’t scam a Super Bowl trip out of her? Her relationship with the gay trainer Jeanette Jenkins is “interesting” as well. I’m sure Shawn is hoping to get close to some celebs via Jeanette? All of the phoniness & game playing by an extremely immature Shawn is so obvious! She isn’t fooling anyone. ASac has a regular life and a seemingly stable relationship with that football player. She isn’t out there making a fool out of herself! She has for the most part moved on from gymnastics and/or fame. Hopefully Shawn does the same.

    Getting back to the photo editing….if you saw Shawn in person, you would see what I’m talking about.

    • Catherine Says:

      Nah I’m just baffled with any fixation on a young girl’s weight, no matter what she is promoting. I picture them reading things like this and I cringe. That’s all.

      • GymMom Says:

        But Shawn is not a teenager anymore? She needs to be mindful of what impression she is portraying to the public.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am pretty sure Shawn is smart enough not to go reading blogs about herself.lol I bet Nastia is too.

      • mimi Says:

        i must admit, i keep forgetting shawn isn’t, like, 25. the fake tan doesn’t do her any favours.

      • GymMom Says:

        Anytime a well known athlete/celebrity holds themselves out as a paragon of anything…fitness etc., they will be judged! Shawn needs to realize that she doesn’t have the looks or body for Hollywood. Look at the Williams sisters….they are both pretty much at the top of their tennis game, still. They both are larger girls but they’re in proportion. Shawn wants to have her cake & eat it too. She cannot eat the cake unless she is willing to be more closely scrutinized. Shawn has to stop talking about her strenuous work-outs & she needs to realize she cannot eat whatever she wants.

      • Kazic Says:

        Actually gtt I will not elaborate but I know for 100% fact that Nastia does read blogs about herself. She probably searches for her own name (mack does this too).

        I agree with Catherine Gymmom you are entitled to your opinion of course, but I think you are a bit hard on Shawn. I always try to be careful not to criticize a young woman’s weight (unless she’s massively overweight and even then it’s about health not harping) because that is a sensitive issue.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      GymMom keep doing what you are doing…which is continuing to make this blog interesting and keeping me from my job. lol.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I second that. GymMom makes this blog all the more fun. I only have one question for GymMom. What is the deal with all those question marks? (Maybe you just have a rogue button on your keyboard, LOL.)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        SO funny I was wondering the same thing!

      • GymMom Says:

        Ha ha thanks but GTT has a good blog with or without me. I tend to use ?? because alot of tlmes I’m kind of throwing things out there to get other opinions. Not sure it’s a grammatically correct use of a ???? Ha ha

        It seems like most of the people who post comments here are ALOT younger than I am. I could be wrong about that though?

        I like that GTT speaks her mind without regard for political correctness in mind. I also appreciate everyone’s comments…even those with different viewpoints than mine.

  15. Catherine Says:

    Secret Classic will be in Chicago this year. Is that near anyone who was thinking of going? I know it’s not a million miles from Boston- probably a short flight though. I did find when I was planning a US trip that internal flights were a rip-off. You guys need Ryanair.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Chicago to Boston is further then I am willing to go.

      I went to A Claasic meet in 2003 and it was easily the best meet I have ever been too. The gymnasts walk around so if you wanted an autograph they all signed them. It was before digital camera’s but there was not a lot of seats (it was held in a highschool gym) and I sat 3 feet in front of bars. I saw Hollie Vise fall on her neck.

      It was a great meet back in the day because it was held over 3 nights and I got to see a lot of great gymnastics for next to no money.

      That was the first meet I saw Nastia compete in.lol

    • Case Says:

      I’m planning on it if I can work out the scheduling. :)

  16. GymMom Says:

    GTT..I love MLB too! My grandson loves the Cubs and the Orioles. My sister lives in Marblehead MA, so she is an avid Red Sox fan? My Dad pretty much loves all the Boston/New England teams. He has a connection to the McPhail family going back to their ownership of the Colorado Sky Sox if the Western Baseball League in the 1950’s. My Dad was a volunteer ticket taker when he was stationed at Colorado Springs & maintains a relationship with the Mc Phail
    family now. I think that’s how my grandson got to be an Orioles fan? My Dad got alot of promotional stuff for him when McPhail’s grandson was in their front office? Don’t the MLB pitchers & catchers report soon?

  17. GymMom Says:

    By the way, who else thought Beyonce’ was horrible during the halftime show? She wore lingerie which was inappropriate for kids to see…especially combined with the suggestive dance moves?

    • mimi Says:

      it’s BEYONCE, that’s kinda her deal. she can do whatever she wants as far as im concerned.

      at least she didnt purposely show nipple like janet.

      • GymMom Says:

        Her nipples were about the only things Beyonce’ didn’t show. She is a has-been. Nobody bought her last album & most people doubted she was actually pregnant. Her “talent” is negligible at best.

      • Kazic Says:

        …Gymmom are we thinking of the same girl? Has been? Good Lord woman, what planet do you live on?! (No disrespect meant)

  18. GymMom Says:

    I think Shawn did read all the mean comments in the past? Didn’t she write about it in her book?

  19. GymMom Says:

    Good article about Shawn & her weight loss.

    http://www.adiosbarbie.com/2012/05/why-shawn-johnsons-weight-loss-is-not-heroic/

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I just laughed out loud at the word “plucky” used in that article.

      GymMom: if you’re older than most of us, then you’re likely wiser. Keep spouting your opinions, I appreciate them even though I am not 100% in agreement with some. It’s fun to read though and see what everybody else thinks too. It helps keep me going when I’m bored during the day, for sure.

      As for Beyonce I think she’s immensely talented but doesn’t use it to its full potential. The last time she did something “big” was that song and video “put a ring on it.” Since then her songs have been rather bland and just …meh. Forgettable despite her vocal range and ability to make hit songs. It’s like she’s being produced wrong or something. Even at the Superbowl she was singing hits from previous albums and none of her newish stuff because it never latched on with the public. The “wow” factor was her former group Destiny’s Child making a brief reunion (and then dancing together to that song I just mentioned). I don’t think Beyonce’s days are over, but she definitely needs something fresh. It’s like she’s scared to think outside the box – the opposite of Rihanna.

      I feel the same way about Christina Aguilera too – that she’s capable of so much more but just goes after what she “thinks” the audience wants. She (like Beyonce) dances suggestively and wears the most revealing things she can get away with (although unlike Beyonce, she doesn’t have the body for it anymore).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Christina is the most overrated singer ever. She riffs, that is it. She rarely hits the high notes or even goes for the high notes. She tends to ooohhh out of her words.

        I have never loved her voice or even liked her voice. I find her vastly overrated. I always have since her MMC days where she was a spoiled little brat and was nicknamed “the diva” by the cast.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Christina is talented but I totally get the sense she thinks she’s the best thing since sliced bread too.

        I feel like she and Nastia are twins. I seriously think they look alike, and even act alike. On the show The Voice Christina was always trying to take away the attention from everyone else – even her own contestants! It was sick at times. And she always looked like utter shit.

      • GymMom Says:

        Okay sanity…I’ll keep that in mind. Ha ha Definitely not sure about the “wiser” part?

      • GymMom Says:

        Have you ever read about the mind control (MK ULTRA) these entertainers are under the influence of? It’s creepy. Walt Disney was a major player in that. Look at the train wrecks that are former Mouseketeers.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        No I haven’t. What’s that all about? MK ULTRA?

      • Kazic Says:

        I think Bey’s super talented but I am not a fan of hers. Never forgave her for the way she treated the original Destiny’s Child group members and even after that, it was clear that she and her father viewed the group as a vehicle for her success not the other members.

        Do we have any Alpine Skiing fans here? I need someone to drown my sorrows with. Seriously guys yesterday was the worst ;_; Poor Lindsey.

  20. GymMom Says:

    Here’s a link about MK ULTRA related to Hollywood & Disney.

    http://www.examiner.com/article/azealia-banks-disney-s-hidden-club-33-and-mk-ultra-monarch-programming

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

