Training in China

 

Someone on youtube went to China and watched training. They taped, I reposted.

Aly Raisman was just a question on Jeopardy and the girl got the answer right. The category was about Jewish people and the answer had something to do with her floor music. Someone sent me this picture, they got it from Aly’s mother who put it on one of her pages.

aly_onJeopardy

66 Responses to “Training in China”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Man it’s too Blair Witch for me…

  2. gymtruthteller Says:

    It was moving a lot but it was interesting to see.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I had to turn it off after awhile but was wondering if they were saying anything interesting in the background. Seems like there are a lot of athletes but no coaches (spotting them and what not?) …although I’m not gym expert at all when it comes to training.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I watched without sound but I didn’t see much coach interaction either.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        One of them (female voice) said (around 7:35), “I’m totally, like, just in heaven right now. I’ll just have to stay for the next two weeks.” I concur. (:

        This is a great video. We hardly ever see/know anything about China this time of year. And we probably won’t know anything until May. Kind of them to share this with the crazy gymternet, haha.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Zeng siqi is the one in red and yellow on the right. Tan sixin (woo back to the nt…lots of work to do there though) is the one in black with bad leaps and stuff. Sui Lu is on floor at the start. The two other girls on beam near the end are Wang Wei (falls on layout pass, does it again fine) and Yuan Xiaoyang, juniors. Not that Id know, but others can tell ha. Its only about 10 mins out of the 9 or so hours they do, I’m sure they spot and coach more directly at other times. Some nice new connections for the code, loooove Zeng Siqi.

  4. GymMom Says:

    They’re experiencing that terrible air pollution over in China again. I remember how bad it was in Beijing in 2008. Getting off the plane, we had to wear masks. It seemed to clear up later but I wore a mask alot because of my allergies.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You went to the Olympics? What did you see?

      • GymMom Says:

        I saw most of the women’s gymnastics, ALOT of men’s basketball, track and field, some swimming. It was stressful with the poor air quality but arguably the m

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Dude you went to the OLYMPICS? Now I’m jealous. That water cube looked insanely awesome. Did you see gymnastics?

      • GymMom Says:

        Yes saw most of the gymnastics(women’s). I was rooting for Dara in women’s swimming since we’re about the same age. Ha ha Love her! The Swimming Cube/Box was cool!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OMG that lady is my idol. Was so sad when she didn’t make the team in 2012. She’s such a legend in my book.

        I also love Janet Evans. She went to my high school (a long time before I did) but it was so cool to think “I’m swimming in the same pool as Janet.” She’s a huge legend in my home town.

      • Catherine Says:

        Lol not so much mine. She was such a bitch about Michelle Smith! All of her testing was clean. She’s disgraced now because of a positive test but she was clean in Atlanta..

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She was…she should have taken the high road there. She’s also said though that the media took her comments out of context to make a bigger thing out of it than it was.

        But being a swimmer myself and seeing how Smith’s swimming times improved THAT much in such a small space of time overall, there had to have been drug abuse. I’m sorry. We all know athletes that do it know how to test “clean” when they need to. We’ve seen too many instances of athletes getting away with it anyhow, so it’s no surprise. And sadly not all of them have even been caught despite the high-profile athletes that have since been caught (we all know about Mr. Armstrong). It’s a huge issue, and I can’t fault other “clean” athletes for being frustrated about it.

        Smith was later caught tampering with her urine samples and then had banned substances in what, 1998 I think? Two years later. So no doubt she was tampering with it up to Atlanta. It speaks volumes when nowadays Ireland pretty much ignores her because they “know” something was happening there. However I guess she’s now a lawyer because of it all, so good for her for making a career for herself out of it.

        I have no respect for cheaters though.

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      Not that it wasn’t a prudent decision or anything, but I’m curious to know why you didn’t choose to go to London? I would have killed to be at the Beijing OG- WAG UB and TF, please. And OMG Cheng Fei’s FX in the TF– your ear cells must have died in that noise!!

  5. Jen Smith Says:

    Someone in Indy sent that picture to Aly’s Mom. It’s from the NBC affiliate in Indy. So…Steve Penny or Luan P (Sam’s Mom) or anyone that works at USAG.

  6. JAS4 Says:

    I think China will be doing everything they can to be on the podium this quad!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Well we know they aren’t above cheating. I wouldn’t be surprised if we see more 14-year-olds in Rio. I hope Sui Lu stays on, I think she’s amazing. Although she’s really only SUPER good at two events.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol if Nastia has her way she will eventually work her way into controlling the FIG and if the Chinese were underaged in 2008 I’m sure she will have them outed to make sure she gets her gold medal(s) lol

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      Nastia will need to accomplish that by 2018, when the statute of limitations is up! She’s a busy girl these days, studying hard at NYU and whatnot.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol she probably has a back up plan lol couldn’t you see Nastia hiring the Russian Mafia to scare He Kexin or one of the other Chinese 08 gymnast into confessing they were under aged lol

    • icemeltsfast Says:

      haha definitely! The Russians do seem to like Nastia. I’m pretty sure even Komova was quoted saying that she admired her. It’ll be pretty messed up if Nastia does manage to get her 08 UB gold… that was such a bad routine for her, lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mustafina said she admired her to before she won anything. After that she denied it.

        Nastia is Russian and from all the Russians I know (and believe me there is a lot) they don’t care if you compete under the US flag, if you are of Russian decent you are Russian for life.

      • icemeltsfast Says:

        lol, Mustafina is also quite adamant about not having idols after that whole Khorkina thing. haha

        And wow, that’s a nice way of thinking. It’s better than the alternative (traitor). lol I don’t think the Chinese believe that Anna Li represents China, even if Fan Ye is hanging out with her family these days. Ditto with the Romanians and Moceanu. So do the Russians think that a Nastia victory = Russian victory?

  7. exgymgurl Says:

    TO the Jeopardy question… Who is Carly Patterson?

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    Wht strikes me is how incredibly well disciplined they are. After watching similar leadups to 2008 with Romania they were so casual in the gym. Even Aly and Mihai you dont see Aly just working the same series time after time after time after time. The reps these athletes are doing is mesmerizing. The way they do it without personal coaching and self correct is incredible.

  9. GymMom Says:

    OOPS..arguably the most amazing experience of my life.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      That is so awesome. Was your kid competing? Or how did you manage to get there? I’ve always wanted to go to the Olympics but unfortunately was never talented enough to make it as an athlete, lol!

      • GymMom Says:

        No my kids weren’t competing. My Dad has been part of the Olympic Organizing Committee for years. And yes Dara just missed out on making the 2012 team..so disappointing. She was a great leader in 2008.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Can your Dad conduct a beat-down on Marta? lol. That is so cool. I’m jealous, but in a good way.

        Did you see Michael Phelps win all those golds?

  10. GymMom Says:

    So sad..20 yr old snowmobiler died from injuries suffered at last week’s XGames in Aspen CO. Shawn is having trouble getting to the Super Bowl to apparently work?

    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/01/sports/snowmobile-rider-caleb-moore-dies-from-x-games-injuries.html?_r=0

  11. GymMom Says:

    I was also in Lake Placid for the Miracle on Ice. Several good family friends played in that game & the coach Herb Brooks was a good friend of my Dad’s. I think I enjoyed that Olympics more than any other.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      So now I have to ask did you go to the Utah games and see Ms. Kwan.

      • GymMom Says:

        Yes to Salt Lake City. Things were pretty dicey with some corruption & mismanagement but things eventually were ironed out. I met Mitt Romney that year. Kwan is both of my daughters idol on ice. My younger daughter who is ambidextrous excelled more in skating. We met her & my kids were thrilled. The women’s ice skating was fantastic!

  12. GymMom Says:

    I saw Phelps win 2 golds…one individual and one relay. Tickets to swimming were the hardest to get & I was more interested in gymnastics & men’s basketball.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Wow. That is beyond awesome. And you met Michelle. She’s my idol and I can barely go forward on figure skates, lol.

      • GymMom Says:

        The kids were excited to meet Michelle. Me??? I’m not an autograph seeker and I feel like I’m bragging too much here. I am sorry if that’s how it sounds. I don’t mean it to be. I will say this, that world class athletes for the most part are all pretty down to earth and humble. But we always hear about the idiots!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m totally grilling you so you are not bragging. It’s not like I’m not asking, haha. I think it’s great you got to meet those people. I’ll always remember when I got to sit front row at a Stars on Ice event; I think I was 11. I got to high five Scott Hamilton and Kurt Browning, and Kristi Yamaguchi waved at me. I was like beyond words excited.

        A year ago I met Kristi Yamaguchi again while she was signing her kid’s books. Of course since then my “star lust” has simmered down but I told her how awesome it was to watch her on TV with my dad screaming her on. If I ever meet Michelle Kwan I’ll tell her there has been nobody like her since and GAWD do I miss her quality of skating on ice anymore.

        And if I meet ASac I’m going to tell her that she needs to write a book and I’d just point blank ask her “Marta screwed you over big time, didn’t she…”

  13. GymMom Says:

    Honestly it’s cool to watch the Olympics live and in person but you miss alot of the nuances etc. that tv coverage provides. My Dad is 82 & not as involved as he was. I would like to see Marta & her idiot husband beat down & kicked out too!

    • Gymbee Says:

      So true! I was volunteering at the athletics, and it was amazing, but didn’t “really” get to take in all the sports. I was too dazed at the moment. Went home and caught it on tv later. How cool that you went to so many Games!! We’re you in London?

  14. exgymgurl Says:

    http://insidetv.ew.com/2013/01/31/boy-meets-world-more-roles/

    and GMW has an older brother….. and her bff has been cast also who happens to have already recorded a single for Radio Disney….

  15. GymMom Says:

    Love your Stars on Ice story. Kristi is a sweetheart too. You’re right about Kwan…Class on Ice!

    • terrigymfan Says:

      GymMom you’ve been holding out on us! I bet your dad has all sorts of good stories to tell. Did you meet any athletes/coaches/etc. who were rude or unpleasant?

      • Case Says:

        No kidding. Do tell.

      • GymMom Says:

        Ha ha I didn’t think it was a big deal? Like I said earlier, most world class athletes are humble. I have the bitch otherwise known as Marta & Bela more than once. They’re very different in the context in which I’ve met them. But most people in the know, know what they’re all about, regardless of the USA Gymnastics pr machine. My Dad will undoubtedly take his secrets to the grave….ha ha.

        In Beijing it was fun to see our fav NBA stars at different venues. In previous Olympics there were far less security measures. All the security drives me crazy!

  16. GymMom Says:

    Correction……I have met the bitch otherwise known as Marta & Bela more than once. I can’t say I met any athletes who were rude, but to be honest, I have never been that interested in meeting the athletes as much as watching them perform.

    Going to the Olympics as a spectator is fun but it might be overrated? Maybe that’s why I never mentioned it?

    My fav Olympic performances/performers I’ve watched in person.

    1. Miracle On Ice
    2. Dream Team Gold Medal basketball game
    3. Michelle Kwan
    4. Shannon Miller
    5. Eric Heiden
    6. Dara Torres
    7. Lo Lo Jones
    8. Flo Jo
    9. Nadia

    I wish I could have seen Dorthy Hamil, Scott Hamilton, Olga Korbut & few others…Olga in particular. Mary Lou is eternally sweet…but it doesn’t appear sincere, at least not in my opinion. Nastia’s Dad appears to be cold-blooded & heartless. In Beijing, it was impossible to get near or even see their gymnasts outside of competition. They’re literally under lock and key. I miss Olympic Women’s Softball alot. I’m glad they provide financial assistance to families of athletes to travel to and attend the Olympics. It’s unbelieveable how expensive everything is. We have stayed in hotels and in private homes that locals rent out. I would have liked to see more of Beijing but the air quality was so poor. I felt sorry for the athletes.

  17. GymMom Says:

    I am grateful for the experiences I have been fortunate enough to have had. I never take them for granted, however, I have enjoyed watching the Olympics on tv this past summer as well as the other years we didn’t attend.

  18. Dee Says:

    Wow, GymMom! Thank you for sharing your stories.

    What wonderful memories for you and your family to share.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

