Stealing from Catherine

I am calling this blog, Stealing from Catherine because I went to her blog and stole these videos from her:) Thought I would give her credit.

 

First we have Beth Tweddle on Dancing on Ice. I love this girl to pieces. She is one of the few gymnasts I find it easy to root for even when I don’t love her gymnastics (accept bars which I love) Usually shows like Dancing with the stars play up the injuries but look at Beth, she looks sick. I thought 90% of this performance was amazing. She was a little stiff but when he held her upside down and she brought down her arms. It looked great. I hope this helps her floor routines in the future.

 

 

Bridget Sloan’s floor from a gymnastics meet. Pretty cheap tumbling there Bridget but I love watching double fulls that end forward.

 

 

Last but not least is Lizzy Leduc at an intrasquad meet at Metroplex. I think her elite days are over but her floor was beautiful and minus the fall done better then any College floor routine I have seen the last few years.

 

Alicia has retired I bet we get a Nastia retirement announcement any day now.lol She will see this attention and have her agent jump right in on this. USA-Gymnastics had a write up on their site. Links above.

I didn’t know Alicia co-owned those sole sock things she has been hawking. I figured she was a spokeswomen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In totally unrelated news to gym I found this video of Maureen Flannigan from the 80’s TV Show, Out of This world. She looks the same but older but she looks great for 40. I loved this show as a kid.

Oh and Boy Meets world cast the daughter who looks nothing like Cory or Topanga. She doesn’t look like she could be their kid unless they adopted her. (Insert Mckayla’s look here)

23 Responses to “Stealing from Catherine”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Hahaha I thought I was at my blog for a second. Subtle ;) Lizzys floor was amazing, I hope she gets picked up by one of the top colleges. And Bridget’s was too, which I’m sure will have upgrades. You’ve reminded me I must dig out Beths routine from the weekend if she skated then. I have ITV but can’t sit through shows like that.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I like Bridget’s choreo but yeah – why is her tumbling so weak? She looks to be in great shape though otherwise. Glad she’s smiling/having fun.

    • Case Says:

      Agree, but wondering if Bridget watered that down just because she can at the college level. Just tough for those of us who know what she’s capable of.

    • christina Says:

      Let’s not forget that Bridget is just an athlete who has suffered a fair amount of injuries during her career. She injured herself before trials too. I think it makes sense for her to let her body rest for a while. After all she’s just a freshman, maybe she will show hardest skills in the future of her career

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Why did corey and topanga adopt a kid? Why cant she have a cute eric-a-licious older brother? What annoying angst ridden parents they must be….. When did this debut?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They didn’t adopt a kid they had one but this kid looks like she belongs in an Asian Country. She does not look like their child.

      It hasn’t been filmed yet. Pilot films this February

  4. JAS4 Says:

    My tumblr has been Alicia retirement things all evening lol! I would actually love to see her stick around but it’s not really practical with Marta lol!

  5. Guest Says:

    Isn’t Nastya officially confirmed retired after her half-ass performance in Olympic Trials?

    • Gymbee Says:

      Thought so too, didn’t she have some tearful goodbye waving session with the crowd?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ugh gag – yeah Nastia basically used Day 2 of Trials as her retirement party.

        Again, trying to take the limelight away from those that deserved it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is true. I forgot about that but she never had a press conference and announced it either.

      • Guest Says:

        But I read yahoo news giving the message that she was considered retired after falling the face on floor in Trials.

        I still felt irritated about that because she tried to steal the spotlight the other girls deserve though she was not selected to the team at least.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is true she did just that.

  6. Biyatch Says:

    MLT episode 3 https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1ckbY0-OWpNQnBmZWVfZmZSbDQ/edit

  7. katie Says:

    I just have to say I love you because you hate all the things I hate :)

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    Maybe she’ll get bored and hold the press conference in her calculus class, and expect the other real students to start a flashmob for her….

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Someone on tumblr said she is really taking a pre-calculus class. Its more like a high school course.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m sure it’s pre-calc because doubt her high school curriculum had her going as far as calculus; she WAS a gymnast after all and probably only did the bare minimum.

        As for the flash mob in calculus – that’s kind of a funny visual. What school is Nastia going to, NYU?

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Most college-bound kids today are expected to take pre-calc in high school, so taking it in college is pretty much taking a remedial course. I would think going to college (yes it is NYU) is a bit of a reality check for Nastia. I bet she hasn’t set foot in a classroom since way before the 2008 Olympics, and since then she has been in celebrity mode. Suddenly just being a regular old student is probably quite a shock.

      • hurms22 Says:

        Didn’t Nastia attend SMU for a semester before the Olympics?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      So now Nastia is pretending she is smart…. like Blossom so she can be on the Big Bang theory…. Im sorry Nastia I dont care how big your forehead is or what PreCalculus you take. You arent a PhD in Neuroscience…

  9. exgymgurl Says:

    I looked at this kid. Apparently this kid that corey and topanga had is gonna be a popstar or a broadway singer or something with her own youtube channel. If the kid doesnt have the same normalcy and angst…. the show wont work. BMW is popular because its not Hannah Montana and every other disney show where the female teenager is the next LiLo

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Disney is going to kill this show. Murder everything that was great about the series until they got to College

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

